Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. D7100

Nikon Inc. D7100

The Nikon D7100 HD-SLR Camera features a 24.1MP CMOS image sensor, Full HD 1080p video, 51-point cross-type AF and Wi-Fi compatibility for the new Nikon flagship DX-format HD-SLR system.
Average Customer Rating:
4.685 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(108 Reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 108 reviews
5 stars
86
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
0
103 out of 108(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
120 Questions | 175 Answers
Customer Reviews for D7100
Review 1 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features in a small package.

PostedJuly 28, 2014
NikonFan1954
Location Blackfoot, Idaho
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
Still learning digital photography. But I like the overall feel of the d7100.
0points
Review 2 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like it so much I'm buying another one

PostedJuly 24, 2014
DBC0479
Location Phoenix, AZ, USA
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This camera will do anything an advanced amateur will want it to do and most things a pro would want.
+1point
Review 3 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing photographs at a wonderful price!

PostedJuly 23, 2014
BenT
Location St. Louis, MO, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I purchased this camera as an upgrade to my Nikon D3300. I had originally purchased the D3300 with the thought that "hey, this is probably all I'll ever need". Well, to put it bluntly, I was wrong. Using the D3300 I started up a little photo business of my own, and things took off! I quickly realized that I'd need something better.. but something that was truly affordable! The D7100 has met and surpassed all the needs that I, and my customers, had. I have to say I am very impressed by the level of detail this camera can achieve. I am SO happy with this purchase and feel that THIS is the camera that I can hold on to for a while!
+1point
Review 4 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome camera for a beginner

PostedJuly 23, 2014
NIkonEd
Location Chino Hills, California
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Shopping for a DSLR camera took me about two years to decide because I was researching constantly by reading others reviews, looking at photography forums, and checking photography videos through Youtube. I want my first DSLR buy to be a good buy as I'll be investing my sweat and blood on it. In the beginning I was leaning towards a Canon EOS until that one faithful day that I went a local camera shop. I was told by the shop's owner not to go just by specs alone,and reviews. Go by your feeling. Grab a camera check how it feels on your hands. So I grabbed a couple of cameras and tried them. When I grabbed the Nikon D7100, that's when the "wow" effect kicked in. I liked the way it feels, it's light weight, the buttons are all well placed that they're easy to access, and most of all they are user friendly and very straight forward to use. I'm just a beginner learning the ropes.
This camera takes gorgeous pictures. Colors are rich, vibrant, and warm. Most of all the photos are sharp I could see the details. This camera is awesome! The only draw back I noticed it the burst shots. If I leave the settings running on full DX and RAW mode, the FPS goes down and starts to buffer. Changing the setting to 1/3 crop increases the FPS, however the buffering still remains. It'll be nice if Nikon can update the firmware to take out the buffering, but it's no biggie for me as I like taking photos of landscape s and portraits. If you're a beginner/amateur like me, go with what you like and feels right on your hands....in my case the Nikon fits the bill.
-2points
Review 5 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelent Camera

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Alexeins
Location Quito, Ecuador
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is an excelent camera, good size, weight and nice pictures!
+1point
Review 6 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESSOME CAMERA

PostedJuly 14, 2014
FENI
Location Dubai - United Arab Emirates
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I BOUGHT THIS CAMERA SIX MONTH BEFOR. THIS IS A WONDERFULL CAMERA THAT I HIGHLY RECOMENDED. SHARP IMAGES, EASY TO HANDLE ETC ETC
+1point
Review 7 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent photos fairly quickly.

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Diogenes
Location Oregon
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Useable fairly quickly. This is an upgrade from a D5100. Used the 18-300 mm Nikkor zoom plus a 20 year old 60 mm Nikkor macro and a 20 year old 28-85 Nikkor Zoom with good Excellent. Am reading the manual and several other references to get up to speed on this powerful photographic tool. I am pleased with the results it has provided it has provided to date and inspired to get out more and use it more. This camera will definitely not be a limiting factor for my photography.
0points
Review 8 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Built to Last with Full Options!

