Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S6100

Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S6100

Picture everyday life filled with brilliant images with the Nikon COOLPIX S6100. It's highly powerful and portable making it the perfect companion for incredible shots anywhere life takes you.
Average Customer Rating:
3.787 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(122 Reviews) 122
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 122 reviews
5 stars
60
4 stars
23
3 stars
11
2 stars
9
1 star
19
89 out of 122(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
106 Questions | 121 Answers
Customer Reviews for COOLPIX S6100
Review 1 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelente cámara!!!!

PostedJune 2, 2013
nikon s6100
Location Coatzacoalcos, VER, México
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
En lo personal me encanta esta marca, tiene equipos muy fácil de usar, en lo particular la cam que tengo me super gustó, no cambiaría de marca.
0points
Review 2 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the perfect camera for me.

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
tecwiz
small point and shoot great for the last second pics.
-1point
Review 3 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelente!

PostedMay 23, 2012
pollo
Location México
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
acabo de comprar la cámara, y a pesar de que es una compacta de las de menos rango de la gama 6000 puedo decir que es increíble, enserio, hace macros impresionantes, es de facil uso, el asistente de panorama, si bien necesita un poco de trabajo extra, me ha regalado panoramas que no se igualan en el de barrido sin cortes o malos ajustes, la pantalla touch es medio insensible, pero aun así lo es suficiente para darle un uso muy ágil, ademas de que hace ajustes en las fotos para no perder la calidad anexare las fotografías mas ejemplificativas
+4points
Review 4 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy!

PostedApril 22, 2012
Quickshot, Canberra Australia
I spent thousands on the D7000 all the goodies and love it...Today my wife wanted a beginner camera to take away for a business trip...(.Keep in mind I buy the cheap skillet, because I know she will ruin it..)..I found for her the Coolpix S6100 for $136 bucks (AU) We brought it home and I was totally shocked!
This camera has almost everything that my camera has and is so easy to use...the touch screen and the light weight is a bonus...I know I'm the better photographer in the family, and I pay the bills with my skills. But shes right there behind me! Cheers
+13points
Review 5 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelente

PostedMarch 26, 2012
BetRock
Location Tlalnepantla, Estado de Mexico.
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Esta camara es excelente, la calidad impresionante y la nitide inmejorable, quiza el touch un poco insensible tomando en cuenta el de iPhone, fuera de eso la mejor compra que pude haber hecho y ademas a un exelente precio en Palacio de Hierro. 1000% recomendable esta camara. Anexo una prueba rapidisima que hice con los macros.
+10points
Review 6 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

----> Nice camera

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Rozz
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have a Nikon P50 (8.1 megapixel) which takes good pictures. After 2 years with it, wanted to buy something better & bought Nikon S6100. I take pictures once in a while & last week went to Mèxico city, of course it was the perfect time to test the camera.
*PROS
-16 MEGAPIXEL: photos looks great in all light conditions
-Touch screen(lcd) with stylus: very easy to use. Nice feature, you take pics. with one touch
-Lots of options: Retouch, paint, motion detection, vibration & wind noise reduction,etc.
-HDMI port & small size
-Price: US$183.- (Mèxico)
-Li-ion battery & USB(charger): No more batteries!!
CONS:
-Only 720p video: Well, it does the job for me. 720p is HD & looks very good. Can`t complain. It`s a camera, not a video-camera. For "more money" you get the S6200 (Full HD) with stereo sound
-Lens(x7): For me it`s perfect, but, once again, if you want more , get the S6200(x10)
I`m happy & will buy Nikon in the future without a doubt ! We all know that Nikon (along with "C---N") is one of the best camera brand in the world. Others ? A joke!
+9points
Review 7 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camera for a great price

PostedMarch 3, 2012
GrungeRockerPhotographer
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bought this camera at Best Buy in a bundle that included an extra rechargeable battery, a hard camera case, and a 4 gigabyte memory card for 149.99. I bought this to use just as a fun camera to carry around and take normal pics of my friends and family etc. as I already own a very nice camera from another manufacturer. I use this camera for almost everything! It has lots of cool features, is very compact, and takes great pics. Between this camera and some adobe software I'm taking absolutely amazing, magazine quality pictures. Nothing bad to say about this camera.
+7points
Review 8 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for what I wanted~

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
Arleccina
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I bought this camera to take to a convention where I knew there would be terrible light and where I knew that there would be ALOT of pictures to take (anime conventions are like that), so I knew I would need a high ISO level. This camera was on sale and so I thought I would buy it. When I came home I played with it A TONNE! and I was so happy with what I was seeing, in the bad lighting of my home sweet home I got perfect pictures! It takes portraits gorgeously and it takes STUNNING close up still-lives (I took some pictures of some flowers I got for valentines day and they are amazing!). I have been bragging about this camera to EVERY one I know!
-1point
Review 9 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camera

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
rew4946
Location Grand Saline Texas
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
I purchased this camera to have one smaller than the full sized one I have. It fits in my shirt pocket and takes great pictures. It is so easy to use that I have not even had to use the instructions. And I donot have to buy a camcorder. This thing takes better video than my old camcorder and is easier to use. I see that many people have had out of focus pictures? Most all digital cameras you need to be still when taking pictures. I purchased mine online and got a bunch or extras for a great price. Great job Nikon!
+6points
Review 10 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome!!!!

