Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S Zoom-Nikkor 17-35mm f/2.8D IF-ED

Nikon Inc. AF-S Zoom-Nikkor 17-35mm f/2.8D IF-ED

High-performance, ultra-wide-angle zoom lens, perfect for candid photography and news photojournalism in challenging lighting conditions.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 56 reviews
5 stars
46
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
51 out of 56(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S Zoom-Nikkor 17-35mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Review 1 for AF-S Zoom-Nikkor 17-35mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent short zoom

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
JRDPHOTOG
Location Professional photographer, Clifton Park (Albany burb) New York.
Age Over 65
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
I have had this lens only a short time, however I have made many images with available light (f2.8) and daylight work with apps of f4-5.6 at much of the zoom range. Sharpness is excellent, compact lens, a little heavy but that adds to stability of shooting in low light and low shutter speeds (as low as 1/10th sec) hand held rendering sharp images. I would certainly urge any photog doing photojournalistic or event work to include this lens in your bag. It does take some knowledge of short lenses to get the image you re looking for. Note - I have used another photogs lens of this type prior to purchasing one. For my work it is an "everyday lens!"
+5points
Review 2 for AF-S Zoom-Nikkor 17-35mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

General professional walk-around lens

PostedMay 25, 2013
kursatkarabulut
Location Ankara/Ankara Province, Turkey
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this lens a year ago and it's pretty useful in landscapes, street photography and indoor shoots. Unlike 16-35 vignetting and distortion does not bother much, and can be easily corrected in Photoshop. I use a D800 and I've seen some comments that this lens is not sharp which I don't agree. If you want a general professional walk-around lens this one is yours.
+1point
Review 3 for AF-S Zoom-Nikkor 17-35mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An ideal wide angle zoom.

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
JMAN
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have been using this lens for a couple months now, and it has served me well. The Images are crisp and I have not seem much vignetting. Although the corners might be slightly soft it hasn't really been an issue for me. I love using the lens with filters, especially my 9 stop grad for artistic landscapes. There are a few things worth mentioning here though. For one there is a bit of chromatic aberrations even at higher f stops(although correctable in lightroom). My other gripe is the auto focus. There is a bit of a high pitched sound unlike other AF-S lenses, which are dead silent. My overall opinion is it is a great lens that will see a lot of use on my camera.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
 
+5points
Review 4 for AF-S Zoom-Nikkor 17-35mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An oldie but (very) goodie!

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Longstanding Nikon enthusiast
Location Litchfield County, CT, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
One of Nikon's stellar lenses (like the 24-70mm f/2.8, 70-200mm f/2.8): sharp and f/2.8 thru its focal-length range, with very solid build. Excellent near-extreme wide-angle lens for FX bodies (film or digital) and even a fine wide-to-normal zoom in DX format. Despite its age, this design's image quality remains competitive with that of the newest products (eg, 16-35mm f/4 VR).
+9points
Review 5 for AF-S Zoom-Nikkor 17-35mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedOctober 6, 2011
millimus
Location NJ
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I've had this lens for several years now I purchased it from another photographer who probably wishes he had never sold it.
It's built like a tank, I had it serviced by Nikon and it has served me well. Originally built for film cameras today still every bit as viable. Good glass is good glass. Love this lens!
+12points
Review 6 for AF-S Zoom-Nikkor 17-35mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must have lens for serious photographers

PostedJuly 20, 2011
d.edwards photography
This lens is a must for wide angle views encountered with interior photos, portrait, and general landscape photography especially if lighting is difficult.
Weight should not be a disadvantage with respect to this lens as it is extremely well balanced on most bodies.
The clarity and detail from this lens is stunning
+17points
Review 7 for AF-S Zoom-Nikkor 17-35mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb Interiors using Nikon's best glass

PostedJune 12, 2011
TheLondonPhotographer
Location London
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 20 years
Role Professional photographer
I have been shooting prestige interiors (Roomsets and SuperYatchs) for over 24 years and have always had Nikon in my bag. I consider one of the best lenses Nikon has ever produced is the 17-35 ƒ2.8. As a Pro Photographer, I have 3 Nikon D3's one which is attached permanently to the 17-35 since new, its never been taken off ! The glass in the lens is nothing more than stunning. For people who understand optics the density of the glass is all important. This lens is heavy make not mistake about it (due to the 2x high density ED elements) and the chassis will last forever. My work has been used at the London Boat Show to poster size panels of over 10meters and the glass gives amazing edge-to-edge sharpness with rich true-tonal graduations. The lens designs gives very little barrel or pin-cushion effect. I think I will never change this piece of gear. Its the perfect choice for optimum quality and durability.
+24points
Review 8 for AF-S Zoom-Nikkor 17-35mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Architectural quality zoom from the film days

PostedApril 16, 2011
Britographer
Location Texas, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Professional photographer
I shoot a lot of architectural subjects, and this lens has seen a lot of buildings. It stays in my kit today with my digital bodies. It has a fast constant aperture, zoom range from ultra-wide 17mm to moderate-wide 35mm, and has very low distortion. I used this lens extensively on my F5 film camera, and today use it on all my digital bodies, including the D3 and D3X. I think it holds up well with the transition to digital sensors. It also is a great choice for shooting events/weddings because of the fast aperture.
+10points
Review 9 for AF-S Zoom-Nikkor 17-35mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This zoom lens is fast and sharp.

