Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6G

Nikon Inc. AF Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6G

This high-power 4.3x telephoto zoom is a versatile and lightweight answer to bringing family action closer.

Average Customer Rating:
3.941 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 34 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
4
28 out of 34(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
115 Questions | 147 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6G
Review 1 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Melhor custo benefício

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Marcos
Location Belém - PA, Brasil
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Essa lente é para quem gosta de ajustes manuais. Durante minhas viagens ela é indispensável para fotografar arquiteturas e paisagens onde necessito de uma imagem ampla e nítida. O preço é excelente.
+23points
Review 2 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this lens

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Ashley R.
Location Portland, OR, USA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The title sums this lens up well. I love this lens, and a good upgrade from the 18-55mm kit lens. Although, I wish I could have bought the VR version, I am completely happy without it. My images generally turn out great even without it. I use this on my D3100, and even though I have to manually focus(which I did even with my kit lens) it works perfectly fine, where some people online were saying it doesn't work well with my camera model. Over all, it's amazing for it's price and zoom range.
+96points
Review 3 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent amateur lens!!

PostedAugust 16, 2012
D80 shooter
Location Austin, TX, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens is a bargain!! I purchased mine earlier this year and I am very happy I did. I would have liked to have the more macho VR version, but at the time I simply could not afford it. Either way, I am pleased with this Nikon product. I shot some fairly low light portraits with it and they came out STUNNING!! The images were sharp and had fantastic blur in the background. Luckily I have motors in my camera so I can auto focus. This lens is a bit slow, but if you are in the right situation the lens will deliver. I highly recommend this lens for an enthusiast who shoots wild life or sports and is on a budget. I have a feeling you will be pleased with this product.
+53points
Review 4 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great zoom lens for sports photography

PostedAugust 18, 2011
Nikon Shutterbug
Location Montreal (Quebec) CANADA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have used this lens for nearly 10 years for many purposes and find that it is just terrific for sports events due to its sharpness even at the maximum zoom setting.
+55points
Review 5 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedAugust 1, 2011
DDCPhoto
Location FL
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I can get 300mm pics with no Blurr with the VR. Pin point accuracy on the Focus! No complaints! I love the lens! ALSO! takes pretty nice macro shots fully extended.
-25points
Review 6 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent performance despite the cheap price.

PostedMay 4, 2011
nastanir
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
First of all it does not have VR and won't auto focus on D3100. For that there is AF-S 55-300 VR at almost 3 times the price of this one (online). This is also one of he two cheapest priced lens in the entire Nikon catalog. So I was hesitant if it is worth buying. It is worth if you are looking for a decent telephoto zoom, won't mind manual focusing, and usually taking pictures during the day. Picture quality is sharp (better than I expected), way better than your 10x point & shoot or SLR looking super zoom. Almost like your kit zoom. It is light so not much of a problem to carry. If you want to shoot in the low light you need 300 f/2.8. Just look at that size and price and if you earn money from photography then you don't need this one. But even then considering the size and price you can keep this one as spare when you are on vacation. I liked this one more than I expected.
+104points
Review 7 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smooth motion quick focus

PostedMay 2, 2011
Nikon Exclusive
Location Yokohama
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens is one of the smoothest transition lenses I have used. The auto focus function is quick and quiet. The VR at maximum zoom allows for hand holding with no distortion or bluring. Manual focus function is also very smooth and easy to use.
-67points
Review 8 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lens-Great Price-Great Results

PostedApril 15, 2011
D'Photo Guy
Location West Virginia
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I Have enjoyed the good optics, versility, and VR, of this mid range lens. It is recommended for various types of shooting in good lighting or on tripod.Nice addition to your lense arsenal.
-41points
Review 9 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens

PostedApril 14, 2011
NikonDon
Location Martha's Vineyard, MA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I'm very fond of this lens that I got off eBay for less than original selling price. It works smoothly and makes beautiful images.
Thanks, Nikon!
+4points
Review 10 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Telephoto Lens

PostedJanuary 6, 2011
Joe's Photography
Location Bay City Michigan
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I love this lens, for it size and telephoto need, it a great little lens, only draw back is it a manual lens, and dosen't not offer auto-focus.
-7points
Review 11 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Zoom with a Boom!

