Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S VR NIKKOR 200mm f/2G IF-ED

Nikon Inc. AF-S VR NIKKOR 200mm f/2G IF-ED

This incredibly fast f/2 telephoto lens features Nikon’s VR image stabilization and is perfect for low-light sports action photography and portraits.

Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 11 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for AF-S VR NIKKOR 200mm f/2G IF-ED
Review 1 for AF-S VR NIKKOR 200mm f/2G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow!

PostedMay 5, 2011
Tundraphoto
Location Southeast, US
Age 35-44
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
In focus part of image is likely the sharpest of my entire lens collection while the bokeh is probably the smoothest of my lens collection. Overall, it's my favorite lens!
+6points
Review 2 for AF-S VR NIKKOR 200mm f/2G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is an amazing lens!

PostedApril 20, 2011
ghdiii
Location Dallas, Texas
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
User submitted photo
This lens has outstanding build qualities and is a must for portraits and if you photograph sports in dark venues. The colors, sharpness and bokeh are simply amazing. It works exceptionally well with the TC-14E II and TC-20E III teleconverters.
+8points
Review 3 for AF-S VR NIKKOR 200mm f/2G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding image and build quality

PostedMarch 29, 2011
JMSchneid
Location Louisville, KY
Age Over 65
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I received this lens in July, 2007. I love the images this lens produces. I cannot say enough good things about this lens. It's BIG and it's BAD.
+6points
Review 4 for AF-S VR NIKKOR 200mm f/2G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply an excellent lens

PostedNovember 12, 2010
ExtremeWeatherPhotographer
Location Sharon, CT
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
This lens is a must if you photograph people. The sharpness and color rendition is simply amazing. I photographed one of my regular subjects with a D70s and this lens while walking with his mother on a brisk March day. The responsiveness of this lens is so quick, I was able to catch this moment just in time. Shooting info - D70s- 1/125 shutter speed, AF-S VR 200mm f2.0 lens at f8.0. Even with a 6mp camera the 13" x 19" inch print is beautiful.
+4points
Review 5 for AF-S VR NIKKOR 200mm f/2G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best lens

PostedJuly 31, 2010
Finn
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I love this lens, amazing detail and super fast lens.
+2points
Review 6 for AF-S VR NIKKOR 200mm f/2G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The big Kahuna

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Nikon Ikon
Location Chicago
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
The 200 vr 2.0 is a legendary lens. It is just sooo sharp throughout the range. I love shooting it wide open or near wide open as it has the "look" which screams "200 vr 2.0 did this." Used in combination with my D3, it is a joy to shoot, albeit somewhat heavy. And when you show up with it, you get instant "cred" so it is going to get you noticed. Although it is not for every situation, this is my favorite lens, gives outstanding results.
+1point
Review 7 for AF-S VR NIKKOR 200mm f/2G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rent this once, you will be buying it!

PostedJuly 30, 2010
KJDoyle
Location Andover, MA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
It is funny...photography even after 35 years is still a passionate thing. You find yourself, mid-workflow, pausing to admire a shot that just got everything right...this is a feeling I have known since my first print appeared in the tray as a kid. It is why we do what we do, it is the sweet treat amid the noise of all the thousands of shots that were good, salable, but imminently forgettable.
What I am telling you is this lens delivers a lot more of those moments to you. This thing just kills, period. Sharpness, contrast and saturation like 3D, bokeh of all lenses should be defined by this one...fast and quiet AF, has a memory recall setting, superb VR, internal filters, and a really great case. I shoot live theatre for Playbill and programs, promotionals, lobby posters, etc. It can focus accurately on moving subjects in nearly total darkness on my D3s, I am not kidding....what a joy!
Anyway when this lens was announced I had rented this a few times, experienced more workflow pauses admiring the results, and found myself jonesing for these results on other shoots. Wide open, shooting a face full frame, the difference between the liquid crystal clear eyes and the bokeh melted and so even and smooth near the nape of the neck, hair and shoulders is wonderful... definitely a money shot.
It is big and thick and heavy, and not something you can handhold for long, and I am a big guy with large hands. All of 10 lbs+ with the body, so at least a monopod is needed, I added a big RRS plate to the tripod foot for greater stability, and usually enjoy this lens best on a gimbaled head with a sturdy tripod, so I can enjoy its optics almost weightlessly.
I honestly have gotten more client comments on the drama and impact of the images this amazing lens delivers than in any other single piece of gear I have owned in 35 years. It is not cheap, and Nikon does not make many of them, so they are tough to get... just rent one to see what I mean, and you will find yourself lining up to buy one before you know it.
+12points
Review 8 for AF-S VR NIKKOR 200mm f/2G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb

PostedJuly 30, 2010
ewjax
Location Florida
Age 35-44
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
My "go to" lens for any type of action photography. Fast and once I fine-tuned my focus on my D700, it's sharp as can be!
+1point
Review 9 for AF-S VR NIKKOR 200mm f/2G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the faster and sharpness lens i ever had.

PostedJuly 27, 2010
ron
Location israel
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Good for sport out/indor and some shy portrate,good on low light and superb results with film
+2points
Review 10 for AF-S VR NIKKOR 200mm f/2G IF-ED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fast, sharp, bokah!

PostedJuly 30, 2010
wasabiwinny
Location Hawaii
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
This lens will not disappoint. Definitely the most powerful tool in my bag for sports and portraits. The additional benefit is the muscles you develop by carrying it around.
+3points
Review 11 for AF-S VR NIKKOR 200mm f/2G IF-ED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedJuly 27, 2010
koolkiler
Location Viet Nam
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
good to short a photo, i never ever seen good len like it before
0points