Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF Nikkor 180mm f/2.8D IF-ED

Nikon Inc. AF Nikkor 180mm f/2.8D IF-ED

This high-performance, medium telephoto is ideal for sports arenas and concert halls. Also fantastic for portraits, action and astronomical photography.

Average Customer Rating:
4.952 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 21 reviews
5 stars
20
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 out of 21(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF Nikkor 180mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Review 1 for AF Nikkor 180mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Prime Example

PostedJuly 31, 2010
NikonNut
Location Green Bay, Wisconsin USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Semi-professional photographer
I use the AF 180mm f2.8D IF-ED to photograph everything from an Indoor Football League pro sports team to concerts, portraits and wildlife. It is the sharpest lens I have ever used. Users of a competitor have admired it's sharpness. It is compact by fast glass standards, easily carried, but has a heft and feel that screams Nikon quality, reliability and durability. Prime lenses are largely overlooked today, but this lens will make you forget about zooms.
+31points
Review 2 for AF Nikkor 180mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of Nikon's best!

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
MsTakin
Location Long Beach, CA, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I've had this lens for a few years; bought it from another pro who's been borrowing it from me ever since. Sharp, clear, lightweight with great bokeh, the well-balanced Nikkor 180mm f/2.8D IF-ED is one prime lens that regularly goes with me on all assignments. Packs easily with the hard case. I photograph motorsports and this one's perfect for drag racing shots on the start line. Love it!
+1point
Review 3 for AF Nikkor 180mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent portrait lens!

PostedMarch 2, 2013
The Furtrader
Location Cornwall, ON, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Over the years I have owned several "Portrait" lenses ranging from 85mm f1.4 to 150mm Medium format
ones from a well known German manufacture on a well known Swedish camera . All great
lenses. However, I have never used a lens that is as good when used wide open. I worked for years
professionally often needing images in the 30 x 40 inch range for retail display. This lens along with
Kodachrome 25 was always my first choice. Out of the thousands of images this lens has produced, I would
estimate about 95 percent of them were taken a f2.8, it is just that good.
+6points
Review 4 for AF Nikkor 180mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite lens

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Vincent
I could have given this lens six stars it is that good
Excellent 20 years ago when I bought it and excellent today even at full aperture it is needle sharp with superb bokeh.
+5points
Review 5 for AF Nikkor 180mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great lens, often overlooked today.

PostedSeptember 23, 2011
Gearsau
Location Brisbane, Australia
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 20 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
have owned this lens since 1990. I wasn't using it much, and was considering selling it, as I have a Nikon 70-200 VR1 and 135mm AF-DC.
I am on a trip to China and Cambodia, and decided not to take the 70-200 that I normally use with my D2Xs. The weight of three camera bodies and 5 lenses, plus a laptop was a bit much!
So, I took the 180mm F2.8 to use with my D3S and D3.
I could not be happier, as the photos are brilliant. The lens has excellent bokeh.
Looks like my 70-200 may be resting in the bag at home, a lot more now.
+7points
Review 6 for AF Nikkor 180mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everyone should have one of these

PostedMay 30, 2011
padavid
I bought my first AF 180 f/2.8 a few years ago to use on my D50 and have been using it ever since on every other Nikon DSLR that I have bought through the years.
This is simply one of those lenses that is unique in all respects. Sharp wide-open, great color, bokeh, just the right amount of contrast, etc..
It works well on every camera that I've ever tired it on and it's my favorite lens for going out to shoot with one camera and one lens.
I liked it so much, I even bought the newer AF 180 f/2.8D version. The same great lens and two lenses that will stay with me always.
+7points
Review 7 for AF Nikkor 180mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite lens ... all around work horse!

PostedApril 16, 2011
BDC Photography
Location Buckeye, Arizona
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
In my opion, Nikon's best kept secret! This is probably one of my favorite Nikkor lenses. It is light weight, has a built in lens hood, and is crystal clear and very, very sharp. It is very versatile and I use it for telephoto as well as close-up / macro work. I normally shoot hand held, and you can get some remarkable close-up shots from as far away as 5 feet from the subject. It works equally well with DX & FX cameras. I use it with my D3, D200, and F100 cameras for both digital and film work. It is very affordable for most budgets and is a joy to work with! The AF NIKKOR 180mm f/2.8D IF-ED lens is my choice for clarity and detail!
+7points
Review 8 for AF Nikkor 180mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharp, Good Bokeh

PostedApril 14, 2011
Hero Kao
Location Bandung
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Even though this product has been around for quite long, i am very happy for the result and the price. Could not wait for Nano version of this lens, it must be good.
+1point
Review 9 for AF Nikkor 180mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 14, 2011
jjw45
Location Grand Rapids MI
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is a great lens for those situations where you wish there was just a little more light, concerts, sports etc.
Very easy to handhold, and tack sharp, though it does get a bit better stopped down to 4 or 5.6
This is one of my favorite lenses for walking around and shooting non posed subjects.
I have used it on both film and digital, and the results are superb.
+4points
Review 10 for AF Nikkor 180mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lens

