Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D

Nikon Inc. AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D

Distortion-free, high-contrast images with superb resolution and color rendition.

Average Customer Rating:
4.654 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 52 reviews
5 stars
39
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
51 out of 52(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
45 Questions | 63 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D
Review 1 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent portrait lens on FX or DX

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
JTCphotographydc
Location Reston, VA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I purchased this lens when I had my D80. It stuck with me on my D7000, and my D600. It's an excellent lens to use for portraits because you can really isolate your subject from the background. The low light capabilities are great, and auto focus in dark locations is much better than 3rd party lens manufacturers. I highly recommend this lens for individuals who really want to get creative with depth of field and have a solid workhorse for walking around.
+13points
Review 2 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

There's no downside to this lens

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Nikongeniality
Location Canada
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I've had this lens for about three months and it spends more time on my camera than any other. It's fast and light and takes very sharp pictures.
+4points
Review 3 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Glass came from HEAVEN.!

PostedJune 15, 2013
Anonymous
Location Lahore, Pakistan
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this lens two weeks ago, have done two shoots with it at 1.4 in daylight & artificial light as well. I can proudly say that the D.O.F you get from this lens, DOESN'T COMPARE WITH ALL THE OTHERS OUT THERE. Reason? 1. "TACT SHARP QUALITY/FOCUSING", 2. "SOFT, CREAMY D.O.F", 3. "IDEAL/PERFECT CHOICE FOR D-MOVIES". I own a D800, Its ISO RANGE and the MAXIMUM APPERTURE of this lens, its just PHENOMENOL. Really LIGHT WEIGHT and HANDY, its like im holding A MILLION DOLLAR BILL. :)
+13points
Review 4 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow for Portraits

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Kapur
Location Kuwait
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is real a fast and easy lens for natural light portrait photos even in very low light conditions.
Bokeh is exquisite even on a DX body. Look forward to using this lens on a FX camera when i have one.
+6points
Review 5 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic lens!

PostedApril 14, 2012
star-cat
Location Indiana, USA
Age 55-65
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Great color and sharpness
Supurb performance at 1.4f and up
Auto focus is fast, manual focus smooth and quick
I wouldn't trade it for a G lens, at any time.
The only competition this 50mm lens would have is the Nikon 1.2f manual, 50mm.
+16points
Review 6 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Now I´ll nevver need another lens

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Poul
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Great lens for many kind off shoots. Will recomand you to have it with you anytime when you leave for a shoot.
+3points
Review 7 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great !!!

PostedOctober 13, 2011
Moochie
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is a great lense...it takes nice, sharp pictures...but know this, its focus is limited only up to 20 ft...this is one that I would put in my collection for sure.
-9points
Review 8 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very sharp

PostedAugust 22, 2011
marzphoto
Location denver, co
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
i have had the AF NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4D lens for over a year now. i shoot mainly abstract still
life photographs. this lens was rated well by
3rd party reviewers for price/sharpness. i have
not been disappointed. if you are unable to spend
the additional dollars to acquire a pro-level lens
this lens is a great choice.
+3points
Review 9 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedJune 4, 2011
freelance
Location St. Charles, MO.
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Sharp and reliable. When I have to have a good photo, I can always count on this lens.
+4points
Review 10 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Performance, Great Value!

PostedApril 23, 2011
CoachRick
Location Columbus, OH
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
What a fast and sharp lense that yields fantastic resolution and color! On my D200 with the DX sized sensor, it becomes a fast, wide aperture short telephoto lens that is great for portraits, theatre and close-in indoor sports.
+1point
Review 11 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens

PostedApril 21, 2011
Jeff
Location Kansas
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is a great lens I will use a lot. I've been a fan of 50mm lenses a long time, but this one does great. It's sharp, fast and compact. The glass is clear and photos shot through it are true. There is some vignetting at the wider apertures with a full-frame sensor, but I like to add vignetting to my photos a lot of the time, anyway. The vignetting is not unlike other 50mm lenses, though and some cameras are capable of canceling it out. It's my favorite lens already. I'm new to Nikon, but have used a competitor for decades.
+5points
Review 12 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 18, 2011
Little Girl Green
Location Trophy Club, TX
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I absolutely love my 50mm 1.4! I went from using the kit lens to using my new 50mm and I will never go back. Now I just need to add the 85mm to my arsenal!
+1point
Review 13 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent lens

PostedApril 17, 2011
Pat-tographer
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
This is a very inexpensive lens but don't let that fool you, this is an excellent lens for portraits or what ever else you wish to use it for, the quality of the images that you can get with this lens is breathtaking, for a lens that's under $200 you would expect average photos at best but it's completely the opposite, a great lens for very little money, BUY IT you won't be disappointed
0points
Review 14 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Lens

PostedApril 16, 2011
GreenCamera
Location Rittman,Ohio
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Just getting started with photography
It is my Favorite lens! Takes creamy photos and shallow depth of field! Love it! Also great for low light photos. You should get this lens!
-1point
Review 15 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent walking around lens

PostedApril 16, 2011
Britographer
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I really like my 50mm f/1.4D lens. I bought it after testing it and the 50mm f/1.8 Nikkor - I found the larger aperture and greater sharpness to be worth the slightly more expensive price tag. I shoot a lot of models with this lens on my D3. It is also great for street photography, candids, and environmental portraits. In a world of zoom lenses, a fast prime still has a place in my bag.
+6points
Review 16 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Add it to your bag

PostedApril 15, 2011
D90 Fan
User submitted photo
I shoot this lens with a D90 and it gives exceptional results.
+5points
Review 17 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great lens!

PostedApril 15, 2011
jmj575m
Location Illinois, The Chain of Lakes Area
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
This lens is my "go to" for Head & Shoulders portraits and for when I need a little more reach than I get with my 35mm F2D. I shoot a DX format Nikon D300s and though this makes the lens a "75mm", I've gotten used to the "Crop factor". Some say the bokeh of the 50mm 1.4D is harsh, but I just love the typical "50mm" DoF rendition that I get from this Nikon classic.
+2points
Review 18 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMarch 7, 2011
Krug
Location Hazleton, PA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I shoot with a D200 and have been disappointed with the quality of photo until now. Using an off brand lens was okay, but lacked the high end quality expected from a Nikon product.
Matched with a Nikon lens, the results are incredible. You get what you pay for. Don't go cheap on lenses.
+2points
Review 19 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lens

PostedJanuary 10, 2011
Sab
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
Great product
Fast focus
Excellent in low light conditions
+1point
Review 20 for AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just a great lens

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Murph
Location San Antonio
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
It is hard to find a bad 50mm lens. And in that tradition Nikon has continued to make a world class 50mm f/1.4 lens that just does the job. I put it on my D700 for a One lens/One Camera challenge to me.
+7points
1 2 3 next>>