Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D

Nikon Inc. AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D

This compact and fast, f/1.8 lens is versatile and perfect for travel and portrait pictures as well as general photography.

Average Customer Rating:
4.695 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(164 Reviews) 164
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 164 reviews
5 stars
129
4 stars
27
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
3
159 out of 164(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
127 Questions | 211 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Review 1 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best lens ever

PostedAugust 1, 2010
Location Grand Blanc, mi
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
This is the best lens ever. I use it for everything and have had the most amazing results. So sharp. Takes the most beautiful shots of eyes and sleeping babies. Love it and recommend it to everyone.
+55points
Review 2 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best lens you could ever buy!

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Location San Marino, CA, USA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got this lens a couple years ago when I found my dad's old FM2. I didn't know how good this lens was until I customized my picture control and shot in aperture priority. I don't know how old this lens is, as mine was made in Japan but hearing the autofocus was never a problem for me. For simply a $130, you get so much image quality and low light shooting capability that you'd be crazy not to get this lens. I shoot with a Nikon D7000 so if you have a camera that doesn't have an internal motor, are you willing to put with shooting in manual focus? I also love the contrast and the simple build.
Pros:
Super Sharp Image Quality
Lightweight
Great Glass
Made in Japan (for mine at least, Nikon may have outsourced now)
BOKEH
Cons:
If you have a camera like a D3200 or another entry level DSLR, you have to take into consideration that autofocus is not compatible
Feels plasticy and tacky
Is known to break fairly easily
If you don't take image quality into the discussion, this lens doesn't look intimidating or even all that impressive.
+1point
Review 3 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent first lens for learning and value to use for years

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Location San Francisco, CA, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
The 50mm f/1.8D is the very first lens I bought along with my first Nikon. I tried them both out at the camera store before making my purchase. I found it to be a great first lens for so many reasons. Being an affordable fast prime lens is on top of that list. I've used it for black & white as well as color film photography. It is small and light that walking around photographing is not tiring. The filter size being 52mm makes it affordable to experiment with different filters.
Though the autofocus doesn't work with entry-level DSLR, I'm not lowering how I rate this lens for it because the 50mm f/1.8D worked with the film camera I bought with it, F5. When I got my first DSLR, it worked just fine with it too. It focuses fast and the images are sharp and clear. When I want to be more creative than what the camera does, i manually set the aperture on the lens and manually adjust the focus to infinity for long exposures.
For the price, you really can't complain about the value you get out of it. The 50mm f/1.8 is a great first lens when learning photography and provides years of use.
0points
Review 4 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cheap fast prime lens, manual focus

PostedJune 19, 2015
Location Harrison, Me
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens is a steal for the money . I use it with my Nikon D3200 it only works in manual focus but it's F/1.8 aperture is great for low light conditions. I have used this lens to photograph stars, landscapes and people, a nice prime lens takes better pics than the kit lens that comes with the camera.
+13points
Review 5 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful prime lens

PostedJune 14, 2015
Location Citrus County, FL, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I love this lens. I use it on my d7100 and the results have been excellent. It is great in low light, very sharp, focuses quickly, and gives great crispness and color fidelity. At the price, this may be the best bargain in camera lenses, period. I highly recommend this lens for any camera with a focus motor in the camera (7000 series or higher).
+6points
Review 6 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb value for a very capable lens.

PostedMay 4, 2014
Location Atlanta, GA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I have been pleasantly surprised at the quality of images I consistently get from this little lens. For the price, there isn't much to complain about. No, it's not the sharpest lens in the world when shooting it wide open - nor will it produce the best bokeh at that range - but stopped down to f/2.8-4, you'll really see it shine. It will still perform well if you need to shoot it at f/1.8, but don't expect miracles from it.
That said, you can't beat the clarity and quality you're getting for the price. If you have a camera body with built-in AF, this lens is a no brainer.
+23points
Review 7 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing image quality at an affordable price!

PostedApril 19, 2014
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bought this lens for my Nikon D7000. I'm getting more into video so I needed a lens with an aperture control ring. With bodies like the D7000 and higher you can take advantage of the aperture control ring when using AF-D lenses. You have to enable this function in the D7000's menu. Its custom function f6.
When enabled the aperture ring will allow you to change the aperture in live view and while recording video, which is a HUGE plus for videographers. I also have the 24mm 2.8D which is another great AF-D lens. Both of these lenses are all I really need for video.
As for image quality well its sharp! very sharp. Its actually better then I was expecting. Its a little soft wide open which is to be expected. However stopped down a bit and this lens will deliver amazing detail and color. Its built quality is just as good as other D lenses. Its made of plastic but it doesn't feel cheap. It feels solid in the hand, plus its focus ring is nice and smooth with a little bit of resistance.
As for auto focusing on my D7000 its fast to find focus. Its not loud like other people complain about. I mean yeah it makes noise but its not annoying. Over all I'd buy this lens again and again.
I really hope Nikon keeps all of their AF-D lenses in production for a long time. They are small and compact plus they are affordable.
 
My product recommendations
 
+23points
Review 8 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing addition to the AW1 with FT1 adaptor !

