Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED

Nikon Inc. AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED

High-performance, high-speed telephoto zoom is a superb choice for sports and portraits, even in challenging lighting conditions.

Average Customer Rating:
4.797 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 59 reviews
5 stars
49
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
58 out of 59(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
71 Questions | 94 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
Review 1 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nikon's Legendary f2.8 Tele-Zoom

PostedAugust 6, 2010
Symmetre
Location Toronto, ON
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I have used this lens on assignments around the world. It's been dropped, splashed with salt water, left in hot vehicles for hours on end, caked in sand, and no matter what I do with it, it continues to make extraordinary pictures every time out. It focuses nearly as fast as the 70-200 AFS, yet it is noticeably smaller and lighter, and best of all it costs one-third less! Yet its optical performance is absolutely unreal. Sharpness, contrast and colour fidelity are spectacular. Distortion is minimal, ghosts and flare are unheard-of. It's built like a tank.
Several people have asked me why I don't upgrade to the 70-200 AFS with VR, but in all honesty I just don't see what I would gain. This lens does everything I ask of it and more. Wonderful lens that every photographer should have in their bag.
+172points
Review 2 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great alternative to 70-200

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Hindsight
Location Denver, CO
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
This lens has been fantastic for shooting horse shows, and for everything else as well. It's a little long for close up work but if you've got room to back up does fine for portraits. Always sharp, and very fast, it is a fine sub for the twice as expensive 70-200. It's heavy though, be sure and get a more elastic foam type strap for long outings to avoid neck chaff. Good for indoors especially w today's awesome high ISO sensors. Most indoor arenas can be shot at ISO 3200 or less at 2.8 without flash.
+61points
Review 3 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bokeh, fantastic lens

PostedNovember 18, 2014
munchmeister
Location Fort Collins, Co
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This lens is a go to lens in my bag, as a great landscape tool as well as street photography and even portraits and head shots. Very fast focus, one of my favorite Nikon products.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
-1point
Review 4 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nikon Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED AF

PostedAugust 20, 2014
NikonNiko
Location Guaíba - Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This will probably be one of the most desired zoom lenses Nikon ever.
       Still continue to have a good demand and its share price, despite the innumerable quantity sold in each of its versions, is a reflection of the robustness and quality with which they were built.
       Produced from 1987 to 2008, was sold in four models:
*1 (1987-1992) 80-200mm Nikkor f / 2.8 ED AF - model push / pull with 3 ED elements.
*2 (1992-1997) 80-200mm Nikkor f / 2.8 ED AF-D - going to be an objective of the series D (now has the distance information to the object focused for better light metering, now possible in 3D Matrix). Is also a push / pull with 3 ED elements in your building model.
*3 (1997-2006) 80-200mm Nikkor f / 2.8 ED AF-D - also D series, this third model (review here) has won a string of tripod and went on to have two rings - one for adjusting focus and the other for focal length. As with previous models has three ED elements.
*4 (2007-2008) 80-200mm Nikkor f / 2.8 ED-IF AF-S - D series, this latest model now has a system of internal focus IF. Its optical construction features 5 ED elements.
      
They all have in common the excellent optics and build quality.
       The optical quality of this lens is excellent! Produces images with vivid colors, good contrast and very sharp. Certainly the three ED elements present in its construction contribute to such good results.
       The blur is excellent, very smooth! Produces beautiful results in all situations is not necessary to use it only in larger apertures.
       The level of construction, just pick up one of these lenses to feel its weight and robustness denouncing their quality. Very well built, made primarily of metal.
       But it is important to pay attention to some details: this is not a sealed and resistant to dust and moisture objective! It takes some care to use it wherever you go. This objective suffers easily with condensation. Careful when exiting a hot environment and go to a cold environment with this objective!
       It is also good to be careful with the focus ring, it seems that plastic is used internally to keep you stuck. This plastic can break the misuse. I've worn a used model that was being sold and the focus ring suffered this damage.
       Only handle this objective is already a pleasure! While "big" and heavy is a comfortable lens to use. The two rings are well placed - the zoom ring is not "glued" to the camera body - which allows you to switch between them expeditiously.
       DX used in this objective becomes a 120-300mm f / 2.8! A good range of distances and certainly more than enough for a multitude of situations.
+9points
Review 5 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best mid range zoom lens from Nikon

