Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

Nikon Inc. WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter

The WU-1b optional wireless mobile adapter allows you to automatically send great images to your smartphone and even use your smartphone to remotely capture images from your D600 D-SLR/Nikon 1 V2/Nikon 1 J3/Nikon 1 S1. With the easy to use app, now when you can't wait to share that great shot, you don't have to. Share it to your smartphone or tablet in an instant.
Average Customer Rating:
2.097 out of 5
2.1
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 31 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
17
12 out of 31(39%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Review 1 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This dongle works great, but it is a dongle.

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
lightimpressions
Wish this was built into my d610, but works fine with my iphone 4, ipad 2nd gen. and ipad air (w/ the Nikon app.) The small case, and leash helps keep it nearby and convenient. Nikon needs to work more on the app than on any hardware upgrade. Plus cost is very reasonable IMHO.
+4points
Review 2 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wireless Live View on my 10" Screen!

PostedJune 3, 2013
NikkoNikon
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Sure, there's a bit of a delay, but the fact that I can remote view and shoot my DSLR from 15 feet away is amazing! Others may have reported wireless issues, but I haven't had any.
+2points
Review 3 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Wireless adapter horrible packaging

PostedMarch 27, 2013
cr8zyk8t
Location Edmonton, AB
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I really love this adapter but i lost it the first time i had it out and about on my strap in the little plastic holder it came with as the clasp isn't tight enough and it just opened and poof out fell the adapter. So sad now i have to go buy another one for $75 Wish i would of lost the case and not the adapter. be extra careful folks. This works great i use the app on my ipad and i can look through the pics i've taken with other people in a bigger size.
-11points
Review 4 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does the job

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
JHPhoto
Location Massachusetts
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
I agree, this product does work as indicated by the manufacturer. Yes, the functionality is somewhat limited, but it connects easily, stays connected (to an iphone 4) which allows me to focus and fire the camera remotely I shoot raw + jpeg normal, on a D600 and only download the jpegs to the phone. The download speed is fine. This allows me to send off samples quickly and remotely control the camera if necessary (though I prefer to do that via the remote release in most instances).
+5points
Review 5 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great but the software still needs some work

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
BigRed
Location Toronto, ON, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I use this adaptor with my D600 and it works great. I haven't had any of the connection problems mentioned when connecting to my iPad mini. The preview mode is great for viewing a sensitive subject at a distance (small animals, birds etc.) and then taking the shot at just the right moment. I had made a 25' extension for my remote cable but it was still hit & miss whether I captured the event when I couldn't see the subect.
It would be nice if they can add the ability to remotely adust camera settings and hopefully they will continue to enhance the software but functionally it worked great for me.
+4points
Review 6 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice for what it is

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Images by Bob
Location Bloomington, MN, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
For those that rate this device low because it disconnects. The problem isn't the WU-1b or the app. The problem is actually your device. Your device wants a connection to the Internet and since this can't get to the Internet if you have another WiFi network in range that your phone or iPad is setup to connect to it will abandon the WU-1b in favor of the other connection. Remove your other network and it works great. Response time is a little slow but it is fantastic to be able to be able to check focus on the larger screen. It is extremely helpful if you are in a tight space and can't get behind your computer. Being able to touch the screen to select the focus point is quick and easy. Response is a bit slow so this isn't the release mechanism for taking fast pictures of subjects like kids.
+24points
Review 7 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for pole photography

PostedNovember 22, 2012
PanView
Location Sweden
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
I use an iPod attached to the lower section of a 6 meter pole, the D600+W1-b with 16-35 VR on top of the pole, I get perfect connection everytime and shoot elevated photos of property exteriors for estate agents this way. It has worked flawlessly and suits the job perfectly. All I need is remote live view (which is by the way absolutly possible in landscape mode!) and ability to tap to focus anywhere I want. I use fixed aperture of 8 or 11 and no need to change any camera settings for this application.
I would use other means like tethering ti LR for studio shoots not this product. You'd want to be able to change camera settings, Canon's new app with 6D does that.
On the other hand, the same procedure using a W1-a on a D3200 was way to unstable and unreliable, no way to tap-focus on any other point except the image-center.
Highly recommend this for pole photography for real-estate exterior elevated shoots.
-1point
Review 8 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This device work only on iphone 4 with no other wifi configuration

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
JerseyT
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I tried to use iphone 5 and iphone 4. And it only work well with iphone 4 with no other wifi configured. I wish they can make this device to use bluetooth connection that would resolve all the problem everyone is having a problem.
+2points
Review 9 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Just OK

