Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S6200

Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S6200

The Nikon COOLPIX S6200 Compact Digital Camera a small pocket sized point and shoot camera with versatility, quality, and style. 10x zoom & 16mp will allow you to capture every moment.
Average Customer Rating:
3.87 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 77 reviews
5 stars
43
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
14
54 out of 77(70%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
38 Questions | 48 Answers
Customer Reviews for COOLPIX S6200
Review 61 for COOLPIX S6200
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Mediocre

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Foodwriter
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I bought this camera to replace a dead Kodak pocket model that I used to carry with me at all times. The price was good, it was on sale, and I ilked the 16.2 MP. Under the right circumstances it does perform well, unfortunately the pictures are inconsistent with most of them leaning towards the bad.
+4points
Review 62 for COOLPIX S6200
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Thought I would love it!

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Pacs girl
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Long story short ... I LOVE taking pics and had a point and shoot that was falling apart. So I got this as a gift.
In early December. While learning the new camera I took several pics and video's. But since the holidays I had not downloaded to the computer. Finally got that done and all the video's were jerky. After lots of trouble shooting we finally sent it back to Nikon for repair.
So I guess the jury is out for now. We will see what becomes of this.... I really want this camera to work because it is a step up from my old one.
On a positive note Nikon has been helpful and it's still under warranty.
0points
Review 63 for COOLPIX S6200
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

does not interface with my mac or pc

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
santas helper
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
good camera so far that is easy to use and takes great pic's.
If I had know that how difficult it was to get my computer to read the camera I would have bought something else.
-3points
Review 64 for COOLPIX S6200
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Decent Camera While It Worked

PostedMay 22, 2014
Caleb
Location Charlotte, NC
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
This was a pretty good camera. Focus is pretty average for speed and clarity but sometimes takes a bit of effort to get the camera to focus on the subject. Still, I enjoyed shooting with this camera and got some really great shots during a road trip. It was portable, kept charge well, and had a decent response time. The display is of good quality and makes it easy to analyze your shots quickly.
Then it died. The battery ran low, and I plugged it in to recharge. Instead, the light flashed rapidly indicating it was in data transfer mode rather than charging. I attempted to troubleshoot the issue but was unsuccessful. I plugged the camera's usb cable into the provided wall adapter, assuming this would resolve the issue. Instead, the camera proceeded to attempt data transfer with the electrical grid.
After taking all possible troubleshooting steps, I switched to the spare (3rd party) battery that Best Buy had bundled with the camera as the OEM battery was entirely drained. I once again attempted to troubleshoot, including attempting to eject the device from Windows, disabling the USB port it was connected to (which the camera didn't seem to mind - it continued to flash the data light rapidly), and briefly tried another USB cable I had on hand.
Unfortunately, do to various circumstances, I did not have a chance to address this issue during the warranty period - and there's no way I'm paying more for a camera that worked for such a short time.
0points
Review 65 for COOLPIX S6200
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
broken
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have had this camera for less than a year and now it wont even turn on. I had the battery tested and they confirmed the battery was fine, its the camera. I kept this camera in a case, it was never dropped and never got wet. I have no idea why it wont rurn on anymore. Not happy!!
+3points
Review 66 for COOLPIX S6200
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible camera,Worse service and support !!

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Dano
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I purchased my s6200 in May of 2012.I used it until October. I did not get many good pictures.Most were blured and unuseable.I even used a tripod and timer for self portrat so I would not be touching the camera when the picture was being taken. In Oct. the LCD screen stopped showing 1/2 of the image.I shipped the camera back to Nikon for repairs,but they would not honor the warranty and wanted over 100 .00 for repairs.I refused the repairs and told them to send it back to me.It is now Janurary of 2013 and I still donot have my camera and Nikon does not know where it is.
-1point
Review 67 for COOLPIX S6200
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not too good!

