Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF DX Fisheye-Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8G ED

Nikon Inc. AF DX Fisheye-Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8G ED

This ultra-wide-angle, frame-filling fisheye, designed exclusively for use with Nikon’s DX-format, delivers incredible images with a 180-degree angle of view.

Average Customer Rating:
4.765 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 51 reviews
5 stars
40
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
51 out of 51(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
49 Questions | 76 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF DX Fisheye-Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8G ED
Review 1 for AF DX Fisheye-Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Awesome Awesome

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Govan
Location Atlanta
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Great lens, excellent quality, sharp, would recommend to all.
-31points
Review 2 for AF DX Fisheye-Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stadium Lens Requirement

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Scripps23
Location San Diego, California
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
Below is a photo I took with the Nikon 10.5mm "fisheye" lens in the press box of the home of the Boston Red Sox--Fenway Park. This lens has amazing resolution and infinite depth of field, even at large apertures. The railing near my feet and the center field scoreboard are equally in focus. This image was taken with a Nikon D200 camera body at a shutter speed of 1/125 of a second (hand held), an aperture of f/4, an ISO of 400, Auto White Balance, and Center Weighted Metering.
+2points
Review 3 for AF DX Fisheye-Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fun lens

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
KeithM
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
I'm a big fan of wide and ultra wide angle lenses, and always wanted a linier fisheye for that something extra.
This lens delivers. Super sharp, with amazing DOF.
I can put it in my pocket when I walk around for that different perspective so it usually comes along when I go out to shoot.
I often use it vertically for doorways, windows and buildings.
the fisheye effect can be easily corrected in Capture NX2 for great ultra wide shots if desired.
+9points
Review 4 for AF DX Fisheye-Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun and useful lens

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
foodwriter
Location Hudson Valley, NY
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
I always wanted a fisheye, but dropping close to seven hundred bucks on a lens that would only be used occasionally made me hesitate. When I finally decided to drop the hammer (and the credit card) I decided that if I bought it, I would make sure to use it often. I use only prime lenses on my D7000, I started photography back in the '70s when zooms were not that good, and when I go out to shoot I only use the one lens on my camera. The go-to lens is the 35 f1.8 and my second one is the 85 f3.5 micro. Once a while I mount the 50 f1.8. When I got the fisheye I started to go out with it and try to get creative.
Creative I got. I have taken some amazing photos with this lens. As a food blogger I have used it for food, sushi especially looks good with a fisheye, and restaurant interiors. One thing, the lens allows you to get so close that I got food on it once. Winter scenes are cool and it has given some neat shots at the beach.
The lens is solid and well-made with plenty of glass and metal. It has a smooth feel and balances well on the D7K. The fisheye effect can be minimized by centering the horizon and you can make some amazing panoramic photos that way. The effect can be exaggerated by angling up or down. I've made the grill of my Mustang look like it was smiling by hitting the right perspective. The color at the edges is more intense and blue skies look like I used a polarizer, which I like.
Overall, this is an amazing lens and a fun tool. If you buy it, make sure you use it often.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+23points
Review 5 for AF DX Fisheye-Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fun lens

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
nikondxfxsupporter
Location Tawas City, MI, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
one of my favorite lens. very sharp and you can get creative with this beauty. even though it's not always used I will never sell this lens.
+9points
Review 6 for AF DX Fisheye-Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Objectif sensationnel !!!

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Jay-Why
Location Granby, QC, Canada
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Objectif très performante, amusante. Je m'en sert surtout dans le park a neige de la montagne de ski le plus près de chez moi. donne un vraiment bon résultat !!
-2points
Review 7 for AF DX Fisheye-Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beyond My Expectations

PostedDecember 27, 2011
juswnahvfn1
Location San Jose, CA, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Bought this little baby 2 days ago, couldnt wait to take it to the California Nothern Coast, teamed up with a Nikon D7000, the results were astounding, my friends and family members tell me I could sell the photos I took with this little gem, I was also pleasantly surprised when I got home and downloaded the pictures, I was like WOW !!!, Did I really take these !!!, yes I did, view for yourself...
+57points
Review 8 for AF DX Fisheye-Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A superb lens and effect

PostedNovember 26, 2011
UFOwga
Location Washington D.C.
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
I was first introduced to the Fisheye lens (16 mm 2.8) in 1992. It was an exceptional lens! However in 2011, the AF DX Fisheye-NIKKOR 10.5mm f/2.8G ED is by far, the best of this series of lens, Its wide perspective (180 degree sweep) leaves me breathless! The images are absolutely extraordinary on the D7000 Nikon*. To make things sweeter, the lens has exceptional close range properties!
+21points
Review 9 for AF DX Fisheye-Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a wonderful little lens; lots of fun.

