Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED

Nikon Inc. AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED

This ultra-wide-angle lens, designed exclusively for use with Nikon’s DX-format, provides a versatile wide-angle zoom perspective.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 28 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
27 out of 28(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED
Review 1 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

hard to believe

PostedMay 9, 2013
brian
Location ph
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
i felt it on the floor and its a rock. very solid.
-3points
Review 2 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ultra wide to wide view.

PostedApril 16, 2011
NIKONPRO2
Location Aberdeen WA>
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
Like the lens for it's wide zoom, and F/4 opening, but images are soft and you have to sharpin them alot. Sent the lens to nikon for that problem, but repair said lens was fine.
-11points
Review 3 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Lens for a Cropped Sensor Camera

PostedApril 15, 2011
JBS
Location Anacortes, Wahington
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
This is my go to lens for landscape photography. It is fast, produces wonderful color and is very sharp. I use it on a Nikon D300 body and it gives me a very wide view at 12mm and a great standard wide view at 24mm.
+6points
Review 4 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Super Wide Zoom

PostedApril 15, 2011
firephotog3
Location Allentown, PA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
The 12-24 f4 zoom is an excellent super wide zoom. Mine has survived 700+ degree fire rooms as well as high humidity while shooting in a fire training building. I can't say enough for how well this lens has held up under the harshest conditions imaginable. I use this on my D200 rather than my D300 in case the whole package goes up in flames. I'm sure the lens would survive though I don't believe the D200 would.
+4points
Review 5 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally a wide zoom

PostedApril 14, 2011
GarryOwen
Location Farmington, Utah
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I loved the old 20-35mm for film cameras. When I switched to digital I was at a loss for there were not any wide lens! 20mm is a third of my vision, and there wasn't anything. Soon after my switch the 12-24mm came out to supply this need. Granted it is an f4, but the competition lens were variable aperture of f4-5.6, horrible. This lens is sharp. Granted there are now other choices, but this range works wonderful for me!
+12points
Review 6 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fine Architectural lens

PostedApril 14, 2011
fotolou
Location Seattle WA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I use this lens all the time for basic interior and exterior architectural shots. Minimal barrel distortion and chromatic aberration, not a tilt shift, but next best thing for DX sensor.
+8points
Review 7 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Special use lens

PostedApril 14, 2011
Dallas Mike
Location Dallas, tx
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I like the lens - it serves me well, but it isn't the "best" Nikon lens I have. I use this one for interior shots of hotels, homes, etc. Prior to getting a full frame camera I used the 12-24 (equal to 18-36mm), I believe that lens focal length was more useful. If I were to buy a new lens today I think I would go for the 16-35mm f.4 - for my style of photography (architecture and event) this lens would be better. One fault of the 14-24 - too much distortion at 14mm - fine at 18 through 24.
+2points
Review 8 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb DX Wide-Angle

PostedDecember 7, 2010
Eagle1
Location St. Louis, MO
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is a superb wide-angle lens for use on DX cameras, in my case a D50 and D80. I have captured stellar images in the Alps, Sierra Nevadas, Tetons, Grand Canyon, and numerous other wilderness areas with this lens. A slim circular polarizer lives on it and together they produce sharp, high quality images. The 12-24 provides me with a lot of freedom to capture large landscapes. I've used this lens in adverse conditions (rain, snow, sleet, hail, sand, dirty fingers, ...) for over 4 years and it's performed flawlessly. Inevitably, after each trip, I have a few photos that I elect to print as 20x30s and frame. The people at the photo store and the frame place are always blown away by the images.
+6points
Review 9 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens for landscape

PostedNovember 18, 2010
YB
Location Augusta,Ga
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have had this lens for 6 months and really love it.I can take pictures of large buildings and get the whole building and landscaping in the picture.With this lens and my 16-85 and 70-300 lens everything is covered,Thanks Nikon.
+1point
Review 10 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Super Wide I've Ever Used!

PostedSeptember 24, 2010
zensu
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens always nails the focus even to the sharpness in the corners. For landscapes or scenic views this lens is the ticket!
+2points
Review 11 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

18-24 very useful

PostedAugust 27, 2010
nickthedick
Location somewhere
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
is a good lens but overpriced in a lot of place (900-1000) i got mine for only 650
if u love landscape or creative picture you going to love this lens
It's very sharp at the 18-24mm, be careful when u using the 12-15mm and don't set the aperture go lower than f10
-2points
Review 12 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great range for DX cameras but doesn't hold up

PostedAugust 11, 2010
Kato
Location San Diego, CA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
When I first got this lens a few years ago, it worked great and produced excellent images out of my D2X.
As it got older (and subjected to more of the knocks that come with pro use in the field), image quality gradually degraded. Have had it back to Nikon in CA twice to get it serviced. This has helped restore some of the image quality, but after five weeks it looks like quality is slipping once again. Will have to sell this for a substantial loss.
-7points
Review 13 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product really works well as a wide angle.

