Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. D7100

Nikon Inc. D7100

The new flagship of Nikon's DX-format HD-SLR lineup. Achieve a thrilling new level of image quality and sharpness thanks to a specially designed 24.1-MP DX-format CMOS sensor. Enjoy speed, precision and convenience at every step, from shooting up to 6 fps to instantly sharing your shots with the optional WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter. Create dazzling Full HD 1080p videos and ultra-smooth slow-motion or time-lapse sequences. Unleash the power of Nikon's nimble DX-format system.
Average Customer Rating:
4.67 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 94 reviews
5 stars
74
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
0
90 out of 94(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
111 Questions | 161 Answers
Customer Reviews for D7100
Review 1 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great DSLR

PostedApril 4, 2014
Anonymous
Location South Oregon coast
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is my second d7100 & I love them both..Have been with Nikon since 1980 & still have two F3 s ,lenses & Motor drive. I have had good service with al my Nikons & never had a problem with any of them. For my money Nikon is the best !
+2points
Review 2 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Upgrade

PostedApril 3, 2014
IsoLikeIt
Location Midwest
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I upgraded from a Nikon D3000 which was a great camera in its own right. The D7100 has a solid feel to it. Buttons are nicely arranged to get to common features easily. I like that the movie button is position closer to the shutter switch instead on the back of the camera. There are plenty of options to get creative with your composition. I'll enjoy taking this out to shoot as often as I can.
The lens makes a big difference with the quality of the pictures this camera is capable of producing. The user buttons are a great idea. I've used them many times to keep track of my favorite setup while I experiment with other settings. It gives me the freedom to return to settings that I'm comfortable with.
Great job, Nikon, for making a great camera and for rekindling my passion for photography.
+2points
Review 3 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NIKON 7100

PostedMarch 30, 2014
marichuy
Location Chula Vista, CA, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
THIS CAMARA NIKON 7100 IS MY SECOND AND I M VERY HAPPY WITH THIS LAST I HAVE VERY NICE PICTURES I RECOMMEND TO FUTURE BUYERS
+4points
Review 4 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

definitely a step up from 7000, makes buying a 610 a difficult choice

PostedMarch 25, 2014
ajahearn
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I started with a D80 7 years ago. Previously I had ProSumer versions of Canons and earlier than that I shot film with Minolta's. After 4 years with the D80 I went with a D7000 which was a great improvement but not quite the jump I was hoping for. Noise and sharpness were my two issues. I spent a lot of money buying good glass, mostly FX lenses (28-70 2.8 and 70-200 2.8) which should shine on a DX format camera. I was all ready to jump to the 610 (bypassing the problematic 600) but I found that the sweet spot of my lenses wasn't so sweet any more and I really missed the extended reach I got on a DX frame. Sure I could fake it but why go FX then? I test drove a 7100 and was shocked at the sharpness and the noise handling. The AF modes as well as the 59 point system is just amazing on focus clarity.
So far I have not had to clean my sensor - something I had to do regularly with the D80 and D7K. Today I run a Tokina 11-16 2.8DX, Sigma 17-50 2.8 OSM, Nikon 28-70 2.8 and then the Nikon 70-200 2.8 VR and this setup provides a phenomenal range. I purchased an aftermarket grip, previously always went with Nikon, and have been reasonably happy. One minor complaint is the 7100 requires its own special USB cable otherwise the 7100 is better in every way.
+13points
Review 5 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Ralphismynickname
Well worth the upgrade from the D7000.
IQ and autofocus are outstanding, well worth the money.
I only wish I was as good a photographer as the camera deserves.
+8points
Review 6 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Camera

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Lucky
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
Nikon out did themselves on this little beauty. Almost all the functions and capabilities of the high end D4 at a 1/4 of the cost. Fast focus, quick shutter could not have asked for aynthing more out of the camera.
+4points
Review 7 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A fine camera indeed

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Anonymous
Location Austin Texas
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have owned this body for several months now and have shot several thousand photographs. I shoot macro, landscapes, and birds predominately. I have never had the camera fail to write to the Sandisk Extreme Pro 32gb card, nor have I experienced garbled images. Just returned from a workshop at Rancho Laguna Seca photographing birds. After deleting the obvious clunkers I had about 1,500 images. Because of poor light they were shot at ISOs of 400 to 1200 and with wide apertures to get the necessary shutter speed. I used the Nikon 500 f4 and the Nikon 70-200 f2.8 with a 1.4 tele extender as well as the Nikon SB 900 Flash set for high speed. I experienced no overheating. The focusing accuracy was so good and the images so sharp you can count the barbels on the birds feathers.
My only minor complaint is that I wish the buffer was larger especially when shooting birds in flight.
+16points
Review 8 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An excellent camera that delivers

