Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED

Nikon Inc. AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED

This compact and versatile VR image stabilization lens is perfect for landscapes, portraits and distant subjects.

Average Customer Rating:
3.533 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 30 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
6
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
2
20 out of 30(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
Review 1 for AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THE Hidden Treasure!

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Nicky Nikon
Location Baltimore, MD, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
Ive used more than 90% of Nikons lineup, im a Nikon Top 10 Contributor in Nikon reviews. With that said, this is the Sharpest lens available below $1,000 Period. Contrast, low light, low abberation, this lens is the buried treasure. Its an FX lens with DX crop thats unbelievable in quality. Get one and shoot. I guarantee youll never part with it. EVER!
+12points
Review 2 for AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

24t 120

PostedOctober 29, 2011
carlh
Location jacksonville fl
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I've been shooting nikon for over 40 years and i can't find a thing wrong with this lens. I have both the the vr version and none vr.
why i like nikon someone gave me the lens and it was not working ,i sent it in to nikon and thay fixed it at no charge and had it back in two weeks.
+7points
Review 3 for AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent General Duty Zoom

PostedApril 15, 2011
Tom
User submitted photo
I bought this lens over two years ago as part of a D700 DSLR Kit and still love it. The vibration reduction feature has helped a lot with my available light/hand held pictures and sports pictures. The camera with this lens is not too bulky to carry most anywhere. Occasionally the autofocus will be fooled but most often it autofocuses quickly and correctly.I've owned Nikons since the 1960's and consider myself a serious amateur.
+11points
Review 4 for AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A good all around lens.

PostedSeptember 1, 2010
G&L Bassman
Location Boca Raton, FL
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I've used less expensive, and more expensive Nikkors. The 24-120 may not be perfect, but what lens is. My D90 works very good with it. Brilliant colors, and crisp images. I like the metal ring over the plastic ring. If you need a lens with more specialized features, and can lay out the bucks, go for it. But for an every day user, this lens does what it's designed to do for it's price range as well.
-4points
Review 5 for AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedAugust 1, 2010
nikon enthusiast
Location Canaan N.H.
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is a very good everyday lens, and i would recommend it to anyone! I get crisp clear pictures no matter what!
-5points
Review 6 for AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Truly a wonderful lens

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Vapor
Location Fond du Lac, WI
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I use this lens on a D3 and the photographs that I take with it are crisp, clear and exceed my expectations. I use it for 80 percent of my photographs and I am always impressed. It is light and comfortable, and well balanced on my camera. I find the focal length range perfect for everything from events to industrial work.
The lens focuses very fast, the zoom is well damped, and I have no lens creep, The shade works very well, and provides a little extra protection for he front lens element. The VR mode is the best part of this lens and really pays off in low light settings.
This lens is everything Nikon is known for in its optics line. I have yet to find any faults.
+3points
Review 7 for AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best all around lens

PostedJuly 30, 2010
byzvi
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have been using this lens for over 5 years as my principal all around lens with excellent results. I've used it with a D70, D200 and D300 body.
+2points
Review 8 for AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most versatile lens

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Anvar RussianTexan
Location Houston, TX USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Inspite of so many negative review I love this lens.
It worls as designed. I'm an advanced non-pro. Lens is great for travel; the only one I used on a recent trip to Hawaii.
+2points
Review 9 for AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my everyday lens .

PostedJuly 15, 2010
squirrel400
Location Cleveland Ohio
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I am on my 2nd Nikon 24-120mm VR lens. the first was damaged in a fall. The insurance company sent me a check and I could have gotten any lens with the money but I had to get another 24-120mm because I just love the lens.
I keep it on one of my camera bodies at all time. it is super sharp and crisp. On my digital camera bodies (DX bodies D300 and D200) the lens is fast to focus and well balanced.
On my F100 film camera the lens is a true charmer. 24mm is very wide and the range is all I need from most of my photography jobs.
The VR really helps after a full day of shooting when my arms and hands start to shake more.
Just remember the lens will not last long if you drop it down 24 stone steps like I did .. but it was worth getting another one the very next day....
+9points
Review 10 for AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The handiest lens

PostedJuly 13, 2010
jimmyd
Location South Carolina
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
There is nothing I have to say in my opinion that is bad about this lens. I deliver 24x36 prints from jpg with no problems. I will say I get tired of people saying this lens is bad and not sharp, I have even heard it was one on Nikon's worst lenses. If this is the worst (and it is not,) the case is simple. Then Nikon does not make a bad lens.
+6points
Review 11 for AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good general purpose lens

