Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. F6

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

Nikon Inc. F6

With its high level of precision and performance, the F6 provides an extraordinarily pure, gratifying photographic film experience.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 14 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for F6
Review 1 for F6
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great 'must-have'.

PostedJune 27, 2012
teddlyt
Location Mississauga, ON, Canada
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I got the F in 1965, then the F2, the lovely F3 (my daughter, the designer, displays it in her Berlin apartment), the F4 which recorded two years in beautiful, steamy Columbo, then the F5 and finally into digital with the D2x. When the F6 arrived I considered it to be like vinyl, not often used, but the best of analogue and a great investment. After a wedding shoot where half the best pictures came from the F6, I knew the decision had been more than nostalgic.
+25points
Review 2 for F6
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally replace my F4

PostedMay 2, 2012
framer
Location Newport, RI, USA
Age 55-65
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I've been using a D2hs for awhile and my F4 had an issue that I could not justify fixing. Never liked the F5 but the F6 was great from the first time I had it in my hands. I guess I got use to the D2 interface and it allowed me to use the F6 without thinking. Love the AF speed and the metering over the older F4. I still like the look of real B&W Tri-X film and this camera works better than any other film camera I've own. I hope it out lasts me. I've now updated my digital to the D3s and the F6 for my B&W stuff is a nice combo. I'll never give up film completely.
The only thing I would recommend is get the MB-40 it really need the power boost. When using a VR lens it's a must in my opinnion.
+46points
Review 3 for F6
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great overall film camera!

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Sarah R.
Location Miami, FL, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I use this camera to capture all the moments on our family vacations. I'm been really impressed with everything it can do!
+17points
Review 4 for F6
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Get it while you can

PostedJuly 29, 2011
jbcrane
Location Fort Collins, Colorado
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Shooting a film camera today still has meaning. It’s not only worth doing but a good thing to do. Smart. What makes 35mm film special is the quality vs. portability matrix - and of course the fact that it's analog, not digital. The Nikon F6 is the superb culmination of so many years of Nikon innovation in one, jaw-dropping, drop-dead perfect 35mm film camera; a final exclamation mark by the authors of photographic exclamation.
I bought my F6 new in August of 2008 just before leaving for a photo trip to Zion National Park. Really more just to have one, in case it was their last. But after reading up on it, running a few rolls of film through it and seeing the results I realized this was no camera to sit on a shelf gathering dust as a collector's item. Rather, an instrument of precision and perfection to be exercised, pushed to the limits; a weapon against the ordinary; a domineering force of photographic nature born to destroy the bell-curve of "good enough" with every release of the refined, Kevlar focal plane shutter. The Nikon F6 is the visual can-opener to life, exposing to those willing to venture its deep technical capabilities exploration of things in a way never before possible with 35mm film.
Fast-shooting and nimble, the Nikon F6 was built with a strong pre-disposition to seize the moment. It's an incredibly sophisticated film camera - beyond what most people realize, employing the latest digital technologies: incredible Matrix metering, superb auto focus and electronic sophistication including advanced CLS flash capabilities, a rear LCD and programmable Custom Settings Menu built right into the camera - all in a highly refined, tight, durable, rugged yet elegant package employing Nikon’s unmatched expertise in creating something you just want to hold.
The process of photography bares more examination, more attention, than it receives today. Back in the day, photography was pondered; studied; explored. What digital photography is producing is an overwhelming volume of meaningless, throw-away images shot millions of times a day, resulting in the notion of a photograph being "special" as incomprehensible. But photographs are special. They do warrant attention, study, examination and excellence in approach. The Nikon F6, like intervention from trusted friends, is the tool to ween the digital proliferator and with a fine, gloved hand, usher the discerning photographer back to appreciating the value of unique images.
Hop off that relentless, speeding train of “technological progress” always apparently late for something - and take a close look at the Nikon F6. Film isn't dead, folks. It just needed a new champion to help take it to the next level. That champion is the NIkon F6.
+130points
Review 5 for F6
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Camera

PostedApril 19, 2011
stillshooter
Location Brooklyn, NY
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Professional photographer
This camera is great in every way. Exposure, focus, feel, all good.
+23points
Review 6 for F6
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super

PostedApril 14, 2011
fotodelta
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Experience More than a year
This is a fantastic camera.
I'm glad that as a non-professional, deadlines and profit margins are unimportant to my photography and that I have the luxury of spending my time and money shooting film. I've shot 35mm film for over 20 years and the F6 was the first 'new' camera I had ever bought. I'm glad I did and I hope Nikon keep turning them out so that others can continue to enjoy the sublime experience of photography with an F6.
+28points
Review 7 for F6
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love digital capabilities but...

