Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF Nikkor 14mm f/2.8D ED

Nikon Inc. AF Nikkor 14mm f/2.8D ED

This high-performance, ultra-wide-angle lens is ideal for interiors, dramatic cityscapes or compelling photojournalistic images even in low light.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 9 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF Nikkor 14mm f/2.8D ED
Review 1 for AF Nikkor 14mm f/2.8D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just as expected - excellent!

PostedJuly 6, 2013
OLDnikonPRO
First of all, it cracks me up that one of the few reviews I read that was on target and really put this lens in it's proper place was one by a review site that is constantly derided for reviewing things he's never owned. Well, he was right on target for this one, and obviously owned and used it. If you're cruising the web for reviews, then you know who I mean. There are not a ton of reviews out there on this lens because it's pricey for a prime lens, and doesn't have the versatility or cache of the 14-24.
It's not a lens for everyone, and to get the best image quality you really need to use CaptureNX2 or a later gen body that can correct vignetting and distortion. The distortion is not bad, but it's not simple barrel, and you need NX2 to make it right - plus you only lose a tiny amount of image, I would say it's effectively a 15-16mm after correction.
The main reason I bought this lens is to take very wide large group people shots, at night, in close quarters. Yes, the corners are really soft at 2.8, and don't really get tack sharp ever, even at f11 - they're pretty much 'acceptable' there. But I don't care about the corners - I'm cropping the image anyway, and this lens is perfect for me.
Another good comment I saw (from someone who also actually owned and had used the lens as well as the 14-24) was 'horses for courses', and the fact that it has significantly less distortion as the 14-24 at 14. It does not have the reportage versatility of the 14-24, but honestly I do reportage, and it's just not my cup of tea.
Do your research carefully, and if you fit the profile for this lens, there's really nothing better. Low, controllable distortion (if you use the right software), very sharp in the center, sharp edges at 5.6 or above, useable corners at f8 and above, manageable vignetting.
+5points
Review 2 for AF Nikkor 14mm f/2.8D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautifully crafted lens

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Vincent
This is one beautifully crafted lens and so solidly put together with none of that plastic fantastic stuff that have on more modern designs, which worries me. It is not particularly sharp out the corners at f2.8 with fairly significant vignetting, but that does not concern me one little bit because the much heralded 13mm only opened out to f5.6 and was a far more expensive and much heavier lens than this one. From f5.8 to f11 it is razor sharp all over all over the picture as one could expect from a professional calibre lens.
I have actually tried to deliberately get "creative flare" effects by deliberately pointing it into the sun but is highly resistant to it because understandably the manufacturers look on that as a bad thing.
+6points
Review 3 for AF Nikkor 14mm f/2.8D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely Sharp, but ...

PostedMarch 29, 2011
W7FA
Location Aloha, Oregon
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I purchased this lens as a refurbished Nikon USA product. I use it on a Nikon D7000 (APC-C size sensor), so it gives me an effective 21 mm focal length. This is perfect for my usage, as I am not interested in grossly exaggerated wide angle images. It is sharp corner-to-corner, even at f/2.8 with one caveat: It back focuses. I tried another sample and it also back focused. To assure maximum sharpness, you will need to use the lens on a nikon camera with the "AF fine tune" option available, e.g. D7000, et. al. The settings are "AF fine tune - on" and "saved values" - minus fifteen (-15). This will produce quite noticeably sharper images than at "default 0" setting, (no AF fine tuning). Thus, the lens remains sharp from closest focusing distance to infinity. You can test the need for AF fine tuning on your lens by auto focusing on an object with lettering at about 10 feet distance and taking a photograph. Then take a second photograph by auto focusing the same as before, but before taking the photograph, change the "M/A" ring on the lens to "M" (manual focusing) and turn the focus ring counter-clockwise a little to a closer focusing distance and then take the photograph. Compare the two. If the second photograph is sharper than the first, your lens back focuses and you need to make the "AF fine tune" adjustment on your camera. See attached photos: #1 is default (0) #2 is (-15 AF fine tuning). These are cropped more than 200%.
+14points
Review 4 for AF Nikkor 14mm f/2.8D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME!!

PostedNovember 8, 2010
Jan
Location Clinton, NJ
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Semi-professional photographer
After using/owning Nikons since 1975 (I still have my F2 and lenses), the 14mm is my all-time favorite!! It takes a little getting used to so that you avoid including your toes in the frame, but the results for so many types of photography (travel, interiors, close-ups, etc) are great and it actually promotes creativity. For some unusual angles, put this lens on and shoot from the ground up. After owning the 14mm for 10 years, I'm still amazed at what it can do.
+4points
Review 5 for AF Nikkor 14mm f/2.8D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another Great Lens

PostedJuly 30, 2010
kendoitall
Location Levittown, New York
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
Excellent quality lens as are all Nikon pro level lenses. As an extreme-wide glass, it should be used carefully. There is little distortion, but it works best when including an object near to the camera and focusing about 1/3rd of the way in and at f/11 - f/22. Try to keep the camera level and you will achieve astounding results.
+7points
Review 6 for AF Nikkor 14mm f/2.8D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite ultra-wide!

PostedJuly 30, 2010
fnform
Location Detroit, MI
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bought this lens to take full advantage of my D700. It's my go-to lens for dramatic wide shots. I love this lens because it's relatively compact, and built to the HIGHEST quality standards. I use a range of Nikon camera bodies from an FM3A and F100 to a D200 and D700. This lens with the trusty aperture ring works great on every camera.
I considered the legendary Nikon 14-24 ultra-wide but chose this lens because of its much-smaller size AND the assumption that I'd mostly use the 14-24 at 14mm.
This lens is sharp even at f/2.8, has controlled distortion and I love the way it handles.
With this lens in my arsenal I've been considering selling my fisheye lens because the ultra-wide shots I get with this lens on FX and 35mm cameras are just as dramatic and way more believable.
I love mine.
+17points
Review 7 for AF Nikkor 14mm f/2.8D ED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Small, Lightweight

PostedJune 9, 2011
Edgy01
Location Santa Barbara, CA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Semi-professional photographer
I've always favored the wide-angle end of the photographic spectrum. The 14mm f/2.8 lens has great utility for grabbing ultra-wide angle shots, however, it's not as sharp as it could be. (I prefer my Nikkor AIS 13mm f/5.6 for its significantly sharper optics--but you pay a higher price in that that lens is significantly larger).
The 14mm has excellent coatings which reduce the propensity for flaring that one expects with such a wide angle.
+3points
Review 8 for AF Nikkor 14mm f/2.8D ED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great if you can put up with it....

PostedSeptember 22, 2010
Adam
Location Orange, CA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
This is a fantastic lens -- there's no doubt about it... Just be sure that you need it, first, and second, that you know how to use it. If you do those two things, you'll love it. Otherwise, not having the SWM and having to switch modes manually, and having to deal with the funky "lens cap" design (it's necessary, but can get annoying if you need to take out and store this lens often...)...all those little things will really bother you....
Autofocus is fast, which makes sense for an ultrawide...and you can't beat the solid f/2.8.
Overall, as a pro lens (and a Nikon, at that), it does what you'd expect, and then some at the cost of some slight inconveniences (unavoidable, however, as they may be).
+4points
Review 9 for AF Nikkor 14mm f/2.8D ED
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good, but not great anymore

PostedJuly 30, 2010
mklass
Location Tacoma, WA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I no longer own this lens, as I have replaced it with the 14-24mm f/2.8G ED Nikkor.
This lens will produce good images, but will distort close objects at the edges. Just be careful whith what is happening there, and you'll be OK.
0points