Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

(Unknown)

Average Customer Rating:
4.637 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(80 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 80 reviews
5 stars
63
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
3
75 out of 80(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

If you only own one lense - own this one.

PostedMay 22, 2014
Elbo
Location New Zealand
Age 35-44
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This lens has been of great use to me in my work as a location scout. It never comes off my DX format Nikon! 17-55mm is a very useful range, perfect for low light interior shots, bokeh-licious portraits, and beautiful landscapes. It focusses quickly and accurately. Note, as a DX dedicated lens I would not recommend using with full frame FX format - vignetting will occur through the entire range.
+9points
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super objectif,

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Jack
Après utilisation de l’objectif 17-55 f2.8, j’ai été estomaqué de sa performance.
C'est un super objectif!!
Merci Nikon
+2points
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tack Sharp

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Blues2cool
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
This is a must have with your DX SLR compare this to the kit lens and you will throw the kit lens away. It is a professional quality lens and very fast at F2.8. It is my primary portrait lens backed up by a 70 mm to 200mm DX F 2.8 the pair are just about all you would need. It also does a wonderful job for weddings and landscapes. If you haven't purchased this lens yet you have no idea what you are missing!
+9points
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

anniversary

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Optikon
Age 25-34
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Now that it's been 10 years since this lens was dreamed up it would be great to see an update. I think the new effort from sigma will show there is a market for a mid-range crop sensor zoom that really ups the ante with sharp optics through out the entire aperture and focal range. Would much prefer this instead of a new variable aperture slush box.
+1point
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dream Lens for DX

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Bi05
Location Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
can not describe through words.It's perfect.May be one of the best DX lens till date. Go and grab you'll be satisfied.
-1point
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Somewhat happy with refurbished lens

PostedJune 4, 2013
Panther
Location San Diego, CA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I just received my refurbished 17-55. I was surprised that it did not come in a Nikon box. It was packed inside a cardboard box surround by foam. It was well pack but I was surprised it was not in a Nikon branded box. The lens seems to be in fine working order. Front and back glass are clean and no dust. Body is also clean and in good shape. The parts that disappointed me were the caps and hood. The lens cap has obvious scratches and the rear cap has a "S" inscribed on it in silver Sharpie. The hood is also scratched up. I guess that is what you get with a refurbished product hence the three star rating.
-20points
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice professional lens - excellent quality

PostedApril 23, 2013
JRDPHOTOG
Location Clifton Park, NY, USA
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I use this lens on a D300 and D600 Nikon. I find the lens an excellent choice for my type of photography being photojournalistic, commercial and event. The straight 2.8 holds true and works well under available light photography to include the times when flash is needed. The weight is no problem, I find that a heavier lens balances the camera for hand held usage and slower speeds. Shooting at f2.8 gives me continuous sharp images. BTW, the attached images are cropped, shot with the D600...in my opinion, this lens and the D600 is an excellent combination.
+10points
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile and Fast

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
JStJE
Location Massapequa, NY
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I've used my Nikkor 17-55 lens during the past five years for everything from shooting portraits and sports scenes to photographing the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel. I don't mind the extra weight because the photos I get with it are stunning -- time and time again, particularly in low light situations. I used it first on my D80 and now use it exclusively on my D90. With a lens this good I don't feel the need to upgrade my camera -- I don't think I could ever get any better shots. Bottom line -- this is Nikon's best DX format lens and well worth the few extra ounces of weight.
+4points
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Close Encounter Walk Around Lens

PostedMarch 17, 2012
Brian (icumove)
Location Redmond, WA, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got this lens over 6 months ago and have been extremely happy with it. I can see why everyone has been telling me that Nikon has the best “glass” on the market. Because this is a DX lens (I imagine replaced by the 24-70mm for FX) it works great on those lower priced bodies.
This is the way to go for a great wide angle perspective. I love it for walking around in close environments. I have been able to get all the shots I need, even at night.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+23points
Review 10 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny if not more.

