Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D

Nikon Inc. AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D

Compact and lightweight ultra-wide-angle lens ideal for landscapes, interiors, events and more.

Average Customer Rating:
4.263 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 19 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
17 out of 19(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D
Review 1 for AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tiny But Amazing

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Frank
Location San Diego, CA, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I always stopped at 24mm when assembling a SLR kit. Anything wider was too specialized for regular use and good glass gets pricey wider than 24mm. Except for this lens. Amazing color, contrast and sharpness. Barrel distortion is expected, corrected with DxO software or Photoshop. For ease of use and a great price, this lens can't be beat. I'm a happy customer!
+1point
Review 2 for AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Covers Huge Area.

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Samid Ali
Location Lahore, Pakistan
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I Bought this lens quite a while ago, but i got to test this piece of glass with my Nikon D800 a week ago in snow, and wide angle beautiful Valleys of Pakistan like Kalam and Matiltan in December. Its a PRO. Its a MASTERPIECE, Ideal for TIME-LAPSES. Precise Detail with ignorable Distortion. You gotta have it. One who doesn't own it, is not a Nature Photographer.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+14points
Review 3 for AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for indoor family candids on DX

PostedDecember 10, 2011
Advanced Amateur
Location Chicago
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
35mm is probably the most popular all around lens, but from my experience the 52mm equivalent on DX makes it a tad too long for indoor. On Full frame it's probably just right.
I was hesitant to go this wide and was contemplating the Nikon 24mm f/2.8D AF (35mm equivalent), but it didn't quite get the same positive reviews as the 20mm. While the 35mm f/1.8G AF-S has received outstanding reviews, i just didn't want to settle on that focal length. So i took the plunge with the 20.
Great decision! Most would probably use this lens for landscape, but i find it just right for indoor candids of the family. I never worry about shooting space and never find it too wide.
The lens itself feels solid, it's small and all around great performer.
+22points
Review 4 for AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent lens for getting the big picture

PostedApril 17, 2011
Blee
Location Ontario, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than 20 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Terrific for urban landscapes and interiors with large groups.
Tack sharp from corner to corner.
Quickly became a favourite lens.
+22points
Review 5 for AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Remarkable Lens!

PostedFebruary 9, 2011
W7FA
Location Portland, Oregon
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
After reading some reviews of this lens, I began to have doubts about its quality. After buying one, and using it for just a few days, all doubts have vanished. This is a great lens! It is as sharp as the best of Nikon's lenses in the center, with only a slight loss of sharpness in the corners. It is almost as sharp at f/2.8 as at other apertures. It does have some coma in the corners, noticeable when photographing stars, but not too bad. Thee is some distortion, but not too bad. There is vignetting at maximum aperture on my Nikon D700, uncorrected, but with the D700 vignetting control feature, that eliminates the problem. There is very little ghosting or flare. The color rendition is excellent and the contrast is superb. AF is not lightening fast, but acceptable. All it lacks is AF-S. On a scale of 1-10, with 1 being a Coke bottle bottom and 10 being a perfect lens, I give this lens an 8.
+23points
Review 6 for AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Indespensable lens

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Iii
Location Tecumseh, Michigan
Age Over 65
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Renders "normal" perspective with D300. Never without it when shooting on the streets of . chicago.
Good bu ild quality, excellent glass, superb b/w image quality.
+9points
Review 7 for AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great optics in a compact package

PostedOctober 26, 2010
TitleDS
Location Bangkok, Thailand
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
The lens built reasonably solid with a slight play at the front barrel that doesn't bother me. Manual focus operation is fantastic, very smooth and even well damped.
The optical quality is on par with the more sophisticated pro zoom lens, it's sharp even wide-open, great contrast, and very few flare & ghosts despite somewhat complex design.
This lens is the most reliable companion for street and vast nature photography, thanks to the very compact design, it's not eye-catching and will not scare the subjects off like the big chunky zoom lens, and the fast f/2.8 aperture let me shoot via street-available lights at night.
+25points
Review 8 for AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Alway's mounted on one of my camera's

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Professional Still Photographer
Location Las Vegas, Nevada
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
This lens has replaced my 35mm, 28mm and 24mm lens.. When you need to grab a shot quickly this is my go to lens. The evolution of the wide angle lens has been terrific.
+16points
Review 9 for AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Photo48
Location Dade City, Fl
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The 20mm is a fast lens, superb glass, lightweight so it’s easy to carry, great for low light and scenery. I find the best performance at f/8 and f/11, excellent at f/4 & f/5. As with almost all lens you suffer a little at both ends in this case f/2.8 and f/22 yet I have used and will use both ends again when necessary to get the shot knowing I will get good results. This is one of two lens I always have in my bag the other is the 50mm.
+10points
Review 10 for AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great For Travel!