PostedSeptember 21, 2010
Joeyq911
Location Houston, TX
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
A great lens! On the low end in price but still takes great pictures! I've used it at football games, cheering competitions, volleyball tournaments and it's never let me down! Way to go NIKON!
+36points
Review 12 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedAugust 8, 2010
BenB
Location Omaha, Nebraska
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have 2 Nikon cameras, a N70 and a D70. I have 3 Nikor lens that interchange with both cameras. I have used Nikon products for over 10 years. I use Nikon Capture 4, since I shoot in the Raw Image format
-100points
Review 13 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Biggest bang for a small buck

PostedAugust 2, 2010
PhotoGuy
Location Winston-Salem, NC
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I got this lens to use with my D70. I like being able to reach out there and capture small details without having to put life or limb in jeopardy. Not the speediest AF in the world, but certainly not the slowest.
Here is the plus. I was gifted a Nikon N65 without lenses. Who would want to use a 35mm film camera in the digital age? Well, you should. They are easy to use, cheap to find and, when helping a younger person to learn photography, far less nerve wracking than passing out a DSLR. Remember, the PRINCIPLES of photography are the same, whether film, CMOS or CCDs.
This lens works equally well on either the Nikon N65 or the D70.
This lens needs to be in your lens arsenal.
+10points
Review 14 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High power secret

PostedJuly 31, 2010
Studioblue
Location Chicago IL
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
My AF Zoom-NIKKOR 70-300mm f/4-5.6G lens is an outstanding value in the digital world. I bought it for my D70 and now my D90. The higher ISO settings available on the latest cameras, makes this lens a key player for any photographer.
+40points
Review 15 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Value

PostedJuly 30, 2010
NikonUser
Location Florida
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
Good value for the money. fast focus speed, great response time, inexpensive for a 300mm
+9points
Review 16 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lens For the Price.

PostedJuly 17, 2010
RaceJunkie
Location Augusta, Ga
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bought this lens for my D90. I use it together with my 18-105 VR kit lens. So far I have had great results at sporting events, Nascar and Drag Boat Races, etc., anywhere a longer lens is needed. Lens is f 4-f 5.6 so it not the fastest lens but overall a graet value. I normally use it on a monopod when at the 300mm setting and so far have had great results. Its not a VR lens, but its also a lot of lens for the money.
+55points
Review 17 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6G
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Seems to work for me!

PostedJune 14, 2014
Champagnedrinker
Location South Coast, UK.
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I've had this for a number of years now; got it originally to go with the Film Nikon I had - and then kept it to go with the D5000; the drawbacks are, of course, that's it's not autofocus, nor does it have VR; however, it has saved me having to buy another lens. In the sunlight the results seem fine to me - though note that I"m not a professional photographer, nor probably a very good amatuer.
+4points
Review 18 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6G
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Grandes resultados con un poco de práctica.

PostedJune 5, 2014
David RH
Location Apizaco, TLAX, México
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Llevo algunas semanas ocupando este objetivo con mi D3100 y con un poco de práctica se obtienen grandes resultados, la relación calidad precio es muy buena, al principio es un poco complicado pero encontrando los parámetros da imágenes nítidas y con una calidad aceptable.
+4points
Review 19 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6G
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lightweight, cheapest lens

PostedMay 31, 2014
PictureWorld
Location Greece
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This lens many times surprised me It is the most simple and cheapest lens from Nikon. Makes the perfect job for his price and quality. Missing some key elements with the competition. But even so it remains at the top. Is worth getting someone who wants to have a Nikon lens in the bag, but doesn't spend an entire wage and be able to take him everywhere with him fearlessly. This lens with your camera, you will be surprised. Try the lens before you buy it.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+2points
Review 20 for AF Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6G
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well worth the money.....

PostedJuly 15, 2012
PhotoJoe55
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
This lens, contrary to so many who commented, does not have VR (Vibration Reduction). It leads me to believe that so many that use it, don't really know what they're doing. Can they benefit from thinking that it has VR? I really don't think so. It costs a little more than a kit lens and it's worth having because it's pretty sharp, it's very light and for this money, you really can't go wrong. Even as an extra if you have overlapping focal lengths, put it on a spare body, you'll be ready without having to change lenses.
+10points
1 2 next>>