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
OLA71
Location El Paso, TX, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I’ve been with Nikon gear since 1993 and my “mayor” fist buy was the older version of this lens (the push-pull barrel with no tripod mount). I start with this comment because this version corrects almost all the disadvantages of its predecessor. The “slow” barrel motion to get the correct focal distance and the BIG issue that you need to buy a “cradle” to hold the lens to a camera in order to put both together mounted in a tripod.
In terms of price you’ll find it in about $1,200 and it worth every dollar invested. The “new” version moves smooth and fast depending on which camera you put on. The new versions like the D600 are quite faster than the older ones but the fact that still uses the motor in the body makes it a little slower vs. the 70-200mm version.
The optics are exceptional and with poor light conditions or indoors you can get razor blade sharp photos at f/2.8. This lens is also great for portrait because you can move form 85mm to 135mm with a little twist of hand. Allowing you to be more still or to keep a good distance vs. your subject. The other advantage is its shallow depth of field that allows you to have really blurred backgrounds.
Since I can remember all the Nikon (ED rated) are simple the best in class. The colors are true and the definition and sharpness always at the top. They worth the extra bucks!
Another advantage is the filter size (77mm) if you are considering to move to top of the line gear you can invest in Nikon Filters such as the New soft focus or the circular polarizer and use between them. There are now plenty of other top lens with such filter size. This is important when you buy a Polarizer of +$125 USD.
I tested the 80-200mm VR and the outcomes in terms of quality are almost the same, the difference is if you take photos without tripod at focal lengths higher than 105mm. As a thumb rule you need a speed that doubles the focal length in order to avoid camera movement. In this case to obtain a 1/250 sec. in low light or indoors is not that easy. Nevertheless now we can “compensate” using a higher ISO number. In the old days the use of an ISO 400 film was considered fast. Now with the newer Nikon DSLR you can set the ISO at 800 or 1600 and still get outstanding results.
Some consider this lens “old fashion” because don’t come with the VR features but this depends on you. I still like to “think” when you are taking portraits and compensate the camera movement and lighting conditions, making photography both, challenging and rewarding.
+7points
Review 6 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

True work horse!

PostedAugust 3, 2013
StuDawg
Location Fremont, CA, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Semi-professional photographer
I've bought this lens at least 12-13 years ago and have taken 1,000's, and I mean 1,000's, of first quality pics (35mm and digital) with it. It's truly a beast and it has been trucked all over the world and has never failed me!
My photo buddy has the 80-200 VR II and we can't tell the difference, except that he's not very happy about spending a grand for VR that he doesn't ever use!
We're both shooting D800's and as with every Nikkor 2.8 lens, the images are spectacular. But that's what I expect or I wouldn't have switched from Canon 14-15 years ago!!
+5points
Review 7 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lens

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Joe C LI NY
Location Long Island, New York, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have used this lens a few times under different solutions & have found it to be very reliable, incredibly sharp easy to use in close to distant shots in an instant. I only have it 3 months this winter season & can't wait to use it a great deal more the rest of the year when the weather is agreeable. So far I have only hand held this lens with excellent results but this lens is best used on a tripod where its full potential can be explored.I attached 4 of the most recent hand held shots in sequence of the gull flying/landing & the dog came out of nowhere & I adjusted & got him too.! All in one motion & zooming in/out thats how easily this heavy duty lens reacted. The heavy weight is offset by the excellent results achieved.
 
