Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S80

Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S80

High style meets high tech with the ultra-slim, Touch Control Nikon COOLPIX S80, in a variety of colors. The 14.1-megapixel S80 features a 5x Wide Zoom-NIKKOR ED glass lens, and HD (720p) stereo sound movie recording.
Average Customer Rating:
3.301 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 83 reviews
5 stars
29
4 stars
15
3 stars
11
2 stars
8
1 star
20
50 out of 83(60%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for COOLPIX S80
Review 1 for COOLPIX S80
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nikon Heaven

PostedOctober 29, 2012
TLC
Location Angel Fire, NM, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
My wife has one and loves it. I just got one a week ago and can't put it down. With the touch screen programing and editing capability I find it more fun than a roller coaster! I have several Nikons to include a D5000 and have had Nikons since 1975.
This is one fun camera!
0points
Review 2 for COOLPIX S80
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It is s-o-o user friendly!

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Nikon S80
Location Tupelo,Ms
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
This camara is a must have the touch screen works exactly like a touch screen phone. And fun to operate.
+2points
Review 3 for COOLPIX S80
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Camera!

PostedAugust 22, 2011
Ryan
Location Iowa City, IA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I should start by saying that I am typically a slave to customer reviews. I spontaneously bought this camera without checking the reviews and have owned it for over 7 months. I cannot say a bad thing about this camera. Very quick to power on (just slide it open), love the internal lens, and it takes pictures very fast. Great camera for going out, fits perfectly in any pocket. I bought an Invisible Shield (about $20) for an iPod touch and sized it to fit the touchscreen, and it works perfectly. I haven't had any battery issues, and I take pictures almost every week. The settings and features are amazing; aside from making my friends envious (everyone wants to use it, the pen feature is really fun) I love this camera.
-1point
Review 4 for COOLPIX S80
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, small flaw

PostedJuly 29, 2011
izzi
Location whatevs
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I would actually give this 4 1/2 stars, but i cant, so i gave it 5. I love this camera, it is sleek and modern and good looking. i dont mind having the touch screen because i am careful with it so it wont break. I took it on my vacation recently and was very pleased on how the pictures were turning out: crisp, clear, bright. But when I uploaded them to my computer, they lost their pzazz. Most of them still looked gorgeous, but a few looked fuzzy from blowing up the picture. I don't know if thats a problem possible to fix or not. it could have been my personal flaw, i forgot my tripod so the pictures were not as steady as usual. overall, though, a GREAT camera and i recommend to anyone. (also, i love the editing features!)
+1point
Review 5 for COOLPIX S80
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camera so far.

PostedJuly 18, 2011
Sue
Location Los Angeles, CA.
Age 55-65
Experience Less than a month
I've only used the camera a few times on a recent vacation, but was very impressed. The only complaints I have to date are that the case turns the lens sliding cover black and I don't seem to be able to clean it. My camera is red and looks dirty already. I am also very disappointed that I cannot purchase a complete manual for it so that I can learn the details at my leisure. It is such a powerful camera with lots of great capabilities. I have to download over 200 pages to my computer and/or print it. Otherwise, so far so good!
-5points
Review 6 for COOLPIX S80
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice compact

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Camera fan
Location Stamford, CT
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I replaced a Sony 8MP camera with touchscreen I've had for several years, and this new one is a big improvement. The pics are noticeably better, it's lighter and the touchscreen is more responsive. Overall I am very happy.
+2points
Review 7 for COOLPIX S80
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product is better than I expected!

PostedJuly 6, 2011
Tad
Location Houston, MO
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My name is Tad and I am 14 years old and for my Birthday (May 16) my mom got my this camera and it has terrific quality and I really have gotten the hang of the camera, only thing that is disadvantage for me is the stabilization. I seem to have a slight problem with that but maybe I just don't have the camera set at the right settings but the camera has great scene modes and even though you can't control the "Dept Of Field" with this camera I find tricks to control it like standing far away and zooming in. It is light weight and very slim and love the touch screen. Also my friends at school are very jealous of my camera and wish that they would have gone with Nikon.
+2points
Review 8 for COOLPIX S80
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

compact and easy to use

PostedJune 1, 2011
lazylakepics
Location Walkersville, Maryland
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
the compact size, large 3" viewer, and ease of the on screen functions makes this a neat camera. With the 14+ megapixels you get crisp sharp picture!
My wife & I are very satisfied. Nice going.
+3points
Review 9 for COOLPIX S80
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome pics and screen display

PostedJune 1, 2011
thalia
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
the nikon s80 is an awesome camera. I love the fact that the screen has a clean and crisp picture. the screen is brighter. It is easy to handle and is lite weight. this is just an overall awesome camera
0points
Review 10 for COOLPIX S80
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Camera

