Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D

Nikon Inc. AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D

This compact and fast, f/1.8 lens is versatile and perfect for travel and portrait pictures as well as general photography.
Average Customer Rating:
4.765 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(153 Reviews) 153
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 153 reviews
5 stars
123
4 stars
26
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
152 out of 153(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
111 Questions | 182 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Review 1 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best lens ever

PostedAugust 1, 2010
MissiSue1
Location Grand Blanc, mi
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
This is the best lens ever. I use it for everything and have had the most amazing results. So sharp. Takes the most beautiful shots of eyes and sleeping babies. Love it and recommend it to everyone.
+23points
Review 2 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing addition to the AW1 with FT1 adaptor !

PostedApril 16, 2014
LeTone
Location Montreal, QC, Canada
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This prime lens turned my AW1 into a beast. Sharpness, wonderfull low light caption and control over focusing via the manual focus ring. You just set and lock aperture at 22 on the aperture ring and the AW1 controls aperture via the FT1 mount. The focus only works on manual though, but it's no big problem. The lens is still amazing and fun to use. Maybe an upcomming firmware update might add autofocus ability ? Who knows. This is still the best bang for the buck i've had !
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
Review 3 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Baita Lente

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Cica
Lente ótima de grande qualidade e preço muito bom.
+2points
Review 4 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you can have only one lens this is it

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
JohnGB
Location New York City
Age 55-65
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
After using Nikon lenses for film since the late 60's I bought this lens for my D800. Not only is it the cheapest lens (adjusting for inflation) that I have ever bought new, it's one of the very best. I can find no fault with it and use it for demanding subjects such as architecture. I think that it's my sharpest lens.
+3points
Review 5 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelente!!!

PostedDecember 8, 2013
[J_P_G_M]
Age 25-34
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Excelente lente muy luminoso, y genera buen efecto bokeh, para retratos muy bueno y no deforma!!!
+3points
Review 6 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best kept secret

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Fraucha
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
If you honestly think you have to spend a boat load of money on a 50mm you are sadly mislead. I have used this lens on my D800 for the last 15 months. So, before you bash D800 users for using this lens, keep in mind that this glass is so sharp it will make you weep. Exactly what a D800(e) needs. Exceedingly light, fast focus, dead on sharp. This is a great walk around lens and honestly after spending money on the holy trinity and a few other lenses "pros" tell you you must have....I keep this on almost always. For the price you can not go wrong, you will be more than pleased with it's performance. Get it, you won't be sorry.
The only other 50 I like is the 50mm f1.2 AI-s, but this 1.8 is just so much more fun.
+13points
Review 7 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simplesmente uma lente Maravilhosa

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Desidério
Location Gravataí - RS, Brasil
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
Se você está procurando uma lente com custo acessivel e com ótima Qualidade, indico ela com certeza.
+4points
Review 8 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome sharpness!

PostedApril 22, 2013
SRBPhotogallery
This lens is fantastic, fast, sharp and bright! A great lens to walk around with and not take up much space!
+6points
Review 9 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent inexpensive little lens.

PostedApril 1, 2013
jhawk1000
Location Kansas, USA
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have owned this lens for some time now. I do not use it often since I shoot wildlife but when I do, the pictures are always sharp with excellent contrast.
+15points
Review 10 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Captures great pictures on a budget!

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Dowctor
Location Karachi, Pakistan
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
For its price this is an amazing lens. A must have for the camera bag. The build is stable even if being made out of plastics. Also a must for anyone who wants to learn photography.
+16points
Review 11 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great deal

PostedMarch 8, 2013
kiwicanada
Location Canada
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Very nice lens. We have a couple of Nikon dslrs and a bunch of mid to high end Nikon lenses including the 50 1.4 and the 35mm 1.8 and this is great value for money. Tack sharp. Nice light. Good bokeh. If you zoom and crop with raw the quality detail is still there. Quality product at the right price point. Rubber hood works very well with it. Handy to get for the $.
 
