Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. NIKKOR 50mm f/1.2

Nikon Inc. NIKKOR 50mm f/1.2

High-performance compact and lightweight manual focus lens features a fast f/1.2 aperture.

Average Customer Rating:
4.882 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 17 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 17(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for NIKKOR 50mm f/1.2
Review 1 for NIKKOR 50mm f/1.2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Lens

PostedNovember 13, 2014
JohnT
Location Baltimore, MD, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is an outstanding lens. The build quality is unmatched by todays plastic lenses. One other excellent feature is (a must in my opinion) the all metal HS-12 circular lens hood which snaps into my 52mm B&W XS-Pro MRC nano circular polarizer (or any other polarizer/filter). The polarizer can then be adjusted by rotating the hood. The 105mm Ais micro nikkor also uses 52mm filters and it's HS-14 metal circular lens hood also snaps onto the filter. I used the 50mm at F5.6 with the polarizer combo/hood on my D3X at an outdoor car show. The polarizer is great to cut down on glare. The images are razor sharp and colors are true and brilliant.
+1point
Review 2 for NIKKOR 50mm f/1.2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Lens

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Jill
Role Semi-professional photographer
Great quality and easy to use. Highly recommended for Portrait photography.
+3points
Review 3 for NIKKOR 50mm f/1.2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
KeithM
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
this is the sharpest and best 50mm lens you can get.
focus is fast and smooth.
Sharper at f2 than other 50mm lenses are at f3.5.
sweet bokeh.
A must for serious prime shooters.
while I like the versatility of a zoom and ease of auto focus, this lens brought the fun back into photography.
this lens will give you excellent results on every thing from an FTn through a D4 and every Nikon in-between.
Note: I wear glasses and am over 60 and have no trouble focusing the 50mm f1.2 AIS on either a D2x or a D700.
+9points
Review 4 for NIKKOR 50mm f/1.2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Lens

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Andrew
This lens is awesome. I fell in love with it within the first 5 minutes of using it. Paper thin depth of field at 1.2 and super sharp. The bokeh is incredible. Great for video too. Very cinematic looking, especially when racking focus. This is absolutely my favorite lens so far.
+2points
Review 5 for NIKKOR 50mm f/1.2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic low light lens a must for my camera bag

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
gcm's eye
Location Langley, WA 98260, USA
Age Over 65
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 20 years
Role Professional photographer
Absolute must in your camera bag if you take photos at anytime day or night. The nine bladed aperture gives outstandingly sharp defraction spikes at f/4 to f/16.
+8points
Review 6 for NIKKOR 50mm f/1.2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ethereal Lens

PostedMay 15, 2012
Nikonina Nikkorski
Location Dublin, Co. Dublin, Ireland
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I've always wanted to own an f1.2 lens and I don't mind if it's manual focus for the sole purpose of shooting candid portraits in low light situation without the option of speedlights. I've spent days trying to mine this lens and finally after all the searching, I finally found a very mint one. The build quality is superb. It is rock solid and sure it's gonna last for years. It looks like the crystal clear glass and high grade metal body are both machined out from Nikon's factory to be a classic masterpiece lens. Shooting portraits at its widest aperture of f1.2 produces stunning, dreamy, soft, heavenly and ethereal looking photos I've seen so far. That is what the flavour of the lens offers. One of my friends said that my portraits look classic as the one she saw in Time and Life magazines.=) what a nice compliment....
I don't really recommend using this lens on a bright and sunny condition since modern DSLR's CMOS & CCD sensors are highly reflective and sensitive to light and to this bright lens leaving you overexpose images. Use this lens indoors, on overcast days, early morning and late afternoon shots and you'll be astounded by its capabilities. Highly recommended for normal lens shooting. It's not intimidating on streets photography as well thus subjects will appear calm and relax.
+45points
Review 7 for NIKKOR 50mm f/1.2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fabulous 50mm

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
kopi234
Location Indonesia
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
great build quality that's why i love nikkor manual focus lens, and I was surprised with the performance of this lens at F 1.2, its sharp! stopped down from F/2 this lens produces stunning picture quality.
and i love F/ 1.2 aperture its give me extra speed in dim light.
+5points
Review 8 for NIKKOR 50mm f/1.2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Control and Range

PostedJune 25, 2011
Nikkorokin
Location Bangalore, India
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is the most beautiful lens Nikon makes and it is made in Japan. It is ruggedly constructed and immaculately finished.
It is as much fun as a perspective lens and its phenomenal control over depth of field lets you do things no other lens can. Isolating subjects in streetscapes, night shooting and in half-lit indoor situations you do not need a flash at the widest apertures. I use it with a D700 or an FM10 and its performance is always stellar. Portraiture at wide apertures is stunning and the bokeh is very unobtrusive and pleasing. The difference between this and my previous 1.4 and 1.8f 50mm lenses is phenomenal - this is another beast all together. The manual focus is extraordinarily smooth and precise.
+17points
Review 9 for NIKKOR 50mm f/1.2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Lengendary Lens

