Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED

Nikon Inc. AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED

This lightweight, compact, fast-focusing telephoto lens for sports, wildlife and action photography is perfect for carrying around during a full day of shooting.

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 38 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
36 out of 38(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED
Review 1 for AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Portable Telephoto Lens

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Scripps23
Location San Diego, California
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
This Nikon 300mm f/4 lens is well suited for travel when you need a moderate "reach" with an Nikon FX camera body, or a "longer reach" with a Nikon DX camera body, while trying to keep the size and weight of your equipment at a minimum. The maximum f/4 aperture is more than adequate for outdoor lighting given the acceptable ISOs available in todays camera bodies. The attached photo was taken hand held at 1/125 of a second, an aperture of f/4, and an ISO value of 1000.
+2points
Review 2 for AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My GoTo Long lens for DX, FX, CX formats

PostedJune 5, 2014
Jaybird
Location Florida, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have owned this lens for almost 5 years and have taken thousands of pictures with it. I also have several long AIS Primes, AF70-300mm f/4-5.6 and the AFS 70-200 F/2.8 VR. I use all my these long lenses with a TC17EII or TC-201 for the AIS lenses. Without question the 300mm f/4 is the sharpest in my stable of long lenses. It is awesome on the D300, D600, D700 and the 1V1 where it gives an incredible 1377mm reach with the TC-17. Focus is a bit touchy, but hey it doesn't cost over $10,000us.
All this said, I prefer the 70-200 for sports and portraits.
+6points
Review 3 for AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lens

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Nukepr
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I own the 18-300 Nikon lens, which is a great all-purpose carry-around lens, but wanted something sharper at the longer focal length. I recently bought this lens, and I am amazed at its sharpness. I prefer to shoot wildlife and birds, and this lens takes awesome sharp images. The autofocus is quick and accurate, and the bokeh is very nice. I attach it to a monopod that I use to handle the lens/camera combination. It gives me stability in lower light situations and supports the lens. I highly recommend this lens. My next purchase will be a Nikon 1.4 teleconverter to extend the lens even further, and I plan to use this lens as the go-to lens for wildlife photos
+12points
Review 4 for AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredibly Sharp Lens!

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Sonny
Location Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I am currently using this lens with a Nikon D800. I read a lot of online reviews before making the purchase. And I'm glad I didn't wait any longer to purchase this lens. I have captured some incredible wildlife shots of deer with this lens!
I always keep a Nikon TC 1.4x attached. The rear lens element is "exposed," even when mounted to the camera. And it seems likely dirt/dust could enter into the rear element. In addition, I don't feel that sharpness, autofocus or Depth of Field suffers with the Teleconverter attached. And 120mm extra reach certainly helps on an FX body (focal length = 420mm). I am personally blown away by the depth of field on this lens. I shot 3 deer standing in a row from about 50-60ft away, and one head was in clear focus, while the other two were gradually blurred [settings = 420mm , f/5.6]. I was shocked to realize I needed to step down in order to bring all deer into focus. This can really enhance wildlife/nature shots with regards to how you want to portray the background behind the animals!
This lens is not "lightweight" as the product description states. It is definitely lighter than the 300mm f/2.8 (which I personally have not used). But it will take some practice to hand hold and capture steady shots. I have not shot below 1/400sec yet to put my technique to the test. But why would you when shooting wildlife?! I bought the Kirk collar to replace the Nikon collar (again, a recommendation from online research).
In addition, this lens can comfortably be used in extreme temperatures. My first "shoot" was a hike looking for deer in -12C (around 10F) temperatures. And there were no issues with lens fogging (I keep a 77mm B+W clear MRC filter attached at all times). I have not tried the lens in rain. I have shot several times since in below freezing temperatures without any issues. Again, great for nature photography!
In conclusion, I am personally blown away by the sharpness of this lens. It can be hand held for an "extended" shoot, but will require some patience and practice in hand holding technique. The autofocus is very quick in my opinion. And I've shot on gloomy winter days in the woods while the sun is setting. I experience minimal hunting with wide open aperature (f/5.6 - because of TeleConverter), but this could be attributed to animals walking behind trees/shrubs). A little extra ISO in gloomy conditions delivers stunning colours! If you are looking for a telephoto lens: Don't look much further unless you have a spare $6,000 for the f/2.8. I have not shot with the 300mm f/2.8 so I can not give a valid comparison, but this lens blows me away! I don't think someone could persuade me a lens of the same focal length could be worth 4x as much!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+26points
Review 5 for AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

spectacular lens

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
malachi
Location Washington, DC, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
not light, but lighter than comparable products, allowed me to hike w lens and tripod to observation point. achieved photo of crusader fort/monastery in Israel in deep canyon i had not previously been able to get with other lenses.
-3points
Review 6 for AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ótima teleobjetiva!

