Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. FM10

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

Nikon Inc. FM10

Combining essential image control with Nikon dependability and capability, this manual control camera has broad compatibility with the NIKKOR lens system.
Average Customer Rating:
4.647 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 17 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
16 out of 17(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for FM10
Review 1 for FM10
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Review from a D3300 owner.

PostedAugust 7, 2014
JaPes
Location Lake Zurich, IL, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
I am an amateur photography enthusiast. Back when I was in college in the early 90's, I wanted to take up photography. I never had the free time to take a photography class or the extra money to develop prints. I knew I'd spend a bunch of money and film learning the proper camera settings through trial and error. Fast forward to 2014, and I have a D3300. I'm able to play with settings, take as many pictures as I want, delete bad ones and keep good ones.
I love my DSLR, but it was making me lazy. If I didn't get a setting right, I could take another shot or fix it during post processing. If I don't compose the image right, I crop the picture in post processing. I have a fuzzy understanding of the relationship between sensor ISO, shutter speed, and aperture. I wanted to get a better understanding. Putting the DSLR into full manual mode helped but I still wanted a better understanding.
The Nikon FM10 is a throwback to SLR's from my father's days. With the exception of a simple light meter, everything is mechanical. I set the film ISO when I load a roll. The only other settings I have to concentrate on are focus, aperture, and shutter speed. The limited 24 film exposures forces me to slow down and really put thought into making a picture. The FM10 is helping me get a better understanding of photography.
I liken the experience to cars: automatic v.s. manual transmission. The DSLR's are like modern automatic cars that have a manu-matic mode. The FM10 is like a manual transmission car. It's important to know how to use both.
+14points
Review 2 for FM10
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfeita para quem quer estudar fotografia!

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Marcelo Passos
Location São Paulo - SP, Brasil
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Semi-professional photographer
Perfeita para quem estuda fotografia e quer entender e ter domínio sobre a técnica fotográfica. Por se tratar de uma câmera quase que toda manual (com exceção do fotômetro), permite ter o controle total da produção da foto. É uma câmera robusta, confiável e muito precisa.
+2points
Review 3 for FM10
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple Camera, Great Results

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
MMcHale
Location Tampa, FL, USA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
I purchased this camera basically new and without any wear. I found it easy to use the first time I picked it up. The photos from the lens it comes with are very clear, and the shutter produces a satisfying click. I really enjoy using this camera.
+20points
Review 4 for FM10
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Basic Camera

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
VelviaVet
Location SoCal
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is hands down the best manual camera you can buy new today. Whether you're goal is building up a solid foundation in film photography or doing advanced hipster lomo, you can't go wrong. Besides this camera being brand new, it is also reasonably well made. You really can't ask for better quality in this price range. Another great feature is that the FM10 is compatible with almost all FX lenses, making it easy to streamline your equipment.
+49points
Review 5 for FM10
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Una buena Camara para estudiantes

PostedAugust 23, 2012
LuslipoP
Location Ciudad de México, D.F., México
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Es una cámara muy buena, en especial para estudiantes, ya que es muy durable y es fácil de usar. Lo mejor, tiene un precio accesible para el usuario, el manual explica muy bien como usarla, tiene muy buena calidad en las fotografías.
+8points
Review 6 for FM10
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Compacta e Objetiva.

PostedJune 20, 2012
Elaine
Location Rio de Janeiro - RJ, Brasil
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Ela é simplesmente perfeita, nunca tinha visto uma câmera igual a Nikon FM10. Ótima para quem prefere operar em modos manuais. Espetacular, recomendo e muito.
+9points
Review 7 for FM10
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sea and sand

PostedMay 8, 2012
Armiuz
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
welcome to Thailand. I enjoy to grab my love nikon fm10 and capture pictures during trip. this picture i took it from Hua Hin Beach.
+11points
Review 8 for FM10
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Still my all-time favorite camera

PostedApril 23, 2012
NikonGirl
Location United States
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Growing up, I learned the principles of photography on my father's Nikon F and F2 cameras. In 1997, I bought an FM10 for myself, and it has been my faithful friend and companion on trips all around the world -- my latest was a 6-week trip to Australia and New Zealand in 2011. The FM10's quality is outstanding, as you can expect from all Nikon products. Rugged, simple, easy-to-use, lightweight, and quick-loading, it is a delight to carry and use. I highly recommend the FM10 to film enthusiasts and people wanting to understand the rudiments of photography. I am preparing to purchase my first DSLR, the D7000, but in my heart I know that it will be the FM10 accompanying me on trips as long as 35mm film is available.
+58points
Review 9 for FM10
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best camera I have ever owned!

