Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF DC-Nikkor 135mm f/2D

Nikon Inc. AF DC-Nikkor 135mm f/2D

This high-performance, medium telephoto features Defocus Image Control allowing for control of the degree of focus in the foreground or background.

Average Customer Rating:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 14 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF DC-Nikkor 135mm f/2D
Review 1 for AF DC-Nikkor 135mm f/2D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best portrait lens!

PostedAugust 1, 2014
oc1doc
Location Kauai, Hawaii, USA
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I own a number of Nikkor lenses that I sometimes use for portraiture ( 70-200 f/2.8 VR, 85 f/1.8 ) but when I really want to flatter the subject with a beautifully blurred background this is the lens I choose. On a full frame D800e or even my old D300 it just blows everything else away for portraits. The fast aperture is great for available light shots from the audience in a theater too. Solid as a rock but not that large or heavy compared with many of the VR zooms people carry around today. My favorite lens.
+1point
Review 2 for AF DC-Nikkor 135mm f/2D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The absolute best portrait lens. Period. ANY Nikon user would enjoy this beauty regardless the style (and budget).

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Irak P.
Location Mexico City, D.F., Mexico
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The Pros:
Sharp (and I do mean SHARP) at all apertures up to f8 (little corner loss of sharpness at f2.0, NORMAL!) , at f11 diffraction kicks and forget f16. once you get used to and learn from yourself what the results of the Defocus Control (DC) are gonna be you start to get the most amazing background blurs you never dreamed about. Not heavy for a true PRO lens, solid and sturdy construction, well balanced on D700 and pro bodies, manual / Auto focus ring is well placed and very good quality and the DC ring too, no accidental movements at all. Manual focus is really a pleasure if you need it, because AF is quite fast on D700 and instantaneous on D4, little noisy though but perfect overall.
Beautiful bokeh even at 5.6, yes 5.6!!! I guess the roundness of the blades really do their job. at f2 the bokeh is a dream. If you put the 2 rear setting of the DC ring it is as good as it gets. also another sweet spot i find in my copy is at f4 DC set to 4 rear, with fairly distant natural background you wouldn't believe how well were spent your hard earned bucks.
If you shoot at f2.0 or 2.8 and you set the DC to 4 or 5.6 rear you get an ethereal gorgeous dreamy halation, if you do this with front you get a nice soft focus feeling.
As you can read I'm in love with this lens. If you want a sharp subject to pop out the most beautiful bokeh, then this is your lens!
The drawbacks:
Noticeable chromatic aberrations (CA) at f2.0 only if backlit objects are next to really dark elements in the background, the purple outline is moderate but not ugly at all, just present. besides that it is normal for a big glass with that wide aperture. By 2.8 no CA I can notice in real life shoots, maybe a black backlit tree shooting towards a overcast sky for example might still render a little fringing at 2.8, but... who does that shoot anyway!? And repeat, it is not ugly.
The integrated hood is sort of short and made of thin metal, so if you hit something with the front of the lens you bend it for sure, mine is all curvy flowery shaped now, but then again.. if the built in hood weren't open the front element could be damaged, so... THANKS Hood!!! If you shoot and that is all that matters for your photography then you'll find no problem withe this hood, if you are meticulous about your gear being in As new mint++ condition well...
I find this focal length perfect on full frame, but maybe you could find it a little long on DX, I dont know really.
Learning curve might be demanding, so dont expect buy friday the lens and be his master by sunday, you have to shoot to be aware of what you can get from this lens and how to get it.
Besides that, this lens is a must for any nikon user. There is no doubt of it.
+27points
Review 3 for AF DC-Nikkor 135mm f/2D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

super sharp protraits

PostedApril 27, 2011
styler
Location Orange County, CA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I studied reviews carefully before buying this lens, and i took the plunge. I have other lenses that cover the same range of 135mm, but I like to throw the background out of focus so that I enhance the visuals of the subject, be it the entire face, or just the eyes.
This lens when utilizing the fast speed does that very well. I think to use the DC feature to its best takes a lot of practice and patience, and you can use it to shift the focus.
The build quality of the lens is super with the metal components and the black krinkle finish. A smooth and flawless lens, that returns great results.
+20points
Review 4 for AF DC-Nikkor 135mm f/2D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

135mm DC f/2D = Excellent

PostedApril 14, 2011
Viper
Location Lake Forest, CA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I bought this lens after reading many reviews and looking at photos taken. Just simply amazing bokeh!
I have both the 135mm and 85mm and often refer to them as my bokeh machines.
Performance is fast, but not as fast as AF-S. Nonetheless, if used the right way with the DC, you'll be pleased with the creative results.
Definitely worth the money spent.
+9points
Review 5 for AF DC-Nikkor 135mm f/2D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just brilliant.