PostedDecember 29, 2012
StrebeWI
Location Sheboygan, WI, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I was hoping I could take pictures directly from the camera and allow users to see the pictures instantly, but that's not really the case unless I want to use my ipad to control the camera. If I use the WMAU app to "view photos" rather than take photos, I have to keep going in and out of the app for the latest pictures to become visible. I think the device has a lot of potential, it's just not there yet. Maybe some updates will allow 1) instant viewing of pictures, without using the "Take photos" option and 2) connection to my MacBook Pro and not just a tablet or phone. Unlike other users, I had an easy time finding the app in the App Store and my connection went very smoothly, I just followed the instructions.
+1point
Review 10 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice tool, a pity facebook upload doesn't work for my jpeg small

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Elise
Age 35-44
Nice tool and you do not need a remote anymore. However, I was not capable to upload my jpeg small pics to facebook. Email and messaging attachement do work.
+2points
Review 11 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Needs some polish

PostedOctober 4, 2012
rasata
Wlan connection is not that great. Lost connection several times.
Software needs quite some polish to get great. No landscape view possible. I want all photos full resolution. And direct tethering after taking a shot from the camera directly.
+4points
Review 12 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Works, but that's pretty much it

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
satinswan
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have a Nikon 1 J3. The WU-1b connects my camera and my tablet, and it takes a picture when I tap the button, but that's it.
There is no "tap to focus" option in any focus setting.
The software ignores manual settings.
The software ignores manual focus.
I knew before purchasing that changes to settings couldn't be made from within the app, but I did expect it that it would use the settings I selected prior to connecting.
I love my camera, but at this point I don't understand why they put a bulb function in the J3 since bulb is more or less unusable without a remote control and the only remote available for it is the WU-1b and its much-to-be-desired software. Being able to use bulb without holding down the button and getting blurry photos was the prime reason I bought the adapter, but the software effectively neuters the adapter for use with this camera.
I cannot recommend this product for use with the Nikon 1 system at this point. If they fix the issue of the software totally ignoring the camera settings, that would change.
+9points
Review 13 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Buggy at best

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
El Nikono
Location Boston
it does work, sort of. probably needs more mature app attention. will not fully quit, disconnects a lot...
-2points
Review 14 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

IOS App needs Work

PostedOctober 31, 2012
PaulK
App is buggy and crashes frequently as you use it. Restarts but it is annoying. Functionality is limited, as described in product description. If the app allowed more camera control this would be worth the cost . As it is, it is an expensive remote with wireless download capability. Raw files can be viewed but mine would not download
+4points
Review 15 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not rely on this to work

PostedJuly 5, 2014
FrankD
Age 25-34
Experience 6-12 months
I have been struggling with this adapter for almost a year and have given up. Lose connection ad distances of less than 1ft. Have tried with multiple devices with the same failure. I would not recommend.
+2points
Review 16 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst. App. Ever.

PostedJune 27, 2014
Big B
Location Abbotsford, BC, Canada
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
Using an iPad 3 on iOS 7.1, this was absolutely terrible. The resolution doesnt fit the screen. The app lags and freezes, it loses connection from the camera at under 6 feet, the download speed of even L-Fine jpgs is about 20 seconds with my D610.
Nikon should be ashamed for putting their quality name on such an underwhelming product.
+1point
Review 17 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The most poor nikon accessory ever, don´t spend your money and time.

PostedApril 5, 2014
CristianTroncoso
The most poor nikon accessory ever
The app is a bad joke, don´t spend your money and time.
0points
Review 18 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Useless

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Johnnie
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is a useless gadget without support for the most popular operating system in the world. What is Nikon thinking, not creating a Windows app?
-2points
Review 19 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Useless waste money

PostedAugust 9, 2013
PLEASEUPDATE
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
Less feature and NO iPHONE 5 resolution support! WHICH is super easy!!! I paid u for about $60 but u give me like $5??? Keep update the app and feature... If u are not ready to launch this device please don't. it's just a few money but more big disappointment... How many people complain this thing but you never respond... so bad u did very nice sharp camera and lens at least
-7points
Review 20 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible

PostedJune 3, 2013
Socrates
Location The Philadelphia part of New Jersey
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have a Nikon-1 V2 with the WU-1b controlled by an Apple iPod. First problem is WiFi distance. If there are no obstructions, I can get perhaps eight feet away but no more. That makes it kind of useless because I intended to use it for wildlife photography.
The second problem was confirmed by Nikon support. I set my camera for shutter priority, fixed ISO and the WU overrides my decision and shoots at program mode, auto-ISO. Tried aperture priority with identical override. Finally tried full manual and fixed ISO and the the pics were taken in program mode, auto-ISO. I contacted Nikon support and they confirmed that this is the way that it's intended to work!
It's too late to get a refund from the retailer so my WU will end up in the trash.
+16points
1 2 next>>