PostedMarch 9, 2011
photoefx
Location NYC US
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
I hope the superb F6 is not the last film camera. I travel a lot, and there have been environmental factors (for example extreme cold and humidity) when analog media have been invaluable. There are also images that cannot be replaced so the archival value of film is still unsurpassed and can be viewed like paintings, without any ever-changing devices. There is also the 'feel' which cinematographers will tell you about.
I used the unsurpassed but larger F5. The F6 is smaller. My only wish is that the classic F-F5 interchangeable finder had been retained on the F6 as you can't flip out a viewing screen to view from overhead or ants view on a film camera. The D/C'd super compact FM3a which has complete battery-less mechanical ops is my other film camera. Unfortunately the f/ rings have been removed from G lenses limiting it's and all other F's use. In spite of this lapse in Nikon non-obsolescence, these cameras just aren't available with other brands, making Nikon unique.
+42points
Review 8 for F6
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best 35mm film camera

PostedFebruary 26, 2011
mdblue
Location USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Nikon F6 is the world's best 35 mm film camera.
I don't know if there will be any F7 or not but as of this date there's no film camera in the market that can provide such an accurate metering under extremely contrasty lighting, compatibility with the older lenses, iTTL compatibility with the nikon CLS..the list can go on and on.
The point is you get all this in a very ergonomic, weather proofed package that can still justify shooting film in this day and age.
+24points
Review 9 for F6
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST EVER CAMERA YOU CAN FIND!!!!

PostedFebruary 22, 2011
siliconworm
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Nikon F6 is the best camera I've ever used, probably the best one ever made in human history! I've used many flagship class cameras including both film and digital, but no one can bear comparison with Nikon F6! Focus speed, Metering, ergonomics, even shutter sound, everything is just incredibly perfect! If there could be only one camera in your life, choose Nikon F6, and you wont regret for it!
+24points
Review 10 for F6
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Film Camera +++

PostedDecember 4, 2010
DavidL
Location Fairbanks, Alaska
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
This camera is my favorite - and film offers much better resolution than digital. I also have several D3 cameras which I also use.
-2points
Review 11 for F6
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It simply works all the time

PostedNovember 10, 2010
ExtremeWeatherPhotographer
Location Sharon, CT
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
I've been a Nikon user since high school and had all the great film cameras during my career. Even with digital taking the forefront of commercial work, film is still in demand. I thought my F5 rocked, well I was not prepared for the F6 experience at all. Superb in all aspects, it took all the great things I loved about the F5 and enhanced them to a new level. I still use film for a lot of assignments and use a D3 digital for assignments that need delivery at the end of the day or by 9AM the next day. Any weather, anytime, anywhere . . . if you need a film camera that won't fail you, the F6 is for you. Oh and for studio work . . . The F6 is fully compatible with the Nikon CLS system. Just check out the lighting from this picture, if you thought you could never achieve these kinds of results using film, think again.
+44points
Review 12 for F6
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The World's absolute best 35mm film camera

PostedJuly 30, 2010
nikondoc
Location Near Chicago
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The very best 35mm camera I have ever used ! Excellent performance with new flash systems that are wireless. It's like having a film version of a Nikon D3.
+39points
Review 13 for F6
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best of the best

PostedJuly 28, 2010
wildlife photographer
Location Cleveland, OH
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
A true professional camera featuring everything what a pro or serius hobby photographers can ask. Fast, solid, quiet, well sealed, and ergonomically well designed. I use this camera more than 4 years now. As a wildlife photographer, I love the manual film rewind feature, because that is the most quitest film rewind method as possible. But if it's need it can rewind the film with motor very fast just in a short few second. The rear LCD panel also very usefull for wildlife photographers, it takes less movement to chek the setups or set costum functions. It has easy to set logical costum functions. Easy to learn to use the camera even without instruction manual. This camera is a true masterpiece.
+44points
Review 14 for F6
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

its a qreat camm .

PostedJuly 14, 2010
RandomBonez
Location Ft. Lauderdale
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
Its a maqnificent camera . It has so many different anqles that can be brought to life . I am an exclusive photoqrapherr . and trust mee . its the best /
-76points