Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. D7100

Nikon Inc. D7100

The Nikon D7100 HD-SLR Camera features a 24.1MP CMOS image sensor, Full HD 1080p video, 51-point cross-type AF and Wi-Fi compatibility for the new Nikon flagship DX-format HD-SLR system.
Average Customer Rating:
4.638 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(141 Reviews) 141
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 141 reviews
5 stars
113
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
3
132 out of 141(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
154 Questions | 214 Answers
Customer Reviews for D7100
Review 1 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camera to use beyond "P" mode

PostedJuly 8, 2015
Location San Francisco, CA, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I purchased the D7100 a couple of years ago and it is still a very reliable camera. I brought it on a cross-country drive where I'm sure it bounced around in the car going over potholes on the interstate. It's 24mp sensor captures amazing detail with excellent clarity recorded on two SD slots. The setting can be changed for various slot configurations, but I prefer RAW image files to be saved on both cards so I have a backup in case one fails. It's a great camera to use beyond "P" mode as I always have it set on Manual. I like that it fits comfortably in my hand and can make manual adjustments easily without having to take my index finger off the shutter button. I can adjust the aperture with my middle finger using the front command dial while my thumb can adjust the shutter speed on the rear command dial or select on any of the 51 focus areas using the multi-selector without having to recompose the framing in the viewfinder. If I need to adjust the ISO, I can easily hold down the ISO button with my left thumb while adjusting the sensitivity with my right thumb on the rear command dial all without taking my eye away from the viewfinder. Using only available light, I have had to use ISO 3200, of course quality is degraded and obvious noise in the image, but still tolerable. I've used the D7100 to photograph sports and corporate events and never had to stop because the buffer was full and wait for images to save on the SD cards. The D7100 is able to keep up with the actions I want to capture.
It offers plenty of creative possibilities including video which I've dabbled with plugging a wireless microphone. Live View is nice, but prevents aperture adjustment and selecting a different focus area once started. Still, it's a great value for all that it offers and what the camera can do. I've been more than satisfied with my purchase as I enjoy photographing my Pomeranian during our travels and adventure together. I hope you find pleasure with the D7100 to capture memories of whatever is special to you.
+2points
Review 2 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Having a ball

PostedApril 29, 2015
Location Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
I am new to photography and after extensive research I decided on the D7100. I am very satisfied with the ease of use and many features this camera offers. I just cannot wait for the fall colors to arrive so I can capture many photos and I am looking into a larger lens to capture some local wildlife.
+3points
Review 3 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Value

PostedApril 24, 2015
Location Seattle WA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
This was my first DSLR camera and could not be happier with my purchase. I have used Nikon products for over 40 years and have always found the quality and features to be excellent. The D7100 is no exception. I purchased a refurbished camera as I am on a fixed income since my retirement. The camera I received had 16 shutter actuations prior to my purchase. The camera is basically new! Cosmetically the camera was perfect, and with only 16 prior actuations I am sure the camera will probably outlast me! The camera has more features that anyone could ask for and the quality of the images and ease of use are typical Nikon. The control interfaces are quite intuitive and took little time to learn. It is quite a departure from my old film cameras, so many features available, but so easy to use. The DX format vs FX format was not an issue since this camera produces such superior results. Prints larger that 20 x 30 are seldom required and if you need larger you would probably opt for a more expensive "professional" camera anyway. Low light performance and focusing are excellent and the the buffer size in high speed multiple exposures is quite adequate. I would not hesitate to recommend this camera to anyone starting a pro career or for anyone wanting just an all around excellent camera.
 
My product recommendations
 
+10points
Review 4 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent all around camera and lens

PostedMarch 29, 2015
Location Washington, DC, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The D7100 is my first new Nikon in ten years. Previously used D70. Bought the two lens package. Simply love the 18 - 140 lens. Looking forward to using the 70- 300 for baseball season. The quality of the camera and the photos are outstanding. Still learning the features. Very happy with the camera and lenses so far.
+9points
Review 5 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Uma das melhores opções!

PostedMarch 18, 2015
Location Paraná, Brasil
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
Um excelente produto entregue dentro do prazo. A qualidade das fotos é incrível, é muito boa para trabalhar e oferece uma porção de opções para deixar as fotos maravilhosas, sem falar no sensor DX que tem as capacidades de um sensor FX, resumindo é uma das melhores câmeras que existe.
-6points
Review 6 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

J'adore le D7100. Le meilleur rapport qualité/prix sur le marché.

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Location Mont-Tremblant, QC, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Cet appareil a tout ce qu'on peu souhaiter d'un appareil photo pro. Le rendu des couleurs, la facilité de règlage, la construction robuste de haute qualité. Je l'adore !
-4points
Review 7 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Location Ohio, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The D7100 is awesome. I Really like the selective color option. Very pleased with my purchase.
-1point
Review 8 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Nikon se superou.

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Location Rio de Janeiro - RJ, Brasil
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
A Nikon conseguiu se superar produzindo uma câmera FX com itens melhores do que muitos DX de preços elevados.
-1point
Review 9 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really fast, beautiful photos!

