Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF Nikkor 85mm f/1.8D

Nikon Inc. AF Nikkor 85mm f/1.8D

This fast, compact lens is an excellent choice for indoor or outdoor portraits, as well as indoor sports and stage productions.

Average Customer Rating:
4.738 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 42 reviews
5 stars
31
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
42 out of 42(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF Nikkor 85mm f/1.8D
Review 1 for AF Nikkor 85mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!!!!

PostedJune 13, 2013
delikesenikon
Location Louisville, KY, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
This lens is hands down one of my favorite lenses. The sharpness is amazing. It's not even about the price of the lens. It's just a great one period. I use this lens for a good 80% of the portraits I take. You will not be disappointed if you purchase this one.
+2points
Review 2 for AF Nikkor 85mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I got a helluva deal!

PostedJune 28, 2012
Jtoomuch
Location Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I own a D90, which is my fourth Nikon but my first DSLR. While killing time in a pawn shop I spotted an N8008 in great condition. My eyes popped out when I saw this lens attached. I checked to see if it focused, and bought it. The camera works perfectly. The camera and the lens TOGETHER cost me $20.00. Needless to say I was thrilled. I use this lens on my D90 and I like it a lot. The focus is very fast and the sharpness to me is tremendous. The only caveat is that the DOF can get REALLY short and you need to keep this in mind at bigger apertures. A terrific lens, just great.
+7points
Review 3 for AF Nikkor 85mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice Low light imagery

PostedNovember 22, 2011
UFOwga
Location Washington DC
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
I am very much impressed by this very nice lens!! Exceptional low light capabilities and high speed imagery..
+5points
Review 4 for AF Nikkor 85mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lens

PostedNovember 21, 2011
DOF
Location New Rochelle, NY
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
This is a great lens for its price range. auto focus is slow to respond in dark environment. It should have a manual focus mode. great for shallow focus.
-1point
Review 5 for AF Nikkor 85mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this lens

PostedJune 21, 2011
imal
I have always used zoom lenses other than wide angle. This is my first fixed lense and I just love it. It is TACK sharp. Almost too sharp as I have to do some retouching on skin flaws.
+13points
Review 6 for AF Nikkor 85mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific lens

PostedJune 6, 2011
Bill D
Location ny
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I am very satisfied with this nikon product. The image quality is excellent and the lens is very affordable. I did have a chance to shoot with the new Nikon 85mm 1.4 lens. While I am very satisified with the 85mm1.8 the new 85mm1.4 Nikon lens spoils you.
+12points
Review 7 for AF Nikkor 85mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Portrait Lens

PostedMay 9, 2011
F&M
Location Philadelphia, PA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
This is a fabulous portrait lens, and it produces wonderful bokeh. The only fault I can find is that it does not autofocus on cameras like the D40 and the D60. It is also worth the price, without having to fork over more than $1,000 for the f/1.4 version. If you have a camera with a focusing motor that would support this lens, I would highly recommend it.
+7points
Review 8 for AF Nikkor 85mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 16, 2011
bcs
Location KC,MO
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Great portrait lens. Really sharp f2 on. Very nice bokeh as well.
+4points
Review 9 for AF Nikkor 85mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent lens. Great value.

PostedApril 15, 2011
Manoj
Location NJ
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
What a great lens. Amazing portraits. Great value. Recommend this lens with no hesitation.
+2points
Review 10 for AF Nikkor 85mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a real bargain

PostedApril 15, 2011
steveb
Location Delaware
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The 85 1.8D is the real bargain in Nikon's lineup. Mine is sharp, sharp wide open. There is some small CA, though, if you look for it. It is a good portrait lens, and it is good for other tasks where a short telephoto is desired. I like it for its size and its good focus speed. It also helps that the filter size (62 mm) is one that many of my lenses use. Build quality is good but not outstanding - but this lens is far less than half of the cost of the 1.4D and waaaay less than the 1.4G.
I like the aperture ring and the size. I really like the images it produces.
It comes with a metal screw-on hood.
+7points
Review 11 for AF Nikkor 85mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Investment

PostedApril 15, 2011
Rosy
Location Raleigh, NC
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Works great for portraits and indoor sports. Fast lens, precise, sharp. My only regret is not buying it SOONER!!!
+1point
Review 12 for AF Nikkor 85mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sharp!