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
MikeD
Location Norfolk, VA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I already owned a D7000 and have really gotten some great pictures with it. I bought a Nikkor 70-300mm VR and started taking wildlife pictures. I was loving life…. Then I decided it was time to move up and get a zoom lens with a longer reach and couple it with a teleconverter since the top of the line zooms are out of my price range. After doing some research, the auto focus on some of these lenses will not work unless the camera supports auto focus at F8.
The D7100 does support auto focus at F8, so I made the decision to forego the new zoom for now and get a camera that will work with the lens I am looking at. I ordered it, received it on Friday and had the opportunity to go to a wildlife refuge over the weekend. The weather was not the best although it did cooperate long enough to get some shoots in.
When I got home and downloaded the pictures I was amazed. I am not sure if it is the new focusing system with the 15 cross-type sensors, the removal of the OLPF filter or the extra megapixels in the sensor but it gives you the ability to zoom in and crop a photo that still has high definition and sharpness like nothing I have dealt with before.
I have attached and original photo and a severely cropped version for an example. I got the original and the cropped version printed out in 12x18 and the cropped version shows no signs of pixeling. I can’t wait to get back out and get some more photos and in a few months when I can afford the larger zoom and teleconverter I am positive I will absolutely love what I get with this camera.
+12points
Review 9 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Camera Well Worth The Money

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Drakes
Location Corbin,Ky
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I Have Been A Nikon Customer 30 year This Is No Doubt The Best Camera I Have Owned.
+11points
Review 10 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Camera Ever!

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
kalindukk
Location Colombo, Sri Lanka
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
This is the best camera for me.Because its lighter,powerful,easy to use.The picture quality is great!
 
My product recommendations
 
+10points
Review 11 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Quality

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Angie
Location Isabela, Puerto Rico
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This DSLR has blown me away with its amazing capabilities and crisp frames. I took the plunge and switched from a different camera brand all together and it was completely worth it. Magnificent auto focus and battery life is great!
+15points
Review 12 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

APS-C

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
benorry
Location Regina, SK, Canada
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
best aps-c camera,body is lighter than d7000 which good mg alloy ,good grip.....sharper image than d7000,focusing is good & fast and i like it....
+8points
Review 13 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Camera! Superb performance!

PostedDecember 16, 2013
John
Location St. Louis, MO, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I was really struggling between the full frame D600 and this camera. After trying out friend's D600 and D7100 for a week I found that outside of sensor size, the D7100 really beats out the D600 in everything except noise reduction, which is still amazing on the D7100. I would strongly recommend this camera to anyone unless they specifically need a full frame camera.
+25points
Review 14 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

When in doubt, move up!

PostedDecember 13, 2013
scottwallace
Location Pacific Northwest
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Started my serious camera-owning life with a D40 and loved it. Moved to a D5200 last year and never felt that I had moved up that much. In fact, I preferred the color rendition of the D40! So I did what I knew I should have done in the first place - traded the D5200 in towards a D7100. I don't get the reviews that say that these two cameras are so similar. The 7100 takes better pictures. Period. And I now get how valuable that top LCD screen is to change settings on the fly without having to dig into menus. And I love actually that it's bigger. Just feels better in the hand. I also got the MB-D15 grip and like the heft and look of it. With an 18-200 and a 35mm Prime, I'm loving my set-up now. Highly recommended!
+22points
Review 15 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the Best!

PostedDecember 9, 2013
CharlieC
Location Silicon Valley, CA, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I think I have died and gone to heaven - but then I upgraded from a D50 (10 years?) I managed to get by all this time with 6Mp by soon upgrading to the 18-200mm lens which allowed me to do all my cropping at picture-taking time. The autofocus on the D7100 is superb (marginal on the D50). With the 18-200 it is quite a handful (heavy) but well worth it. I highly recommend the 18-200. Get a Nikon UV filter (NC) on any Nikon lens you have. I have to get the SB-910 next (daughter's wedding coming up!) Went with the 64GB (Sandisk only!) Extreme Pro 95MB/s just to be on the safe side (really only need for video, I suppose).
+11points
Review 16 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Who Needs More?

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Frank
Location San Diego, CA, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Excellent images, easy to use, lightweight and durable. What's not to like? I love it!
 
