Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S6100

Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S6100

Picture everyday life filled with brilliant images with the Nikon COOLPIX S6100. It's highly powerful and portable making it the perfect companion for incredible shots anywhere life takes you.
Average Customer Rating:
3.787 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(122 Reviews) 122
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 122 reviews
5 stars
60
4 stars
23
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
19
89 out of 122(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
107 Questions | 122 Answers
Customer Reviews for COOLPIX S6100
Review 1 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelente cámara!!!!

PostedJune 2, 2013
Location Coatzacoalcos, VER, México
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
En lo personal me encanta esta marca, tiene equipos muy fácil de usar, en lo particular la cam que tengo me super gustó, no cambiaría de marca.
+2points
Review 2 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelente!

PostedMay 23, 2012
Location México
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
acabo de comprar la cámara, y a pesar de que es una compacta de las de menos rango de la gama 6000 puedo decir que es increíble, enserio, hace macros impresionantes, es de facil uso, el asistente de panorama, si bien necesita un poco de trabajo extra, me ha regalado panoramas que no se igualan en el de barrido sin cortes o malos ajustes, la pantalla touch es medio insensible, pero aun así lo es suficiente para darle un uso muy ágil, ademas de que hace ajustes en las fotos para no perder la calidad anexare las fotografías mas ejemplificativas
+5points
Review 3 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelente

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Location Tlalnepantla, Estado de Mexico.
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Esta camara es excelente, la calidad impresionante y la nitide inmejorable, quiza el touch un poco insensible tomando en cuenta el de iPhone, fuera de eso la mejor compra que pude haber hecho y ademas a un exelente precio en Palacio de Hierro. 1000% recomendable esta camara. Anexo una prueba rapidisima que hice con los macros.
+12points
Review 4 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

----> Nice camera

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have a Nikon P50 (8.1 megapixel) which takes good pictures. After 2 years with it, wanted to buy something better & bought Nikon S6100. I take pictures once in a while & last week went to Mèxico city, of course it was the perfect time to test the camera.
*PROS
-16 MEGAPIXEL: photos looks great in all light conditions
-Touch screen(lcd) with stylus: very easy to use. Nice feature, you take pics. with one touch
-Lots of options: Retouch, paint, motion detection, vibration & wind noise reduction,etc.
-HDMI port & small size
-Price: US$183.- (Mèxico)
-Li-ion battery & USB(charger): No more batteries!!
CONS:
-Only 720p video: Well, it does the job for me. 720p is HD & looks very good. Can`t complain. It`s a camera, not a video-camera. For "more money" you get the S6200 (Full HD) with stereo sound
-Lens(x7): For me it`s perfect, but, once again, if you want more , get the S6200(x10)
I`m happy & will buy Nikon in the future without a doubt ! We all know that Nikon (along with "C---N") is one of the best camera brand in the world. Others ? A joke!
+11points
Review 5 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for what I wanted~

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I bought this camera to take to a convention where I knew there would be terrible light and where I knew that there would be ALOT of pictures to take (anime conventions are like that), so I knew I would need a high ISO level. This camera was on sale and so I thought I would buy it. When I came home I played with it A TONNE! and I was so happy with what I was seeing, in the bad lighting of my home sweet home I got perfect pictures! It takes portraits gorgeously and it takes STUNNING close up still-lives (I took some pictures of some flowers I got for valentines day and they are amazing!). I have been bragging about this camera to EVERY one I know!
+1point
Review 6 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camera

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Location Grand Saline Texas
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
I purchased this camera to have one smaller than the full sized one I have. It fits in my shirt pocket and takes great pictures. It is so easy to use that I have not even had to use the instructions. And I donot have to buy a camcorder. This thing takes better video than my old camcorder and is easier to use. I see that many people have had out of focus pictures? Most all digital cameras you need to be still when taking pictures. I purchased mine online and got a bunch or extras for a great price. Great job Nikon!
+7points
Review 7 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FABULOUS CAMERA!

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got my Nikon for Christmas. I'd been begging for one for years. I got a Nikon 4 years ago [it was the cheapest one they had] and it took wonderful pictures, but the lens got messed up a week after I got it. I was so excited when I got this one, and have not been disappointed. It's taken some really amazing pictures so far, and the videos are of excellent quality. I would HIGHLY recommend this camera to ANYONE.
+6points
Review 8 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Camera

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Location USA
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have had the camera for about a year now and it is great. The only thing that isn't so good is the nighttime pictures. When you try to take nighttime pictures there is a lot of noise. I also tried to take the camera skiing and it froze and fogged up but the pictures still looked pretty good. I recently dropped the camera and the lens broke and it would not work so i hit it and it started working again. Now the camera focuses pretty slow. I will add more pictures in another comment...
+6points
Review 9 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great! I'd recommed to anyone!

