Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

Nikon Inc. WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter

The WU-1b optional wireless mobile adapter allows you to automatically send great images to your smartphone and even use your smartphone to remotely capture images from your D600 D-SLR/Nikon 1 V2/Nikon 1 J3/Nikon 1 S1. With the easy to use app, now when you can't wait to share that great shot, you don't have to. Share it to your smartphone or tablet in an instant.
Average Customer Rating:
2.205 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 39 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
20
15 out of 39(38%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Review 1 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easily connects to tablet and uploads to Photo account.

PostedDecember 22, 2015
Location Nikon user since college in the 70's
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The first time I used it to take photos of granddaughter at hospital. It set up easily to Nexus tablet and D610. I had photos online in minutes. I did this in the hospital using their Wi-Fi. Not the best instructions but easily repeatable.
Four and one half stars for clunky in the way dongle and high battery drain. Next camera I buy will have built in wi-fi
Thought about eye-fi or similar SD card, but chose the dongle approach.
0points
Review 2 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works fantastic!

PostedJune 30, 2015
Location San Diego, CA, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I use this with the Helicon Remote App on my Samsung phone and tablet and it works great. You can change almost every setting, preview shots, save photos to the tablet or camera and more. Easy to setup and the results are awesome!
+2points
Review 3 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This dongle works great, but it is a dongle.

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Wish this was built into my d610, but works fine with my iphone 4, ipad 2nd gen. and ipad air (w/ the Nikon app.) The small case, and leash helps keep it nearby and convenient. Nikon needs to work more on the app than on any hardware upgrade. Plus cost is very reasonable IMHO.
+9points
Review 4 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wireless Live View on my 10" Screen!

PostedJune 3, 2013
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Sure, there's a bit of a delay, but the fact that I can remote view and shoot my DSLR from 15 feet away is amazing! Others may have reported wireless issues, but I haven't had any.
+5points
Review 5 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Helpfull product

PostedJanuary 15, 2016
Location Bowie, MD, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I just brought the Wu-1b a few days ago so that after taking photos I can quickly access them using my Ipad/ Iphone in order to review or share them. I was tired of taking photos and having to wait until I got home to load/edit them and then send them to family or friends. I use this product with the D600.
First let me say, its a pretty helpful tool in doing what I just explained, however let me clarify two issues that I have with it that I misunderstood before purchasing it.
First I was under the impression that once I took a picture with the adapter connected to the camera and the ipad/phone that it would automatically appear on my device in order for me to review. Well that's incorrect. Once you take a photo(s) you must then go into the Nikon App, access the photos via the app and then select the photo you want to review. This was somewhat a disappointment however not a deal breaker.
Secondly, I noticed that once I took a photo and then selected it to view, that the photo was very pixelated whether I viewed it on the iphone or Pad which made me very upset and I started to feel as if I wasted my money on this product. However what I later discovered is that once you take a photo(s), you then have to "select" those photos and then "download" them. Once you download your photo and then review that downloaded photo the pixelated problem is pretty much cleared and it appears to be a very much easier photo on the eyes. This discovery was a kinda a "no brainer" discovery after it was made and it makes sense to me now. Overall it is a good product and so far I enjoy it.
+1point
Review 6 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Wireless adapter horrible packaging

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Location Edmonton, AB
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I really love this adapter but i lost it the first time i had it out and about on my strap in the little plastic holder it came with as the clasp isn't tight enough and it just opened and poof out fell the adapter. So sad now i have to go buy another one for $75 Wish i would of lost the case and not the adapter. be extra careful folks. This works great i use the app on my ipad and i can look through the pics i've taken with other people in a bigger size.
-11points
Review 7 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does the job

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Location Massachusetts
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
I agree, this product does work as indicated by the manufacturer. Yes, the functionality is somewhat limited, but it connects easily, stays connected (to an iphone 4) which allows me to focus and fire the camera remotely I shoot raw + jpeg normal, on a D600 and only download the jpegs to the phone. The download speed is fine. This allows me to send off samples quickly and remotely control the camera if necessary (though I prefer to do that via the remote release in most instances).
+11points
Review 8 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great but the software still needs some work

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Location Toronto, ON, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I use this adaptor with my D600 and it works great. I haven't had any of the connection problems mentioned when connecting to my iPad mini. The preview mode is great for viewing a sensitive subject at a distance (small animals, birds etc.) and then taking the shot at just the right moment. I had made a 25' extension for my remote cable but it was still hit & miss whether I captured the event when I couldn't see the subect.
It would be nice if they can add the ability to remotely adust camera settings and hopefully they will continue to enhance the software but functionally it worked great for me.
+1point
Review 9 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice for what it is

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Location Bloomington, MN, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
For those that rate this device low because it disconnects. The problem isn't the WU-1b or the app. The problem is actually your device. Your device wants a connection to the Internet and since this can't get to the Internet if you have another WiFi network in range that your phone or iPad is setup to connect to it will abandon the WU-1b in favor of the other connection. Remove your other network and it works great. Response time is a little slow but it is fantastic to be able to be able to check focus on the larger screen. It is extremely helpful if you are in a tight space and can't get behind your computer. Being able to touch the screen to select the focus point is quick and easy. Response is a bit slow so this isn't the release mechanism for taking fast pictures of subjects like kids.
+39points
Review 10 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for pole photography