PostedApril 14, 2011
Madetech
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I use it for everything. Super sharp, amazing bokeh, built like a tank and a 135 mm on dx is 200mm so its kinda like having a 200mm f2 for a quarter of the price. The DC effect is subtle but present. The backgrounds are just a melt of colors. I am not a fan of soft focus but it is a plus to be able to do it. I like the built in hood. The interior of the hood is lined with velour to minimize reflects.
I am a bit disappointed with the lack of a case for this one. Especially when the included a rigid case with it just a year or two ago... I wont take a star of for that but its worth mentioning.
+9points
Review 6 for AF DC-Nikkor 135mm f/2D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tack sharp with artistic flexability

PostedMarch 21, 2011
Sinclair
Location Parkersburg, WV
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The Sharpest 135mm I've ever used. Rendition of bokeh (out of focus areas) is smooth. Portraiture is excellent providing excellent subject isolation. It also produces stunning results in nature photography as a medium telephoto.
-2points
Review 7 for AF DC-Nikkor 135mm f/2D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One Of The Best

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Dee
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
This is one of my favorite lens. Nice bokeh and very sharp even at f2. The DC function is something you need to get practice with but even without the DC this lens is remarkable
+9points
Review 8 for AF DC-Nikkor 135mm f/2D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing lens!!

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Norman
Location Florida
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
After deciding between the 85 and 135, I decided to go with the 135 only to find out I have to wait over a month to get my order in from the store but definitely worth the wait. I had been using the lens for outdoor head shots and it has been performing amazing, focus is fast and spot on. No issues shooting wide open which makes the skin tone so pleasing and smooth therefore, I don't have to do a lot of skin touch ups. I'm currently using the lens with a D700 and can't imagine how this one performs with the D3 series camera. Get it if you can find one.
+8points
Review 9 for AF DC-Nikkor 135mm f/2D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Portrait lens

PostedSeptember 22, 2010
FDI
Location Keene, New Hampshire
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens is world class. The detail and bokeh you can capture with this lens makes it worth the price. If you shoot portraits this lens is a must have.
+12points
Review 10 for AF DC-Nikkor 135mm f/2D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing!

PostedSeptember 19, 2010
nikon user
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
This is an incredible lens! The images are outstanding. I use it wide-open all the time and love the results. The trick though is to watch your depth of field. If you're close to its minimum focus your depth of field is VERY narrow. EG you can have someone's nose in focus but not their eye - or the other way around. If you shoot on a modern Nikon like the D3 you can pick which focus sensor you want to use and keep the camera in continuous focus mode - this way you can track your subject fairly well. The only other factor with this is this lens doesn't have its own AF motor so it doesn't focus as fast as an AF-S lens. Again - when you're using the lens at its minimum focus limit (or close to it) with an f2 f-stop the depth of field is so narrow that you have to very aware of what is and isn't in focus. The sharpness and boken is absolutely amazing. I never had figured out how to use the DC control / I probably should. You won't be disappointed with this lens. The only way Nikon could improve it is to make an AF-S version.
+13points
Review 11 for AF DC-Nikkor 135mm f/2D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding portrait lens!

PostedJuly 30, 2010
F8lee
Location Van Nuys, CA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
. I too had been curious about this somewhat specialized lens, but after playing with one at a store I could tell that it is just too good not to have if you do any kind of portraiture.
. The incredible bokeh is really apparent on the FX (or film) bodies; on the DX camera the shallowness of the DOF is not as apparent (due to the smaller chip size and subsequent 'crop factor'). I have even tried some macro shooting with this glass, using a 25MM extension tube to allow for closer focus, and it proved to be a winner there as well.
. Pricey? A bit. A little exotic - particularly that unique DC capability? Most certainly. But if you are a believer in having the best glass possible (since bodies will come and go) then this is truly a lens to consider.
+29points
Review 12 for AF DC-Nikkor 135mm f/2D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

135mm f2 DC

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Hot Nikon
Location Florida
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
Excellent lens for many reasons. Nice, tight portrait lens, which does double duty as a super fast indoor sports lens. Solid build, excellent clarity, color, sharpness. My favorite portrait lens if I have the room (If not, use the 85mm). Shoots indoor sports very well. Perfect for volleyball, basketball, etc. Perfect on the D3 series. Allows very low light action photos. Even in poor light, very fast. I can usually get 1/640 @ f3.2 or better with ISO around 4000. I'm shooting w/o flash, other guys have to use flash, just shake their heads.
+23points
Review 13 for AF DC-Nikkor 135mm f/2D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An incredible lens worth its weight in gold.

PostedJuly 24, 2010
astcell
Location Redlands, CA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
My favorite portrait lens is the manual focus 105/2.5. I decided it was time to get current. I tried the 105/2 on my D3s, it was nice but I;d have preferred the 105/1.8. Then I found out about the 135/2. I found a USA lens a retailer, lucky me! This lens is fantastic. It is a bit long for some us but I have adapted to its differences, like going from a manual shift to an automatic. I shoot wide open most of the time simply because I can. The bokeh and focus effects are something I used to have to go into a photo editor to do, now I can do it all naturally. I have very few fixed focal length lenses, but this is most definitely one to have, and only Nikon has it.
+30points
Review 14 for AF DC-Nikkor 135mm f/2D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Use and Price

PostedApril 14, 2011
PictureMan
Location Brooklyn, NY
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I just love this lens. Its easy to use and not that pricy.
-12points