PostedApril 15, 2011
photonuts
Location CA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than 20 years
Role Semi-professional photographer
This is one of the best normal lens ever built by Nikon. It is one of the sharpest 50mm at f/2.0, sharper than 50mm f1.4 or f/1.8. It does, however, have more distortion compared to the 50mm f1.8 AFD. You need a really good camera with focus accuracy. Nikon D300 will not focus very well at f1.2. Nikon D700 is ok. Very useful in low light situation. It's too bad that they do not offer an autofocus version.
+11points
Review 10 for NIKKOR 50mm f/1.2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Standard Lens

PostedApril 14, 2011
SB
Location Tulsa, OK
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
The 50mm 1.2 MF Nikkor is an ultra-fast standard focal length lens that can produce very sharp images with pleasing out of focus rendition. When used wide-open, images have a unique look that's impossible to obtain with any other lens. Although manual focus, it's easy to focus when used with my Nikon D700. The 50mm 1.2 MF Nikkor is extremely well-built. Nikkor MF lenses are constructed to last a lifetime.
+4points
Review 11 for NIKKOR 50mm f/1.2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Anything you shoot with this looks great!

PostedApril 14, 2011
bry
Location London, Toronto
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
After hearing how sharp the 50mm lenses were I picked up up a 1.8 I found it wasnt that great. I decided to go up to the 1.2 and what a difference! the build is fantastic no cheap plastic, this is a real lens! Its able to capture subtle light tones better than any lens ive seen, well worth the price if you use ith with a full fame body
+12points
Review 12 for NIKKOR 50mm f/1.2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Manual Focus Lens

PostedDecember 31, 2010
Nikon Family Member since 1979
Location Valley Stream, NY
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 20 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bought this lens in 1979, have been using it since then with great results in almost any shooting situation on my old FE & on my D300s once in a while. I think it to be a great all around lens & will not part with it for anything. 31 years of pictures is too long to fit here but I used it for: low light/landscape/seascapes/sports of all kinds/weddings/portraits/kids/animals/air shows & snow storms all with great results ending in irreplaceable memories saved for eternity!!
+17points
Review 13 for NIKKOR 50mm f/1.2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Portrait Lens for Newer Nikon DSLRs!

PostedOctober 25, 2010
BenjaminR
Location Mesa, AZ
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I purchased this lens back in March because I "needed" an f/1.2 lens. I've been eyeing this one for a while. I found it used for a price I could not pass up.
If you're used to shooting AF, it will take a while to get used to this lens. The in-focus indicator (found on modern cameras) does work with this lens and you have to almost totally rely on it. When shooting wide upen, the DoF is so shallow that it is nearly impossible to just eyeball the focus--which is ok. Contrary to one of the previous reviews, I shoot this lens with a D300 and I have had no noticable chromatic aberration but that is probably because it is a newer DSLR with better image processing.
I'm currently taking a portrait/fashion photography class and this is the lens I use 95% of the time as is perfect for what we do. My instructor has even commented about the quality of images coming from this glass. The bokeh (wide-open), contrast and sharpness of this lens (stopped-down) are fantastic. The ONLY other thing I could ask for is AF, but that's only because I've only ever shot AF up until I bought this lens and I've been spoiled.
As for the handling, this appears to be a very solid lens. It's a little heavy for 50mm but that's only because it's got a lot of serious glass inside. The focus ring feels great and is very smooth. I wish the AF lenses felt this good when operating manually. The aperture ring is ok. Since this is an all-manual lens, with aperture increments in 1 stop, it makes it a little difficult to precisely stop down at 1/3 stop increments. I'm sure this isn't an issue for those who are used to shooting with older, all manual lenses, however.
In conclusion, if I had to give up all but one of my lenses, I would probably keep this one. If you could only have one prime, this should be it.
+35points
Review 14 for NIKKOR 50mm f/1.2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mamma Mia

PostedSeptember 26, 2010
a8j2
Location Italy
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens is very close to perfection . .
To be honest, I bought it cause I love 50mm lenses, and always admiring Leica 50mm lenses . . so this one is somehow close to Leica in built quality as it's metallic.
The only drawback is that the focus ring is rubber . . it'll be amazing if it's fully metallic like Leica lenses . .
Image quality is superb . . focusing on 1.2 is difficult sometimes . .
Bokeh, it's a master in it . .
+11points
Review 15 for NIKKOR 50mm f/1.2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Bokeh you can get.

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Fotch
Location Chicagoland and north of the border
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 20 years
Role Semi-professional photographer
I have owned this lens for a while and like it for low light, beautiful Bokeh, hand held candid shots. I use the 1.4 for everyday use.
Originally purchased for my film Nikon's, I also use it on my DSLR, especially for difficult focus and low light shoots. Beets the AF lens by a mile.
+11points
Review 16 for NIKKOR 50mm f/1.2
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sharp images, bright view finder, excellent build

PostedOctober 13, 2011
vish
Location South Bend, IN, USA / Mysore, India
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
very good manual focus lens ever used. Does not focus well at f/1.2 and f/1.4 but I still like the glowing appearance of subject in image at these apertures. I use it both on D300, FM2n and F100. This lens is a build quality paradigm, manual focus is smooth.
+2points
Review 17 for NIKKOR 50mm f/1.2
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Lens on Film

PostedJuly 30, 2010
anorth
Location sydney,Australia
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Professional photographer
Great lens using film and love using with my Nikon FM2 camera, I love using these gears together.
Not recommended on digital cameras due to chromatic aberration,Take advantage of f/1.2 limited depth of field with care
-11points