Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF

Nikon Inc. AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF

Multipurpose, high-performance standard zoom covers a wide range of subjects from landscapes to portraits.

Average Customer Rating:
4.419 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 31 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
28 out of 31(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Review 1 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lente excelente

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Gustavo lei
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
Comprei a 2 meses e estou curtindo muito esta lente !!!
-3points
Review 2 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great all around lens.

PostedApril 20, 2013
bdenize
Age 35-44
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Great lens I have been using for 12 years. Sharp and fast.
Can be challenging because of the lack of the VR. Beautiful lens overall.
+15points
Review 3 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Versatile Lens

PostedApril 1, 2012
Ihatenicknames
Location Midwest
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This lens does a little bit of almost everything and it's super sharp. It is the go-to walking around lens on my D7000.
+22points
Review 4 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great travel lens

PostedDecember 5, 2011
KrankyKraut
Location SoCal
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Great travel lens. My sample is sharp at all focal lengths and apertures. Additionally, it has great bokeh and color rendition. Only downside is it's a little big and heavy. It has exceeded my expectations for a zoom.
+8points
Review 5 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Glad I have it!

PostedOctober 26, 2011
ReganinDR
Location Santo Domingo, DR
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This lens is outstanding for value and practicality. Like anything, at either extreme, (24 or 85mm), this lens isn't as fantastic as it is in all the middle lengths. I use it constantly on my D300S and a D50. Along with my 70-200 f/2.8, I don't need to pack my other lenses.
+14points
Review 6 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The only lens for travel shots

PostedApril 14, 2011
Jim the pilot
Location Illinois
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have used this lens with a D300 in many parts of Europe and it's perfect; have never said "why didn't I bring ......"
+3points
Review 7 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versitile and Fast

PostedApril 14, 2011
PhotoDeck
Location Atlanta, Ga
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
Next to my 70-200 VR this is my favorite Lens. 24-85 with the DX Camera is a great range and the Camera focuses fast so I don't miss a shot. Good Bokeh and sharp focus.
0points
Review 8 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One lens for people and travel and close ups

PostedMarch 6, 2011
Gman
Location N.J.
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I like using this lens on my D2h and my D300. Have capture some nice images due to it's size and handling. On the macro side the lens offer's great versatility as well!
+8points
Review 9 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile, solid, sharp lens.

PostedOctober 27, 2010
Coolblue
Location Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
I love this lens!! It is fastest wide open, and only slows by one stop at its longest. It has legendary Nikkor optics and has a very practical focal range. It also has a very useful macro setting at its longest focal length. It is an excellent general use lens and would recommend it hands down.
-2points
Review 10 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Underrated

PostedSeptember 27, 2010
PHXguy
Location Chandler, AZ
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have found this lens now on my camera 90% of the time. It covers a great focal range, fast when you need it to be and with the flip of a switch and a turn of the focus, you are given a descent macro lens. It may be slightly heavy but it's great all around. I found the AF to be spot on with my D300 and all my macro shots have looked nothing but amazing.
+11points
Review 11 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent compromise of many features

PostedAugust 2, 2010
Katman
Location Enumclaw, WA
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
For an all-purpose lens on DX or FX cameras, this lens is hard to beat.
The combination of price, very respectable wide-angle to good short telephoto focal lengths, maximum aperture range, AND half-life-size close-focusing makes this an ideal multi-purpose lens for photographers with more-limited financial means.
+9points
Review 12 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Workhorse Lens

PostedJuly 30, 2010
FirstNikon1971
Location St. Louis, MO
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
This 24-85mm, for me, just has that perfect walking around zoom range, especially on an FX camera like the D700. The lens is sharp and more flare resistant than most zooms. And it has a macro mode to boot. I've used it for landscapes, still life and portraits. Not amazingly, this is the lens I use about 60% of the time.
+12points
Review 13 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lenes

PostedJuly 30, 2010
photo pete
Location nyc ny
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
This lense is a great all around lense it's fast clear sharp images...
+2points
Review 14 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Photo48
Location Dade City, FL
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens was a workhorse for me for many years, its fast f/2.8 to f/4, and it falls into the mid range of Nikon lens in price and renders surprising quality for the cost. You cannot go wrong with this lens; it’s a bit heavy but balances well on the D300 and D70s. I prefer to use it at the high end 28mm and above it seems to perform better at the high end then the low end seems to be a common trait with zoom lens? This lens is well traveled and is still in great condition both physically and quality wise, testimony to the quality and workmanship Nikon puts into its lens. It is an all around standard zoom lens good for general photography and portraits.
+6points
Review 15 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Resolution is extremely high

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Art
Location Victorville, CA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I have been taking photos since 1950, and I have never experience a lens as fine as this.
When I go on a job, most of the time I take this lens only.
+7points
Review 16 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast zoom with macro. Under-rated Nikkor.

PostedJuly 30, 2010
super10s
Location Denver, Colorado
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Good:
1) Sharp lens. Wide end of range is really sharp.
2) Versatile zoom range. Multipurpose lens.
3) Macro is great asset (very sharp also).
4) Fairly light weight but still very durable. I've banged this one around for over 10 years, taken thousands of pictures, broken or lost 3 lens hoods, and it still takes pictures like it was out of the box.
5) Fast 2.8 aperature at wide end of zoom.
Minor negatives:
1) Contrast and color saturation good, but not as good as Nikon's most expensive zooms. Hey, but its <1/3 the price too.
2) Lack of lens focus motor doesn't affect me but it won't autofocus on many of Nikon's newer entry level cameras.
+8points
Review 17 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best for travel

PostedJuly 30, 2010
NikonFan
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is the only lens I take on trips to Europe. This lens on the D300 is not light, but worth every ounce in travel photo memories.
0points
Review 18 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My most used lens

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Pbyd
Location Houston, TX
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I have owned and used many Nikon lenses, including the 24-70 f2.8, and I still think this is the best mid-range zoom I have ever used. If may be slower at the long end but I can live with that on the D-3. The size and sharpness makes this my pick of lenses.
+3points
Review 19 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Lens - Extremely Sharp -

PostedJuly 30, 2010
johnny appleseed
Location Plano, Texas
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
Using this lens with the D3s camera and found it to be extremely sharp, fast focus, and provide wide to medium shots. Highly recommend for a normal standard lens.
+2points
Review 20 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great all around lens.

PostedMay 1, 2013
NikonUser!
Location San Jose, CA
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Been using this lens for many years. All the way back to my N70 film camera. Fast lens with decent zoom. Wish it would zoom a bit more than the 85mm. I bought this over the 24-120mm since it was faster and back in the film days you needed the extra speed for lower light conditions. I wouldn't say that this is an extremely sharp lens but it's decent enough. If you're doing portraits do you really need to see every single pore on someones face? When shooting at 24mm, I noticed that you have to be careful about vignetting especially if you shoot at a wider aperture. Don't think about stacking filters at wider aperture. When moving to a D700, vignetting was even worse and I had to even get thinner filters to prevent vignetting. Macro capability is nice to have. For a screw type lens it focuses pretty fast.
+1point
1 2 next>>