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Neka
Location Kentucky, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
I just got it this is my first Nikon i turned the lights off and took a photo and it was so clear like it was noon outside.... I'm loving it!!!!
+8points
Review 11 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FABULOUS CAMERA!

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Nikongirl
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got my Nikon for Christmas. I'd been begging for one for years. I got a Nikon 4 years ago [it was the cheapest one they had] and it took wonderful pictures, but the lens got messed up a week after I got it. I was so excited when I got this one, and have not been disappointed. It's taken some really amazing pictures so far, and the videos are of excellent quality. I would HIGHLY recommend this camera to ANYONE.
+6points
Review 12 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Camera

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Me
Location USA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have had the camera for about a year now and it is great. The only thing that isn't so good is the nighttime pictures. When you try to take nighttime pictures there is a lot of noise. I also tried to take the camera skiing and it froze and fogged up but the pictures still looked pretty good. I recently dropped the camera and the lens broke and it would not work so i hit it and it started working again. Now the camera focuses pretty slow. I will add more pictures in another comment...
+5points
Review 13 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pont and Shoot

PostedDecember 31, 2011
CameraFreak101
Location Chicago, IL, USA
Age Under 18
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have had it about 7 months and i love it. it has great quality pictures and zoom.
+3points
Review 14 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5 Cameras...This is the most used one!!!

PostedDecember 22, 2011
TML
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I have several $300.00 to $500.00 dollar cameras and I grab this one every time now. Bought the S6100 about a year ago. I have taken many hundreds of pictures with it. Use AUTO mode quite a bit but sometimes use menu to select ICON for the type of pictures I am going to take. Decent ZOOM for the price in a small inexpensive camera. Also bought a Sandisk EXTREME 8gb at 30mb/per second card for the camera, kind of expensive Sandisk card(49 bucks) but it seems to work great. Was recommended to buy this disk by a Camera geek friend. Dont know for sure if that is what makes the difference but I LOVE this camera. Excellent pictures, really GOOD movie mode also, easy to take ANYWHERE camera!
+7points
Review 15 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

it is cool

PostedDecember 11, 2011
chaya
its fit for simple use for house wife's just click....
good picture quality......
0points
Review 16 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works like a charm and makes you feel like a pro

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Gene
Location Marietta, Georgia
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This camera is one of the best in a long line of cameras that I have purchased and used,It is simple to use takes great pictures,and is very easy to review the pictures that you have already taken. I own over 10 cameras and this one is the best to travel with take pictures of any kind with.
+9points
Review 17 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pictures for size

PostedDecember 5, 2011
milsam
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Takes great pictures and movies despite it's size. While it's not the smallest on the market, it's perfect pocket/purse size.
I must however write that I had this camera for only 5 months and it's already been sent to Nikon for major parts repair. Customer service was excellent and I hope to enjoy my camera again soon.
+6points
Review 18 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More than expected

PostedDecember 5, 2011
ZakPC
Location Minneapolis, MN
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
This camera does what I need and is more than I expected for what it cost. A great upgrade from my Canon Powershot that broke. Quick shipping too. I received this item in two days even though I ordered on Cyber Monday.
-1point
Review 19 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 5, 2011
sarg
Location Surprise Az
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Everything was as advertsed until I received it in the mail and unwrapped it.Then I had to go buy a memory card before I could try it out Long story shortI still haven't bought a card so how canI send you a review?I think Nikon Is probably .a good product but to cheap to furnish a memory card ann case..
-10points
Review 20 for COOLPIX S6100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great! I'd recommed to anyone!

PostedNovember 17, 2011
JusticeForAll
Age 18-24
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I LOVE this camera! The colors are vibrant and amazing, with some coming out even better than they are in reality. It has great filter effects, including:
*Selective Color
*FishEye
*Miniature
*Cross Screen
(as well as black & white, sepia, and more.)
The best of the effects has to be the glamour retouch. It makes your face look fantastic!
It takes awesome pictures from afar.
I'd recommend this camera to anyone who wants great quality photos, and likes to play around with how they look.
+10points
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>