PostedApril 15, 2011
Terost
Location Clearwater, FL
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Semi-professional photographer
This is my "normal" lens. It works great with the FX series digital cameras and film too. It has an amazing definition and sharpness. This lens also has a low level of barrel distortion. I know a photographer who has a 14-24mm zoom and he told me that it is an excellent lens but has limited uses. The 17-35mm has more range.
+4points
Review 10 for AF-S Zoom-Nikkor 17-35mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast and crisp

PostedApril 14, 2011
Mike
The pictures are very sharp and the low light capability on a D700 is fantastic.
+1point
Review 11 for AF-S Zoom-Nikkor 17-35mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent everyday lens - has become my favorite

PostedApril 14, 2011
CK
Location Converse, TX
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I purchased this lens while waiting for the follow-on to the D700. I am using it a my old D50 in the mean time. The lens has a solid well built feeling. It's weight is not a problem because the lens is very nicely balanced. Focusing is fast and quiet. The biggest surprised was with close-ups. I shot some amazing close-ups in my rose garden. At a birthday party the 17-35 mm range worked well in a crowded kitchen with a glaring back light enabling me to take excellent photos in tight spots. I compared the bokeh of the F2.8 v my Nikkor 50 mm F1.4 Prime. For portraits the F1.4 was the winner but for all-round photography in close quarters this lens is hard to beat. I will give it a real workout in April 2012 during a trip to a remote area in the Far East.
+9points
Review 12 for AF-S Zoom-Nikkor 17-35mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceptional lens

PostedApril 14, 2011
John T
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
This is an exceptional lens. Clear, sharp with incredible detail from corner to corner and edge to edge. Great depth of field performance, well protected from the elements and excellent contrast from side to side. It is a little heavy but on a tripod there is no problem. Standard 77 mm filter size. I have been using the lens to stitch together large panorama. The lens performs exceptionally well.
+4points
Review 13 for AF-S Zoom-Nikkor 17-35mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Nikkor 17-35 "a must have" lens

PostedApril 14, 2011
getphoto
Location Williams Lake, B.C. Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Last year when I purchased a D-700, I needed to replace/upgrade from a couple of DX lenses. I chose the AF-S Zoom-NIKKOR 17-35mm f/2.8D IF-ED to be the first. I am absolutley impressed. A year has passed and the more I use this lens the more I smile as I generate images that were previously out of my reach.
+3points
Review 14 for AF-S Zoom-Nikkor 17-35mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Built like a tank

PostedApril 14, 2011
BookemDanno
Location Vancouver, BC
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
A solid, dependable lens. Performs well at all focal lengths. Very close focusing. Moderately good bokeh at closest focus distance; gets better & smoother at further focus distance. A heavy beast, but weight has never really been an issue and it helps balance the camera.
+2points
Review 15 for AF-S Zoom-Nikkor 17-35mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of my 3 prime lenses

PostedFebruary 25, 2011
edthefed
Location Bowie, MD
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I bought the lens for my F100 and I now use it on my D3. It has a wonderful zoom range which makes it useful in numerous situations both interior and for landscapes. Sharp and quick to zoom I couldn't be without it. I've been shooting with Nikons for 33 years and this is one of my faves. The only drawback is the weight of the lens on the D3 makes for a heavyweight combination.
+1point
Review 16 for AF-S Zoom-Nikkor 17-35mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Lens

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
TESPhoto
Location Chicago, Illinois
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
This lens exemplifies Nikon's reputation for quality optics. Solidly built and sharp throughout the zoom range, this 'glass' should be in every landscape photographer's bag. I used this lens extensively this past fall when visiting Yosemite. The prints are spectacular and adorn the walls in my home. Pricey?...yes but worth every penny!
+4points
Review 17 for AF-S Zoom-Nikkor 17-35mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent+

PostedNovember 21, 2010
ProPhotog
Location Long Island, NY
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
This lens never lets me down! Great in tight spaces, interiors, low light and gives impressively sharp results through the whole zoom range.
+2points
Review 18 for AF-S Zoom-Nikkor 17-35mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Film and Digital compatibility

PostedNovember 12, 2010
ExtremeWeatherPhotographer
Location Sharon, CT
Age 45-54
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
I was using this lens on the F5 and F6 with great results. When assignments require digital only, which is 99% of them now, there is no need to sell this lens for fear of poor image quality on a digital body. I've produced images for architects, books, editorial and private contracts with 5 different digital cameras and every time the results were extremely sharp and color correct. This was taken on assignment and used for a travel story in a national newspaper. D80 body, 1/50th, f2.8 at 19mm.
+1point
Review 19 for AF-S Zoom-Nikkor 17-35mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Landscape Lens

PostedSeptember 23, 2010
AielloPhoto
Location San Francisco Bay Area
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
This is my GO TO Lens for landscape and cityscape photography. This a great wide angle lens does everything a landscape photographer could hope for. I highly recommend this lens.
+3points
Review 20 for AF-S Zoom-Nikkor 17-35mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharp and contrasty, my everyday lens.

PostedAugust 15, 2010
D700 Fan
Location Jensen Beach, FL
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
This is an excellent lens for landscapes, close ups or just walking around. Images are sharp and have plenty of contrast. My D700 has become my everyday camera and this quickly became my everyday lens for it. I kick myself for waiting so long to spring for it; don't wait to treat yourself to great glass!
+11points
1 2 3 next>>