PostedApril 14, 2011
Hunkadore
Location Tampa, FL
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Professional photographer
Very sharp, even wide open. Amazing Bokeh. Great contrast and saturation. Use of lens hood cover helps eliminate flare. I shoot this in all lighing conditions wide open; and love the results. I've been using this lens professionally for about ten years. I would never sell this lens. Can be used in full frame or cropped cameras. Cropped it makes a beautiful lens close to 300mm at a fraction of the cost.
+4points
Review 11 for AF Nikkor 180mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overlooked Resource

PostedApril 14, 2011
Nikon Pro 35 Years
Location New York NY
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
This is my favorite lens. So many photographers opt for a Zoom Lens in the telephoto range. They will frame their portrait from wherever they are standing. Usually from ten to fifteen feet away. The 180 forces you to walk away. The image you get with the 180 wide open is a revelation. And because you are so far away your subjects tend to not be aware they are being photographed. It is smaller and lighter than the 70-200 2.8 lens. Makes it easier to fame and hold steady.
+7points
Review 12 for AF Nikkor 180mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent lens

PostedDecember 25, 2010
hs_photos
Location Israel
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Bought this lens as a compact, light-weight travel lens when the 80-200 would be too big and heavy. It's now one of my most used lenses. Excellent sharpness and contrast, wonderful bokeh, just amazing. The built-in pull-out lens hood is very convenient too. Only the focus could be a bit faster, but it's still very capable on a D700. This is one lens I won't sell. Period.
+6points
Review 13 for AF Nikkor 180mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of Nikon's legends

PostedNovember 10, 2010
leicaglow
Location Central Oregon
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
This is one of my favorite Nikkors of all time. It is relatively compact, well built, and stunningly sharp and contrasty. It is a little warm, compared to something like the 85mm f./1.8. But it has the contrast, sharpness, and bokeh that you expect from a professional level Nikkor lens. You really should put it on your list of must-own Nikon lenses.
+7points
Review 14 for AF Nikkor 180mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lives up to it's reputation.

PostedOctober 4, 2010
FotoHaole
I have had two samples. Current lens has less flare and better IQ at f/2.8-4.0. Surprisingly good at close distance. Compact, with excellent construction.
+6points
Review 15 for AF Nikkor 180mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A most wonderful lens

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Agiledogs
Location San Diego Ca
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
This lens astounds me with its sharpness. Especially since I pack 2 of the other legendary Nikkor lenses in my bag. The true wonder though is its weight. It is very light and easy to carry around.
I primarily shoot canine sports and this lense is perhaps the most perfect lense I have found for what I shoot.
+7points
Review 16 for AF Nikkor 180mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the best lens in its class ,

PostedAugust 1, 2010
jjn_topshooter
Location Austin,Texas
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
The Nikkor 180/2.8 is one lens that I would never go on any shoot without,It is hands down one of the sharpest optics available today.Outstanding performance at all apertures,perfect for portraiture and events.
At 30 feet with a 1.4x chip it gives a perfect "three button" headshot. It provides superb color saturation and sharpness at all apertures with little or no chromatic aberration.The built in lens hood provides excellent ,convenient protection against lens flare ,The lens is extremely rugged
and has passed every "torture" test that this assignment shooter has given it. Its excellent low light performance saves tons of time in post processing and it it is very easy to hand hold.The auto focus works very well and the very smooth manual focus is even better.
Slap a 1.4x teleconverter on it and you have a compact 270/4 perfect for a "one button" headshot. Also excellent for sports and nature.
+13points
Review 17 for AF Nikkor 180mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great telephoto

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Professional Still Photographer
Location Las Vegas, Nevada
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 20 years
Role Professional photographer
When you need that extra focal length, this lens has filled the bill. Extremely sharp and heavy enough to hand hold and well balanced.
This is one of the five lens that puts food on the table...
+6points
Review 18 for AF Nikkor 180mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the legendary Nikon Lenses

PostedJuly 30, 2010
FirstNikon1971
Location St. Louis, MO
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
With its roots going back to the 1938 Carl Zeiss "Olympia" lens designed for Leni Reifenstahl, the 180mm f/2.8 has to be one one of the most romantic Nikon lenses of all time, with image quality to match. Pictures have that razor sharp yet buttery quality that is the hallmark of only the best optics. It is amazingly compact for its focal length and speed, making great for journalism work. The bokeh is perfect, making the pictorial possibilities endless. It took me 35 years to finally buy this little masterpiece. I wish I'd had one much sooner.
+7points
Review 19 for AF Nikkor 180mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nearly perfect

PostedJuly 30, 2010
JFern
Location Albuquerque
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Professional photographer
Have owned this for more than a decade.
Incredible build, incredible resolution, incredible color, no distortion.
It really is as good as all the glowing reviews say it is.
SWM would be the only possible improvement.
+7points
Review 20 for AF Nikkor 180mm f/2.8D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Only the best!!!

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Bruno
Location Montreal, QC
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens is very nice. It gives an excellent sharpness, even at 2.8. The contrast/color are wonderful and warmy.
+3points
1 2 next>>