Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF Micro-Nikkor 60mm f/2.8D

Nikon Inc. AF Micro-Nikkor 60mm f/2.8D

Nikon compact micro lens: AF Micro-Nikkor 60mm f/2.8D. Enjoy extreme close-ups plus a great focus range for general photography.
Average Customer Rating:
4.903 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 31 reviews
5 stars
28
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
30 out of 31(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
37 Questions | 48 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF Micro-Nikkor 60mm f/2.8D
Review 1 for AF Micro-Nikkor 60mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Close, closer, closest

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Librarian7
Location St. Louis, MO, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
Macro is a fascinating aspect of photography and I acquired a manual focus Micro-Nikkor several years ago and created a number of wonderful pictures with it. However, I was always frustrated by the annoyance of setting up the older lens. I was lucky to find a pre-owned 60mm lens and the auto-focus makes such a difference. Not only do I have a sharp everyday f2.8 60mm for my D610 I can also use it on my DX body as a 90mm portrait lens. I am sure the latest 'G' version is a masterpiece too, but for the occasional close-up work I shoot this lens is great.
+5points
Review 2 for AF Micro-Nikkor 60mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Macro worker
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I’ve had this lens for a while now and feel confident enough to share a small review. Starting off I must say how sharp this lens is. I use a D50 and a D200 with this lens and they work very well with this lens. This lens is of a quality that feels good in the hand and on the camera, well made in Japan. The limit feature is quite useful if your subject is from one foot to infinity, focusing becomes very quick in deed, the same is true on the macro side going from1:3 TO 1:1 ratios. The lens uses a ring on the barrel fitted with a lock button to let you switch from manual or automatic focus, the focusing ring is very smooth and response well to the touch. To get a f/2.8 Nikon had to increase the front element to a 62mm accessory, this not a problem, I have the Micro 85mm f/3.5 with a 52mm front element loosing ⅔ of a stop is not worth a smaller 52mm accessory. In conclusion all I can say is that the lens is worth every penny I paid for it.
0points
Review 3 for AF Micro-Nikkor 60mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Minimal distortion.

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Orel
Location Oryol, Oryol Oblast, Russia
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I use this lens to retake signs and labels on the equipment. I live and work in Russia. Focusing is sometimes mistaken for work at low temperatures (When the air temperature inside the lens is different from the outside temperature?). Additionally reluctantly note: there is no instruction in Russian. Please publish the manual in Russian.
+3points
Review 4 for AF Micro-Nikkor 60mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharp as can be all over at smaller apertures

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
vincent
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Great lens a little soft at the corners wide open but stopped down it is as sharp as I would ever wish for
+19points
Review 5 for AF Micro-Nikkor 60mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic lens. Extremely sharp

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
vraev
Location Ontario, Canada
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is my first lens that I bought after i got my D90 kit. Truly worth every penny. The lens is amazingly sharp. The DOF at f2.8 is so shallow that sometimes its hard to get everything in view. The bokeh is also nice and adds a beautiful effect to the photograph. Overall, totally worth to get this lens. Also works as a fantastic potrait lens. Only problem is it is extremely sensitive to "vibrations". Tripod use is highly recommended with this lens. OR get the slightly more expensive newer VR version.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+17points
Review 6 for AF Micro-Nikkor 60mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT LENSE

PostedDecember 24, 2011
VXD28
Location Houston TX
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This lense is awesome, I am a novice photographer, just like to take picktures of bugs and flowers. I got this lense for this purpose and it was AMAZING. The sharpness was uncanny and the color was so vibrant, makes me look at every day objects and in a totally different way.
+20points
Review 7 for AF Micro-Nikkor 60mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super sharp lens for portraits & macro

PostedAugust 18, 2011
Nikon Shutterbug
Location Montreal (Quebec) CANADA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is the best non-zoom lens that i ever had; it is incredibly sharp for both portrait as well as macro photography, making it a very useful multi-purpose lens for any serious photographer
+9points
Review 8 for AF Micro-Nikkor 60mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sharp and solid

PostedApril 15, 2011
steveb
Location Delaware
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens surprises. I thought that it might not have sufficient working distance, but that has not been a problem at all. The lens is sharp, and I find the focus speed surprisingly quick ( for a macro lens) and sure (also for a macro lens). I like its recessed front element and its solid build. I use a Nikon NC filter on the lens to keep the front clean, as the ridges there would make it difficult to get dirt out. I don't use a hood here because the front element is so deeply recessed.
The images I get are very sharp, and I like their quality. The lens isn't like a normal F2.8; the aperture varies in close focus, so you'll need to have good light for those close shots. If you do, you'll be amazed with the results.
+4points
Review 9 for AF Micro-Nikkor 60mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 14, 2011
jjw45
Location Grand Rapids MI
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have only used this on a digital body, the results are superb. Color rendition and sharpness are spot on. I have used it for general scenic photography as well a close ups of flowers and can highly recommend it for either. For close ups on a digital body, the conversion factor gives effect of a 90 mm lens, so you have a little more working room, as well as easier lighting.
+8points
Review 10 for AF Micro-Nikkor 60mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A true gem

