Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. 1 NIKKOR 18.5mm f/1.8

Nikon Inc. 1 NIKKOR 18.5mm f/1.8

The 1 NIKKOR 18.5mm f/1.8 lens is a fast prime lens for the Nikon 1 camera system, rendering sharp photos with beautiful bokeh.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 6 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for 1 NIKKOR 18.5mm f/1.8
Review 1 for 1 NIKKOR 18.5mm f/1.8
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quantum Leap

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Bobeanch
Location Bear, DE, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Instantly improved the photographic quality from my daughter's V1. It is the Nikon 1 equivalent of the Nifty 50. Great price, and the first extra lens you should get to make this system shine. Will get the external flash to round this out.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
0points
Review 2 for 1 NIKKOR 18.5mm f/1.8
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific lens!

PostedMarch 26, 2014
5lilangels
Location Alberta, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
If you are using the Nikon 1 system, this is the one lens you must have! Sharp, light, cheap, fun. If you have been wandering around with the kit lens, this will be just the ticket to start taking some real photographs. Highly recommended!
+3points
Review 3 for 1 NIKKOR 18.5mm f/1.8
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid performer

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Anonymous
Location Grimsby, ON, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Recently bought this lens along with the 6.7-13mm....to round out my Nikon 1 system (also have 10-30 and 30-110). This is a very good, sharp lens. Nice fast focus and quite sharp wide open. This lens is very handy, especially in situations like shooting video indoors where you want to keep you ISO down to avoid noise. Used this at a local home show today....light was 'ok' but not great in the exhibit hall. This little lens performed wonderfully and I was able to shoot at ISO400 or under all day long. If you own a Nikon 1 this is a must have lens.
+17points
Review 4 for 1 NIKKOR 18.5mm f/1.8
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best lens without debate!

PostedAugust 3, 2013
Jo
Location Toronto, ON
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bought the white 18.5mm lens around 5-6 months ago, and I haven't taken it off my camera since. I hardly used the 10-30mm or the 30-110mm. The lens is small, making the J1 a very portable camera overall. The pictures taken with this lens is noticeably sharper than the 10-30 and 30-110 lens. If you like pictures with shallow DOF, this lens does deliver. If you are like me and you want a lens that works well under low-light conditions, this lens definitely fits the bill. I found the focal length of this lens to work for everyday photography 90% of the time. It is capable of creating some very flattering photos that make you look like you know what you are doing, even if you are just an amatuer like me.
I really like this lens for both portability and performance. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who owns a Nikon 1 system!
+12points
Review 5 for 1 NIKKOR 18.5mm f/1.8
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Lens currently for Nikon 1 Cameras

PostedApril 9, 2013
Sam
Location Georgia, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have tried all but the super zooms on my Nikon 1 camera. This lens is by far the best lens made for this system for my use. I take portraits and not being able to isolate the subject has been the biggest downer for Nikon 1. I only got the Nikon 1 V1 and later J1 because of this lens. With this lens you are able to get decent bokeh in your portraits. Nothing crazy. You will get a subtle bokeh which I personally prefer over the very blurry bokeh with indistinguishable background. Also on top of getting a decent bokeh, this lens is sharp and produces good contrast and color. Much sharper and crisp than the 10-30mm kit lens which I almost stopped using. (I only use it when I may need the wide angle.) Also, 18.5mm length is perfect. (50mm equivalent on full frame) It's good for portraits and general walk around. This length has diverse use! I even used it to shoot indoor basketball shots around the hoop with great results. Fast focus and fast aperture make it possible to shoot even indoor sports. Indoor shots in natural light is very possible. I even like the noise produced in the picture... I like the vintage look it produces in the pictures... I carry my Nikon 1 and this lens everywhere. My only complaint is that although the size is ok, I do wish it was 10mm f/2.8 size... Don't get me wrong. This lens is tiny! I just wish that it was tinier... It's just an awesome lens and a must for Nikon 1 cameras. For $186, you must try this lens. Don't miss out on what your Nikon 1 camera can do when paired with a quality lens like this.
+28points
Review 6 for 1 NIKKOR 18.5mm f/1.8
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Lens

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Lewis44
Location Santa Clara, california
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Just received this lens today. I really wanted to give it a quick try out, so I did a little wandering in my back yard.
Both shots were at f2 and the results are more than I hoped for. Extremely Sharp and the color is great. Not quite as much "Out of Focus" Bokah as I had hoped for, but I figured that going in.
This little baby is a Keeper.
+72points