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I moved up to this camera from the D5100. I was ready to move on to a more advanced body, and the D7100 was perfect! What I noticed first was the how quickly the auto focus locked in. You can go from having the camera off to snapping a perfectly focused shot in about a second. Everything this camera does is fast. The images have come out looking gorgeous! I do mostly nature and landscape photography, but also like to takes pictures of my kids, and the D7100 does a fantastic job of getting those shots of the kids running and playing. If you can't afford to step up to the full frame bodies, as well as having to buy all new lenses, then this camera is perfect. Whether you are using a prime lens, or a zoom, this camera will take photos you can really be proud of.
+16points
Review 10 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best DSLR..!

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I have been using this DSLR since one year and i am now finding an excuse from my work to take this camera out for a trip and shoot . Picture clarity is awesome and i felt like it as complete DSLR. If you are a PRO.. this is the DSLR you are looking for. Focussing is very fast and that`s a great thing to capture moving targets,. Strong build and whether proof.
Only minus i found was lack of aperture control in movie mode gets a facepalm
+56points
Review 11 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

D5100-->D7000-->D7100 [lovin the transistion..]

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Location New Jersey, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Always wished to get this one on a good deal. Then I realized that it does not make sense to save couple of bugs and end up in missing the fun altogether. When you want to enjoy technology at its peak, just go for it, otherwise you will never enjoy the moments. I'm pretty much sure no one would have regretted their purchase after investing in D7100.Here are some of the coolest features which I liked about D7100:50+ Auto Focus points and they are customizable. Faster Auto focus. Two slots for SD cards and kind of RAID support in camera and customizableU1 and U2 user dial mode. Larger sensor size- 24 megapixel. Customizable menu for quicker access to the function you often use more frequently. Feels sturdy and safe when i hold it on my right hand [BTW,,I'm lefty], but still feels secure and comfortable on right hand.I did not like about this was on Attached LCD, Wish they had TILT vari- angle display on d7100 too. I can live with this deficient feature as compare to the tons of features this camera can offer. Learnt few tricks and ways to look at the subject during shooting...Since this camera was much popular in market, there are plenty of DVDs/books/YouTube videos published on how to use this camera. Most of them will help us on how to get onboard with this camera. Man!! I'm glad that, I own this camera now!!!.
+10points
Review 12 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best semi-professional DSLR from all brands..

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Location Sri Lanka
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
High resolution DX sensor and comparatively less weighted body is very interesting..
Frame rate also excelent according to the resolution.
1080x1920/60i movie mode is the best video feature in this DSLR..
 
My product recommendations
 
-9points
Review 13 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Camera For the Price

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Location Kingsport, TN, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I purchased this Camera when they first came out and have shot over 50,000 pictures with it. I take sports photo's (High School Football) mostly and it has worked very well todate. With the correct lense this camera will produce great pictures.
-3points
Review 14 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impresionante nitidez

PostedNovember 22, 2014
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Comense mi aventura en la fotografía con Nikon usando la D3200 un muy buen equipo para comenzar . Recientemente adquiri la D7100 y solo puedo decir que quede ASOMBRADO de la nitidez y calidad de este equipo ! Absolutamente recomendable!! . Simplemente no puedo dejar de capturar momentos con este impresionante equipo .
+4points
Review 15 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelente Produto

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Location Rio de Janeiro - RJ, Brasil
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Equipamento de excelente qualidade e sonho de consumo para os amantes da fotografia.
+2points
Review 16 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Camera

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Location Paramus, NJ, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Just bought in it, and took some fall color pictures, Like Video and duel slot for SD cards, Takes HDR shots without and editing. Had D7000 and I am very impressed with results with it, used in Africa safari great results. So desided to get D7100 with all new features which were missing in D7000.
Excellent camera, I will recommend anyone to get it.
+19points
Review 17 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelente equipo que te lleva mas alla de la passion a la fotografia

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Location Monterrey,
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
He usado equipo nikon por muchos años, es una maquina con un excelente desempeño su balance en el peso como su uso tan amigable da mas que lo que esperas en situaciones adversas.
0points
Review 18 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great buy after a lot of research !!

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Well, I was buying my first DSLR (I was using an advanced point and shoot until now) hence was totally confused. should i buy 3300, 5300, 7100 or canon 70 d or should i even buy a one because its expensive. Got lot of reviews and suggestions from my friends for both Nikon and Cannon but i am glad I chose Nikon D 7100.
Although Canon 70D was tempting too because of inbuilt GPS and WIFI, but getting best quality shots is the thing why people will buy a DSLR.
Choosing lenses was next tough step. Kit lenses or separate lenses. This is what I finally bought.
AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G Prime
Rokinon FE14M-N 14mm F2.8 Ultra Wide Lens for Nikon E (Amazon)
This meets my needs. i hope this will help.
+20points
Review 19 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fiquei completamente surpreso com a qualidade do produto.

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Location Resende - RJ, Brasil
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Antes de comprar, testei todas as máquinas que me interessavam e a Nikon 7100 é, sem dúvida alguma a melhor máquina fotográfica semi profissional.
+14points
Review 20 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

La mejor cámara para un semipro

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Location San Luis Potosí, México
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Amo la camara, es sencillamente la mejor inversion que pude haber hecho.
-2points
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>