My product recommendations
 
+4points
Review 12 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cheap Lens (Pricewise) - Outstanding performance

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Old Deep Sea Diver
Location Houston, TX, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Comparing the "D" to the "G", there is little, if no sharpness difference across numerous types of shooting.
I was shooting Outside Landscape, People, Random Traffic and other fast moving objects, Night, Long Exposure, and Indoor shots #mostly action# and Construction Shots #for work - fabrication, welding, painting in-situe#. Basically, using this as a all around walkabout.
I was using this lens on a D800E, which is a very picky camera in which I do not claim full knowledge on it's settings or tricks or quirks - I am only an amateur that is very picky about detail and results.
Before I get bashed on this review for putting one of cheapest lenses on one of the more expensive cameras - I would recommend trying it out.
At about $130 bucks, it is definitely a lens you get for the bag, unless you to pay the extra 300 for the "G" model, that has very little, if any improved results - #although looks a lot more aesthetically appealing#.
Sharpness: Actually, the "D" I found was slightly sharper.
Noise: there is noise, whirs and clicks, but for me, that isn't an issue.
General Build - cheap feeling, construction decent - but it is one of the cheapest Nikon lenses after all.
I plan on buying the BR2A Reversing Ring for some creative macros - http://www.nikonusa.com/en/Nikon-Products/Product/Miscellaneous/2657/BR-2A-Lens-Reversing-Ring-for-52mm-Thread.html to play around with this lens, and will upload photos at a later time.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+11points
Review 13 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Favorite Lens

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
BC in KC
Location Kansas City, MO, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I got this lens to use on my N2020 Film camera and then made the digital jump with a D5100. This lens is great on the 5100. Of course it is manual focus only but it takes great low light candids in bars and other situations.
Again keep in mind, if you use this lens on the 3000 or 5000 series you won't have AF but images are great and worth the extra work.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+13points
Review 14 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great portrait lens and at a great price

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
nervemotion
Location Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
This lens works great on FX and DX cameras. I will give you the similar focal length as a 85mm lens on an FX camera. The bokeh is very good for this price point. I get almost no distortion with this lens, which is a big plus, but the distortion can easily be fixed in software. I highly recommend this lens for it's versatility. If you have a film camera, its the perfect walking lens for it.
 
My product recommendations
 
+1point
Review 15 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Quality

PostedDecember 5, 2012
TPilot
Location Lexington, KY, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I didn't think it was possible to take a picture with the detail this lens offers. Switching between auto focus and manual is easy with no loss in picture quality. I will use this lens for the next 1000 photos.
 
My product recommendations
 
+10points
Review 16 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Diaomond at a price of pebble

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Panujit
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pro's:
1. Low-light capability (its obvious @ 1.8)
2. Super cheap (at this price other than this you'll probably get add-on filters)
3. Sharp beyond ~f/2.5
4. Light weight (1st time I saw it, it seemed a toy lens to me :-P)
5. Great for portraits, street photography, indoor photography.
6. Auto-focus is there except for the beginner DSLR Bodies (D3100, D3200, D5100, D5200 etc).
7. Manual focus is easy though takes practice.
8. Aperture ring is there (its a D-type) - helpful in many cases e.g., in movie recording or if you want macro-photography using lens reversing rings.
9. Though the body is plastic, mount is metal.
10. Doesn't rotate during auto-focusing, a relief for those who uses polariser.
11. FX (full frame) compatible, DX owners get the best portion of the lens.
12. Extremely low distortion.
Con's
1. Cannot auto-focus on the beginner DSLR Bodies (D3100, D3200, D5100, D5200 etc), manual focus is the only option on this bodies.
2. At f/1.8 its not sharp, you have to step down to f/2 for acceptable sharpness, beyond f/2.5 its sharp though.
3. Shallow depth (obvious) at higher aperture.
4. A bit noisy focus-operation.
5. Quality of bokeh is horrible at max aperture - you can see the effect of straight blades - Heptagonal shaped bokeh is visible. Stopping down a bit will help.
6. If you are used to zoom lenses and using prime lenses 1st time, a reminder - you will need to position yourself with respect to your subject for the right composition.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+29points
Review 17 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little lens!

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Avvy
Produces exceptionally sharp images, even under low light. A very good lens indeed!
+3points
Review 18 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens!

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Helmar
Location Poços de Caldas - Minas Gerais, Brazil
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This lens has an amazing quality of image. I've bought it by its price to use with a D5100, so I can't autofocus with it. Even in manual focus I can make some great pictures. It's perfect to close portraits creating a perfect bokeh effect with is largest apperture values....
+7points
Review 19 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cheaply priced to take superb pictures. Highly recommended.

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Shutterbug7000
Location Ceres CA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I only have two lenses to carry on, a 2.8, 70-200mm Nikkor and this. This lens shows it's superiority in portraits creating nice bokeh. Might feel made out of cheap materials but light enough to travel around with my Nikon D7000, a real good match. Uses it for a D40 (of course manual only, but that's where your skills comes in) once in a while with the same good results. Can't ask for more. Great prime lens.
+5points
Review 20 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing lens! Combined with D7000 its a match made in heaven :)

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Srkwithlove
After spending just a few hours, this lens has left me spell bound. Have been looking around for a prime for a long time and am glad I got this as my first. Highly recommend this to everyone.
+3points
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>