PostedMarch 19, 2011
ROD M
it's a superb lens. it's worth it! this lens is good for portraits even at a distance. i tried to used it as a walk around lens, still gave good result. i highly recommend this lens if the budget is a little tight compare to f/1.4 85mm.
+6points
Review 13 for AF Nikkor 85mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fine lens; 35-105 zoom constant aperture better

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
swedehiker
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bought three autofocus prime lenses, 35, 50, and this 85 with a D700.The autofocus 35, 50, and 85 are fine lenses, maybe not as good as my manual 35 f1,4, 50 f1.4 or 84 f1.4 but O.K. For digital, zooms with 28-35 to 85-105 and constant aperture would be better. I'd prefer 35-85 f2.8.
-10points
Review 14 for AF Nikkor 85mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great lens

PostedJanuary 17, 2011
Spudguy
Location Idaho
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I bought this lens mainly to photograph my kids' high school basketball games because I could not bring myself to pay big money for the 70-200mm. The focal lengh is just about right for most of the shots on the court. I am glad I went for the 1.8 because our gym is extremely dark. I have to shoot at 3200 ISO just to get to 1/320 speed. I sat by a lady with a 3.5 zoom lens and she was shocked by how well my pictures were turning out. She had to put her camera away because she couldn't get anything to turn out.
The lens feels a little short to me because my fingers keep wanting to grab the end of the lens while it is focusing. I am really happy with this lens for the intended purpose. It is too much lens for most of my shots inside the house.
+10points
Review 15 for AF Nikkor 85mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sports, event and portrait lens

PostedDecember 21, 2010
Bronco
Location Boise, ID
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
The 85mm f/1.8 is a superb lens. I use it on a D90 for indoor sports, live stage events and portraits. Very sharp, distortion-free and fast focus. Beautiful bokeh. My clients rave about my images made with this lens. This lens is a great bargain, too. I'm not sure the extra cost of the f/1.4 would buy that much. Sure didn't seem worth it to me. I know it's 2/3 of a stop, but does that really change things enough to warrant the extra expense?
+20points
Review 16 for AF Nikkor 85mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible

PostedNovember 10, 2010
madecov
Location Houston, Texas
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is probably the sharpest lens I own. Great for low light when a moderate telephoto is needed. The build quality is very nice.
Just wish the supplied lens hood was a bayonet style rather than screw on
+4points
Review 17 for AF Nikkor 85mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressed

PostedSeptember 9, 2010
FrankoManno
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
I bought this lens specifically for covering volleyball for a newspaper. It focuses quickly and has sharp focus. I've been nothing but pleased with its quality. I get an extra stop of light with the 1.8 over a previous 2.8 lens and that means a lot when not being able to use flash for indoor sports sometimes in less than desirable lighting.
+15points
Review 18 for AF Nikkor 85mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Gatekeeper of the Tele Primes' world.

PostedAugust 20, 2010
TitleDS
Location Thailand
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
The review is based on DX body.
The build quality of this lens is on par with consumer-grade Nikkors, outer plastic shell feel well put, no creeks, no blobs anywhere. Combined with the metal mount, you can be sure it'll endure lens changing in daily basis.
Of course, this lens is AF Nikkor, autofocus is achieved by the screw from camera body, AF is not possible for D40 and the likes.
The focus ring turns around during AF servo, please keep your fingers away. (85 f/1.4D won't do this.) MF takes a little play because of the short focus travel and low-friction focus ring.
In image quality terms, this lens can show the near flawless output, negligible distortions and corner light falloff (Vignetting). CAs are quite low at every aperture settings, though the purple fringings at harsh contrasty areas might be annoying when you shoot wide-open.
For me this lens can render sharpest output around F4 - F5.6, but I can use it at F2.8 without worry (esp. portraiture) and the quality at F2 is satisfying.
If you're looking for first medium telephoto prime or looking for the more compact and lighter substitute for the existing pro tele zoom, don't look elsewhere.
+8points
Review 19 for AF Nikkor 85mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens for a great price

PostedAugust 1, 2010
Deems
Location San Francisco Bay Area
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I love my 85mm f1.8 lens. It's very sharp, small, lightweight and it focuses quickly.
It's soft at f1.8 but it sharpens up quickly.
+6points
Review 20 for AF Nikkor 85mm f/1.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lens

PostedJuly 31, 2010
ST Shooter
Location OC, California
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I use this on both a DX and FX camera. Excellent sharpness and detail. Great for low light portraits and for throwing the background out of focus. My favorite lens.
+2points
1 2 3 next>>