Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF Zoom-NIKKOR 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF

Nikon Inc. AF Zoom-NIKKOR 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF

Multipurpose, high-performance standard zoom covers a wide range of subjects from landscapes to portraits.

Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 33 reviews
5 stars
21
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
30 out of 33(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
38 Questions | 49 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF Zoom-NIKKOR 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Review 1 for AF Zoom-NIKKOR 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceptional Walkaround Lens

PostedJuly 26, 2015
Location San Francisco, CA, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I purchased the 24-85mm f/2.8-4D because I wanted a lens that provided the focal range of 24mm for landscape and 85mm for portraits. The macro feature interested me that I can photograph a subject up close for tabletop photography. I've been able to grow and improve my photography skills with this lens from photography classes to corporate events and doing product shots.
When I first started using the 24-85mm f/2.8-4D, I noticed some vignetting going on at wider shots, but so long as i don't use a filter, it is hardly noticeable. The autofocus isn't as fast or quiet as my more expensive primes, but is still fast enough for me to use at events and the sound of it focusing is similar to ball bearings spinning unlike my other lenses.
I originally purchased the 24-85mm f/2.8-4D for my F5 and had amazing results on film. I'm glad it works with my D7100, but on entry-level DSLR, the auto-focus can't be used. Still, this lens offers a lot of value with its capabilities and versatility at a price the fraction of more expensive lenses making it a perfect walk-around lens for the park, street, or wherever your travels take you.
+3points
Review 2 for AF Zoom-NIKKOR 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Luminosité excellente!

PostedMay 4, 2015
User submitted photo
Lentille extraordinaire lumineuse avec un très grand angle de prise de vue avec un option macro impressionnante! Bravo Nikon!
stradimarius
+1point
Review 3 for AF Zoom-NIKKOR 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lente excelente

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
Comprei a 2 meses e estou curtindo muito esta lente !!!
+1point
Review 4 for AF Zoom-NIKKOR 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great all around lens.

PostedApril 20, 2013
Age 35-44
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Great lens I have been using for 12 years. Sharp and fast.
Can be challenging because of the lack of the VR. Beautiful lens overall.
+28points
Review 5 for AF Zoom-NIKKOR 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Versatile Lens

PostedApril 1, 2012
Location Midwest
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This lens does a little bit of almost everything and it's super sharp. It is the go-to walking around lens on my D7000.
+39points
Review 6 for AF Zoom-NIKKOR 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great travel lens

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Location SoCal
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Great travel lens. My sample is sharp at all focal lengths and apertures. Additionally, it has great bokeh and color rendition. Only downside is it's a little big and heavy. It has exceeded my expectations for a zoom.
+6points
Review 7 for AF Zoom-NIKKOR 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Glad I have it!

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Location Santo Domingo, DR
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This lens is outstanding for value and practicality. Like anything, at either extreme, (24 or 85mm), this lens isn't as fantastic as it is in all the middle lengths. I use it constantly on my D300S and a D50. Along with my 70-200 f/2.8, I don't need to pack my other lenses.
+17points
Review 8 for AF Zoom-NIKKOR 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The only lens for travel shots

PostedApril 14, 2011
Location Illinois
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have used this lens with a D300 in many parts of Europe and it's perfect; have never said "why didn't I bring ......"
+3points
Review 9 for AF Zoom-NIKKOR 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versitile and Fast

PostedApril 14, 2011
Location Atlanta, Ga
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
Next to my 70-200 VR this is my favorite Lens. 24-85 with the DX Camera is a great range and the Camera focuses fast so I don't miss a shot. Good Bokeh and sharp focus.
-6points
Review 10 for AF Zoom-NIKKOR 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One lens for people and travel and close ups

PostedMarch 6, 2011
Location N.J.
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I like using this lens on my D2h and my D300. Have capture some nice images due to it's size and handling. On the macro side the lens offer's great versatility as well!
+6points
Review 11 for AF Zoom-NIKKOR 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile, solid, sharp lens.

