Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S9100

Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S9100

Carry your passion for beautiful photos wherever you go! The new NIKON COOLPIX S9100 is as advanced and powerful as it is stylish and compact.
Average Customer Rating:
2.92 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(225 Reviews) 225
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 225 reviews
5 stars
66
4 stars
33
3 stars
22
2 stars
25
1 star
79
110 out of 225(49%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
137 Questions | 179 Answers
Customer Reviews for COOLPIX S9100
Review 121 for COOLPIX S9100
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great Features, Bad Design!

PostedMarch 6, 2011
Anthony
Location Jacksonville, FL
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Nikon proves again and again how they excel at bringing zoom options in a compact design.
Unfortunately there are still design flaws which upset me everytime. When you have a rechargeable battery DO NOT put the connector on the bottom of the camera that makes me have to place the camera on the screen or on the lens in order to charge it.
Also everytime you create a new camera you still have yet to make a Burst (Continuous) Mode that makes a click noise for every shot taken I enjoy that feature in all other competitive companies cameras. I just want to hear CLICK CLICK CLICK CLICK CLICK. Its that easy!!
Besides those 2 flaws Excellent Camera, Love the 18X Digital Zoom!!
+2points
Review 122 for COOLPIX S9100
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Battery goes dead too fast after displayed on monitor

PostedJune 23, 2012
coni9
Location Delancey, N.Y.
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I always had canon camera's but figured the nikon name would be a good try. I actually started using my old canon again, its more reliable and user friendly. The battery on the nikon goes quickly if you take a video, what's up with that? And the camera wasn't cheap either. I guess I'll stick with what works for me and thats Canon. Sorry
0points
Review 123 for COOLPIX S9100
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I read all the great reviews but not for me..

PostedMay 29, 2012
confused
I have only used Canon and love canon however I decided to go with Nikkon this time becuase this camera got great reviews and it was a great deal plus the store manager recommended it. There are a lot of features I do like about it such as the zoom. Canon does not have a camera in this size with this zoom. So big plus on this camera. I also like that I was able to figure out the special effects quite easily. I never quite got it with canon had to go through many menus. However, sometimes if I don't have the flash up the picture comes out blurry some pictures are not taken as I point and shoot it seems like it's a delayed picture that ends up coming out blurry and if I want to shoot a lot of images back to back I get blurry images as well I don't know if it's to slow. I'm not technologically savvy so maybe there's something I'm missing or have not adjusted but I'm not all that thrilled about that. I've missed many great moments because of this camera and waiting for it to be ready to take the shot.
0points
Review 124 for COOLPIX S9100
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Freezes

PostedMay 23, 2012
MrJr
Location Georgia
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Camera freezes often. I have to remove the battery to reset and turn on again only to have it to freeze again will not allow me to turn off or any thing until I remove and replace the battery again.
+2points
Review 125 for COOLPIX S9100
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

An "Okay" Camera.

PostedFebruary 18, 2012
NikonNikon
Location Ohio, USA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
i'm sorry, but this product is just plain horrible. I only like the flash with the pictures and the HD video. Everything else, no, just, no.
-2points
Review 126 for COOLPIX S9100
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bad indoor picture quality

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Ronnie
Indoor picture quality is bad, take 2 photos, same object, without doing anything different and you will get 2 different quality photo's. If your lucky 1 might be usable. I would say 75% of my indoor photos are bad. The outdoor / daytime photo quality is pretty good .
+1point
Review 127 for COOLPIX S9100
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

PostedDecember 29, 2011
nikon1
Location NY
Video format is .MOV. All my other videos are AVI. Mov format is Quicktime and is problematic on my PC. Photos not as clear as my 7.0 Mp
0points
Review 128 for COOLPIX S9100
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disapointed

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Family man
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I bought this camera to replace my aging HP camera. I decided to go with the Nikon because of their reputation. While this camera will suit my needs I am disappointed in the quality of the pictures. My HP has sharper images and that camera was a cheap point and shoot. I would expect that with this set on auto that the images would be at least as good as my HP. I haven't messed with all the settings as of yet to see if I can sharpen the images we take. Not being a professional photographer the settings are confusing. I hope that I can figure this out to get the images to our satisfaction. The video feature on this camera is how ever by far better than my HP. We were thinking about getting one of those small video cameras but this will do just fine. If you are looking for a simple high quality point and shoot camera this isn't it.
+5points
Review 129 for COOLPIX S9100
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Blurry pictures

PostedDecember 25, 2011
jajacobs
Location MN
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
No matter how steady you are the pics turn out blurry then the next one fine. Will focus in on an object great and very clear.
-2points
Review 130 for COOLPIX S9100
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

inconsistant image quality

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Mike
Location Seattle
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I replaced my Canon SD750 with the S9100 and I will reach for my old Canon more often. I can't rely on the image quality with the S9100 when the pictures count. When I use the Nikon I am messing with settings and the flash and I miss monments I wanted to capture. I really wish this camera would pop the flash up when it senses it needs more light and the user can override the flash when necessary. I would rather have a clear picture overexposed than a dark, blury unusalbe photo. This camera takes great outdoor/landscape natural light photos. Indoors, sports/motion/kids etc tend to always come out blury no matter what setting I choose.
+6points
Review 131 for COOLPIX S9100
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