PostedDecember 10, 2012
3funpeople
Location Marianna, FL
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I was so excited to get my new camera! Upon using the camera, I learned that the camera was extremely slow to progress to the next photo. There is a lot of lag time between each picture. Focus time is extremely long, if it focuses! My lens cover quit opening completely within the first six months, and now my lens is scratched! I have only had this camera for 1 year! I really had hoped for my first compact Nikon to be of better quality! So disappointed!
+1point
Review 68 for COOLPIX S6200
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed with this camera

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Swede
Location Schaumburg, IL, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
This is a disappointing camera. The mode dial for scene selection and rotary multi-selector did not work on this camera. I had to send it to Nikon to repair it. Wolf camera sold me the camera and closed the store so they would not exchange the defective camera. The Flash is not bright at all. Pictures are still dark. Back lighting feature does not work well.
0points
Review 69 for COOLPIX S6200
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Total waste of money

PostedAugust 16, 2012
toad
Lasted about 3 months. When needed to use it wouldnot power up
+1point
Review 70 for COOLPIX S6200
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointing product from Nikon

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Manny
Location Cary, NC, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bought Nikon Coolpix S6200 from Best Buy. The picture quality is good, but within a couple of months the zoom control went bad and now the Zoom in doesn't stop till it goes all the way. It's been very hard to frame the pictures. Also, the button to click pictures is not easy to use and most of the times I miss the moments I want to capture. I bought this camera based on my previous experience with Nikon and have been very disappointed.
+1point
Review 71 for COOLPIX S6200
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

was great camera for about six month

PostedJuly 10, 2012
krypton
Location Indiana, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This camera was great for six months, took great pictures, but while on vacation, notice that the pictures were blurry, and red, called for assistance reset everything still the same thing. have sent to back for repairs. had to go buy another camera to finish vacation picutres.
+1point
Review 72 for COOLPIX S6200
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This is not the camera for me, I am soooo disappointed!

PostedJune 19, 2012
Unhappy
Location Calgary, AB, Canada
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have had a Canon and was told this was equivalent or better. The picture recover is very slow so you miss shots and the camera never stated when the card was full and I missed a lot of special moments because of this. The battery charger that comes with it is a pain. You have to hook it up through the actual camera. You can't just take the battery out and plug into an outlet.
The photos were good but I didn't like the stabilization. My old Canon is a better camera.
+10points
Review 73 for COOLPIX S6200
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Overhyped

PostedApril 30, 2012
Lisky
Location Chicago Suburbs IL, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Owned less than four months and have power issues. Had to mail back for service.
+2points
Review 74 for COOLPIX S6200
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

S6200 Problems

PostedApril 10, 2012
No Nikon
My Nikon S6200 didn't work well from the beginning. Within three months, it quit working. I have now sent it to be serviced.
+2points
Review 75 for COOLPIX S6200
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

You may not like my review

PostedMarch 29, 2012
PHOTOMAT
Location New England
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
My first Nikon and not very happy with it. I purchased it in January, took 4 pictures and the next time I went to use it the Battery was exhaused and would not charge (tried two times). As of tomorrow you have my camera to check out - don't know if it is the battery or the camera that is defective. (COST ME $9.00 TO RETURN IT TO YOU) Will know more after I have had a chance to use it. I DO NOT LIKE NOT HAVING AN INSTRUCTION MANUAL.
+2points
Review 76 for COOLPIX S6200
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not what it is cracked up to be.

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Teacher
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
My new Nikon S6200 only worked one time before the viewing screen stopped working. The one time I did use the Nikon S6200 I found it slow. It seemed to take forever for the picture to take after pressing the shutter button. This problem prevented me from getting the shot I wanted. I felt that the web site for returning the camera to Nikon to see if it can be repaired was not well set up. It did not even include the Coolpix S6200 as an option for the camera I wanted to have fixed.
+1point
Review 77 for COOLPIX S6200
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

worst camera ever

PostedNovember 17, 2011
PJ
Location Penfield, NY
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I received this camera as a gift and am sorry I ever opened the box. Auto focus should focus automatically this dose not, out of 20 pictures I took with this camera 3 were recognizable but not very clear the rest were nothing but blurs. You have to go to the menu and pick just what someone is doing (i.e. moving, partying,at the beach, in the snow,sports) you cannot just auto focus and take a picture. I also cannot get the pictures download from the camera to the computer I have to take out the SD card and put it into my printer to retrieve them. I think the camera shop that talked my husband into this thing was just trying to unload it. I will tell anyone who asked to stay away from this one.
-20points
<<prev 1 2 3 4