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Zac
Location San Fran
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
I've always been uptight about the quality of my photos. No noise, nice color, everything. But I've also never wanted to save more than 600 dollars for a lens. People would tell me that the lenses over 1000 weren't REALLY worth it. That's not the case. I finally buckled down and saved enough to get one of these bad boys. It's also why I'm sticking with the high end DX cameras for awhile longer. Don't bother buying a prime, a wide angle, or another standard zoom. I have 12 lenses and the only time I use them is when my brother uses it.
Pros:
2.8 aperture through the entire focal range for fast shutter speed and freezing motion
extremely study build
smooth turning focus and zoom ring (best i've seen)
autofocus is faster than even my speed demon 35mm 1.8 (less zoom the lens has the faster the focusing usually is)
Cons:
Extremely heavy. My D90, Battery grip, and the lens feels about 15 pounds (a complete guess, but it's heavy)
Cost, even being worth the price, it still took me awhile to save enough for it.
+30points
Review 11 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finest lens currently made by Nikon

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Birdgal
Location Roseville, CA USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I put myself on several waiting lists before finally securing this fine lens. I already owned the Nikkor 24-120 f/3.5-5.6 G AF-S VR lens, and I loved the VR. So, it took me awhile to switch over....however, the color and sharpness of the 17-55mm surpasses all of the Nikkor lenses that I own (and I own quite a few!).
The only downsides to this lens is lack of VR (not a big deal with the newer cameras) and the fact that it is a DX lens. This lens is the main reason I have not gone to a FF camera.
+10points
Review 12 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super love the lens

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Nikonian
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
It's fast, sharp, silent. Been using this lens for about 2+years now and the most used of my 6 Nikon lenses.
+6points
Review 13 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Lens

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Tommy
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The lens is great for portrait and in low light condition. I'm using it on DX camera bodies, D90 & D7000. I also have the 24-70mm f2.8, an the quality pictures that I have taken so far equal to the 24-70mm, but built for DX body.
Super sharp! I would recommend this lens for DX users out there, look no further. This will be my all around lens. I used to use prime lens (35mm f1.8 or 50mm f1.4), now this lens will be on my camera and use the primes for backup in my bag.
+16points
Review 14 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Masterpiece

PostedOctober 22, 2011
ROFL
Location Singapore
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
An excellent lens in performance. Worth in every dollar spent on this lens. Sharp in focussing, shades and tone well balanced. Low light photography at its best.
+4points
Review 15 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't think. Buy.

