Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF DC-Nikkor 105mm f/2D

Nikon Inc. AF DC-Nikkor 105mm f/2D

This fast, classic portrait lens featuring Defocus Image Control allows for control over the degree of focus in the foreground or background of an image.

Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 14 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 out of 14(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF DC-Nikkor 105mm f/2D
Review 1 for AF DC-Nikkor 105mm f/2D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

None better

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Librarian7
Location St. Louis, MO, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
This is the only Nikkor lens I have used that reminds me of the Leica glass I used to use. The results are unique. No it is not the "sharpest" lens made and the DC feature is somewhat obsolete with the advent of Photoslop, but pictures delineated with this tool at f2.0 are unlike any other.
+2points
Review 2 for AF DC-Nikkor 105mm f/2D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the best portrait lenses I own!

PostedApril 10, 2012
T2Photo
Location Pacific NW, Oregon
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
I use this lens almost exclusively for portraits. The glass is clear and crisp and it is very fast. This lens works great on FX frames, but it also works very well on crop sensors as long as you remember the 1.5X. I like the versatility the defocusing control gives you, but to be honest, I rarely use the defocus control unless I really want to soften the focus of a subject. I highly recommend this lens! You will not be disappointed if you know what you are doing. This lens paid for itself in the first hour of use!
+6points
Review 3 for AF DC-Nikkor 105mm f/2D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Lens: Love everything about this Lens

PostedMarch 4, 2012
ThoNett
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
This is a great Lens. Things I love about this lens are:
Picture Quality - Excellent, Very Sharp w/ great Color and Contrast.
Build quality - Excellent, Very Ruged Looks and Feel
F2 - Fast Lens
DC Control; Dont really use but Nice to have Available
Built in Hood - I like this Feature. Very Handy.
I use this on a D80 and this Lens gets the best out of it. Produces some stunning Photos.
Don't have any dislikes on this Lens, except maybe the Price.
-11points
Review 4 for AF DC-Nikkor 105mm f/2D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Lens

PostedMay 14, 2011
Baseelo
Location Dearborn, MI
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I use this lens at my pediatric office. And with the help of Nikon R1C1 macro lighting system it gives me astonishing results.
I've tried it with flowers and small objects and it is great.
I love the ease of focusing, the sturdiness and the sharpness of the photos. I intend to use it as a portrait lens too and I can't wait to see the results.
Super Lens
-7points
Review 5 for AF DC-Nikkor 105mm f/2D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome portrait lens

PostedApril 14, 2011
MSPhotoPro
Location Phoenix, AZ
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I recently purchased the 105mm/f2D lens for portraiture work on a local ballerina. The results were, to say the least, astonishing. The control over depth of field allowed a creativity that is hard to accomplish with regular lenses. The wide open aperture gave awesome backgrounds and the glass itself was flawless and precise. It allows pin sharp and soft focus images without having to deal with post production.
I wish I had bought this lens years ago!
+9points
Review 6 for AF DC-Nikkor 105mm f/2D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Portrait Lens

PostedSeptember 30, 2010
TenFive
Location Houston, TX
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Works great on my D3 for outstanding portraits. The lens has awesome bokeh and is tack-sharp. The only complaint is the flimsy built-in hood - it often gets stuck when returning it to its "closed" position.
+7points
Review 7 for AF DC-Nikkor 105mm f/2D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this lens is the real deal

PostedJuly 31, 2010
photo jim
Location gunnison co.
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens is everything i expected and more thank you.
-17points
Review 8 for AF DC-Nikkor 105mm f/2D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I needed a macro lens. This can replace all my len

PostedJuly 31, 2010
portraitist
Location SE Michigan
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
This is the best all around lens I have ever used. I have been doing commercial photography for over fifty years with many cameras and lenses. I bought my first Nikon camera for close auto focus.
-8points
Review 9 for AF DC-Nikkor 105mm f/2D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My number 1 lens

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Professional Still Photographer
Location Las Vegas, Nevada
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 20 years
Role Professional photographer
The 105 mm Nikkor lens is and has always been the greatest lens made. Going back to the 1950's with the Nikon Sp the 105 is a staple in the camera bag.
+5points
Review 10 for AF DC-Nikkor 105mm f/2D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A lengend for portraits

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Octane
Location Los Angeles
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
This lens is a legend for portrait photographers. Despite it's age it is the best 105 mm lens i have ever used. Even at f/2 the sharpness and contrast is already stunning. The bokeh is as soft as a dream and produces wonderful and beauiful backgrouds for portraits while providing high detail and focus on the main subject. The AF is surprisingly quiet on my D3 and has no problems locking. The compact weight/size makes it easy to handle, the built in lens hood come in handy. This lens has become one my favorites for all my portrait work. The DC features allows you to shift the out of focus effect more towards the front of the back of the main subject, but given the already beautiful rendering of the backgrounds i hardly every use this feature.
+19points
Review 11 for AF DC-Nikkor 105mm f/2D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not just for portraits

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Aldophoto
Location Milan, Italy
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Great lens! Razor sharp, maybe the best choice for portraits, but it's also outstanding in low light reportages and quick enough to freeze sport actions: I tried it, with excellent results, in weddings and even in night baseball matches in poorly lightned stadiums.
+11points
Review 12 for AF DC-Nikkor 105mm f/2D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wonderful lens

PostedJuly 30, 2010
LS
Location Bethlehem, PA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I used this lens during a wedding in Las Vegas. I totally loved it. The shallow depth of field that it produces at f/2 makes for a very distinct look I just can't get with my 70-200 f2.8 lens. It was also very light and portable.
The fast aperture came in handy at night and the DC feature was a lot of fun to use. Sadly I had to part ways with it at the end of the trip.
I am hoping nikon will make a version with AF-S and VR since those were the only two things I wished this lens had.
+5points
Review 13 for AF DC-Nikkor 105mm f/2D
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PORTRAIT LENS

PostedApril 15, 2011
hunkadore
Location Tampa, FL
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
This is a good lens if used within its limitations. It's not sharp below f/4 and the best wall to wall results are at f/5.6 or smaller. The soft focus ability, eliminates most of the need, (unless in low lighting), to shoot more wide open than f/4. For example, if I want more bokeh I'll open the (R) aperature to f/2 and shoot at f/5.6. Or if there's enough light, I can even shoot it in Program and select f/2 for the background. I bench tested this lens when I got to learn the limitations, which are stated above. It makes for a good portrait lens under most conditions. Keep the shutter at least one stop over LCF focal length and you'll be okay with this lens. The 180mm is better all around; but if you need a little less lens, this comes in handy.
-10points
Review 14 for AF DC-Nikkor 105mm f/2D
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

better spent on diffnt lens

PostedNovember 26, 2011
riggraam
Location Virginia
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
Nikon's sturdy composite build is great when you need a rugged field lens, but this 105 doesn't have many field applications. The weight and sluggish focus control negates the outstanding bokeh control. It's a soft lens on the open side, which again negates the extra price one would pay for f/2 control. It's a good lens in controlled conditions, but if that's how you shoot, you could get so much more for your money with something else. The back focus is the only selling point, and for me it turned out to be nothing more than a novelty spec (I'd rather just achieve a soft background the old fashioned way). The glass has difficulty in low light, and in some settings, renders the camera useless (because without focus the shutter won't release). The focus mechanism is way too loud...so if you're using this with a DSLR in movie mode, well, don't. Look at the 85 f/1.4 as a possible alternative (amazing lens).
-9points