PostedJune 20, 2012
Zé Nikon
Location Alfenas - MG, Brasil
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
Excelente objetiva para fotos de aves na natureza, tanto em super closes quanto em distâncias maiores, com ISO baixo ou alto. Rendimento de cores, resolução, brilho, contraste e rapidez no auto foco são incrivelmente fantásticos! É ótima também para fotos de pequenos animais (como insetos), pois o foco mínimo proporciona grande relação de reprodução. Combinada com o TC 14E II não perde as suas principais qualidades, ampliando ainda mais as possibilidades de uso.
+3points
Review 7 for AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FIVE STARS IN ITS' OWN RIGHT -- TRUST ME

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Nikonprimelenses13
Location Ginowan City, Okinawa, Japan
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I owned an earlier version of the venerable Nikon 300mm f2.8 and I am here to tell you that as poets strive to define 'love' -- and in all fairness to the enormity of their task, if this lens isn't mentioned, then simply put; they've will have failed in their attempt. Yet as beautiful as it is, the 300 2.8 is also -- very HEAVY. And I am here to tell you that while Love 'may be' blind, heavy can definitely become painful. Enter the acclaimed Nikon 300mm f4d af s. Same reach, BEAUTIFUL bokeh, sharp images, a macro capability that will wow you and half the weight at a fraction of the cost. Granted, it's slower than the 2.8 and it can't compete with the 'big dog' in low light. But in unchallenging light conditions, this lens ROCKS! And, should you catch a cramp or need some water, you've got money left over to handle that. :)
+11points
Review 8 for AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Brad from Ohio
User submitted photo
In the early 90's I considered the prior version of this lens for film. For what-ever reason it was never purchased. I found this fall that my 80-200 2.8 was insufficient for football games on Friday night. Although I considered the 70-210 & 1.4tc-e, I opted for this lens instead. It is very sharp and has the reach I need to isolate subjects on the football field w/o the price of the faster 300 2.8. With the 1.4 mounted I can see no difference optical clarity. The combination is quite useful for other images, as well. Attached is a photo made from my back window. The buck and doe were 200+/- yards away. The image was made with the 300 f4 and 1.4 tc, and has not be retouched.
+14points
Review 9 for AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Practice with this lens, learning curve!

PostedMay 13, 2011
Semi Pro
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Warning: This is a Pro lens, you need to practice
before you go out on a job.
This lens is better suited with a tripod unless you
practice.
+11points
Review 10 for AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lense for Wildlife

PostedApril 15, 2011
BuckoJimbo
Location Thornton, Co
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bought this lense because I found myself using only the max of 300mm on my 70-300 lense. I wanted a lense that had fast AF and took the best pictures at 300mm or better. The 70-300 was ok, but at 300mm the photos were soft. I also wanted a lense that I could fit a teleconverter to. The 70-300 has NO recommened teleconverter. The Nikkor 300mm f4 fit the bill. So far I have used it over 3 months and have take several thousand photos . I have found it a fast AF lense even with the Tc14e teleconverter added to it. The photos are sharp. If you are looking for a wildlife lense that won't break the bank this is the one for you.
+25points
Review 11 for AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great lens

PostedApril 14, 2011
Art E R
Location Alberta Canada
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
this lens is quite, fast, and sharp as can be , though not quite long enough for further off subjects it's very close focus for a 300mm can turn out some very nice photo's of the birds I am lucky enough to get close to , and the quiet AFS focus does not frighten them off. I am very fond of the lenses sharpness and the nice blurring of out of focus elements.
+32points
Review 12 for AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gives up nothing to the 2.8 300 outdoors

PostedApril 14, 2011
SportDad
Location Palos Verdes, CA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens has been my warhorse for hundreds of soccer matches and other sports events. Obviously, the 300 2.8 is the standard for professional sports work, but for those of us who can't pass along the expense to an employer, this gives up nothing to the 2.8 for daytime sports and at less than 1/3 the cost. Naturally, for indoor and nighttime events, the extra stop of the 2.8 may be critical, but for soccer, softball and anything else in natural light one never misses the extra stop. The sharpness of this lens is phenomenal and the focus speed is equally outstanding. I do not see any real world (up to 11 x 14) difference in tack-sharp resolution compared to the pro 2.8.
+15points
Review 13 for AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens, sharp results