My product recommendations
 
+4points
Review 8 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No Faults

PostedMarch 5, 2013
MartinC
Location San Diego, CA, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have used this lens for 5 years for thousands of shots, primarily at soccer games. It is built like a tank, optically excellent and great value. For sports VR doesn't help so for me the choice was easy beween the newer 70-200 VR and the 80-200. I have used this lens on a D200 and now on a D7000 and in both cases focus is fast and precise despite the 'old' screw drive focus.
There really isn't any more to say, I just wish all the newer lenses were as solid as this one.
+10points
Review 9 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb optic quality, sturdy and solid and yes, FAST AF

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Irak P.
Location Mexico City, D.F., Mexico
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I've had my copy for about 4 years and there are a lot to say about it, i'll start with the:
PROS
Incredible image quality continuously from f2.8 to f11 where diffraction kicks but still usable results.
Sharp CORNER TO CORNER also from 2.8. The Bokeh is just beautiful wide open (slight loss in roundness at the corners) and acceptable up to 5.6, if the subject to background distance is enough the blur is super creamy and ethereal.
But this tank is not all this girly stuff... It is extremely well build, solid and sturdy, absolutely not a delicate lens, it can take well use and abuse, all internal focusing is welcome and front element slightly inside the outer rim making it safer. The limiting device works just fine but you might never use it if you leave it in full because this lens ALMOST NEVER HUNTS OR LOOSES C-AF, which is actually very very fast.
I do a lot of Collage Basketball and Volleyball, and its AF speed is enough, only I have tried the 70-200 AF-S vr II and yes, it focuses a slight almost unnoticeable faster the new one. (Is it worth the 2x Price?...)
Overall it is a fantastic lens that i have to say to all the people that say it is heavy, well... are'n all the good lenses a bit heavy? It is certainly not that heavy, not for the quality of this gem.
The tripod collar has a perfect quality in the movements, yo can leave it slightly loose and then rotate orientation vertical to horizontal as many times your framing dictates and it won't loose further or get tighter at all, the best I've tried in that matter. All japanese quality, here is far superior to the new 70-200 VR II.
Some may encounter the fall-off from 135 to 200 a little bit too much (only at 2.8, by 4.0 it is unnoticeable) I don't, in fact is pleasant for me, if you don't like it Lightroom has the lens profile and wipes the fall-off very fast and also DXO does a great job automatically. (I prefer the results from lightroom).
CONTRA (yes... singular, not plural)
The ring that selects manual or AF it is terrible, it is flimsy as its placement is awkward, exactly where the lens rests when handheld, you keep pushing the button all the time, and eventually, due to the poor quality of the plasticky ring you end up breaking it. I've break it 3 times, last time I didn't send it repaired and glued the stuff in place, surprisingly Its holding on better than new.
Summarizing, if you want to shoot gym or sidecourt sports you wont use the VR of the new lens anyway, (it will slow your AF therefore FPS if you use release+focus or focus release priority, so BETTER GET OR KEEP THIS ONE. If you don't shoot sports and you use this one for portraits, GET OR KEEP THIS ONE. Only for quicker situations (male basketball for instance) might be BETTER THE AF-S of the new 70-200, and the difference is a slight one. For the weddings i find the AF-S of the new one QUIETER and more suitable than this 80-200 because of the 70 length instead of the 80 and the slight better close focus capacity of the AF-S VR II... That is why I'll get the new one and only for that.
I hope this was useful for your decision.
 
My product recommendations
HB-7 Bayonet Lens Hood
 
 
 
 
 
+10points
Review 10 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very strong lens.......

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Patt
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
What a strong lens,........I have several Nikon lenses,all very fine. But this baby is perfect for my D700.I feel it has substance,some may call it heavy..I do not. It is wel balanced,focuses faster than all my lenses...and is razor sharp...Do not hesitate to purchase this lens....
+6points
Review 11 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing 80-200mm 2.8D lens!