PostedOctober 13, 2011
Hiwayman
Location Marin County, CA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I have had this lens for about 3 weeks now. I am using it excusively on a Nikon D7000. Prior to acquiring this lens I was using Nikon's "kit" 18-105 zoom, which is actually a pretty good lens, and under the right circumstances can take tack sharp photos. I originally was looking for a good prime lens, but during my research, this lens kept popping up. At first I was quite put off by the price, but I kept reading reviews that gave stellar ratings. I am a traveler who often finds himself in extremely humid, or extremely hot and dry (jungles or deserts) conditions that have a single common thread. They're all very dirty. I needed a lens that was tough (this one is built like a tank) and that had seals (this one does), and would allow me to take as few flash photos as possible (this one is rated at F2.8 across its zoom range...need I say more?). This lens is known as the "photo journalist's lens". It has earned that name by being versatile and tough.
As soon as the lens arrived, I started taking photos and checking them with my editing software. My first photo was of the cat I share a house with. I zoomed in with the editing software. Every single hair was clearly visible. OK. So far, so good. I went into the back yard and took a few shots of flowers. Flowers, especially deep red roses, can be very challenging. The colors were excellent, and the edges of the petals extremely well-defined with no CA that I could see. Bokeh was great, and very natural looking, too. Depth of field is easily controlled as the lens is zoomed because of the Fstop does not change because of the zoom, as in some other zoom lenses.
A few days later I found myself at a car/motorcycle show. Lot's of shiny paint and bright chrome. Shots taken there were incredibly crisp, with no discernible ghosting or comma (ok, ok, I did avoid shooting right into lights, but the chrome could have caused problems). I posted some of the shots to a social media site which usually cuts the resoluton of photos, and my photographer friends there immediateliy commented on how sharp the pictures were.
Though the lense does not have VR, it really doesn't need it. VR is a mechanism that allows you to take pictures at much lower shutter speeds or smaller F-stops than you normally could. Since this lens is already an F2.8 lens across its zoom range, there's not much VR could do for you.
Like any lens made by anyone, this lens has its sweet spots. Like any lens made by anyone, this lens also has some areas where the pictures might not come out as well as hoped. A good photographer will learn the lens and use it in its sweet spots, which are very wide.
Some have complained that this lens is heavy. Well, compared to some of the plastic lenses in production, it IS heavy. However, quality equipment is made with quality materials. Brass and steel, and good glass has weight. On my D7000 this lens is well-balanced. Add a battery grip and it's even better. I have carried the camera/lens set up all day with no problem, but for those complaining about weight, adjust your neck strap, or purchase a harness.
The lens focuses internally so nothing moves when you focus. The zoom does move the front element in and out perhaps 3/4 of an inch, but the lens hood is connected to the body of the lens, so it does not move with the zoom, as on some lenses. This is an added design plus, but it makes for an extremely large and deep lens hood. Many photographers leave their lens hood on to protect the lens against bumps. On some lenses the hood is connected to the front bezel. A bump on a lens like that, even with a lens hood, can damage the internal mechanisms. On a lens like this one, where the hood is connected to the body, damage is much less likely.
Of course I don't need to suggest putting a clear or UV filter on the lens to protect the front element from dirt and scratches. A filter is much cheaper to replace than a front element. The filter threads, by the way, are plastic. This is not just a cost-saving design element, but actually pretty smart on Nikon's part. Bump metal filter threads too hard and then dent, making getting the filter off almost impossible. Bump plastic filter threads and they will often spring back, but can also be worked with a little to get the filter off.
I only have one small complaint. The focus and zoom rings are a bit narrow for me, and placed in such a way that they don't fall easily under the fingers. and one ring is very close to the camera body when the lens is mounted. The zoom ring is pretty stiff, but I believe that's on purpose, as the elements in the zoom mecahnism are quite heavy, and would cause zoom creep if the zoom mechanism was less stiff. Not a huge deal, but takes some getting used to.
The one statement I can make about this lens is that I have four Nikkor lenses, but of the four, this lens rarely comes off my camera body. It's a versatile and robust lens for most photographic situations. It does not suffer fools, however. You will need to spend time learning its quirks, but doing so will be time well-spent, and you will find yourself really falling in love with this thing.
Don't think. Buy. You won't be sorry.
+40points
Review 16 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Average performance

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
acollard
Location san francisco
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Traded up to this lens from nikkor 18-200 dx on the basis of third party reviews promising razor sharp resolution, at the expense of more weight and less range.
My conclusion: unless my particular unit needs calibration of some kind, it is not significantly sharper than the lens it replaced , at half the price.
Quality justifies the pricetag, and weight is not unreasonable.
-10points
Review 17 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedAugust 4, 2011
Miguel
Location Bayamon, PR
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
Ones you put this lens in a camera you will not want to change!
-5points
Review 18 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my every-day lens

PostedJune 9, 2011
ctb
Location Albuquerque NM
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I've used over ten Nikkor lenses, this is the one I always have on my D7000 and F5. It is solid in performance, provides excellent sharpness and no distortion.
-1point
Review 19 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Suberb wide angle zoom

PostedApril 20, 2011
Nikon Jayhawk
Location Phoenix, AZ
Age Over 65
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
For nature, portraits, and travel photography the 17-55 zoom provides moderate wide angle capture and zooms to an 82mm tele on my D300....high resolution and excellent color rendition The f2.8 maximum apature gives me great available light advantages. Overall, it is the best wide angle zoom I have ever used.
+6points
Review 20 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My standard lens

PostedApril 20, 2011
NikonAmateur
Location Cape Cod, MA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
User submitted photo
We originally purchased this lens in 2007 to use for a trip to Italy believing it would work well for shots in the cities. It did this very well. Since then it has become our standard lens on the camera. While not as fast as our 50mm f/1.4, it has proven so versatile that the drop to f/2.8 is an excellent trade-off for us. The resulting photos are sharp and the lens weight and size balances well with our D200 body. This is an excellent lens for DX cameras.
+6points
1 2 3 4 next>>