HORRID

PostedDecember 5, 2011
shalynbacon
Location el paso tx
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Worked great until it broke 6 weeks after puchasing. It ruined all my photos I took of our family before my husband deployed.
+1point
Review 132 for COOLPIX S9100
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

FROZEN

PostedDecember 4, 2011
dewatobay
Location Seattle, WA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
When it worked, I got great pictures, excellent telephoto for a compact camera. I guess we're fortunate, ours worked for about six months before it just FROZE! Reading all the reviews here I see Nikon could care less. I'll send for repair - but in the meantime no camera! No Nikon in the future either.
+5points
Review 133 for COOLPIX S9100
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor autofocusing

PostedDecember 2, 2011
JC50
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
There are many things to like about this camera and many things that are critical to good performance.
One deal breaker is the autofocus. Way too fussy and frequently will not focus when zoomed in on an object. Have tried it in program and both scene modes and all too often it fails. That would be tolerable if you are only taking photos of stationary objects but trying to capture animals or moving objects you often simply lose the opportunity.
Have used lots of different compact cameras over the years and this is the first time I have run into this problem.
+8points
Review 134 for COOLPIX S9100
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great camera till it suddenly stopped working

PostedNovember 28, 2011
rlm
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Camera is 6 months old. It worked great till is suddenly froze. Restart, recharge to no avail. Searched faq's, found one that said it needed to be sent to factory with the exact same issues ours has. Sent note to repair folks yesterday, waiting for response.
+6points
Review 135 for COOLPIX S9100
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not up to nikon's standard

PostedNovember 7, 2011
disapppointedmpls
Location minneapolis
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
I have been a longtime fan and user of Nikon products. I use all Nikon equipent for my photography business. I wanted something small and light to take with me when i'm not working and dont want to haul around a heavy pro camera. this coolpix does take beautiful pictures and nice hd video. it was always very glitchy from the beginning and slow to respond. It would often freeze the first time I pressed the trigger to focus. this problem began happening more and more until finally all the camera will do is turn on. The battery has to be removed to turn it off. Sent it off for repair after having it only 5 months. Not up to the quality of my other Nikon equipment.
+6points
Review 136 for COOLPIX S9100
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Do not recommend this camera!

PostedNovember 1, 2011
JJ
Location San Diego, CA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Went with my heart and bought a Nikon over a Canon. I am very disappointed to say that this camera takes blurry shots, very poor shots in evening scenes with and without the flash. Tried to use it at a family wedding and it was a disaster. Would not recommend this camera to anyone and now I am actually stuck with it as the store will not let me return or exchange and it has only been a month.
0points
Review 137 for COOLPIX S9100
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Juries Out! Camera in for Service after 1 Use!

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Tonyck
Location Berlin. NJ
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Sorry, juries out ! As we speak my S9100 is at Nikon service after just one significant use. After just a few practice photos, I brought our new S9100 to Italy on our Oct. '11 vacation. About 2/3 into the trip, the camera failed us without any accidents or damage on our end. It simply locked itself into a "lens Error !" mode and no more photos could be taken, no matter what I tried. A quick search on Google showed that this may be a bigger issue than just me. I found dozens of related issues online with other S9100 owners, with no real answers.
The good news is, I was able to download the existing photos on the camera. The other good news is we were with friends who shared their photos. The frustrating and good news was, our existing Nikon photos were obviously superior. I hope this is not a permanent issue and is fixed soon. I love the camera functions and photo quality. I hope I get back a dependable camera. I'd love to change my review.
Tonyck
+2points
Review 138 for COOLPIX S9100
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great features, but quit working!

PostedOctober 17, 2011
Jim
Location Singapore, currently
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Bought for a trip to SE Asia, but camera gradually slowed shutter release times, then quit altogether. Video still works. I downloaded the manual to have it with me, but there was no help for the problem. I will return to Nikon when I return.
+1point
Review 139 for COOLPIX S9100
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great pictures but

PostedSeptember 26, 2011
pete
Location Staten Island NY.
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
The pictures I have taken were great but the flash is not automatic ,so if you do not turn it on when needed the pictures are blurry.
0points
Review 140 for COOLPIX S9100
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not too happy :(

PostedAugust 29, 2011
bummediswitched
Location long beach, ca
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I was so excited to get my nikon coolpix 9100 and take it as my back-up camera on a big trip and to take on hikes so I didn't have to carry my big SLR. Unfortunately, the camera did not work - it became intermittent, the lens got stuck and it wouldn't shut off unless I removed the battery. Needless to say, i was very unhappy and bummed to have missed so many photo ops. I used it a handful of times before I left (maybe three) and had zero problems. Now, it's been at Nikon for repair for three weeks already waiting for parts. I asked if they would just give me another one for another upcoming trip but they declined. Btw, my old Canon Elph has never failed me and I wish I had just stuck with that brand. One positive note, the color quality of my successful nikon photos was excellent and the zoom lens did not disappoint for long shots. Just not too happy about a camera breaking down after three uses.
0points
<<prev 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... 12 next>>