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Location Sweden
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
I use an iPod attached to the lower section of a 6 meter pole, the D600+W1-b with 16-35 VR on top of the pole, I get perfect connection everytime and shoot elevated photos of property exteriors for estate agents this way. It has worked flawlessly and suits the job perfectly. All I need is remote live view (which is by the way absolutly possible in landscape mode!) and ability to tap to focus anywhere I want. I use fixed aperture of 8 or 11 and no need to change any camera settings for this application.
I would use other means like tethering ti LR for studio shoots not this product. You'd want to be able to change camera settings, Canon's new app with 6D does that.
On the other hand, the same procedure using a W1-a on a D3200 was way to unstable and unreliable, no way to tap-focus on any other point except the image-center.
Highly recommend this for pole photography for real-estate exterior elevated shoots.
-11points
Review 11 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This device work only on iphone 4 with no other wifi configuration

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I tried to use iphone 5 and iphone 4. And it only work well with iphone 4 with no other wifi configured. I wish they can make this device to use bluetooth connection that would resolve all the problem everyone is having a problem.
+1point
Review 12 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Just OK

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Location Sheboygan, WI, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I was hoping I could take pictures directly from the camera and allow users to see the pictures instantly, but that's not really the case unless I want to use my ipad to control the camera. If I use the WMAU app to "view photos" rather than take photos, I have to keep going in and out of the app for the latest pictures to become visible. I think the device has a lot of potential, it's just not there yet. Maybe some updates will allow 1) instant viewing of pictures, without using the "Take photos" option and 2) connection to my MacBook Pro and not just a tablet or phone. Unlike other users, I had an easy time finding the app in the App Store and my connection went very smoothly, I just followed the instructions.
+2points
Review 13 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice tool, a pity facebook upload doesn't work for my jpeg small

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Age 35-44
Nice tool and you do not need a remote anymore. However, I was not capable to upload my jpeg small pics to facebook. Email and messaging attachement do work.
+4points
Review 14 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Needs some polish

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Wlan connection is not that great. Lost connection several times.
Software needs quite some polish to get great. No landscape view possible. I want all photos full resolution. And direct tethering after taking a shot from the camera directly.
+3points
Review 15 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

No Windows Phone support

PostedOctober 22, 2015
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Doesn't work on Windows Phone. Come on Nikon, make it available for Windows users.
+1point
Review 16 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

No IPAD Support

PostedApril 26, 2015
Location Northern California
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
System works as advertised for Android connection. There is no iPAD app. There is an iPhone app.... which means Nikon has not kept the app current.
Response from Nikon:By Nikon USA SupportApril 30, 2015
The Nikon Wireless Mobile Utility App (WMU) for iOS is found in the app store under iPhone apps, but is compatible with iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch. Updates are released regularly and the release date of the current version is displayed in the the WMU's Information in the App Store.
+4points
Review 17 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Works, but that's pretty much it

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have a Nikon 1 J3. The WU-1b connects my camera and my tablet, and it takes a picture when I tap the button, but that's it.
There is no "tap to focus" option in any focus setting.
The software ignores manual settings.
The software ignores manual focus.
I knew before purchasing that changes to settings couldn't be made from within the app, but I did expect it that it would use the settings I selected prior to connecting.
I love my camera, but at this point I don't understand why they put a bulb function in the J3 since bulb is more or less unusable without a remote control and the only remote available for it is the WU-1b and its much-to-be-desired software. Being able to use bulb without holding down the button and getting blurry photos was the prime reason I bought the adapter, but the software effectively neuters the adapter for use with this camera.
I cannot recommend this product for use with the Nikon 1 system at this point. If they fix the issue of the software totally ignoring the camera settings, that would change.
+14points
Review 18 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Buggy at best

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Location Boston
it does work, sort of. probably needs more mature app attention. will not fully quit, disconnects a lot...
-1point
Review 19 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

IOS App needs Work

PostedOctober 31, 2012
App is buggy and crashes frequently as you use it. Restarts but it is annoying. Functionality is limited, as described in product description. If the app allowed more camera control this would be worth the cost . As it is, it is an expensive remote with wireless download capability. Raw files can be viewed but mine would not download
+8points
Review 20 for WU-1b Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Save your money unless you like frustration

PostedJanuary 31, 2016
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Completely wasted my time trying to get this to work with my iPhone 5s. It will control the camera in a totally unreliable way and consistently fails to download a picture. Loses the network connection, freezes up, and is very annoying. Pretty much a useless waste of money. I have used it twice in two years and the experience was the same each time.
Response from Nikon:By Nikon Social MediaFebruary 4, 2016
Try switching your smart device to Airplane Mode then turning on ONLY the Wi-fi. This can help to maintain connectivity. If you continue to have trouble please contact Nikon Support: https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an....
0points
1 2 next>>