PostedApril 14, 2011
Diginaturepics
Location Tinley Park, IL
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I've been using this lens for almost 7 years as my workhorse closeup and macro lens for nature stuff, and it's an absolutely wonderful lens. Sharp, great contrast, no C/A and it stays very sharp as you go to the smaller f/stops. I used it on my D70 body from 2004 until last year when I upgraded to a D90, and this lens performs superbly on both of them. It's truly a pro lens, built very robustly too. I won't go out shooting without it.
+13points
Review 11 for AF Micro-Nikkor 60mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceptional image quality

PostedApril 14, 2011
Michael
Location Seattle, WA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I just picked up a used AF Micro-NIKKOR 60mm f/2.8D and performed some test shots, including shooting a flat page with a lot of detail to test edge to edge lens clarity. I am blown away at the crispness of the image across the entire field. There is a little pincushioning but this is easily profiled in Lightroom. This, my first macro lens has just opened up an entirely new area of photography,
See the test shots with this post.
+8points
Review 12 for AF Micro-Nikkor 60mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great resolution, bright image, versatile

PostedApril 14, 2011
LA Riceman
Location Rayne, LA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
I shoot technical photography in agricultural settings. Most of the subjects are plants, insects and plant diseases. The environment I work in (hot and humid summers and wet winters) subjects the equipment to severe stress, everything from dust to mud and scorching heat to bone chilling cold. Nikon lenses have never failed. This lens is used almost exclusively for close up work. The ability to achieve 1:1 magnification without adapters is a great asset. Just a great lens anyway you look at it.
+6points
Review 13 for AF Micro-Nikkor 60mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharp!

PostedApril 14, 2011
Jonathan
Location Colorado Springs CO
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Professional photographer
I use this lens when photographing small things such as newborns or rings at the wedding. The lens is fantastically sharp. I have been using this lens for 10+ years and has never failed me one time.
+6points
Review 14 for AF Micro-Nikkor 60mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A very good lens

PostedApril 14, 2011
BWCombs
Location Dallas
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
I haven't tried them all, but I have to believe that the AF 60mm f/2.8D is one of Nikon's best lenses. I have used it with film and digital, and the clarity, fast focus, and performance is outstanding. It's great as a portrait lens on the APS digital sensor, and the macro capabilities are unlimited. It is one of my go-to lenses in my bag.
+9points
Review 15 for AF Micro-Nikkor 60mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best lens I've ever used.

PostedApril 9, 2011
Logan
Location San Diego, CA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens was truly the best lens I have ever used. I carry it around or have it on my camera whenever I'm shooting pictures. I have a Nikon D300 and I use this lens and the 18-200 VR f/3.5, and I prefer the 60mm far more. The macro abilities of this lens are truly incredible. I can get up 2-3 inches from the tip of the lens to the subject, with it focusing. But not only the macro, it's a great overall lens for everyday use. Now, some people may be scared by a fixed lens, and it does take some getting used to. However, it is truly a great lens. A couple small issues: First, which may just be some compatibility issue between my camera and this lens, but the autofocus will occasionally be unable to focus effectively, and will keep going between the extremes of the focus limits. However, this is rare and probably only happens to me. Second, not really as much of an issue, however it has an incredibly shallow depth of field when close up on a macro subject, which some may like, and others find troublesome. However, that can be fixed if you have enough light by cranking up the f/stop, so not a big problem.
I very much recommend buying this lens over any other lens out there. It is truly an incredible lens for the price. I have included an image that I took with this lens, to show the macro capabilities. The centre of the flower (where the sort of honeycomb pattern is) was about a centimetre in diameter, for reference.
+11points
Review 16 for AF Micro-Nikkor 60mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Phenomenal!!

PostedFebruary 16, 2011
Vince in Yakima, WA
Location Yakima, WA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I originally purchased this lens for capturing finished products (Atlantic Salmon Flies). As this hobby faded I started getting into flower macros for my wife. The superb creamy bokeh matched with incredibly sharp details makes this lens the best prime in my bag. I highly recommend this lens!
+9points
Review 17 for AF Micro-Nikkor 60mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Slow but Wonderful

PostedNovember 24, 2010
Charlie
Location Florida
Age Under 18
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
First impression is that this is a very solid lens, it does not feel like a dinky plastic lens even though it is made out of plastic.
It has an aperture ring which is good for some cameras but redundant for modern DSLR's.
Once on the camera, it focuses loudly but very quickly. The focus limit switch is also very useful. The manual focus ring is very smooth and a good size.
On a good good camera, this lens will produce very good images.
My only complaints are how loud the focusing is and f/2.8 is a bit too slow in some situations.
+8points
Review 18 for AF Micro-Nikkor 60mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Crystal clear images

PostedOctober 5, 2010
DPScherer
Location Toronto, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I was never really into macro photography until I purchased this lens and it has opened a whole new world of images for me. I am constantly amazed by the clarity of the images and the ease of use of this lens. Nikon products never fail to impress me.
+18points
Review 19 for AF Micro-Nikkor 60mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great verstility.

PostedOctober 4, 2010
FotoHaole
On my D90, the 60 micro is an excellent portrait lens. Very versatile lens with quality construction and feel. Excellent IQ in almost any application.
+9points
Review 20 for AF Micro-Nikkor 60mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Phenomenal Lens!

PostedSeptember 30, 2010
Lbhunter63
Location Cartersville, GA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Great close ups, even sterling portraits! Very versatile. Use wide open for spectacular bokeh
+8points
1 2 next>>