PostedMay 21, 2011
Mac
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
For a great camera that fits in your shirt pocket this is it. Takes great pictures and is very functional. This camera has a large display with a touch screen. I was a little concerned about my fingers causing the touch screen to do things when not wanted; however, that has not been a problem.
+2points
Review 11 for COOLPIX S80
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

coolpix s80

PostedMay 5, 2011
Angilenny
Location Houston, Tx
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
i have a coolpix s7 and this S80 is much more easier to look and shoot pictures. plus its touch and play not bad....very happy.
-3points
Review 12 for COOLPIX S80
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 16, 2011
NothinbutNikon
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The best quick shot camera have ever bought.The touch screen is very responsive. The picture quality is amazing. The flash is the best i have ever seen on a small camera.
+2points
Review 13 for COOLPIX S80
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 15, 2011
dun en snel
Location Miami
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
I like this camera, as it is small, thin and have all features ready to be used and the manual give you a good idea what you can do with this camera
-1point
Review 14 for COOLPIX S80
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedApril 14, 2011
Nikon Fan
Location Los Angeles, CA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I got my Nikon Coolpix S80 fairly recently.
So far, I have not experienced any downside to the camera.
I love the compact size. It takes clear pictures, even from a moving car.
This camera has many nice features, especially considering it's size.
All in all, it's a great camera!
+2points
Review 15 for COOLPIX S80
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful little pocket/purse camera: video & stil

PostedApril 14, 2011
BrainScientist
Location Eugene, Oregon
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
The S80 is perfectly sized for a pocket or a purse, and yieldsbgood images in all light settings. The settings are really simple, and the touch screen interface pretty user-friendly. Video quality at the HD setting is very good in daylight, and acceptable indoors. Ivebusedbit to record a variety show on stage. The light varied a lot, but the camera was able to handle it. Video recordings are limired to 30 seconds at a time, but since the HD file sizes are about FB for every 30 min, it's peobablybfor the best. The video records while you zoom in and out, and the noise is minimal. Stereo microphones do end excellent job of maintaining the ambience. I've recorded for 40 min, with about 30 photos before the low battery light came on, which is quite good by my limited experience with pocket cameras. Output video is pretty good using the supplied video cable, but for best effect, get a HDMI-miniHDMI cable.
The still camera controls are very simple. If you love twiddling with settings, this is nor the camera for you. Leave it on auto,and it does a food job of recognizing situations, and changes settings appropriately. Color balance is great, and the auto focus is pretty accurate. In darker conditions, a focus assist lamp comes on to help the camera focus. Flash is acceptable for a camera this size. I love the picture quality and Tue handling.
Most compact cameras do a great job for family pics, and you should primarily be looking at the ease of handling and convenience, rather than trying tobcheck out pictures at maximum magnification. We've all got terrific results with 3 and 5 megapixel cameras just a few years ago. Rhis camera's image size and quality is way beyond what is usually required. Go for the camera you will actually use the most. My wife always has it in her purse, and it's become our go to tool for daily use, and the SLR can now be used when it is really needed: on a job!
Bought from Costco; used for 6 weeks.
-3points
Review 16 for COOLPIX S80
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent camera

PostedApril 14, 2011
nikon beginner
Location North Bend, Oregon
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
This camera is what i thought it would be. Real good detail when i can hold it still, but do pretty good most of the time. The ease of use is nice. i like the touch screen the best. I would rceommend this camera to anyone .
0points
Review 17 for COOLPIX S80
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My red coolpix.

PostedMarch 31, 2011
GAGAFORPICTURES♥
I love this camera so , Nikon is amazing . One problem I go to slide it so it can go off and it wont turn off anymore . In order for it to turn off I have to now take the battery out -_- .. other than that , I love Nikon.
0points
Review 18 for COOLPIX S80
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love the camera

PostedMarch 9, 2011
Zavi
Location Northern California
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I'm just getting all the literature on the camera and learning all the features. Lovin' it.
-5points
Review 19 for COOLPIX S80
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Camera!

PostedFebruary 13, 2011
CW
Location FL
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
I've had this camera for a couple of weeks and it has been working great! I have two other Nikons and love them! One is a 35mm SLR N80 and the other is a DSLR D60. Hoping to pickup a D7000 soon! ;) On the S80 I have had no problems. The response time on the touch screen is sometimes a little delayed but no big deal. Those of you that are having issues I would suggest going through the user manual. The one person that complained about the position the SD card is put in... there is a diagram right next to the slot. You may need some glasses.
+5points
Review 20 for COOLPIX S80
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This camera is packed with big camera functions

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
CoastalPix
Location Lincoln County Oegon Coast
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I received this as a gift not expecting it had the functions within to do a decent job but I got the surprise when I downloaded the manual! Lots if similar 'Nikon' items which is good the sensor does a fine job and the small lens performs much better than I expected. I have photos that others cannot tell were not taken with my DLSRs. I can pack this to places where I cannot with my larger systems. Three drawbacks are the placement of the shutter release. It makes holding the camera difficult, the second is the on screen shutter release that can’t be turned off permanently. It gets in the way too often and takes photos when you don’t want them. The last item is not having a remote wireless shutter.
+7points
1 2 3 4 5 next>>