PostedAugust 29, 2011
Lander
Location Ghost Ranch, Abiquiu, NM
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have had more fun with this lens than I ever expected. I have gotten stunning results in many different settings from landscapes to portraits. There are many different situations in which I will use a standard or wide angle zoom. And then I will get this little 10.5 out to see what images I can produce. They often are dramatic and much more interesting.
+10points
Review 10 for AF DX Fisheye-Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lens

PostedJuly 29, 2011
bakravitz
Location Massachusetts
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I love the diversity of options for this lens. close as you can get or a wide as possible.
-3points
Review 11 for AF DX Fisheye-Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Choice for Fisheye Lens

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Fisheye Rater
Wanted to buy a Fisheye Lens. Since we own a Nikon DSLR, the choice was simple. We have been experimenting with it, and are very pleased with the results.
0points
Review 12 for AF DX Fisheye-Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing lenses

PostedJune 20, 2011
fisheye shooter
Location San Francisco.CA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
it is just awesome, I am having a tons of fun, you will love it.
+26points
Review 13 for AF DX Fisheye-Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wide and sharp

PostedApril 18, 2011
robosolo
Location Canaan,NY
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is one very sharp lens. I've greatly enlarged images captured with it (D200) and can hardly believe the details it's able to record. Originally the images I produced contained a great deal of the expected distortion and color fringing along back-lighted edges. However, when edited in Photoshop (CS5) using Camera Raw's lens profiles, you can remove the fringing and distortion easily. I only wish that this excellent DX lens could be fully used on a full-frame sensor.
+2points
Review 14 for AF DX Fisheye-Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AF DX Fisheye-NIKKOR 10.5mm f/2.8G ED

PostedApril 15, 2011
Curty
Location Bismarck, ND
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
This has got to be one of the best lenses that Nikon has released and if you are a wedding photographer this is a must have. You can get shots of the complete wedding party in one shot and the quality is outstanding. I've got another fisheye lens that I will most likely sell. Thanks Nikon
0points
Review 15 for AF DX Fisheye-Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NIKKOR 10.5 f/2.8 ED fisheye lens

PostedApril 15, 2011
picsforfun
Location Rockland County, NY
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
I saved along time for this lens, it is the best thing I had ever purchased, it is simple to use, so many different pics you can make with the lens.The winters scenes are the coolest.
+7points
Review 16 for AF DX Fisheye-Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fun to use

PostedApril 14, 2011
Richard M
Location Mechanicsburg, PA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The 180 degree angle means you need to be careful where your fingers and toes are, as well as any companions. For landscapes, use the grid lines on the viewfinder to center the horizon so that it does not bow in either direction. The compactness of this lens is a good example of the benefit of the DX format. Photoshop has a good distortion removal tool.
+5points
Review 17 for AF DX Fisheye-Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun and frivolous

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Murph
Location San Antonio
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
With my 16mm fisheye, this lens is used on my D2X for those funny, funky effects. Also used properly allows for super duper wide angle shots. Not used a lot, but definately a keeper lens.
-4points
Review 18 for AF DX Fisheye-Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great... A must have!

PostedJanuary 1, 2011
Hai-Zi
Location Lower Valley TX
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I would just say... I thought I was enjoying my camera & gear (D50 with 35mm 1.8, 18-55VR & 55-200VR) but after I bought this lens, wow... now, this is fun!
Yes it is pricey but it is also a must have lens, it is compact, high quality & versatile.
+2points
Review 19 for AF DX Fisheye-Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent lens

PostedNovember 29, 2010
Colin
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
I've been using this lens for about 2 years now and its always on hand when I'm out shooting. Great for any situation and the lens really gives you a unique perspective.
+19points
Review 20 for AF DX Fisheye-Nikkor 10.5mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the bery best and most versatile lens.

PostedSeptember 1, 2010
Fish Eye
Location Houston, Texas
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The 10.5 mm Fisheye-Nikkor f 2.8G ED is my very favorite lens. I have found it to be the most creative in my photography, and it has increased my sales of photographs exponentially.
+7points
1 2 3 next>>