Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF Nikkor 35mm f/2D

Nikon Inc. AF Nikkor 35mm f/2D

Compact and lightweight, this very fast f/2 wide-angle lens is perfect for scenic and landscape photography as well as environmental portraits.

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 12 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
11 out of 12(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF Nikkor 35mm f/2D
Review 1 for AF Nikkor 35mm f/2D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Landscape Lens

PostedDecember 9, 2011
DavidDC
Location Washington, DC
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
I love this lens for landscapes. Not so wide that you know it was obviously a wide angle. It makes things look natural. The low light capability is excellent at F2. Sharpest at F2.8 or better. See attached photo for how beautiful the perspective of this lens is. Not a bad price either!
+23points
Review 2 for AF Nikkor 35mm f/2D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a sharp lens

PostedMay 5, 2011
Daisy
Location Lakeland, FL
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Other than a micro lens, this is the first "standard" fixed lens I've used for my DX digital cameras. I expected it to focus sharp because I had read favorable comments about this lens, but it has exceeded my expectations by far. Very fast, very sharp.
+14points
Review 3 for AF Nikkor 35mm f/2D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 28, 2011
Luxeres
Location Netherlands
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Great lens for the money. Very sharp from f2.8 on, maybe a little soft wide open. Recommended.
+6points
Review 4 for AF Nikkor 35mm f/2D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

small and sharp

PostedApril 15, 2011
steveb
Location Delaware
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This small lens offers good sharpness, especially in the center. Quick focus and good contrast make it attractive for moderate wide angle shots. Mine is sharp and solid. The fast F2 aperture is useable for low light shots.
+5points
Review 5 for AF Nikkor 35mm f/2D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great prime lens for digital at modest cost

PostedApril 14, 2011
SportDad
Location Palos Verdes, CA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I am convinced that even the best of the wide and prime range zoom lenses still give up sharpness to fixed focal length lenses, not to mention speed, and the better and faster zooms are painfully expensive. The 35 f/2 substitutes for the traditional 50mm in digital (effectively 52mm on my D1x). This lens is surprisingly inexpensive, and though probably no match for a 50mm 1.4 or 1.8, still remarkably sharp compared to zoom lenses around this range, and much faster than the consumer level zooms. The focal length is flexible for a wide array of situations so I need nothing between my 12-24 and my 80-200 other than this 35.
+7points
Review 6 for AF Nikkor 35mm f/2D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Crisp, Clean Colors in a Light Fast Lens

PostedOctober 10, 2010
DocCamera
Location Fullerton, CA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
Excellent for use with my D300 as a low-light normal lens or my D700 as a full frame landscape or Group Portrait lens. No visible distortion and crisp, clean colors translates to a print straight out of the camera. No need to apply any software lens corrections. Easy enough to carry all day on the camera and get Pro quality images from any format Nikon.
+12points
Review 7 for AF Nikkor 35mm f/2D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect prime lens for DX format

PostedJuly 30, 2010
bjp
Location Memphis, TN
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
This is a great lens for DX format cameras. It translates to a 52mm; which is a perfect standard prime focal length. I use it for portraits, and it stays on my camera more than my 50/1.4 lens (which I love also). The 35/2.0D lens is very fast, extremely sharp from 2.8 up (even nicely sharp wide open). Great color, contrast and image quality...a must have for DX cameras.
+10points
Review 8 for AF Nikkor 35mm f/2D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So much quality in such a small lens

PostedJuly 30, 2010
rofi
Location Barcelona, Spain
Age 25-34
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
For FX cameras, this is a great lens for everyday use. I have most of the time mounted it in my D700. For DX cameras it is more suited to portraits as it gives a narrower view.
Back to FX, this lens will perform correctly both for portraits, still nature or even not too wide landscapes. As a bonus it has a minimal focusing distance rather short, compared to other fixed lenses, which allows for more extreme close-ups than usual.
Its maximum apperture of f/2 it is a bit soft, colors are not so well captured, and most of the time the depth-of-field is too narrow. I almost never use it. In fact most of the time, when speed is mandatory, I normally stick at f/2.8 where its performance and sharpness are simply excellent.
+5points
Review 9 for AF Nikkor 35mm f/2D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

small but fine

PostedAugust 20, 2010
grzegorz
Location Germany, Munich
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Good lens, very sharp in the range f/2.8-5.6, small enough to take it with for every travel. Helpful when there is not enough light around.
+7points
Review 10 for AF Nikkor 35mm f/2D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Lens

PostedJuly 31, 2010
SB
Location Tokyo, Japan
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is a very good lens. The optics are great, it's reasonably small, lightweight, fairly well built, pretty much everything you could want.
+5points
Review 11 for AF Nikkor 35mm f/2D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The best all-around low-light wide angle lens

PostedJuly 30, 2010
fnform
Location Detroit, MI
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I've gone back and forth trying to decide what prime lenses to own for my various nikon cameras that range from 35mm manual focus to DX and FX digital. I love the 35mm focal length because I find it IDEAL for full frame and still useful on DX. The Nikon 35 with its f/2 maximum aperture serves as my night/evening walk-around lens. Coupled with my D700, I can capture some great low-light images, even if they're in motion. I appreciate the good build quality, compact size and manual aperture ring (needed on my FM3A). It's a real joy walking around with just a prime lens sometimes.
My only small complaints are it's price compared to the Nikon 35mm AF-S f/1.8 DX prime (an amazing bargain if you only shoot DX), and it's average amount of distortion compared to my Nikon 28mm AI-s lens (a true benchmark design with ZERO distortion).
Overall I think this lens strikes the best overall balance for my varied needs.
+9points
Review 12 for AF Nikkor 35mm f/2D
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Oily aperture blades, common problem for this lens.

PostedJune 14, 2012
SLCNikon
My serial number 347XXX lens is going in for service to clean oil from the aperture blades. This a very common problem for this lens and I can only find folklore that suggests Nikon ever fixed the problem effectively. In fact, when I bought my lens the problem was supposed to be history.
+3points