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Hiker
Location San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have over 15 Nikon lenses. When I hike, I found that the 18-200 f 3.5 - 5.6 was not wide enough. I have used the 12 - 24 at Yosemite, Bernie Falls, and at other locations. It is sharp for people and landscapes and with just 2 lenses and my D 300, I have a wide range that does not weigh me down too much. I have been very pleased with the addition of the wider focal ranges, sharpness,and the construction of the lenses. I can recommend it as a lens that is sharp and works when you feel cramped by 18 mm on a DX camera. The extra range really helps to set pictures apart. After much research, I settle on this lens and I am glad that I did.
+8points
Review 14 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolute Best Wide-Angle Zoom

PostedAugust 2, 2010
Crazy_for_Landscapes
Location Maryland
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I am a landscape photographer, and landscapes are my passion. From Virginia to Alaska, I shoot landscapes of all types. I have 4 main lenses that I use for most of my work, but until recently, for really wide angles I owned the Sigma 10-20, which I thought would be the best lens for me, after doing a LOT of researching. I was so WRONG!! I owned the Sigma for 2+ years, and it was an ok lens, but there were many things wrong with it: rectilinear aberration at focal lengths shorter than 13 mm, even after running the picture through programs like DxO Pro Optics. Noticeably warmer pictures than with my Nikkor lenses, although same WB. And noticeable softness, especially compared to all the other much better "gold-ring" Nikkor lenses, even to the point that my non-photographer wife could spot which lens I used by just glancing at the picture. So I finally broke down and bought the 12-24 f4G, and never looked back. And I didn't trade in the Sigma, just put it back in its box, with some vague ideas of selling it or whatnot, but I'm just having too good a time with my 12-24 Nikkor f/4. Everything that was wrong with the Sigma is RIGHT with the 12-24 Nikkor. All the trees are straight even at 12mm. The pictures are tack-sharp at almost every focal length. No WB change. Focusing is instaneous. I don't miss the extra 2mm compared to the 10mm Sigma, because in fact I ended up gaining 1mm, as I had to always step down the Sigma to 13mm to get acceptable pictures. The 12-24 Nikkor lens is a pleasure to use, super-bright, and exceedingly well made. The lens performed flawlessly in -20 degrees in February north of Fairbanks, or on the sands of Olympic National Park, on the Pacific this past August. It's exactly what I have come to expect for a "gold-ring" Nikkor, and it officially ends my forays into third-party lenses. I strongly recommend it to anyone who is into landscapes, as I am. I also think it is a professional lens, which it shows clearly, and therefore I would strongly urge anyone who thinks that it would be better to get the 10-24 "consumer" version to instead consider the 12-24. I have played with the 10-24, and you can definitely tell which lens is meant for the pro vs which one is meant for the amateur. If you want to save money, then of course go for the cheaper lens (which happens to be wider), but if you want demonstrated optical quality and mechanical reliability, and a lens that you will keep for a lifetime, do not hesitate to sacrifice the 2mm, and choose the 12-24 lens. I have absolutely no regrets from this purchase, the only regret is the once-in-a-lifetime places that I was not able to capture with this lens because of my previous purchase of the Sigma, and because I put stock in the opinions of people on the web that I thought knew what they were talking about, instead of just going with Nikkor professional lenses, such as this one.
+34points
Review 15 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Favorite wide angle zoom

PostedAugust 2, 2010
WyeKnot
Location Fort Collins, CO
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Solid construction, quick, silent focus. wonderful focal length range. great optic performance. Not exactly light weight wise. Be sure to get thin filters or they will vignette the image. Would like to see the wide angles cover down to the 8 to 10mm range similar to the Sigma products. I particularly like the super wide image look and feel..
+6points
Review 16 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great coverage with good quality.

PostedAugust 1, 2010
NikonShooter
Location Bellmawr, NJ
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
This lens was purchased with my real estate clients in mind. It's proven to be a worthy investment for that purpose. I get great coverage for the shots with good sharpness. Other's comments about sharpness at 12mm have been consistent with my lens. In my experience, 12mm sharpness does suffer, nothing too much that cannot be corrected in post-production. Autofocus speed is not bad, but I don't think it's meant for sports or children. Highly recommended for the right need.
+4points
Review 17 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super great lens.

PostedJuly 30, 2010
jchastn
Location Seattle, WA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I use this lens more than any other. I mostly shoot landscape and architecture for travel. This lens is sharp, colorful, and makes fantastic pictures on my D300.
+4points
Review 18 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Diverse Lens

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Landscaper
Location Las Vegas
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens is a got to have if you shoot landscapes! It's diversity gives great perspectives at all focal lengths. I researched a lot of lenses, then decided on this one. It's been a great performer in the field. The clarity of the lens compaired to the standard one I recieved with the camera is amazing. It's been a great addition to my equipment!!
+2points
Review 19 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just love the extreme wide angle.

PostedJuly 30, 2010
dcfl
Location Fort White, FL
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
The lower end, 12mm, is wonderful that
wide photo. I have 65super angulon for my 4x5
view camera and this 12-24mm makes up for "not" carrying the view camera around. A great all around lense. Super for those wide grain field
or curved escalator's in Las Vegas. Does wonders to caputre the great Hoover Dam and surrounding areas.
Wonderful zoom wide variations for my Florida
photography. Very sharp. My D200 just loves this lens. The other brand recommended by many photographers on web site forums, always their's
is almost as good as the nikon. Reason I bought this wide angle zoom, because it is the best combination for my present camera system.
0points
Review 20 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nikon 12-24 wide angle

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Nikon lover
Location Hilo, HI
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I have been using this lens for about 4-5 years. It is used with my D70 body. There seems to be minimal to no distortion even at the maximum zoom. My main use is I take pictures of houses and apartments.
0points
1 2 next>>