Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4D IF

Nikon Inc. AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4D IF

This ultra-fast, incredibly sharp f/1.4 lens is perfect for low-light portraits and general photography where a shallow depth of field is desired.

Average Customer Rating:
4.927 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 41 reviews
5 stars
38
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
41 out of 41(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4D IF
Review 1 for AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must have lens for portrait photographer.

PostedJuly 30, 2010
fotobynicholas
Location Manhattan, NY
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
It's worth every penny spent.
Razor-sharp details and silky sweet bokeh.
+22points
Review 2 for AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of Nikon's Best

PostedJune 8, 2014
DLR Photos
Location Vancouver, BC, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I have used this lens originally on the D90 and D7000. When I upgraded to the full frame D600 this lens really started to shine. It is razor sharp particularly when wide open. When shooting portraits, you do have to be very careful with your focus point due to its very shallow depth of field but once you get it right I dare say you would be hard pressed to find any other lens that would outperform it. I also have the 24-70 f2.8 and 70-200 f2.8 which I use for portraits but I find that the quality of the photos when using this prime lens is always far superior. Like anything else, you get what you pay for, so while it is expensive it is truly a wise investment. If portraits are your thing, don't hesitate to put this in your bag.
0points
Review 3 for AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Bokeh Queen...

PostedApril 24, 2014
NashvilleNikonD3
Location Nashville, TN, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have had this lens on my wish list for a while, and finally went for it. So glad I did. I have always been a 70-200 2.8 guy, and still am for certain things, but I have found this 85mm 1.4d gives you the best bokeh effects specifically for portrait applications. And is much easier to carry around as well...I think a new love affair has begun for me....very solid construction...feels balanced with my D3. I've shot the 85mm 1.4G as well. It may have a slight edge in some areas, but I find those differences to be minor.
 
My product recommendations
D3
4.8 out of 5(24)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
Review 4 for AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Phenomenal lens, tack sharp, creamy, melted butter of a bokeh

PostedJune 3, 2013
vancouverweddingstudio
Location Vancouver, BC
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I have bought this lens originally for my Nikon D700, and it performed flawlessly. Tack sharp at 1.4, and the falloff into dream-like bokeh is quite beautiful. I also love the all metal screw in lens hood, very high quality and THAT's protection for the lens (I don't use UV filters, I think the hood is protection enough - especially this one).
Construction-wise it's well built, the AF motor is a tad bid louder than the newer G lenses, but I don't mind that at all. For me it's the image quality at the end of the day.
Though I was worried that when I upgraded to D800E and the D600 this lens would not be able to keep up, I was pleasantly surprised. I love everything about this lens, it's great for portraits. I only shoot it at 1.4. That what this lens was meant for.
Get it, if you can find a used one, it's built like a tank, so it lasts forever, and I have a feeling it holds its used value, so even if you give it up, you are not likely going to lose much.
+5points
Review 5 for AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This lens has no Nikon equal perhaps the canon 1.2l and I think this lens is sharper at the centre.

PostedApril 8, 2013
Photo Equipment designer
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Role Semi-professional photographer
Flowers, portraits and depth of field are what I love most, so this lens is a dream, love it to bits, I started with the 50 1.4D which was a learning curve, and then the 80-200 2.8 ED which is also good but this lens is just so easy in comparison. Like the 50mm, the 85 is a gem when closed down for landscapes.
Comparing the 85 1.4D to the other versions, this one has the narrowest depth of field and looking at the photo-zone playing card tests, it is closer to the Canon 1.2L in the blur characteristics than the other Nikons, which is quite a surprise! though the Canon will let in more light obviously, but it does highlight that the design of being very sharp in the centre with large fall off either side was very much intended and a very clever design for its purpose, by landscape settings there is not much difference between all the 85's including Sigma. The other interesting fact is the new 85 has the same T stop of 1.7, despite the Nano coating.
This f1.2 like characteristic is what some pro's are missing in the new lens, which will show itself in the blurred region between the eyes and hair in portrait photography, so now they still need both lenses!
John
+17points
Review 6 for AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible Bokeh

PostedSeptember 9, 2011
Spyglass Hill
Location San Francisco, CA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
the Nikkor 85mm f/1.4D pretty much lives on my D300s ..The incredible depth of adjustments of this lense offer the shooter so many different artisitc options .. Its ability to shoot in very low light (handheld) is a joy .. I shoot a lot in museum environments where the light is low and the tripod is not allowed .. f/1.4 with an ISO of 1600 is awesome .. It's a great street photography lense as well allowing you to interact with your subjects but still provide a little distance .. It's fast focusing and is the perfect size to compliment my D300s with the battery pack .. I have not tested the G version of this lense and probably won't now .. Although closer to a 130mm lens on my DX format camera, I still use it as my go to everyday lens and really dig the compression of this focal length .. Definitely a must have lense if you like the leg work a prime lense forces you to do !
+10points
Review 7 for AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding low light lens for Concerts

