Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S Teleconverter TC-17E II

Nikon Inc. AF-S Teleconverter TC-17E II

AF-S Teleconverter TC-17E-II multiplies the effective focal length by 1.7x of select compatible NIKKOR lenses, offering an affordable and portable gateway to extend telephoto reach; ideal for sports shooting, wildlife, surveillance and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 8 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 out of 8(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
52 Questions | 71 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S Teleconverter TC-17E II
Review 1 for AF-S Teleconverter TC-17E II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome addition

PostedSeptember 23, 2011
soitgos
Location Utah
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have used this for several months with a 300mm 2.8 lens and a 70-200mm 2.8 lens. I photograph lots of birds in flight and have found little or no loss in sharpness of the image. I have to believe people who find problems with teleconverters may have other issues.
+25points
Review 2 for AF-S Teleconverter TC-17E II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceptional

PostedAugust 19, 2011
Soitgos
Location Utah
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have used this for several months. It has performed beyond my expectations. I find little or no loss of clarity in my images. I use all three teleconverters on a 300mm 2.8 and a 70-200mm 2.8 and couldn't be happier with the versatility they provide.
+23points
Review 3 for AF-S Teleconverter TC-17E II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

For what it is ,it does a good job

PostedJuly 29, 2011
RSchussel
Location North of San Francisco
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
If you use the he TC1.7II properly it is a very good teleconverter. I use it with my 70-200mm f2.8 on my D90 which makes it equivalent to 200mm to 530mm lens.
For some the downsides are the lens is slower and the image not as sharp as when the teleconvertor is not used.I don't have $5K
for a 500mm lens and in most cases the image is acceptable with the teleconvertor.
To get best performance I shot my 70-200mm at a minimum of f5.6 or f 6.3 . If you set the lens to 180mm instead of 20mm the image is a little sharper. The TC1.4II gives a sharper image but less magnification. Remember to shoot at a minimum of 1/250 to 1/500 and you will get some great shots.
+38points
Review 4 for AF-S Teleconverter TC-17E II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Moon and Space Shots Made Easy

PostedJune 17, 2011
NikonBen
Location Denton, TX
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I've used the TC-17E II for my Motor Sports photography and loved it. Fast, sharp, clear shots on both Auto Focus and Manual.
Then one night I set up in the yard to do some "Space Exploration." Wow! With my 200mm lens on the D700 I got photos of the Moon that were great. I also found several galaxies that I knew were there, but couldn't see. The best shot was all the details in Orion. I could pick out the M42 and M43 galaxies, Betelgeuse, Bellatrix and Rigel along with all the other stars that make up the constellation. The details were wonderful!
+6points
Review 5 for AF-S Teleconverter TC-17E II
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well

PostedAugust 27, 2011
tbioman
Location Perak, Malaysia
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
Got a 70-200 mm f.2.8 zoom objective and wanted to get just a bit closer. I saw another review where it was mentioned "it works well for what it is" and that reflects my experience as well.
Cannot see any difference in sharpness, but one thing I noticed when I wanted to see how my 70-200mm f.2.8 did without because I had seen a few comments then I immediately put the Teleconverter back in. The zoom with it has simply become a "cant live without".
So thumbs up for it.
+22points
Review 6 for AF-S Teleconverter TC-17E II
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

sharpness observation of TC-17E II - great

PostedJuly 19, 2010
PR
Location Milwaukee,WI
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I use this with my 400mm 2.8VR and D90, the results are awesome. Some of my sharpness observation in comparison without TC.
95% cannot find a difference in sharpness at f/11(perfect)
50% cannot find a difference in sharpness at f/9 or f10.
Rest of the f number below f/9 i can see a softness and loss in quality of image.
tested with wimberley tripod head on different occasions. My observation results are limited with my experience
subject : birds
Focusing is relatively slow as a known factors of using tele-converter.
+144points
Review 7 for AF-S Teleconverter TC-17E II
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

There is one major flaw with this product.

PostedAugust 29, 2011
gruetters
Location Ottawa, Canada
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The extender produces good results with my two large lenses ( 70-200 zoom and 300mm fixed) however it can not be used with the 60 mm macro nor the 18-105 zoom. MUCH more aggravating is that both large lenses slip on the extender, often causing "No lens attached" warning to appear. When you're out shooting moving subjects, this is a real pain. I have spoken with other Nikon users, one of whom is a professional photographer and they have noted the same problem. The pro does not use the extender in his work so it's not a major problem for him. However is you pay $2500 for a lens and then a $300 or $400 piece messes it up, I believe the costomer has a legitimate concern.
-7points
Review 8 for AF-S Teleconverter TC-17E II
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do Not Purchase!

PostedApril 15, 2011
ALphotographer
Age 35-44
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens has been a disappointment from the beginning and I would not recommend it for purchase. I bought it to effectively increase the overall focal length of my 70-200mm f/2.8 lens in good lighting conditions, but image quality is so poor that I don't even use it. The problem I have had is that my images are too soft when using this teleconverter.
I originally suspected that there was a back-focusing problem because details of each image were sharper in the background. But I sent it back to NIKON for warranty work, and it came back with the same problem. Either NIKON repair did nothing to correct the lens or it is basically worthless. Either way, I wouldn't suggest this lens as a smart purchase.
I am not a professional photographer, so maybe I'm not using it correctly. But since it is very basic in how it is actually used and the fact that all my images are a complete disappointment when using it, I can't imagine anyone who makes their living in photography being happy with it.
-6points