Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. D7100

Nikon Inc. D7100

Nikon D7100 is a HDSLR with 24.1 MP, Full HD 1080p video, 51-point cross-type AF, 6 FPS continuous shooting & more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.662 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(151 Reviews) 151
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 151 reviews
5 stars
123
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
3
142 out of 151(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
165 Questions | 228 Answers
Customer Reviews for D7100
Review 1 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An excellent performer built to last

PostedApril 26, 2016
Location NH
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I've been shooting with this camera for more than a year now, and it has never failed me once. I've shot with this camera in the rain and snow, in hot weather and in extreme cold, and nothing seems to phase it. It's been up and down mountains, on road trips, and on a tripod in several rivers. I've had many great adventures with this camera slung over my shoulder.
A DSLR isn't something you should have to treat super-carefully, like a little baby. When you sling your camera over your shoulder, it's going to be smacked against door frames, trees, and whatever else you try to squeeze between. A DSLR should be built tough, so that it can withstand drops, smacks, and crashes. I have found that this Nikon D7100 can hold up to any abuse caused by a serious photographer.
The 24.1 megapixel sensor does an amazing job of capturing the tiniest of details (with a good lens, of course). I love the 51-point autofocus, because I can move the little point where ever I want when my camera is on my tripod. Autofocus is fast and accurate, and I like how it can focus with both AF and AF-S lenses.
My two favorite features of this camera are the backlit LCD display on the top plate, and the weather sealing. The backlight comes in handy when shooting at night or in dark locations. Even when your eyes are accustomed to the night, the backlight never hurts your eyes when you turn it on. Without weather sealing, I wouldn't have been able to make so many of the images I have made.
I definitely recommend this camera. It's tough, seriously reliable, comfortable to hold, and an all-around solid performer.
+18points
Review 2 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Feeling and sense of well built rugged magnesium alloy body in a DX.

PostedApril 13, 2016
Location Canada
Favorite Subject Landscape
Experience More than 20 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Had the camera since december 2013. Excellent feel and quality picture in DX frame. Paired it with the FX 28-300 lens.. I m very content and satisfied. Pictures taken compared to the FX one can hardly tell the difference. Great buy for the price range.
+1point
Review 3 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the D7100

PostedApril 10, 2016
Location NJ
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I love my D7100. I've had it for a little over 2 years and it's never let me down. I've thought from time to time of "moving up" to full frame, but then I think about giving up my D7100 and change my mind. It has given me good quality images, I love the reach of DX format for wildlife photography, and the additional 1.3x mode which allows even greater "reach" than the 1.5x of full frame that the APS-C sensor produces. Maybe full frame would allow a bit greater quality but I'd most likely be cropping even more than I do now. You can't go wrong with this camera, especially at the current 4/16 price of approx. $800. I paid the at launch price of $1100 and I'd still pay that. Love it.
+13points
Review 4 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great enthusiast-targeted camera body

PostedFebruary 13, 2016
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I've been shooting with this camera body and a Nikon 80-200mm 2.8 lens for around a year now and am very pleased with its performance. I was a bit hesitant to get this body at first because Nikon decided to omit the optical low-pass filter and I had read that there was a potential for moiré-induced artifacts when shooting stills of objects with fine patterned detail. Well I have not run into that problem yet. The photos I've taken with this camera have been great. In my opinion this is the next camera body you want to upgrade to if your not quite ready to spend the money on a pro body.
+11points
Review 5 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Piece of Art

PostedJanuary 29, 2016
Location League City, TX, USA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
I am fairly new to the photography industry and have just got this camera with a 18-55mm, 55-300mm, and 40mm lenses. So far, this is the best camera I have ever used. I don't understand all the specs about it but I'm learning and am enjoying it and am quiet pleased. Its wonderful entering the photography world and I'm glad I joined with this camera
+7points
Review 6 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First Digital SLR