PostedDecember 27, 2010
mre
Location Carson City, NV
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I owned this lens for quite some time and never really found it to be as poor as some have claimed. Than again, I am not a professional and I did not demand things from the lends that I knew it would not produce, given the price point of it. I recently sold it, only to upgrade to the new Nikon 28-300 mm lens, which allows me to leave my 70-300 mm lens home in a lot of situations. Overall, I must say that I was very satisfied with my 24-120 mm f 3.5 lens while I had it and put it to a lot of good use.
+2points
Review 12 for AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Wedding lens

PostedDecember 8, 2010
Nikonhugh
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Professional photographer
I owned the original 24-120 'D' model, the one with the aperture ring, so I was intrigued when Nikon developed and sold and newer model. This is a great wedding lens. It isn't that sharp, but that works in your favor since Brides really don't want images that are that sharp, particularly if they reveal flaws. It's just sharp enough to get the job done.
+2points
Review 13 for AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great All-around lens

PostedAugust 2, 2010
Mike23
Location Houston
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
There is no such thing as a perfect lense, but as far as multi-purpuse goes this 24-120 mm is a must. It is true that a 70-200 mm gives you sharper images, but its unfair to compare them, given the huge price difference. Then again depends on what are you going to use it for. If I am outdoors and there is plenty of light, I would probably have this one on, just because of the weight. Would be a 5 star if it was a f/2.8
+1point
Review 14 for AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Convenient range, heavy, OK for sharpness

PostedJuly 31, 2010
Bill
Location Phoenix, Arizona
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Purchased the lens as part of the package with the Nikon D700. The lens is heavy, and when added to the D700 it makes a substantial load. The lens is not as sharp as my other Nikon lenses, but satisfactory for what I do. Although it supplies a convenient range, it is not quite wide enough nor long enough. A range of 18-200 would fit my needs much better. Finishing and mechanisms are smooth as silk.
-1point
Review 15 for AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is a decent lens. Not great. Not bad.

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Mr. Bohica
Location South Jersey
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
A 24-120VR on an FX camera is NOT as useful as an 18-200VR on a DX camera. It comes up short of being equal to the wide angle and telephoto equivalents of the 18-200. My 24-120 is not sharp wide open at the edges. Not even close. Stop down a bit and it is a good general purpose lens. Fine with SB CLS flash. The Nikon shooters need a better FX version of a wide to tele zoom. I suggest a 24-240VR, a 25-250VR or a 28-280VR for the FX line-up.
-1point
Review 16 for AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great all purpose lens but rather slow.

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Film forever
Location Oklahoma City, OK
Age 55-65
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I've had a 24-120mm AFD lens for several years. I hesitated to buy a second lens with the same focal length and aperture range but I'm glad I did. The auto-focus is much faster than the old lens and the VR is a nice feature. It is easier to use with polarizers since the front element doesn't rotate. I wish it was wasn't a "G" lens, however. With my F5 it is a dream, but with the N90 it can only be used in program or shutter priority mode. The N90 also doesn't support VR, although it does support the AF-S function.
It's a great all purpose lens, but not a replacement for ultra wides, telephotos, or close-up lenses.
It's also good to have some fast lenses such as the 50mm F1.4 and the 180mm F2.8 for low light conditions.
-2points
Review 17 for AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good overall, BUT....

PostedOctober 20, 2011
scaryloud
Location Norfolk, Va
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is a good lens and works nicely. It isn't quite as wide angle as the 18-105, but it seems to be built sturdier and has less vignetting from what I've noticed. The big caveat is the BOKEH!!! Severe onioning and halos when shooting shallow depth of field and having something that will provide round blur in the background. If this weren't an issue I'd easily give it 4 1/2 stars.
+1point
Review 18 for AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

nice Range

PostedApril 15, 2011
Flash
Location Arlington,Va
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lense does not focus fast. The 24-120 f4g is much faster. On the nikon site it does not allow one to register the lense because there is no place to input the serial number. I have been told that Nikon no longer keeps track of products registered with them. Is this true or not. I have been a regular customer of Nikon since 1972 and find the service to be quite lacking at the present time.
-1point
Review 19 for AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not bad but Ok.

PostedAugust 12, 2010
trust photo
Location San Jose, ca
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I initially enjoyed this lens when I purchased my D700 but the thing that i dont understand is why Nikon doesnt provide higher end kit lenses for their higher FX cameras. like a 24-120 f/4, or make the 18-35 f/4 a kit lens for the new ones.
All together i wish this lens was better just add 400 more and make it better.
-3points
Review 20 for AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Wait for the upgrade

PostedAugust 1, 2010
MJR
Location Huntington Beach, CA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Rumor is a new version of this lens is coming out shortly. I will be the first in line if its what is being reported. A 24-120 F4 VR. The old version has lots of detractors carping about its sharpness. I have 2 of these lenses and sharpness has not been an issue. On a FX body this focal is a good one lens only walk about option
,
0points
1 2 next>>