PostedOctober 27, 2010
Location Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
I love this lens!! It is fastest wide open, and only slows by one stop at its longest. It has legendary Nikkor optics and has a very practical focal range. It also has a very useful macro setting at its longest focal length. It is an excellent general use lens and would recommend it hands down.
-2points
Review 12 for AF Zoom-NIKKOR 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Underrated

PostedSeptember 27, 2010
Location Chandler, AZ
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have found this lens now on my camera 90% of the time. It covers a great focal range, fast when you need it to be and with the flip of a switch and a turn of the focus, you are given a descent macro lens. It may be slightly heavy but it's great all around. I found the AF to be spot on with my D300 and all my macro shots have looked nothing but amazing.
+12points
Review 13 for AF Zoom-NIKKOR 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent compromise of many features

PostedAugust 2, 2010
Location Enumclaw, WA
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
For an all-purpose lens on DX or FX cameras, this lens is hard to beat.
The combination of price, very respectable wide-angle to good short telephoto focal lengths, maximum aperture range, AND half-life-size close-focusing makes this an ideal multi-purpose lens for photographers with more-limited financial means.
+12points
Review 14 for AF Zoom-NIKKOR 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Workhorse Lens

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Location St. Louis, MO
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
This 24-85mm, for me, just has that perfect walking around zoom range, especially on an FX camera like the D700. The lens is sharp and more flare resistant than most zooms. And it has a macro mode to boot. I've used it for landscapes, still life and portraits. Not amazingly, this is the lens I use about 60% of the time.
+18points
Review 15 for AF Zoom-NIKKOR 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lenes

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Location nyc ny
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
This lense is a great all around lense it's fast clear sharp images...
0points
Review 16 for AF Zoom-NIKKOR 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Location Dade City, FL
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens was a workhorse for me for many years, its fast f/2.8 to f/4, and it falls into the mid range of Nikon lens in price and renders surprising quality for the cost. You cannot go wrong with this lens; it’s a bit heavy but balances well on the D300 and D70s. I prefer to use it at the high end 28mm and above it seems to perform better at the high end then the low end seems to be a common trait with zoom lens? This lens is well traveled and is still in great condition both physically and quality wise, testimony to the quality and workmanship Nikon puts into its lens. It is an all around standard zoom lens good for general photography and portraits.
+8points
Review 17 for AF Zoom-NIKKOR 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Resolution is extremely high

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Location Victorville, CA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I have been taking photos since 1950, and I have never experience a lens as fine as this.
When I go on a job, most of the time I take this lens only.
+14points
Review 18 for AF Zoom-NIKKOR 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast zoom with macro. Under-rated Nikkor.

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Location Denver, Colorado
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Good:
1) Sharp lens. Wide end of range is really sharp.
2) Versatile zoom range. Multipurpose lens.
3) Macro is great asset (very sharp also).
4) Fairly light weight but still very durable. I've banged this one around for over 10 years, taken thousands of pictures, broken or lost 3 lens hoods, and it still takes pictures like it was out of the box.
5) Fast 2.8 aperature at wide end of zoom.
Minor negatives:
1) Contrast and color saturation good, but not as good as Nikon's most expensive zooms. Hey, but its <1/3 the price too.
2) Lack of lens focus motor doesn't affect me but it won't autofocus on many of Nikon's newer entry level cameras.
+15points
Review 19 for AF Zoom-NIKKOR 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best for travel

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is the only lens I take on trips to Europe. This lens on the D300 is not light, but worth every ounce in travel photo memories.
+1point
Review 20 for AF Zoom-NIKKOR 24-85mm f/2.8-4D IF
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My most used lens

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Location Houston, TX
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I have owned and used many Nikon lenses, including the 24-70 f2.8, and I still think this is the best mid-range zoom I have ever used. If may be slower at the long end but I can live with that on the D-3. The size and sharpness makes this my pick of lenses.
+13points
1 2 next>>