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Tonypet
Location Doha, Qatar
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Had my D7100 for a month now and I have always felt that I got my hard earned investment truly a value of its own! A lot of options to do with the features installed. Bracketing and HDR features are only samples of the great features this tank like camera. And yes, I seemed to validate its weather/moisture sealed feature when humidity reached 75% , at one time when I did not notice any condensation from the camera. Most importantly is the quality I get as nearly what a full frame model has at a lower cost.
Thank you Nikon.
+4points
Review 9 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best you can find

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Teddy
Location Vancouver, BC, Canada
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
It was my first time getting a camera. I pretty much learned how to use it just by looking through the user's manual. The only thing you might want to think about it that it is not very light. I got a 18-300mm lens and together it weighted around 1kg. If you are someone who wants to travel around a lot without a heavy item in your hands then choose one of the D5000 series. However if you don't mind the weight, this camera will satisfy all your needs. It include everything you need from a starter till a professional photographer.
0points
Review 10 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best DX camera

PostedJune 24, 2014
TheD7100shooter
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Very accurate focusing and tack sharp pictures. One word about the buffer. I know many people compare the D7100 buffer to the D300s and other cameras and then they make comments about the buffer size. The D300s has a 12.3-megapixel sensor and the D7100 has a 24 megapixel sensor, so of course they can not have the same buffer speed/size with current sensor technology. The D7100 has twice as big a sensor as the D300s so the solution to this is to use your D7100 in crop mode ( around 15mp ) to be able to have a bigger buffer size/speed.
What I do is just to turn the crop mode on in my D7100 and then my buffer becomes much better and still my images are 15 megapixel which is still higher than the D300s 12.3 megapixel. So basically you can adjust the settings in your D7100 in order to increase the buffer. And if the buffer becomes full you can still continue shooting at a decent speed around 2-3 fps / second because the writing speed is quite fast.
+6points
Review 11 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Professional features for a 'prosumer' price.

PostedMay 4, 2014
HumblePhotog
Location Atlanta, GA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The D7100 is *almost* perfect for my needs. Burst mode is, well... meh. I shoot RAW almost 100% of the time and the buffer/processing times are a little sluggish, but for the price, I really can't complain. If you're a 'spray-n-pray' photographer that needs high FPS, especially one who shoots RAW, you may want to consider stepping up to a FX-body. For 99% of serious amateurs and semi-pro's, though, the D7100 will work wonders. I'm also not too thrilled with the locking mechanisms for both the mode and drive mode dials, but I'll get over that, too. Neither of my complaints necessitate giving this camera 4 stars instead of 5, though.
The construction feels firm and sturdy and not 'plasic-y', which gives me the confidence that I can take it out for a long day of shooting in places where it's bound to get bumped, and not fret over it. An extra level of confidence is added knowing that Nikon sealed the body from moisture and dust the same way they did for some of their higher end full-frame cameras.
The AF system is extremely responsive and quick, especially with quality glass adorning it. IQ is fantastic, though I'm struggling to see how much difference not having an OLPF really makes to an image when using good lenses. I haven't done any side-by-side tests with it yet, so the difference may be more apparent when I do. Still, regardless of the difference it makes, I have not been disappointed with the quality of images I've taken so far.
The D7100 definitely stands out in low light situations with the new AF system. It is a crop sensor, obviously, so don't expect miracles once the ISO really starts shooting through the roof, but I've found some images still usable at ISO 6400 even without post-processing. That, in itself, is pretty impressive considering the sensor.
There are more than enough reviews online if you want a real in-depth review on the D7100, I'm only listing a few features that have stood out to me. There are many, many more features available, and plenty of which I haven't even sampled yet, so I'll refrain from reviewing something I haven't personally tested. All in all, the D7100 offers photographers, from the beginner to the most advanced, a LOT of features for the price with very few cons, in my opinion.
Get one. Shoot it. You'll probably love it!
+25points
Review 12 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Una verdadera belleza en calidad - precio!!

PostedApril 21, 2014
Jorgeglez84
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
He pasado por varios modelos de Sony y ninguno se compara con la calidad y prestaciones que te ofrece la D7100 recomendado para avanzados e incluso para fotógrafos profesionales, dada las características y diversidad de lentes que ofrece Nikon.
-3points
Review 13 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great DSLR

PostedApril 4, 2014
Anonymous
Location South Oregon coast
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is my second d7100 & I love them both..Have been with Nikon since 1980 & still have two F3 s ,lenses & Motor drive. I have had good service with al my Nikons & never had a problem with any of them. For my money Nikon is the best !
+8points
Review 14 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Upgrade

PostedApril 3, 2014
IsoLikeIt
Location Midwest
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I upgraded from a Nikon D3000 which was a great camera in its own right. The D7100 has a solid feel to it. Buttons are nicely arranged to get to common features easily. I like that the movie button is position closer to the shutter switch instead on the back of the camera. There are plenty of options to get creative with your composition. I'll enjoy taking this out to shoot as often as I can.
The lens makes a big difference with the quality of the pictures this camera is capable of producing. The user buttons are a great idea. I've used them many times to keep track of my favorite setup while I experiment with other settings. It gives me the freedom to return to settings that I'm comfortable with.
Great job, Nikon, for making a great camera and for rekindling my passion for photography.
+22points
Review 15 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NIKON 7100

