Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF Nikkor 28mm f/2.8D

Nikon Inc. AF Nikkor 28mm f/2.8D

Ideal for travel, candids and portraits; close focuses to 0.85 feet, weighs only 7.4 ounces.

Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 11 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF Nikkor 28mm f/2.8D
Review 1 for AF Nikkor 28mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Lens

PostedNovember 3, 2013
HappyCustomer
Location Fresno, CA, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 20 years
Role Professional photographer
Purchased this lens and it arrived a couple of days ago. Just did a lens test this morning with a target and I am very impressed. A touch soft around the edges at 2.8 but this is still a usable f/stop. Clears up nicely by 5.6. f/22 not a hot f/stop but f/16 is very nice.
Overall I feel this is a great lens for the price - no complaints.
+1point
Review 2 for AF Nikkor 28mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must have in your bag

PostedMay 24, 2011
KN
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
Amazing wide angle lens, with tremenderous features.
Amazing clarity, sharp, flexible.
Good fit for any type of bag (pro, semi pro, novice, beginner)
Great for weddings and landscapes, depends on your ability for scenid shots. Friendly. Easy to carry. A must keep.
+4points
Review 3 for AF Nikkor 28mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent semi wide-angle for DX

PostedMarch 28, 2011
Drumsnap
Location Central Florida
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Just picked this lens up second-hand and it's wonderful! Sharp images and a great field of view compared to my 50 1.4. I would love to eventually step up to a 24 1.4 to still have the super shallow DoF, but this is killer in the meantime! Highly recommended!
+7points
Review 4 for AF Nikkor 28mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect wide

PostedFebruary 8, 2011
Dananjaya
Location jakarta
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
at the price is middle, not too cheap also to expensive.
sharp and still can get DOF.
at the first time I feel a bit regret because my plan was want to buy 35mm but they don't have it. then they over me this lens, I thought its not too wide like 24mm, and not enough DOF like 35mm, when I try it, sharpness of picture amaze me, still can get DOF, also have a nice distortion when I try close up, fast enough on f/2.8
+2points
Review 5 for AF Nikkor 28mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great wide angle lens

PostedDecember 8, 2010
Nikonhugh
Location Dallas,TX
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Professional photographer
This lens is a real performer for the money. Great for Landscapes and Wide Field Astrophotography.
+5points
Review 6 for AF Nikkor 28mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Prime Lens

PostedNovember 3, 2010
Tyler
Location Huntsville, AL
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
Great lens for the price. This lens allows for shallow depths-of-field while preserving the ability to capture wide angels.
+2points
Review 7 for AF Nikkor 28mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharp and easy to use

PostedSeptember 22, 2010
Koelner
Location Cologne, Germany
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
it's a very sharp and easy to use wide-angle lens, very nice for Travel
-10points
Review 8 for AF Nikkor 28mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very nice little lens for a little pricetag.

PostedMay 26, 2014
HumblePhotog
Location Atlanta, GA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
When I purchased this lens, I had mixed expectations. I wanted a standard 28mm wide angle to keep in my camera bag, but didn't feel like I'd use one enough to justify the price tag on the 1.8G.
I haven't been disappointed with this lens in respect to the insignificant amount of money I spent on it. It is respectably sharp, especially considering the price. There are sharper primes out there, but you'll be forking out a good bit more cash for them.
The AF is also snappy. Very snappy, actually, which I was surprised by. If your camera doesn't have a built-in AF motor, though, you obviously won't be able to use the AF feature. You could still manually focus with it, and it will still be just as sharp, but that's something people those types of cameras will want to keep in mind.
Color and overall IQ is nice with minimal distortion that you really have to look for to find, if you find any at all. Bokeh is also nice, though this is not a lens I'd recommend for portraiture.
I've used the lens on full-frame and crop sensor bodies and it has performed well on both. Again, it's not the most used lens in my camera bag, but I do like it enough to keep it in there.
+1point
Review 9 for AF Nikkor 28mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

a surprising performer

PostedApril 15, 2011
steveb
Location Delaware
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 20 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
To my surprise, this lens works very well on FX. My lens dates from 1989 and it does not focus instantly, but the quality is good and the images are surprisingly sharp. The lens is very small and unobtrusive, so it does not call attention to the camera and does not take up much room in the bag, but it gives very good images. The focus is a bit noisy and slow on a D700, a small price to pay for using this old-timer.
Build quality is ok; it has held up well for a long time.
+4points
Review 10 for AF Nikkor 28mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Reliable. Always sharp, except at corners

PostedApril 14, 2011
bdk
Location Metro New York
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Great lens at f5.6 and above. At apertures greater than this, you will see very obvious distortion at the corners. In terms of price and quality this is very good. I use this lens as my standard lens on my Nikon FM2. I don't bother with the 50mm normal lens.
+1point
Review 11 for AF Nikkor 28mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Save your money

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
AN
Location Illinois, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
An inferior wide angle lens as you get better results using the standard lens that comes with the camera. Not worth the money I spent to purchase it.
-13points