PostedJanuary 6, 2016
Location Midwest
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Learned the basics of light/composition on an F series back in college. Since, had primarily used point and shoot 35mm and then point and shoot digital, along with phone cameras. Was not at all happy with the images compared to those I produced in the dark room. I also wanted to take quality images of my work for my portfolio/website/marketing materials, so after a lot of reading and research, settled on the D7100 crop sensor to start. Chose a 70-300 FX and a 16-85 DX both VR lenses to compliment.
I cannot believe the quality of images this camera has produced. I do plan to transition to a career in photography and this is the perfect tool to hone my skills. I am also considering the D810 full to further extend my arsenal of Nikon quality. The images have not been processed at all. Would enthusiastically recommend this camera.
+6points
Review 7 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Camera is Pretty Great

PostedDecember 27, 2015
Location Seattle, WA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This camera is fantastic. If you know what you're doing, then it will be a perfect tool for your photography. This is my first DSLR from a NX300, and the difference is enormous. Performance wise, this camera seriously delivers, and the low-light image quality is probably the best Iv'e seen in an APS-C sensor DSLR. Actually though: If you know what you're doing or has a general sense on shooting outside of auto, then this camera will be perfect for you.
+3points
Review 8 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very impressed

PostedDecember 10, 2015
Location Kansas City, MO, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
I just got one of these to replace my D7000. Well I am blown away at the increase in picture quality. The 24 megapixels and removal of a low pass filter really make for some fantastic images out of this camera. The focus system is also much improved. I am an HDR photographer and this camera has far superior HDR features with expanded bracketing and an in-camera two shot HDR function. I had a similar function in my old D5100 however this sensor has better dynamic range and you can shoot a series easily whereas the D5100 was harder to access and only allowed one shot. Anyway... I am very excited about this camera, picture quality is superb, ISO is improved by a couple stops allowing very clean shots up to 3200 ISO. With noise reduction software (DXO) 6400 ISO shots would be okay. Some of the new 1.8 and 1.4 aperture glass on the market is making this camera a very strong contender. The gap is getting very narrow between full frame and crop camera's. It's awesome ... the down side probably is the small buffer... if your a spray and pray shooter RAW is going to bring this camera to its knee's in one second of continuous burst shooting. Good job on this camera Nikon.... I am picky about my camera's and this body is truly capable of professional results.
+16points
Review 9 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Espectacular!!

PostedNovember 9, 2015
Location Pereira, Pereira, Risaralda, Colombia
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Es un equipo brutal. Velocidad AF, nitidez, peso, robustez, comportamiento, rango dinámico, diales de control, accesos directos. Ahora mismo la uso con fines profesionales, y estoy feliz con ella. Buena jugada Nikon.
+7points
Review 10 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Uma câmera perfeita para fotografias de casamento.

PostedSeptember 5, 2015
Location Dourados MS
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Utilizo equipamentos nikon a mais de 8 anos e acho incrível, e a D7100, assim como a D750 foram inigualáveis, câmeras que realmente superaram as expectativas e deram as ferramentas e possibilidades para nós podermos produzir imagens únicas e que realmente se tornam uma obra de arte.
+9points
Review 11 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camera to use beyond "P" mode

PostedJuly 8, 2015
Location San Francisco, CA, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I purchased the D7100 a couple of years ago and it is still a very reliable camera. I brought it on a cross-country drive where I'm sure it bounced around in the car going over potholes on the interstate. It's 24mp sensor captures amazing detail with excellent clarity recorded on two SD slots. The setting can be changed for various slot configurations, but I prefer RAW image files to be saved on both cards so I have a backup in case one fails. It's a great camera to use beyond "P" mode as I always have it set on Manual. I like that it fits comfortably in my hand and can make manual adjustments easily without having to take my index finger off the shutter button. I can adjust the aperture with my middle finger using the front command dial while my thumb can adjust the shutter speed on the rear command dial or select on any of the 51 focus areas using the multi-selector without having to recompose the framing in the viewfinder. If I need to adjust the ISO, I can easily hold down the ISO button with my left thumb while adjusting the sensitivity with my right thumb on the rear command dial all without taking my eye away from the viewfinder. Using only available light, I have had to use ISO 3200, of course quality is degraded and obvious noise in the image, but still tolerable. I've used the D7100 to photograph sports and corporate events and never had to stop because the buffer was full and wait for images to save on the SD cards. The D7100 is able to keep up with the actions I want to capture.
It offers plenty of creative possibilities including video which I've dabbled with plugging a wireless microphone. Live View is nice, but prevents aperture adjustment and selecting a different focus area once started. Still, it's a great value for all that it offers and what the camera can do. I've been more than satisfied with my purchase as I enjoy photographing my Pomeranian during our travels and adventure together. I hope you find pleasure with the D7100 to capture memories of whatever is special to you.
+47points
Review 12 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Having a ball