PostedMarch 14, 2012
RRTrusto
Location Elmendorf AFB (EDF), Anchorage, AK 99506, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
All I wanted for my birthday in 6th grade was this camera, we were living in Germany at the time, and I got it! I am 24 years old now and use this camera to this day, which makes this camera roughly 12 years old; I have used it literally all over the world! I love this camera, it definitely will not let you down.
I uploaded a picture I took back in 6th grade, it's not the best in the world but hey I was in 6th grade!
I'd recommend this camera to anyone!
+79points
Review 10 for FM10
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Timeless reliability

PostedMay 5, 2011
Shoot2Frame
Location Hartford, CT
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
My FM-10 was my only birthday present for my 19th birthday over 10 years ago and I have thoroughly used, abused and loved every minute of it!
This is by far the lightest of the seven 35mm cameras that I own, and one I always find myself bringing as a back up, no matter what I shoot.
The film advance thumb lever is very smooth and in my opinion, faster retracting than some other SLRs of the same class.
This camera is dead on spot for any beginner. Why?
-Alloy body that can take a beating and is LIGHT! (I've used mine in -2 degree(F) for over 5 hours up in the north east winters without any issues at all)
- Easy to use.
- Built in 10 second timer AND ability to use a shutter release cord.
-Lens availability; As stated by other reviewers, you can use many older lenses (about 20-30 year old ones) as WELL as an M-42 screw mount adapter ring.
I'd recommend this to anyone looking to get into photography hands down.
+90points
Review 11 for FM10
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beginners' Choice

PostedJanuary 20, 2011
ST
Location JB, Malaysia
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I recommend this camera for people taking up photography. It's inexpensive (comparatively) and makes for a good basic learning. It's rugged body makes for great wear and tear. I bought mine in 1997 and it's still in great condition today.
It's useful to learn about appertures, lighting, iso, etc manually before moving on to the digital camera. It helps to understand the whole concept of photography better. My friend bought the FE-10, and she and I both agreed that FM-10 is still the best of the two.
My favourite film to use on this camera are black-n-whites and slides.
+56points
Review 12 for FM10
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply Wonderful

PostedSeptember 1, 2010
Manthony
Location The world
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I am a hands on complete control Freak, which is why this camera and I were the perfect marriage. It was my first SLR and as such I learned more than others with auto/digital cameras. I will always primarily shoot digital because of price and convenience but My heart will always belong to film and this simple hands on SLR. And to all who would disagree with me, I make no apologies.
+40points
Review 13 for FM10
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Starter

PostedJuly 22, 2010
SUPERSTEVE
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I started out with a DSLR before switching to this all manual film SLR. WOW! I have learned so much about photography and how to properly use my DSLR. This camera is the best way to go when trying to learn the basics with hands on experience. The pictures are crisp, and the light meter is dummy proof.
+95points
Review 14 for FM10
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Hencat
Location Park City, UT, USA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I love this camera. It being my first fully manual slr it was very easy to learn on and it is really good quality. It has however jammed up on me multiple times and has some problems with the shutter release, curtains, and mirror.
+1point
Review 15 for FM10
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fun little FM

PostedApril 1, 2012
Michael
Location South Thomaston, ME, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I purchased this because I wanted to try film for a while against digital, and this is used more than my D3100, i love this camera, it captures great shots, and its fun to use, i've taken this camera in tempting atmosphere's, its gotten wet, freezing, hot, and i've dropped it a couple times, and it still holds up. This is a great little camera, the reason why i give it a 4 star, is because it doesn't take a battery grip, this doesn't need batteries frequently, actually, you will probably never change this batterie for another 5 years. So, a batterie grip is pointless, but, not for me, i take all of my shots side ways, i never take shots in a landscape pose usually... But other than that, this is a great camera, its worth the full $300, and i recommend this camera to any student, or an old fashion photographer thats very passionate about the fruits of imagery, and gets that warm feeling inside as soon as you press that shutter button, hoping to get that perfect image like me :) . If you're deciding on this or a DSLR, get this, don't even think about it.
 
My product recommendations
 
DK-19 Rubber Eyecup
5 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
+12points
Review 16 for FM10
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I still use a FM

PostedSeptember 9, 2010
Fred
Location Tucson, AZ
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is my backup/secondary lens camera. Neither this or my FM (purchased in 1983 as a closeout) have given me any problems. However, my FM feels more solid.
What I really like about this camera is that it is a metered manual system that uses film. In addition, all of my old AI and Series E lenses work with it. In fact, I can get my pre-AI lenses to work with this also.
To my eyes color slide film looks better than digital images. I can get great archival images with my retro cameras. I want the FM10 to stay in the Nikon inventory. There is a pure joy with manual photography.
+61points
Review 17 for FM10
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor College Student Camera

PostedAugust 31, 2014
CollegeStudent
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
I go to Pacific Northwest College of Art in Oregon, I needed a solid Nikon 35mm film camera to go along with all my digital lens I have for the D3. I expected Nikon to have quality standers in the products they make, but the Nikon FM 10 let me down. A) Metering was always off by one of two stops never predicable. I compared it with a very nice studio meter. B) The whole body is plastic don't let the colors fool you. The leaver to pull the next shot is also plastic and got jammed with in a year. I ended up having to use my teachers Nikon FM2 which is beauty. I wouldn't recommend this product for high school or college level use.
0points