PostedApril 14, 2011
sdguy
Location San Diego Ca
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I got this for outdoor sports, racing and general recreation. An added plus is the close-focus mode. Not light, not cheap, probably not cutting edge technology, but I get great results.
+4points
Review 14 for AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A superb lens

PostedMarch 12, 2011
Vince in Yakima
Location Yakima, WA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I just purchased this lens a few weeks ago and have nothing but high praise for Nikon one. I have read many complaints of the collar and have to say not so with mine. It is rock solid all the way around. Used with the TC-20E iii it takes phenomenal pictures!! I would highly recommend this lens!! I don't miss the VR as the tripod/window mount certainly makes up for it with the wildlife photography.
+4points
Review 15 for AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific!

PostedDecember 3, 2010
Pictureted
Location Redwood City, CA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
I bought this lens for two reasons. Birds and macro.
I'm a big fan of Nikon's macro lenses and use three (60G, 105 and 200) frequently but sometimes want more working distance and more foreshortening. Coupled with TCs this lens is a great addition to a macro shooters arsenal.
I don't want the size of Nikon's larger super telephotos and this lens works perfectly for me. I use tripods and monopods (replaced collar with Kirk's), so lack of VR isn't an issue. I also don't need a faster lens since I usually stop down for depth of field anyway.
The IQ is wonderful, it focuses quickly at 300mm and adequately at 420mm (with TC 1.4), the ergonomics are excellent for a large lens and it's built for long term use (which is good since I plan on keeping it as long as I shoot).
If I shot sports, I might opt for the much larger and much more expensive 300/2.8. But I don't.
+16points
Review 16 for AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stunningly sharp, contrasty, and colorful

PostedNovember 10, 2010
leicaglow
Location Central Oregon
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I was surprised at the resolution of this lens. THIS is the reason you buy Nikkor lenses and not an off brand. Could use a little faster focusing, but it is a great birding and sports lens. It is a total joy to use, and extremely rugged and well built.
+8points
Review 17 for AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent optics!

PostedSeptember 23, 2010
PVR
Location India
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Excellent optics. Very sharp on DX. I have not tried on FX, so I cannot comment on that.
Tripod collar should definitely have been better.
The AF-S motor is very fast and works very well with the 51pt AF system of the D300.
I never missed VR in this lens but it would be nice to have. Just abt the right weight for hand-held shooting.
300/F4 has very short minimal focusing distance, which makes it extremely suited for flowers and butterflies/dragonflies.
Good weather sealing on the body. I live in a very damp place and have never had a problem with fungus or moisture in the past 3 years.
+19points
Review 18 for AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Lens

PostedAugust 10, 2010
VF111 Guido
Location Fort Wayne, IN
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I recently purchased the 300mm F4 Nikkor lens and used at an airshow. My prime lens of choice for airshows was the 80-400mm VR NIkkor but I wanted to go back to a fixed length lens to try another approach. I was not disappointed. This is a great lens. The weight is almost identical to the 80-400. The images even without VR are second to none. I have been using Nikkor lens for 44 years and this is one of the best I have ever used.
Even with the 1.4 teleconverter, the images are striking.
+21points
Review 19 for AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cut yourself sharp!

PostedAugust 7, 2010
meNikon
Location Al
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I own several pro lenses and this one is among the sharpest even at f/4 and almost no loss of PQ with TC 1.4 . The lens collar could be improved on but it is adequate. Very well built,one of my favorites.
+12points
Review 20 for AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect lens for football games

PostedAugust 1, 2010
Nikon Mike
Location California
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I use this lens primarily for football games. It works perfect with the 2X multiplier at f8. Many of my shots were so good that most of my friends plan to add this lens to their collections as well. I use a mono pod for stability to equal the results of my other VR Lenses. The 600mm lens is more than my budget allows for. DOF is excellent to outstanding. Color quality is the absolute best! The only draw back would be the cost for filters for those who use them. I only use three filters ND 3, UV and Polarizer on rare occasions that require them, like boat racing and hang gliders. I have used this lens for bird watching and African safaris as well. Focus is fast on my F5 and D200, the cool part is on manual focus there no battery drain.
+18points
1 2 next>>