My product recommendations
 
-1point
Review 17 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nikon D7100 DX DSLR camera body

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Shoot4Fun
Location Palo Alto, CA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I got tired of waiting for the D400 (if it ever does come out, its too late). I love: small size, high resolution-24Mpxls, fast focus/frame rate, reasonable cost-$1200 for body, excellent bracketing features, lovely HDR features, & nice scene modes. What I don't like is the too small memory buffer (for getting several photos shot at highest frame rate), some issues with the PCE lens (should never happen to new cameras and favorite lens), & no 10-pin connector (others fall off sometimes). Learning is fast (if you know Nikon's already), and you have a lot of features to learn. But you can use Full-Auto mode &/or scene modes until you learn enough to experiment. I have several FX bodies but I still use the D7100 for "reach" and for size. Nicely designed, nice price, & excellent features justify this for people coming up to the D7100 or for Full-Frame getting smaller (for traveling).
 
My product recommendations
 
+12points
Review 18 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Favorite 35mm Camera ever

PostedNovember 16, 2013
DaveyJ
Location Adirondack Mountains, New York, USA
Age Over 65
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I have owned everything from Large format, medium format, 35 film cameras (Nikon F5 the favorite here) to DSLRs. The best one to date in relation to quality, price, etc. is the D7100. I look at cameras all over and believe the DX format has some real advantages. The D400 is an incredibly anticipated camera and has not been introduced by Nikon. In my expert opinion the D7100 is one fantastic field camera. The size, weight, speed of use, etc., sharpness, accurate colors etc., is hard to believe. I have photographed with the more expensive Nikons and have owned probably 25 Nikons. This is the camera to buy if you want the best results that can be obtained for a modest investment. The Nikkor lens compatibility, durability, and quality is awesome. I would recommend this camera as one of the best buys in the world for someone searching for excellence in image capture and unwilling to accept compromises.
+30points
Review 19 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Almost Perfect

PostedNovember 14, 2013
NikonGirl
This camera is almost perfect. At the very end of this review I will explain why this camera is not perfect.
VIEWFINDER
There is a nice sized viewfinder on the back of the camera. It is NOT a touch screen. It does NOT swivel out.
PICTURE QUALITY
Stunning. I took some images on the lowest camera setting and the pics still looked good, it was as if I could put my hand in the photograph and pull out the people. The images had a 3D look.
LENS
I purchased this camera with the 18-140mm and 55-300mm lens. The 18-140 lens will do about 95% of what most users will need. The lower end is great for wide angle shots and the upper end is awesome for portrait work. It’s nice to have the 55-300mm lens but on a daily basis, 18-140 is sufficient.
SENSOR
This is a DX sensor (23.5mm x 15.6mm) which lets in a lot of light. Light is what a photo is made from. The next best sensor, for all intense purposes, is a full frame sensor. This DX is more than adequate for most individuals. If you are not sure of which sensor size you need then the DX is perfect.
MEDIA
This camera has two SD slots and can take SD, SDHC, and SCXC cards. Mine came with a 32gb SD card.
WIRELESS
My camera came with the WU-1a wireless adapter. The adapter works ok, I just wish it was built in instead of having it dangling on the side of the camera.
BATTERY
Please buy and extra battery. I am only getting about 400 images off a charge.
FLASH
The built in flash offers red eye reduction as well as other features.
USER MANUAL - SHOULD YOU READ IT?
Don’t do it. This manual will have you jumping all over the place. Instead I recommend the book [Mastering the Nikon D7100, ISBN 978-1937538323 by Darrell Young.] Although the included Nikon manual is less than desirable, the camera is still excellent.
NEGATIVE - WHY THIS CAMER IS NOT PERFECT
The only negative of this camera is that it does not include an option to place a date and time stamp (date imprint) directly onto a jpeg file - for those of us who want that option it is major. You can imprint the date and time if using a pic Bridge printer which equals useless. The work around is to buy a software program, either [Easy Batch Photo] or [Batch Photo]. Both of those programs work on the Mac (not sure about the PC). If buying software is not an option AND you want the date imprinted on your jpeg files then I recommend purchasing the Nikon D5200 instead. The later will give the same photo quality as the D7100. FYI: the images will have the date listed on the EXIF data but when you print the images you will need to hand write the date or use one of the software programs I mentioned above to have the date printed. Why is this feature so important to me? I am heavy into genealogy and I want to document the date the photo is taken. Although everything NOW is in the present tense, 50 years from now the images will be in the past tense. I have a family photo taken in 1906 and one taken in 1917. I know the year because it was written on the image. I would like to do the same for my descendants. Nikon, please offer an update to include this feature. If it is an option then those who do not want it can just turn it off.
Final thoughts, this is a great camera and I definitely recommend it.
+23points
Review 20 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

D40-D7100

PostedNovember 3, 2013
TSPhoto
Location North Port, FL, USA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I upgraded from a D40 to the D7100 and what a difference! The image quality is amazing. This camera is BRILLIANT!!!!!
 
My product recommendations
 
+5points
1 2 3 4 5 next>>