Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF Zoom-Nikkor 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5D IF-ED

Nikon Inc. AF Zoom-Nikkor 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5D IF-ED

Versatile, high-performance wide angle zoom with Internal Focusing (IF) design for smoother, faster AF.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 12 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF Zoom-Nikkor 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5D IF-ED
Review 1 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally got it back

PostedApril 16, 2013
H Goot
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Professional photographer
This lens is a great performer. I had been using it throughout the "old ages" film days with my F3, FM, and F100. Loved it then. Moved into the digital age with a D100, D70s, D40, D5100 and D7000. Found the vignetting not to my taste and had to move (and purchase) D series lens to get the look.
Lo and behold, my new D600 will be happy to see through this glass, as I have finally get it back from a friend who was shooting film with in (on one of my FM2's) Glad to have it back. Full Frame!!
0points
Review 2 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedAugust 20, 2011
Lance
I got mine from ebay.This is a good little lens.If you want a wide?Get this one.Price is right.
+2points
Review 3 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent quality

PostedApril 14, 2011
MalayaleePhotographer
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Excellent quality optics. Great for Wedding and low light Photogrpahy on my Nikon 300s. One of the best lenses I have ever used.
+2points
Review 4 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great wide angle zoom for DX cameras

PostedAugust 7, 2010
Stomper
Location Midland City, Alabama
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I purchased this lens for use on my F-100. It is sharper on my new D-300s because of the crop factor. On a DX camera it becomes a 27mm - 52mm lens. For me this is a great range for a zoom and with ED and IF the price can't be beat. Other internet reviews agree with me.
-1point
Review 5 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Roe
Location Peoria, AZ
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
This is one of the best lens ever many people think I'm using a macro lens this is a very good all around lens.
-9points
Review 6 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Vapor
Location Fond du Lac, WI
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I purchased this lens several years ago, to go with my D1X. I found the lens to be sharp and crisp providing great colors. I still use this lens today on my D3. I now have a super wide angle lens when I need it. It is small, and light and I always have it in my camera bag. This lens has seen a fair amount of use and it keeps on working without fail. For the money, it is a great value in a wide angle zoom.
+8points
Review 7 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT LENS

PostedJuly 30, 2010
not2worry
Location Florida
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have owned this lens since when I purchased my D50 some 15 years ago.
I have never been disappointed with the results that I have received. It's a great lens for twighlight and indoor photos.
The price is good for a great, long-lasting lens.
+3points
Review 8 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this lens!!

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Roy C
Location Scottsdale, AZ
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is the standard lens on my F5 and rarely comes off the camera.
+3points
Review 9 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Glass

PostedJuly 28, 2010
monk the artist
Location Inglewood, CA
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
I am a working professional Artist/Photographer for more then 30 years now and I have used nikons for most of that time. I purchased this lens along with a D700 and they are a great combo from ISO 100 to 6400.
+8points
Review 10 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5D IF-ED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A sleeper lens

PostedNovember 10, 2010
leicaglow
Location Central Oregon
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I would rate this lens 5 stars, except I have to reserve something for the likes of the 85mm f/1.4, 105mm Micro, etc. I didn't care for my 18-55mm kit lens for my D200 (I understand the newer version of that lens is better). I bought this as sort of a poor man's 17-35mm lens. The first think I noticed from actual shooting is that it's very difficult to get this wide lens to flare. The coating is simply amazing. I'm not a big fan of the big front element and flower shade, but I can live with it. This is the lens I leave on my cameras. I've used it with my 35mm Nikons and it is also very good, with a bit of barrel distortion at 18mm, but not bad. I really like the lens, and believe it is one of Nikon's best deals. If you're not a consumer looking for a 10x zoom, then you'll appreciate the performance from the 18-35mm.
+3points
Review 11 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5D IF-ED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid, affordable glass.

PostedJuly 31, 2010
Wayne in OK
Location Norman, OK
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Great, light lens that does everything you would want it to. Good detail, to me, from edge to edge at most F-stops. Focuses relatively fast for my purposes (family, landscape, cityscape, art) and is sharp enough for all. Never tried sport with it. My ONLY complaint would that it is not 3.5 across the entire zoom range, or even 2.8, but at this price point I can forgive that.
+5points
Review 12 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5D IF-ED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great little lens

PostedJuly 13, 2010
jimmyd
Location South Carolina
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I am retired and my income is not what it was but the shooting goes on. The newer lenses may be better in some ways but the quality and ease of carrying this lens wins for me. I like it a lot.
+2points