Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF Fisheye-Nikkor 16mm f/2.8D

Nikon Inc. AF Fisheye-Nikkor 16mm f/2.8D

This ultra-wide-angle fisheye lens creates dramatic full-frame images ideal for super-wide-angle special effects, interesting interiors and close-ups.

Average Customer Rating:
4.824 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 17 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 17(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF Fisheye-Nikkor 16mm f/2.8D
Review 1 for AF Fisheye-Nikkor 16mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great effect - Great lens

PostedAugust 1, 2010
dmbNIk
Location North VA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I am amazed every time I use this lens. I keep this lens tucked in my bag for almost every outing. Sometimes I find myself surrounded by closed in spaces or an area that has converging lines.This is when I bring this lens out it makes these spaces open up and provide a spectacular effect. The lens is a fish eye so straight lines curve and with a tillt of the lens will add drama to the photo. This lens is sharp and easy to use. The small light lens makes it a welcome addition to any camera bag. Best used on FX cameras.
+38points
Review 2 for AF Fisheye-Nikkor 16mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fifty Year Wait

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Gumshoe009
Location Washington, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I've wanted a Fisheye for fifty years when I had my first Nikon, a Nikkorex-F. I've had this lens now for over a year and have had so much fun using it with my D800E, as it opens so many opportunities for creative perspective. Unlike the original Fisheye with a circular image, this Fisheye completely fills the FX frame and does so with outstanding sharpness. If you are careful with composition, lines can be controlled in a very reasonable manner. Images produced with this lens are truly unique. This truly is an outstanding Nikkor lens and is fast becoming one of my favorites. One criticism for Nikon though is the terrible front lens cap that is so easily dislodged. Nikon can do far better in redesigning this front lens cap.
+2points
Review 3 for AF Fisheye-Nikkor 16mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sous l eau il permet de photographier des épaves

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Nina
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Magnifique super grand angle pour des paysages sous-marins et des épaves Ou des premiers plans rapprochés (25cm mise au point minimale) avec des arrières plans nets même à des ouvertures de 8
0points
Review 4 for AF Fisheye-Nikkor 16mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Good Qualtiy
Location Lawrence, KS
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
This lens is very great. i liked using it. it has very good fisheye quality
-6points
Review 5 for AF Fisheye-Nikkor 16mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful lens

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Ice Fog Foto
Location Fairbanks, AK
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
I purcahsed this lens mainly to shoot the Aurora Borealis but find my self using it for many other applications. The lens is tack sharp and works well for shooting groups indoors. There are several software packages that allow you to flatten the image it you do not like the "fish eye" look.
The only complaint I have with the 16mm is the lens cap which does not fit well and you will loose it if you do not take some measure not to. I use a couple of small pieces of gaffers tape to keep it in place. It would be nice if Nikon would fix this.
+23points
Review 6 for AF Fisheye-Nikkor 16mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5 stars

PostedMay 24, 2011
waddski
Location Snowbird, Utah
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
been hesitant about purchasing a fisheye as it always seem more of a gimick than a tool. I have found it to be a great tool in the lens and creative arsenal. Very surprising results with landscapes as well as interesting results shooting golf courses and action. Tack sharp with tremendous clarity in depth of field if desired
+28points
Review 7 for AF Fisheye-Nikkor 16mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I can't believe it's a fisheye?

PostedApril 19, 2011
Nikon Pro
Location New London, NH
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I've been involved with Nikon equipment for a long time. My favorite lens is my 16 mm fisheye. I purchased it used in NYC back in the 80's. I even use my fisheye as a trade mark for some wedding shots for clients. Five of the photographs displayed were taken with my D700 & Nikkor 16 mm Fisheye.
The Wedding photograph was taken with my D200 & Nikkor 10.5 mm Fisheye.
+22points
Review 8 for AF Fisheye-Nikkor 16mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great lens

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Murph
Location San Antonio
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
While not a lens I use a great deal, it has a vital place in my photographic arsenal. Stunningly sharp, light, and fun. On my D700 it compliments my 10.5mm on my D2X. This lens will remain with me for a very long time.
-3points
Review 9 for AF Fisheye-Nikkor 16mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharp and Contrasty

