Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. D7100

Nikon Inc. D7100

The Nikon D7100 HD-SLR Camera features a 24.1MP CMOS image sensor, Full HD 1080p video, 51-point cross-type AF and Wi-Fi compatibility for the new Nikon flagship DX-format HD-SLR system.
Average Customer Rating:
4.686 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(121 Reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 121 reviews
5 stars
97
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
0
115 out of 121(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
132 Questions | 189 Answers
Customer Reviews for D7100
Review 1 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelente equipo que te lleva mas alla de la passion a la fotografia

PostedOctober 17, 2014
ED nino
Location Monterrey,
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
He usado equipo nikon por muchos años, es una maquina con un excelente desempeño su balance en el peso como su uso tan amigable da mas que lo que esperas en situaciones adversas.
0points
Review 2 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great buy after a lot of research !!

PostedOctober 2, 2014
NikonBuddy
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Well, I was buying my first DSLR (I was using an advanced point and shoot until now) hence was totally confused. should i buy 3300, 5300, 7100 or canon 70 d or should i even buy a one because its expensive. Got lot of reviews and suggestions from my friends for both Nikon and Cannon but i am glad I chose Nikon D 7100.
Although Canon 70D was tempting too because of inbuilt GPS and WIFI, but getting best quality shots is the thing why people will buy a DSLR.
Choosing lenses was next tough step. Kit lenses or separate lenses. This is what I finally bought.
AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G Prime
Rokinon FE14M-N 14mm F2.8 Ultra Wide Lens for Nikon E (Amazon)
This meets my needs. i hope this will help.
-3points
Review 3 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fiquei completamente surpreso com a qualidade do produto.

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Fotoéluz.
Location Resende - RJ, Brasil
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Antes de comprar, testei todas as máquinas que me interessavam e a Nikon 7100 é, sem dúvida alguma a melhor máquina fotográfica semi profissional.
+3points
Review 4 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

La mejor cámara para un semipro

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Tony Hidalgo
Location San Luis Potosí, México
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Amo la camara, es sencillamente la mejor inversion que pude haber hecho.
+2points
Review 5 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelente câmera.

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
ArsenioCoelho
Location Lauro de Freitas - BA, Brasil
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Sinceramente, não tenho palavras para descrever o quanto é boa esta Câmera. Fácil de usar, boa qualidade e muito profissional para o uso.
+6points
Review 6 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Produto nota 1000!

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Rodrigues
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
A D7100 dispensa comentários! Maravilha de câmera ... Exemplo de uma foto da lua com uma lente FX AFS 70-300 tirada sem me preocupar muito com as técnicas de captura!!!
+13points
Review 7 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedAugust 19, 2014
jsbhifi
I decided to purchase the D7100 as my first DSLR and I feel I could not have chosen a better system, having never owned a DSLR before this one I can honestly say it doesn't take that long to get use to and would be a great camera for anyone looking to buy their first DSLR as I did. It is incredible just how much this camera offers for such a reasonable price.
+11points
Review 8 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

D7100 is great! watch all of the speedy large MP cameras though, the card speed matters...

PostedAugust 18, 2014
DixieLinda
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I'm not sure if there are any drawbacks on buying refurbished, but I would think a refurbished would be better risk than a used camera from individual user. Nikon repair facilities are the best and I've know folks who sent product elsewhere with "can't be fixed" diagnosis. ONLY to have Nikon USA repair it completely! Hard lesson... double shipping costs and in one case double REPAIR LABOR... NIKON is best.
One risk of buying used, is unknowingly getting a gray market product. Products not imported into your country by your local Nikon arm: in the USA, that's Nikon USA. Repairs may need to be sent back to the area of origin... or you lose the option of the official Nikon repair facilities.
I read complaints about the FPS and wanted to give something to think about: the speed of the card affects the time needed process frames to the card... I like the Delkin Devices 600x cards - -that's 45 MB per second WRITE to card speed! Lexar and SanDisk also have fast cards. they cost more but worth it.
When we try up write to card faster than the card can receive info, the buffer comes into play... and if really slow WRITE speed, the camera may have to STOP shooting at all until the buffer has space. MUCH better to use a card fast enough to keep up with your shooting. IF RAW or Large Fine on 24MP resolution, those are BIG files.
+7points
Review 9 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Very Solid DSLR

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Nathan
Location Austin, TX, USA
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Amazing Camera, going to just list some of the strong points.
-Insanely awesome and useful 51 point AF grid (this is the same amount as the very high end cameras, also D7000 only has a 39 point)
-Great User Interface-When in M shooting, you can change shutter speed, aperture, ISO, image size, image quality, white balance, and metering...all without going into any menus or even looking at the LCD screen. D3000/5000 series would require you to go into menus/use the LCD.
-Very useful "Pv" button allowing you to make the shutter go to the specific F-stop without taking a picture to preview the effects of the aperture (will let you preview how much bokeh you have).
-Sturdy and reliable.
-Sharp images.
-Slots for 2 SD cards.
-6 FPS (7 in DX-crop) should be highly sufficient.
-Great for video in addition to stills
-Battery extender pack available (MB-D15), makes camera look even more cool as well as increased ease of portrait shots and extra dials, etc.
-18-140 "kit lens" is a very reliable lens, that is great for landscapes and general purposes
I've had no real problems besides it twice telling me a memory card error in which case I had to just remove the card and re insert it to fix it (no pictures lost). I would recommend, you get a whole lot for this pretty reasonable price.
 