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
imagesbytommyg
Location Worcester, MA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I have had this lens for almost two months now as a replacement to another zoom model (non Nikon) and it is amazing. The price is right, it is very sharp and is average in weight for this focal range. The build quality is phenomenal and makes me proud to walk around with a pro-lens. Great job Nikon!
+5points
Review 12 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a great 2.8f Zoom for a great price

PostedSeptember 14, 2011
Alewigi
Location Johannesburg, South Africa
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
If you are starting out as a pro or a serious photographer, and looking for a 2.8f pro zoom, this is the lens to get. Period! The results on a D300s is almost the same as the newer much more expensive 70-200mm and you will hardly miss the extra f-stop. I Love This lens, Bokeh is beautiful! Daytime or low light... With the Crop factor of 1.5 on the D300s, I actually have a 102-300mm. It fits nicely in smaller camera bags. Looks really good on the camera. Performs every time. Pin sharp pictures, you can really crop. Weddings, Wildlife, Watch out.. I'm coming for you.
+14points
Review 13 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MOST VERSATILE

PostedJuly 31, 2011
SWEDE
Location PALM COAST FLORIDA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
This is my most used lens. It is versatile, easy to hold, has great glass, and has not failed me in any weahter condition anywhere in the world
+4points
Review 14 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lens I have wanted for years

PostedJuly 7, 2011
BK
Location Manchester, Ct
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens I have had my eye on for years. Back in the day with family, it was not in the budget. This is a fantastic lens, affordable, with quality glass. It works great on the D7000, and my old N8008. The quality of the pictures is amazing. For the price, this is a bargain. The VR on the newer 70-200 is not all the impressive, for an extra $1000 plus dollars. This is a great lens, and should not be overlooked.
+8points
Review 15 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great quality lens very sharp and fast

PostedApril 18, 2011
Nickolaas
Location Idaho Falls
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
This is a great lens I shoot sports. I have found this lens to focus super fast with wonderful sharpness.
I would highly recomend it.
-1point
Review 16 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best zoom telephoto I have ever owned

PostedApril 14, 2011
crow
Location Vallejo CA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
This zoom is the best I have ever owned. Its sharp and focus is fast. As for speed this lens combined with my D-700 is exceptional. I've owned Nikon since 1968 and I think they have out done themselfs this time.
+4points
Review 17 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best all around zoom

PostedApril 14, 2011
Ed
Location Southern CA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
The 80-200 D f2.8 two ring lense has always been a favorite. The amazing quality throughout the full range of zoom and apeture is spectacular. I also like the boca the lens creates. There are few lenses that really help create great images this is one of them. This is the second time owning this lens. I will kepp it until I accidentally drop it of a cliff or loose it in the ocean.
+3points
Review 18 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens, a work horse.

PostedApril 14, 2011
lou's photos
Location Sunnyvale, Ca
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Sports
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
I'm a freelance sport photographer for an online newspaper. Since buying this lens all of my sport photography has been shot with this lens. It has fast focus and very nice bokeh. It's built like a tank and I feel like it will be around for a long time to come.
+8points
Review 19 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superior performance, built like a tank

PostedApril 14, 2011
R adn Photography
Location Florida
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I have owned and shot with this lens for about four years now. it is the most reliable and durable lens I can imagine.
The images are tack sharp. I have compared it to the latest stabilized Nikon lens with no discernible difference in image qualities.While shooting high school sports this lens was slammed, dropped, and generally torture tested but never failed to perform even when the auto focus switch was broken, I held it in place and shot the second half.of the game. As a matter of fact I shot four more months before I had the lens repaired.
+9points
Review 20 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens but a bit heavy

PostedApril 14, 2011
Cellar1
Location Guelph Ontario Canada
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have had this lens for about two years and find that the lens takes high quality photos. The lens is quite heavy but this is expected as the lens is quite large.
I have carried this lens on many trips and excursions around the world and canoing and camping in areas close to my home.
I am certainly pleased with the lens. If I had the available cash I might even consider purchasing a 400mm lens as I enjoy taking photos of birds and animals and sometimes it is hard to get close enough with the 200mm lens. I don't have any difficulty using the lens even when I have had to hold my camers above crowds of people.
I would definitely recommned this lens. I shied away from the VR lens as I have had some issues with VR with another camera where the VR setting made focusing a bit of an issue!! And VR is supposed to make focusing easier!! Go figure.
-1point
1 2 3 next>>