Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S9500

Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S9500

The COOLPIX S9500 is a low-light camera with built-in Wi-Fi and GPS, maps, Full HD video with stereo sound, 18.1 MP and a 22x zoom.
Average Customer Rating:
3.575 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 40 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
6
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
4
24 out of 40(60%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
69 Questions | 75 Answers
Customer Reviews for COOLPIX S9500
Review 1 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Could be great for traveling

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Marcther
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
I bought this little camera as an addition item to my Nikon's gadget bag because of is wi-fi capability with my Android tablets. I also teach to retirees on travel photography.
The software need's fine tuning fast, as it is not very reliable compared with others I have tried. (Canon, Samsung) The camera itself feels good in your hands and is small enough. Please buy a hardshell case and do not use forced air to clean it as you may get dust inside and on your CCD.
I teach using (4) P7000 and now I want to upgrade to smaller Wi-Fi cameras and tablets for my traveling students. Please Nikon developers, upgrade the software fast if you want to stay in the Wi-Fi small quality camera rating. The zoom is perfect, the body very good but lack dust protection, the battery is the worst part. I use it for bird watching with control from my tablets but battery life is very (very) short in Wi-Fi mode.
I will need 4 more soon and I'm waiting to see what software upgrade is coming, otherwise I will buy some other brand.
+69points
Review 2 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Problem?

PostedMarch 30, 2013
EK
Location Livingston, NJ
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
The camera is great in almost every way. It takes beautiful pictures from very far away in low light, etc... The problem is that the WiFi stops working after a little while. I bought one and had to return it two weeks later because the WiFi stopped working. I exchanged it for another one. Now 3 weeks later the same exact problem happened again. I am hoping the store exchanges it again as it is more than 30 days since the original purchase.
+46points
Review 3 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SO happy I bought a second 9500!

PostedApril 29, 2013
Lash
Location Austin, Tx
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
My wife saw how awesome the photos I took of the band Rush in concert with the 550 zoom. The images are simply amazing from such a small camera at such a long way from the stage. The video look excellent as well. WiFi problems....eeehh so what, wireless is a small matter compared to the quality of the images. Would rather have good wireless on my D800E.
-1point
Review 4 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camera would highly recommend.

PostedMay 9, 2013
Sledguy733
Location Alberta, Canada
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This is a great camera. Compact and shoots pictures and video very clear. Would recommend it to every one. Just check out my video for your self.
+29points
Review 5 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very difficult to see subject in bright sunlight

PostedMay 13, 2013
SAB
Location HB, CA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
So far I really like the camera, however this is my most difficult Coolpix to see your subject in the viewfinder - monitor while in sunshine. My S8200 was my favorite, but the long zoom makes the S9500 better even though it is more difficult to shot pictures outside.
Simply put make the S9500 monitor easier to see in the sun or my like of this camera will fade very rapidly. This was a rather expensive camera to have this big of a flaw!
+25points
Review 6 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Firmware update could make this camera great!

PostedMay 18, 2013
Vinoh
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
In the couple of weeks I've had the camera, I've really enjoyed it. In good light, it takes great pictures with vibrant colors and the flash works very well. The menu system is well designed which provides easy access to all of the camera's functions. I especially like the GPS features and panorama and 3D modes. Of course, the 22x zoom is great.
One big problem however is the cameras operation in even moderately low light situations. There are times when it refuses to focus even in normal indoor lighting especially when the zoom is being used. This prevents even taking a flash photo. It's especially frustrating since it seems to start out with a good focus and then veers away from it when it locks in. I'm hoping this is just a bug that could be fixed in firmware. My son's camera from a competitor works perfectly every time in identical situations.
The omission of an AC adaptor that allows operation of the camera (in addition to charging) is baffling. The cumbersome battery substitute adaptor is a poor alternative to this obvious feature. Not a deal breaker though.
Most importantly, certain basic functions are missing from the firmware. It's as if a marketing guy told the engineers to get rid of every extra item that could confuse a user rather than sensibly tucking them away into a separate area for when the user gains more experience. Here is a list of seemingly simple changes that I hope find their way into a firmware update before I have to decide whether to return the camera:
1. Get rid of the GPS log warning when powering down or at least let the user dismiss it. Waiting 10 seconds before you can put it back in your pocket gets annoying very quickly.
2. Provide basic shutter and aperture priority modes. The camera often makes wrong decisions, especially in dim light, and this would provide a fallback.
3. Provide additional focus modes for infinity (without having to be limited to a landscape scene) and maybe a distance focus control for situations where the automatic modes don't work. This may not be necessary if the engineers can get the low light focusing to work properly.
4. Allow control over how long the preview shows after taking a picture.
5. Allow edited images (zoomed, softened, etc) to be transferred via wifi. The instructions don't say they can't be transferred but they are disabled with an X through them on my iPhone with the Nikon app.
6. Allow full res images to be transferred to a smart phone via wifi.
There are probably more missing basic features but these are the ones I noticed right away. The first three especially are reason enough to return the camera if they are not fixed. It would be a shame for such a great camera to be hobbled by substandard firmware. Since I generally enjoy using the camera, I really hope Nikon is listening and has the technical skills to fix the problems.
+37points
Review 7 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This keeps breaking