My product recommendations
 
+19points
Review 10 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Camera

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Joebob
Location Rio Rancho, NM
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
This is a big step for me from the D3100 and it seams as though the D7100 has much more capability, control and makes for cleaner shots. Nikon Rocks! :)
+5points
Review 11 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

exelente

PostedJuly 30, 2014
nikoniano
Location Michoacán, México
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
tengo ya mas de 6 meses con esta cámara y no deja de impresionarme
+2points
Review 12 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features in a small package.

PostedJuly 28, 2014
NikonFan1954
Location Blackfoot, Idaho
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
Still learning digital photography. But I like the overall feel of the d7100.
-3points
Review 13 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like it so much I'm buying another one

PostedJuly 24, 2014
DBC0479
Location Phoenix, AZ, USA
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This camera will do anything an advanced amateur will want it to do and most things a pro would want.
0points
Review 14 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing photographs at a wonderful price!

PostedJuly 23, 2014
BenT
Location St. Louis, MO, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I purchased this camera as an upgrade to my Nikon D3300. I had originally purchased the D3300 with the thought that "hey, this is probably all I'll ever need". Well, to put it bluntly, I was wrong. Using the D3300 I started up a little photo business of my own, and things took off! I quickly realized that I'd need something better.. but something that was truly affordable! The D7100 has met and surpassed all the needs that I, and my customers, had. I have to say I am very impressed by the level of detail this camera can achieve. I am SO happy with this purchase and feel that THIS is the camera that I can hold on to for a while!
+4points
Review 15 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome camera for a beginner

PostedJuly 23, 2014
NIkonEd
Location Chino Hills, California
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Shopping for a DSLR camera took me about two years to decide because I was researching constantly by reading others reviews, looking at photography forums, and checking photography videos through Youtube. I want my first DSLR buy to be a good buy as I'll be investing my sweat and blood on it. In the beginning I was leaning towards a Canon EOS until that one faithful day that I went a local camera shop. I was told by the shop's owner not to go just by specs alone,and reviews. Go by your feeling. Grab a camera check how it feels on your hands. So I grabbed a couple of cameras and tried them. When I grabbed the Nikon D7100, that's when the "wow" effect kicked in. I liked the way it feels, it's light weight, the buttons are all well placed that they're easy to access, and most of all they are user friendly and very straight forward to use. I'm just a beginner learning the ropes.
This camera takes gorgeous pictures. Colors are rich, vibrant, and warm. Most of all the photos are sharp I could see the details. This camera is awesome! The only draw back I noticed it the burst shots. If I leave the settings running on full DX and RAW mode, the FPS goes down and starts to buffer. Changing the setting to 1/3 crop increases the FPS, however the buffering still remains. It'll be nice if Nikon can update the firmware to take out the buffering, but it's no biggie for me as I like taking photos of landscape s and portraits. If you're a beginner/amateur like me, go with what you like and feels right on your hands....in my case the Nikon fits the bill.
-4points
Review 16 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelent Camera

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Alexeins
Location Quito, Ecuador
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is an excelent camera, good size, weight and nice pictures!
0points
Review 17 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESSOME CAMERA

PostedJuly 14, 2014
FENI
Location Dubai - United Arab Emirates
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I BOUGHT THIS CAMERA SIX MONTH BEFOR. THIS IS A WONDERFULL CAMERA THAT I HIGHLY RECOMENDED. SHARP IMAGES, EASY TO HANDLE ETC ETC
+2points
Review 18 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent photos fairly quickly.

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Diogenes
Location Oregon
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Useable fairly quickly. This is an upgrade from a D5100. Used the 18-300 mm Nikkor zoom plus a 20 year old 60 mm Nikkor macro and a 20 year old 28-85 Nikkor Zoom with good Excellent. Am reading the manual and several other references to get up to speed on this powerful photographic tool. I am pleased with the results it has provided it has provided to date and inspired to get out more and use it more. This camera will definitely not be a limiting factor for my photography.
+2points
Review 19 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Built to Last with Full Options!

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Tonypet
Location Doha, Qatar
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Had my D7100 for a month now and I have always felt that I got my hard earned investment truly a value of its own! A lot of options to do with the features installed. Bracketing and HDR features are only samples of the great features this tank like camera. And yes, I seemed to validate its weather/moisture sealed feature when humidity reached 75% , at one time when I did not notice any condensation from the camera. Most importantly is the quality I get as nearly what a full frame model has at a lower cost.
Thank you Nikon.
+7points
Review 20 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best you can find

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Teddy
Location Vancouver, BC, Canada
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
It was my first time getting a camera. I pretty much learned how to use it just by looking through the user's manual. The only thing you might want to think about it that it is not very light. I got a 18-300mm lens and together it weighted around 1kg. If you are someone who wants to travel around a lot without a heavy item in your hands then choose one of the D5000 series. However if you don't mind the weight, this camera will satisfy all your needs. It include everything you need from a starter till a professional photographer.
+3points
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>