PostedApril 16, 2014
Location Montreal, QC, Canada
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This prime lens turned my AW1 into a beast. Sharpness, wonderfull low light caption and control over focusing via the manual focus ring. You just set and lock aperture at 22 on the aperture ring and the AW1 controls aperture via the FT1 mount. The focus only works on manual though, but it's no big problem. The lens is still amazing and fun to use. Maybe an upcomming firmware update might add autofocus ability ? Who knows. This is still the best bang for the buck i've had !
 
My product recommendations
FT-1 Mount Adapter
5 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
 
 
+4points
Review 9 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Baita Lente

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Lente ótima de grande qualidade e preço muito bom.
+16points
Review 10 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you can have only one lens this is it

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Location New York City
Age 55-65
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
After using Nikon lenses for film since the late 60's I bought this lens for my D800. Not only is it the cheapest lens (adjusting for inflation) that I have ever bought new, it's one of the very best. I can find no fault with it and use it for demanding subjects such as architecture. I think that it's my sharpest lens.
+5points
Review 11 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelente!!!

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Age 25-34
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Excelente lente muy luminoso, y genera buen efecto bokeh, para retratos muy bueno y no deforma!!!
+12points
Review 12 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best kept secret

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
If you honestly think you have to spend a boat load of money on a 50mm you are sadly mislead. I have used this lens on my D800 for the last 15 months. So, before you bash D800 users for using this lens, keep in mind that this glass is so sharp it will make you weep. Exactly what a D800(e) needs. Exceedingly light, fast focus, dead on sharp. This is a great walk around lens and honestly after spending money on the holy trinity and a few other lenses "pros" tell you you must have....I keep this on almost always. For the price you can not go wrong, you will be more than pleased with it's performance. Get it, you won't be sorry.
The only other 50 I like is the 50mm f1.2 AI-s, but this 1.8 is just so much more fun.
+32points
Review 13 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simplesmente uma lente Maravilhosa

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Location Gravataí - RS, Brasil
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
Se você está procurando uma lente com custo acessivel e com ótima Qualidade, indico ela com certeza.
+7points
Review 14 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome sharpness!

PostedApril 22, 2013
This lens is fantastic, fast, sharp and bright! A great lens to walk around with and not take up much space!
+11points
Review 15 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent inexpensive little lens.

PostedApril 1, 2013
Location Kansas, USA
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have owned this lens for some time now. I do not use it often since I shoot wildlife but when I do, the pictures are always sharp with excellent contrast.
+16points
Review 16 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Captures great pictures on a budget!

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Location Karachi, Pakistan
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
For its price this is an amazing lens. A must have for the camera bag. The build is stable even if being made out of plastics. Also a must for anyone who wants to learn photography.
+15points
Review 17 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great deal

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Location Canada
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Very nice lens. We have a couple of Nikon dslrs and a bunch of mid to high end Nikon lenses including the 50 1.4 and the 35mm 1.8 and this is great value for money. Tack sharp. Nice light. Good bokeh. If you zoom and crop with raw the quality detail is still there. Quality product at the right price point. Rubber hood works very well with it. Handy to get for the $.
 
My product recommendations
HR-2 Screw-on Rubber Lens Hood
 
 
 
 
 
+7points
Review 18 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cheap Lens (Pricewise) - Outstanding performance

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Location Houston, TX, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Comparing the "D" to the "G", there is little, if no sharpness difference across numerous types of shooting.
I was shooting Outside Landscape, People, Random Traffic and other fast moving objects, Night, Long Exposure, and Indoor shots #mostly action# and Construction Shots #for work - fabrication, welding, painting in-situe#. Basically, using this as a all around walkabout.
I was using this lens on a D800E, which is a very picky camera in which I do not claim full knowledge on it's settings or tricks or quirks - I am only an amateur that is very picky about detail and results.
Before I get bashed on this review for putting one of cheapest lenses on one of the more expensive cameras - I would recommend trying it out.
At about $130 bucks, it is definitely a lens you get for the bag, unless you to pay the extra 300 for the "G" model, that has very little, if any improved results - #although looks a lot more aesthetically appealing#.
Sharpness: Actually, the "D" I found was slightly sharper.
Noise: there is noise, whirs and clicks, but for me, that isn't an issue.
General Build - cheap feeling, construction decent - but it is one of the cheapest Nikon lenses after all.
I plan on buying the BR2A Reversing Ring for some creative macros - http://www.nikonusa.com/en/Nikon-Products/Product/Miscellaneous/2657/BR-2A-Lens-Reversing-Ring-for-52mm-Thread.html to play around with this lens, and will upload photos at a later time.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+15points
Review 19 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Favorite Lens

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Location Kansas City, MO, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I got this lens to use on my N2020 Film camera and then made the digital jump with a D5100. This lens is great on the 5100. Of course it is manual focus only but it takes great low light candids in bars and other situations.
Again keep in mind, if you use this lens on the 3000 or 5000 series you won't have AF but images are great and worth the extra work.
 
My product recommendations
D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit
4.6 out of 5(741)
 
 
 
 
 
+21points
Review 20 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great portrait lens and at a great price

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Location Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
This lens works great on FX and DX cameras. I will give you the similar focal length as a 85mm lens on an FX camera. The bokeh is very good for this price point. I get almost no distortion with this lens, which is a big plus, but the distortion can easily be fixed in software. I highly recommend this lens for it's versatility. If you have a film camera, its the perfect walking lens for it.
 
My product recommendations
 
+5points
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>