PostedApril 29, 2015
Location Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
I am new to photography and after extensive research I decided on the D7100. I am very satisfied with the ease of use and many features this camera offers. I just cannot wait for the fall colors to arrive so I can capture many photos and I am looking into a larger lens to capture some local wildlife.
+9points
Review 13 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Value

PostedApril 24, 2015
Location Seattle WA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
This was my first DSLR camera and could not be happier with my purchase. I have used Nikon products for over 40 years and have always found the quality and features to be excellent. The D7100 is no exception. I purchased a refurbished camera as I am on a fixed income since my retirement. The camera I received had 16 shutter actuations prior to my purchase. The camera is basically new! Cosmetically the camera was perfect, and with only 16 prior actuations I am sure the camera will probably outlast me! The camera has more features that anyone could ask for and the quality of the images and ease of use are typical Nikon. The control interfaces are quite intuitive and took little time to learn. It is quite a departure from my old film cameras, so many features available, but so easy to use. The DX format vs FX format was not an issue since this camera produces such superior results. Prints larger that 20 x 30 are seldom required and if you need larger you would probably opt for a more expensive "professional" camera anyway. Low light performance and focusing are excellent and the the buffer size in high speed multiple exposures is quite adequate. I would not hesitate to recommend this camera to anyone starting a pro career or for anyone wanting just an all around excellent camera.
 
My product recommendations
 
+30points
Review 14 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent all around camera and lens

PostedMarch 29, 2015
Location Washington, DC, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The D7100 is my first new Nikon in ten years. Previously used D70. Bought the two lens package. Simply love the 18 - 140 lens. Looking forward to using the 70- 300 for baseball season. The quality of the camera and the photos are outstanding. Still learning the features. Very happy with the camera and lenses so far.
+23points
Review 15 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Uma das melhores opções!

PostedMarch 18, 2015
Location Paraná, Brasil
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
Um excelente produto entregue dentro do prazo. A qualidade das fotos é incrível, é muito boa para trabalhar e oferece uma porção de opções para deixar as fotos maravilhosas, sem falar no sensor DX que tem as capacidades de um sensor FX, resumindo é uma das melhores câmeras que existe.
-4points
Review 16 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

J'adore le D7100. Le meilleur rapport qualité/prix sur le marché.

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Location Mont-Tremblant, QC, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Cet appareil a tout ce qu'on peu souhaiter d'un appareil photo pro. Le rendu des couleurs, la facilité de règlage, la construction robuste de haute qualité. Je l'adore !
-4points
Review 17 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Location Ohio, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The D7100 is awesome. I Really like the selective color option. Very pleased with my purchase.
+1point
Review 18 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Nikon se superou.

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Location Rio de Janeiro - RJ, Brasil
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
A Nikon conseguiu se superar produzindo uma câmera FX com itens melhores do que muitos DX de preços elevados.
+1point
Review 19 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really fast, beautiful photos!

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I moved up to this camera from the D5100. I was ready to move on to a more advanced body, and the D7100 was perfect! What I noticed first was the how quickly the auto focus locked in. You can go from having the camera off to snapping a perfectly focused shot in about a second. Everything this camera does is fast. The images have come out looking gorgeous! I do mostly nature and landscape photography, but also like to takes pictures of my kids, and the D7100 does a fantastic job of getting those shots of the kids running and playing. If you can't afford to step up to the full frame bodies, as well as having to buy all new lenses, then this camera is perfect. Whether you are using a prime lens, or a zoom, this camera will take photos you can really be proud of.
+30points
Review 20 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best DSLR..!

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I have been using this DSLR since one year and i am now finding an excuse from my work to take this camera out for a trip and shoot . Picture clarity is awesome and i felt like it as complete DSLR. If you are a PRO.. this is the DSLR you are looking for. Focussing is very fast and that`s a great thing to capture moving targets,. Strong build and whether proof.
Only minus i found was lack of aperture control in movie mode gets a facepalm
+57points
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>