PostedMarch 30, 2014
marichuy
Location Chula Vista, CA, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
THIS CAMARA NIKON 7100 IS MY SECOND AND I M VERY HAPPY WITH THIS LAST I HAVE VERY NICE PICTURES I RECOMMEND TO FUTURE BUYERS
+1point
Review 16 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

definitely a step up from 7000, makes buying a 610 a difficult choice

PostedMarch 25, 2014
ajahearn
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I started with a D80 7 years ago. Previously I had ProSumer versions of Canons and earlier than that I shot film with Minolta's. After 4 years with the D80 I went with a D7000 which was a great improvement but not quite the jump I was hoping for. Noise and sharpness were my two issues. I spent a lot of money buying good glass, mostly FX lenses (28-70 2.8 and 70-200 2.8) which should shine on a DX format camera. I was all ready to jump to the 610 (bypassing the problematic 600) but I found that the sweet spot of my lenses wasn't so sweet any more and I really missed the extended reach I got on a DX frame. Sure I could fake it but why go FX then? I test drove a 7100 and was shocked at the sharpness and the noise handling. The AF modes as well as the 59 point system is just amazing on focus clarity.
So far I have not had to clean my sensor - something I had to do regularly with the D80 and D7K. Today I run a Tokina 11-16 2.8DX, Sigma 17-50 2.8 OSM, Nikon 28-70 2.8 and then the Nikon 70-200 2.8 VR and this setup provides a phenomenal range. I purchased an aftermarket grip, previously always went with Nikon, and have been reasonably happy. One minor complaint is the 7100 requires its own special USB cable otherwise the 7100 is better in every way.
+41points
Review 17 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Ralphismynickname
Well worth the upgrade from the D7000.
IQ and autofocus are outstanding, well worth the money.
I only wish I was as good a photographer as the camera deserves.
+9points
Review 18 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Camera

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Lucky
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
Nikon out did themselves on this little beauty. Almost all the functions and capabilities of the high end D4 at a 1/4 of the cost. Fast focus, quick shutter could not have asked for aynthing more out of the camera.
+8points
Review 19 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A fine camera indeed

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Anonymous
Location Austin Texas
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have owned this body for several months now and have shot several thousand photographs. I shoot macro, landscapes, and birds predominately. I have never had the camera fail to write to the Sandisk Extreme Pro 32gb card, nor have I experienced garbled images. Just returned from a workshop at Rancho Laguna Seca photographing birds. After deleting the obvious clunkers I had about 1,500 images. Because of poor light they were shot at ISOs of 400 to 1200 and with wide apertures to get the necessary shutter speed. I used the Nikon 500 f4 and the Nikon 70-200 f2.8 with a 1.4 tele extender as well as the Nikon SB 900 Flash set for high speed. I experienced no overheating. The focusing accuracy was so good and the images so sharp you can count the barbels on the birds feathers.
My only minor complaint is that I wish the buffer was larger especially when shooting birds in flight.
+19points
Review 20 for D7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An excellent camera that delivers

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
MikeD
Location Norfolk, VA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I already owned a D7000 and have really gotten some great pictures with it. I bought a Nikkor 70-300mm VR and started taking wildlife pictures. I was loving life…. Then I decided it was time to move up and get a zoom lens with a longer reach and couple it with a teleconverter since the top of the line zooms are out of my price range. After doing some research, the auto focus on some of these lenses will not work unless the camera supports auto focus at F8.
The D7100 does support auto focus at F8, so I made the decision to forego the new zoom for now and get a camera that will work with the lens I am looking at. I ordered it, received it on Friday and had the opportunity to go to a wildlife refuge over the weekend. The weather was not the best although it did cooperate long enough to get some shoots in.
When I got home and downloaded the pictures I was amazed. I am not sure if it is the new focusing system with the 15 cross-type sensors, the removal of the OLPF filter or the extra megapixels in the sensor but it gives you the ability to zoom in and crop a photo that still has high definition and sharpness like nothing I have dealt with before.
I have attached and original photo and a severely cropped version for an example. I got the original and the cropped version printed out in 12x18 and the cropped version shows no signs of pixeling. I can’t wait to get back out and get some more photos and in a few months when I can afford the larger zoom and teleconverter I am positive I will absolutely love what I get with this camera.
+19points
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>