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I LOVE this camera! The colors are vibrant and amazing, with some coming out even better than they are in reality. It has great filter effects, including:
*Selective Color
*FishEye
*Miniature
*Cross Screen
(as well as black & white, sepia, and more.)
The best of the effects has to be the glamour retouch. It makes your face look fantastic!
It takes awesome pictures from afar.
I'd recommend this camera to anyone who wants great quality photos, and likes to play around with how they look.
+10points
Review 10 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my CoolPix

PostedNovember 14, 2011
Location Virginia Beach , Virginia
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have owned my CoolPix for six months now. I don't leave home without it, and have gotten great shots because of this.
Night time, daytime, sunny or rainy days it all comes out great!! It is a "dummy proof" camera and adjusts much better and quicker than my own eyes can work!!
Highly recommend for anyone, any age!!! :)
+12points
Review 11 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love how easy to used

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Location nj
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
very nice crisp pictures who knew fom connon camera to a nikon and I love it
0points
Review 12 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent camera for its price.

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Location Michigan
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I am not an experienced photographer but want to be able to get good macros of jewelry that I make, plants, birds, printed material - whatever. I also need to be able to take the usual outdoors pictures of my pets and landscapes. This camera does it all and does it very well.
Photo resolution and color rendition is excellent. There are numerous settings to get just the picture you want, including streaming video.
The touch screen allows easy access to menus and scrolling of images stored on the camera. Transfer to my computer is a snap with the included software and cables.
I would highly recommend this camera model to anyone.
+4points
Review 13 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great so far

PostedAugust 29, 2011
Location North riverside Il.
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
The camera is great I love it! It is easy to use it takes great photos! You can touch the screen and see the picturesyou justtook and see them clearly. The video camera is fast and easy to use!
+4points
Review 14 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lots of Camera for the Money

PostedAugust 23, 2011
Location San Jose, CA
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is my 3rd and best CoolPix camera. It is easy to use and produces fantastic results for casual photography. The 7x zoom is also perfect. Indoor low-light shots also come out nice without the flash (best with a mini-tripod).
My S6100 worked for a couple of weeks and then the battery charger failed. Nikon made it easy to return it for warranty repair. I suspect my failure is not typical based on my experience with Nikon.
+4points
Review 15 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ease of use

PostedAugust 9, 2011
Location Dexter, MI
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
As a hiker I found this camera very easy to use on the trail. I could remove it from a pocket with one hand, power up, adjust zoom and snap a great view with only one hand. I took over a hundred photos with my backpack on and a treking pole in one hand on my way up Mt. Whitney early this summer. This is a great camera outdoorsman and novice photographer.
+3points
Review 16 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fantastic, dont listen to the bad reviews.

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Location Ohio
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
I just got this camera as a graduation gift. I have a larger SLR but I needed a small point & shoot to carry around when I didn't want to lug the bigger one around.
This camera is just as great as my bigger Nikon Digital SLR. The pictures are almost exact. Same great features too. To the reviewees that say the flash is too bright...get sunglasses? The flash has a normal brightness. It won't blind you. Overall, I would reccommend this camera to anyone, beginners and semi-experienced photographers.
+5points
Review 17 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Pics

PostedJuly 4, 2011
Location Modesto Ca
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
I was always the one that got the "How to improve your pictures", but got this camera recently and every single picture has been a very nice photo. No more blurry photos.
+1point
Review 18 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Design change

PostedApril 29, 2011
Location Where its always beautiful
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I'm slightly sad about the design change. Recently, my camera was broken by one of my friends. I was hoping just to buy another camera since trying to get it replaced it so time consuming and stressful. But, I have noticed the change in the camera and just disappointed about it because I was very satisfied with the original camera. It was simple, ease of use, took really great pictures and I was thoroughly impressed by it. I'm willing to accept change but just don't understand why they would try to change an already great camera. So, hopefully I can get my camera replaced and that they still have this model of camera. The new Nikon S6100- not impressed. The old Nikon S61000- loved it! I will post pictures of how amazing the original camera was.(I am only 13, but I do show a serious passion for photography)
-26points
Review 19 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great cmera but...

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Location San Jose, CA
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
I love the pictures and using the functions is easy. However; I had to return the camera within the first month. The lense cover would not open or close fully. When I received the replacement it was apparent that this could be a problem again if I am not super careful. The lense cover has a lot of "flex". If you put the camera in a pocket/compartment in a purse or a back pack as example, because these are soft sided, something could push the lense cover in. The items doesn't need to be in the same compartment... I hope this makes sense. Anyway, I think this is a weak point to the camera.
+2points
Review 20 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Shutter jammed after 2 months of use

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Location Bitburg, Germany
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
I was very happy with the features of S6100 during the first two months I could use it (before the shutter jammed). The touch screen was accessible, and the quality of the pictures was good. Imagine my chagrin when the shutter jammed open (obscuring the top right and bottom left with a diagonal obstruction) during a morning of outside shooting! The camera was neither dropped nor bumped. When I tried to get the camera fixed under my year-long warranty, I had many problems. An APO AE post box couldn't be used as a return address (until we spent an hour and finally got a name through customer service). The US store where I bought the camera didn't want anything to do with the repair because they said this kind of problem occurred often when dirt got into the mechanism, Besides, the store would have to charge me to get it into the repair system (despite the warranty). I took it to a photo store in Germany where I live. I was told that the problem was mechanical and not caused by dirt. However, I could not get the camera repaired in Germany because the warranty is valid in Germany only on cameras with an identifying German ID number. So I sent the camera (per directions) to a repair facility in the States. I was told there would probably be a cost in addition to the postage and insurance. With non-service such as I have experienced, I would not buy another Nikon. A $230 dollar camera should last longer than 2 months!
-1point
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>