PostedMay 28, 2013
Jennifer052275
Location Maryland
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
I received this camera for Mother's Day 2013. I took it back the same day. The lens doesn't close all the way. It looks like a little plastic shutter that closes over the lens. I exchanged it for another camera, and this one looked good, and takes good pics. The same thing happened to this camera, and in the same place. I do not understand why.
+7points
Review 8 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Camera totally died after two weeks

PostedJune 8, 2013
Ridemore
We bought a Coolpix S9500 camera for our daughter who is studying art abroad in Europe this summer. It seemed like the perfect camera for college senior to take abroad. After two weeks and several hundred photos, the camera suddenly will not power up or show any signs of life whatsoever. She's attempted to charge the battery but the camera will still not power up.
I've searched Nikon's web site and there doesn't seem to be any resources or support that speaks to this problem. So this may be a rare event failure. But we are so disappointed. I'm a long-time Nikon enthusiast, but this is causing me to question Nikon's commitment to quality.
+25points
Review 9 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No enfoca bien (se distorciona) a la distancia cuando aplico el zoom

PostedJune 9, 2013
angel
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
El dia 7 de junio compre la camara nikon coolpix s9500 por recomendacion de mi proveedor y al probarla y compararla con mi otra camara de otra marca en la toma de fotos a distancia con el zoom la toma se distorciona y no se puede enfocar correctamente la imagen deseada, mientras que en la otra camara se distinguia la imagen a pesar de tener menos zoom y menos megapixeles, espero poder cambiarla por otra camara si es que problema no se soluciona
+8points
Review 10 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Misleading product description and faulty hardware

PostedJune 9, 2013
Anonymous
Not half an hour after I bought the camera, in my first use. the camera showed a "Lens Error" when I turned it off! I would expect Nikon to do some level of quality testing before sending a camera off to the market! How can this go unnoticed? Unacceptable!
The camera and all the advertisement papers said Wi-Fi. Whatever else that implied, no where was it mentioned that this would only work with an Android smartphone or an Apple phone/tablet. That was an unpleasant surprise if ever there was one.
With the first two disappointments, I have not gone any further with exploring this camera. It is going back to the store tomorrow.
+13points
Review 11 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pictures, but.....

PostedJune 13, 2013
chinacat
Location Colorado
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I like the camera but not the video function. As the lens moves in and out it makes a terrible buzzing noise. It's not noticeable until you go to watch the video and then... it sounds like a buzz saw. I went to the camera shop & they said it is what it is. I looked online and found LOTS of people have the same issue. Lots of potential solutions, none work. So..great stills but don't get this for the video function.
-8points
Review 12 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Remember to register the camera to enable GPS-Geomapping

PostedJune 18, 2013
Redhead
Location Everett, WA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Wonderful camera...I didn't take the time to register my Coolpix S9500 before I snapped 700 photos in 7 countries in Europe. Wasn't I just shocked when I returned home to learn that the geomapping information won't be printed on my photos! Ergo, a memory challenge. The camera is a smaller version of last year's model. It's lighter weight and unnecessary lens cap make it ever so convenient. Great quality photos, too! The "smart portrait" feature is fun. When the subject is smiling with open eyes, the camera can automatically shoot the photo. I tricked a friend and she was in hysterics wondering what was happening when she hadn't touched the shutter-release button. Cheese!
+3points
Review 13 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

nice pictures not reliable performance

PostedAugust 6, 2013
digimommn
camera kept locking up... only way to resolve was to take battery out and put it back in...returning camera....
+5points
Review 14 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality

PostedAugust 16, 2013
jeffypop
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Camera seems easy to use, good zoom capability, megapixels and speed of turning on and shooting photos. Only inconvenience is the pop up flash. Generally I hold the camera with two hands and the left hand fingers rest on top of the flash pop up. Need to be aware of this in taking indoor photos.
+2points
Review 15 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome compact camera

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
korab84
Location Chicago, IL, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
The camera is easy to use and also has lost of photo modes. The optical zoom is also very nice, 22x.
-18points
Review 16 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exellent Camera!

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
AgaC
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I had few of those Nikon cameras in the past (previous models) and comparing to other cameras on the market - this one takes the best pictures ever! I had to exchange this camera, though, it was freezing every 10-20 pictures and the only way to make it work again was to take the battery out and put it back in. Unfortunately. Hopefully this one will work just fine. I love it! Best compact size camera! And great video quality - just like professional video camera: 1080p, full HD movie. Build GPS, WiFi ans 22 x optical zoom makes it more than just a camera :-D
+16points
Review 17 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simplesmente Perfeita

PostedOctober 2, 2013
yeshua2013
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Role Just getting started with photography
Simplesmente perfeita, essa câmera é tudo o que eu preciso, ela tem todos os recursos que eu quero e além de ser compacta.
-10points
Review 18 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

VERY Fragile

PostedOctober 16, 2013
BaltimoreSteve
Location Baltimore, MD, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I really liked the features that the 9500 offered - I replaced my 9100 with this camera to get a longer lens, better resolutioin, and the GPS / Wifi features are excellent.
I had this camera for only 1 month - we took it hiking into Yosemite National Park. The camera took wonderful pictures, until it bumped into a railing and refused to work.
The camera was sent back to Nikon who determined that it was owner damaged, and therefore not elegible for warentee service. It would cost $150 for them to fix it, and $259 for a brand new camera.
This is the 4th Coolpix I've owned, and have been happy with all except this one - it's too fragile for use! If one need to keep the camera cloistered, what's the point??
I'll be going back to the 9100 which seems to have been made more durable.
+8points
Review 19 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing "walk around" camera

PostedOctober 22, 2013
JuleSolo
Location Keen photographer since the age of 6 -
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I'm 66, and have been "Nikon" for just over 50 years. My prime camera is a D5100 (shortly to be a D5300 - would buy the D800 but it's too heavy and I don't need 40 x 60 blowups or make pro movies!
The S9500 is an amazing camera. If you take the time (highly recommended) to really read through the complete manual (on the DVD not the "short" user guide) and practice going through the menus, you have a semi-pro camera that will produce very high quality pictures that you can blow up to 11x14 or even 16x20 (if you got lighting, focus, and exposure spot on). My only issue is a ton of noise on video in low light conditions. You can adjust for exposure and color balance in post, but it can't touch video that has been taken with a larger sensor.
Check out and compare the specs to this and most other Coolpix cameras (at any price). You will see that this is virtually the top of the line.
+13points
Review 20 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great but dead!

PostedNovember 13, 2013
seagirlc
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Purchased new S9500 before a 3-week overseas trip. Great camera, more megapixels, long zoom, etc. Have used Coolpix before & like the way they work. The new camera worked great for 2 weeks & took wonderful pictures which we downloaded on our laptop as we traveled. Suddenly at the Acropolis in Athens, Greece I took several pictures, then it froze. Lens was zoomed out, view screen on, but nothing would work. Would not turn off, zoom in or out, take any pics. Waited for it to time out & turn itself off but it never did. Finally after an hour or so the view screen went dark but the lens stayed out, for the rest of the trip. Very frustrating! Fortunately we were within 90 days of purchase & able to return for another. Since we like the camera & functions, we bit the bullet & got another, same model. Also learned a lesson - when you travel, take your old camera with you as a backup!
+14points
1 2 next>>