PostedOctober 5, 2010
DocCamera
Location Fullerton, CA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
The 16mm 180 degree fisheye is an amazingly sharp and contrasty lens. I have no problem including the sun in my photos, because this lens has no flare or ghosting problems! This lens on my D3 or D700 performs incredibly at f8 or f11. It is great for tight interiors where my AFS 14-24mm can't cover everything. I modified the wide angle lens caps to fit better and keep dust out by using self adhesive felt between the inside ridges of the plastic cap.
The photo is a Full frame D700 shot of the inside of a 35 in. by 35 in. Light tent filled with around a hundred AF 35mm 2.0 D lenses shot from 2 feet away from the middle of the group with no lens correction software adjustments.
+5points
Review 10 for AF Fisheye-Nikkor 16mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding

PostedJuly 31, 2010
jimmyd
Location South Carolina
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
I have never been a Fish Eye fan until I bought this one. I use it on about anything I can find to use it on. When you use Nikon Capture NX2 to straighten the lines it adds another dimension to my photography. It is always part of my travel gear which consists of
A. 16 FE
B. 18-35 Nikkor
C. 24-120 G VR
D. 50 1.4 G
E. 70-300 G VR
F. D700
+10points
Review 11 for AF Fisheye-Nikkor 16mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lots of Fun, but not just a gimmick

PostedJuly 31, 2010
AlaskaStuart
Location Anchorage, Alaska
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bought this lens expecting that it would provide an occasional unique perspective. But if it's going to stay unique, you can't use it too much, right? What I found is that it can be used in far more situations than I anticipated, and I'm finding more all the time. With appropriate software it is really good with people in a tight crowd (don't try to correct to rectilinear, use cylindrical correction for more natural looking people images). Because it is so small, it can go along for the ride.
-1point
Review 12 for AF Fisheye-Nikkor 16mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent lens

PostedJuly 30, 2010
NikonDave
Location New Orleans, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I mainly use this lens with my N90s film camera, but I have also used it with my D70 for undewater photography (ikelite housing), though I seldomly use it with my D300. It is an excellent lens, with superb edge-to-edge resolution and very light. The fisheye distortion is a lot of fun and provides a very fresh perspective. It suffers a little from chromatic aberration, but that can be easily fixed in post processing. You can also tranform all fisheye pictures to rectilinear with postprocessing software (I use lightroom). It's an expensive and niche lens, but one that has great resolution and is so much fun to use!
+4points
Review 13 for AF Fisheye-Nikkor 16mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens for a super wide view

PostedJuly 30, 2010
anorth
Location Sydney,Australia
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Professional photographer
I had this lens since 1993 love it, popular in the Art world, it it great for photographing functions , weddings with a bit of abstraction as well landscape shots, express it your way, it is handy when you can not be bother bringing a panorama camera with you especially with FX format.
15 years ago I accidentally drop this lens down 10 concrete steps and not a single lens went out alignment and no lens breakage, no loss of quality, super tough Nikon
+13points
Review 14 for AF Fisheye-Nikkor 16mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun Lens on Full Frame

PostedJuly 30, 2010
www.chrisandcami.com
Location Charleston, SC
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
I LOVE my 10.5mm fisheye. But when I'm using my D3, I turn to the 16mm for its full frame coverage. It's a great little lens and compact enough to carry in a pocket. Looking to make your work stand out or going for a different look...this is the lens for you!
+8points
Review 15 for AF Fisheye-Nikkor 16mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Unexpectedly wonderful portrait lens!

PostedApril 14, 2011
Grizzzwald
Location Portland, OR
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I buy all my lenses for film cameras, but when I was experimenting with portraits on my D200 this 16mm fisheye was performing miracles for me. Half of the time when I was shooting from an angle that prevented me from looking through the viewfinder, I was able to capture the scene I had in my head. Same goes for concert photography when you're right up front and in the band's face with your camera, this thing's focus performs admirably from any aperture.
+6points
Review 16 for AF Fisheye-Nikkor 16mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice contrasty fish

PostedJuly 30, 2010
nik-dude
Location Beaumont, TX
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Great build and fine shots when stopped down to about f5.6 - f8. Gives character to certain shots.
+9points
Review 17 for AF Fisheye-Nikkor 16mm f/2.8D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good But.....

PostedJuly 30, 2010
DavidK
Location Northern VA USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
While the lens is great, Nikon should really figure a way to keep a lens cap on it. What they provide easily falls off leaving an expensive piece of glass exposed. It does make some great shots though.
+5points