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Travelitis
Location Hibbing, MN
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Lens is light to carry and works well on D90! Fantastic for travel scenes. It is not as showy as a zoom lens.
+6points
Review 11 for AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this lens!

PostedJuly 30, 2010
sleepy
Location MA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I took this lens to the high arctic and got spectacular shots of the Northern Lights! In darkness and cold it worked flawlessly!
+8points
Review 12 for AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great lens

PostedAugust 5, 2010
Nikonhugh
Location Dallas,TX
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I purchased this lens used. I no time with it's f/2.8 I was using it for low light and Astrophotography. All images are sharp almost to the corners. I have to crop just a little bit to remove the stars that are not round. Lens has nice bokeh. Lightweight and handy, I recommend this lens to anyone.
0points
Review 13 for AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedJuly 30, 2010
c.Donkey
Location Bangkok
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Good color, nice boken.
Very good for landscape.
I take it with me when I walking around the street, always give me nice photos.
Not easy to auto focus in low light place.
I use it on my FM2 and D90.
+14points
Review 14 for AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Exsellent lens for shooting interiors, in dim ligh

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Storm
Location New York, NY
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
My copy is very sharp in the center even in full aperture. Minimum amount of chromatic aberrations and flare. I'm very happy with this lens.
+6points
Review 15 for AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A lens which is on the body 80% of time

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Alche
Location Prague
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
One of my first lenses which was originally purchased for FM2 body and now is used on D700 mostly most of the time, in fact as kind of standard lens for me. For my purposes satifactirily low distortion, enough sharpness for A4 blow ups - not using larger printouts usualy - although larger printouts would not be a problem quite surely. It is light, compact and has rigid construction. With even thinniest neutral fiter there is some vigneting visible. Best performing from f 4.5 to 8 I believe.
+8points
Review 16 for AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

sharp enough, aperture issue

PostedJuly 30, 2010
ejcarr
Location New York, Denver, Ireland
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I like the lens for use on my d200 and 300 camera.
the sharpness is certainly acceptable and i have little barrel distortion. I have to add that I have had problems with the aperture not closing down to my chosen f stop many times. I have had the lens serviced for that problem and the issue remains. overall a very good lens, I think Nikon could look into that problem with the aperture.
+11points
Review 17 for AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Usable

PostedJuly 30, 2010
UES
Location Santa Monica, CA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Semi-professional photographer
In theory, this should be a great lens. And in the film days it's rep was good. In practice, not so. Not bitingly sharp, flat in contrast and some coke bottle softness f2.8-4. And strange color rendition. Nikon, even when not the very best lenses have smooth, almost liquid color and transistions. Not here. Bought this because had no choice for fixed wide on DX at the time. Still, use this lens, though less so now - but most of the time professionally, do to it's acceptable image quality - actually, to be fair good image quality, just not great ( am spoiled from my 28mm f2.8 AIS ) and for it's greatest feature, more important than image quality, as long as that is excellent, for the way it handles. Light weight, compared to zooms, which I really cannot stand, hate in fact, as do most of my friends and fellow pros. Excellent, in fact the best and fastest auto focusing and quick to go to manual. Extremly manuverable and maybe most importantly, discrete. This lens enabled me to get shots that even the smallest beast of a zoom would not. Gives me great competitve and personal advantage in shooting. So would recomend this for real world use. Better than any zoom because of the ability to get the shot and for the feel.
+3points
Review 18 for AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor construction, good glass

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Dynamicmoment
Location Houston Texas
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bought this lens new in the late 90's and it's been a problem. I used it with my film bodies (F90x & F5) and it failed twice in 3 years with the aperture sticking open. This was with light use. I stopped using it when I switched to digital, until I bought the D700. Dug the lens out again and started using it regularly. It's failed twice again and is back into Nikon for repair for the 4th time.
Optical quality was good on film, but I'm having serious reservations about it on the D700 with corners looking nasty. As soon as I get it back from repair, it's going on craigslist.
-15points
Review 19 for AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not sharp

PostedJuly 30, 2010
blp
Location colorado
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 10 years
not a sharp lens. take an image to 100% in photoshop and it is dismal.
-26points