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Doc
Location NJ
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is my favorite Nikkor lens, by far!!!!!! It's smokin fast when used in low light situations such as concert photography. Paired with my D-80 I'm able to acquire great no-flash shots of the artist from f/2.8 all the way to f/1.4. I can only imagine it coupled to a high end camera body with much greater ISO noise reducing capabilities. I bet the VR model is a sweeter lens for my shaking hands.
+1point
Review 8 for AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best portrait lens

PostedJune 23, 2011
talented_amateur
Location New York, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
It is very hard to argue that this isn't the best portrait lens on the market. Originally I was using it on a DX format camera, and you can struggle with having to stand a long way from the subject for portraits, but once I mated it with an FX format camera, it has shone. The soft focus outside the depth of field is magnificent, and it is a wonderful lens to work with. It has got far more use on my cameras than I would have expected.
+6points
Review 9 for AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clarity, focus and bokeh are outstanding

PostedJune 11, 2011
Rickster
Location Pennsylvania
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Previously I had the Nikon 85mm f/1.8, but exchanged it for the 85mm f/1.4D.
Wow! What a difference!
Yes, it cost much more than the 1.8, but the 1.4 is worth it if you can afford it. It is more than the difference in aperture from 1.8 to 1.4 - the clarity, the faster focus, and the bokeh are improved by a factor of 5x.
My main walk around lens on my D700.
+9points
Review 10 for AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible Lens

PostedJune 1, 2011
JimMakesBeer
Location Satellite Beach, FL
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is a must have for the camera bag. Super bright edge to edge - corner to corner sharpness is perfect. Well balanced. Nice comfortable size.
0points
Review 11 for AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great lens.

PostedApril 14, 2011
Mike
Location Waxahachie, Tx
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I use this lens primarily for photographing my grandson and newborns of friends. It is one of my favorites. It does have a very shallow depth of field with f1.4. With a very slight turn of the subject's head may have portions of the face out of focus enough to not be desirable. Using f5.6, or so, will have more of the face in focus if that is desired.
+2points
Review 12 for AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW...I love this lens!

PostedApril 14, 2011
BKPhoto
Location Santa Rosa, CA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
What an amazing lens! This is THE must-have lens for any serious portrait photographer!
+4points
Review 13 for AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible lens

PostedApril 14, 2011
Saenalice
Location Zaandam, Netherlands
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I was able to make wonderful shots of family & friends, with sweet bokeh and great shapness.
Recommended.
+1point
Review 14 for AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid.

PostedApril 14, 2011
Terrell
Location Atlanta|USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
If I had to choose one lens to work with exclusively it would be this one without a second thought. Wonderful lens!!! One of Nikon's best.
+2points
Review 15 for AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must own lens!

PostedFebruary 19, 2011
LA Wedding Photographer
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
Sharp, Sharp, Sharp! This lens is just a gem. The bokeh is beautiful and the lens is very sharp. Even when it is wide open, it is very sharp. The distance is great for 3/4 portarts, headshots and tight shots. This is one of those lens that I will never sell!
Auto-focus could be a little slow in low-light, but it still performs magically!
+1point
Review 16 for AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The standard in portraits

PostedDecember 3, 2010
prmass1
Location winter haven, fl
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I couldn't afford the new G lens the result is the D one generation older. Not new for me, I also have the 28-70mm 2.8 lens and what all these have in common: They compete with even the newest of lenses in just about every aspect. The 85mm1.4D is just sweet for portraits. The bokeh and the razor sharpness of the portraits are just amazing. Sure there is software that mimics the bokeh but don't be fooled. They try but I wouldn't want to spend hours retouching my pictures with software. I rather be out having fun and thats what this lens is. Its timeless! The colors are rich and has great contrast too. I will keep it for some time along with my other nikon lenses.
+6points
Review 17 for AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Opinion

PostedAugust 19, 2010
a8j2
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Excellent results you'll get out of this masterpiece . . the only drawback, for me, is the build quality . . but i guess this was solved in the next version f1.4G.
if you shoot portraits, this is a must. Bokeh machine.
-10points
Review 18 for AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A lens for the people and about the people

PostedAugust 2, 2010
photostuff
Location Green Bay,WI
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Really now, and you say you created that bokeh without some special software? Actually that software does exist and funny thing is it will allow you to choose this particular lens in case you left it at home.However, this is not about the software but about the people who take pictures of people and use this remarkable lens. Try it with a christmas tree in the background and you will see for yourself the shear beauty it delivers. Set your subject in front of this lens and let the camera do the talking or taking if you perfer. If portraits are your thing and you don't own this lens yet, you are missing the action or should I say the people. Tell Santa to put this under the tree and you'll never look back. That is unless you are intentionally looking back to photograph the tree where you just unwrapped your new lens. You'll Love It !!!
+4points
Review 19 for AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

favourite lens by far

PostedJuly 31, 2010
mw
Location amherst nova scotia
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
bought this lens to compliment my d700
for portrait work results have been
magazine like for family and friends
beautiful creamy bokeh with sharp
subjects
+7points
Review 20 for AF NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best portrait lens!

PostedJuly 30, 2010
slapshot
Location Pennsylvania
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Dont let the price keep you from buying this fantastic lens.The portrait shots are incredible.My wife loves the photos I take of our children with it, but I will never let her know how much it cost.
+6points
1 2 3 next>>