Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S3300

Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S3300

Smart, slim, super easy. Take better pictures and movies with a 6x zoom and high-resolution 16 MP sensor.
Average Customer Rating:
3.773 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 44 reviews
5 stars
25
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
8
31 out of 44(70%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
43 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer Reviews for COOLPIX S3300
Review 1 for COOLPIX S3300
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

camera won't transfer pictures to computer

PostedMarch 19, 2013
disappointed device
I have tried everything but my camera will not upload pictures to my computer. I find it frustrating that I do not find any information on Nikon's site to assist me. I haven't found a customer service email to request help either.
-4points
Review 2 for COOLPIX S3300
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Perfect size, great pictures

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Unhappy Boop
Location Florida, USA
Age 55-65
This camera was great until it stopped working 5 months after we bought it.....
-4points
Review 3 for COOLPIX S3300
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The Camera can not focus

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Desert Pics
Location Victorville, CA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
So I would say that one of the most important things that a digital camera should do is "FOCUS", well that has been very hard to do. I am only able to get a close-up image in focus by using the close-up feature, but it will not focus on anything over a distance of 1 foot. There must be something wrong with the camera, as I do not believe that all of the Coolpix may have this problem. Still I feel as for me I should have stayed with Canon or Sony. I have place a question with Nikon's support. Let's see if this can be fixed?
The problem started right out of the box, and I have try many different settings.
+3points
Review 4 for COOLPIX S3300
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not good for close-ups

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
coolpixuser
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I have been taking pictures for ebay for several years and wanted an upgrade camera, especially for close ups and jewelry. This is not a good choice. Zoom photos are blurry, Even with the flash off, and using enhancements, colors are not true.The manual is minimal and not much help. If you are looking for a family camera to take videos, this might work but if you are interested in good, clear, crisp, close ups, this is not the one. I'm bringing this one back to the store.
+4points
Review 5 for COOLPIX S3300
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wanted to try a Nikon

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
non-nikon gal
Location WV
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I got this camera to try a Nikon. I can't seem to get a clear, non-blurred photo. I am not new to photography and somewhat experienced with various dsl cameras, mostly canon. I've done several experiments to see if it's me or the camera. Sad that I can't get a good photo. Love the size, feel of this camera. Maybe it's defective and needs to be fixed????
+3points
Review 6 for COOLPIX S3300
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Maybe ours is defective?

PostedDecember 22, 2012
RichF
Location Milwaukee WI
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Been using the camera for about 6 months and am still struggling with it. I have always had Nikon cameras and wanted a simple camera that my wife and kids could point and shoot. I don't know why this thing has such a delay when trying to snap a photo? I have turned off the smile detection/blink detection and it always takes a second/couple seconds or so after I press the button to take the actual photo. I have about taken about 800 photos and I have about 50 of what I wanted, the rest have the subject already walking away. I don't know what I have to do to get this thing to shoot when I actually want it to? I am no beginner when it comes to photography. I have tried every setting on this thing that I think could be causing the issue and have reset it factory settings a couple times too. I am about to give up with this thing. My kids will be grown before I figure it out.
+6points
Review 7 for COOLPIX S3300
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Short Battery Life

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Emerald Princess
Location Upstate New York
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I am very disappointed in the battery life of this camera. While on my cruise I checked the battery life each night before my tour the next day and charged it if necessary. In a few instances the battery died long before the shore excursion was over. I missed a lot of photo opportunities. No shore excursion was over 8 hours.
+1point
Review 8 for COOLPIX S3300
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Loved it until

PostedAugust 31, 2012
fla gal
Location fl
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I loved my nikons3300 until i turned it on and it says LENSE ERROR, I removed all pic to my computer and they are fantastic. but why can't i get it to stay on long enought to go to menu to figure out what is going on? any one have a suggestion thanks
+14points
Review 9 for COOLPIX S3300
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good size difficult to operate

PostedMay 30, 2013
Bob
Camera is difficult to operate and very slow between shots. Unable to download pictures to windows 8.
Nikon refuses to help.
+1point
Review 10 for COOLPIX S3300
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

It works, but has its problems

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Fatfingers
Location Central Florida, Lady Lake, 32159
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
This camera has too many professional features for a point and shoot camera. It may be a good pocket camera for a professional photographer to keep handy in case the airlina has misplaced his real equipment. The average user will not likely use more than 5% of all those features.
As a point and shoot camera it has one glaring fault: the little red button on the upper right hand side of the back panel, the one that starts the movie feature. Can this be disabled?. In the first weeks, I produced more movie snippets of floortiles and grass than views I actually wanted.
-1point
Review 11 for COOLPIX S3300
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Não gostei

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Dani
Location Vila Velha - ES, Brasil
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Quando comprei a Coolpix S3300, esperava obter fotografias com uma qualidade superior. A câmera tem alguns pontos positivos, como modos de cena variados, macro e flash com um alcance desejável. Porém a qualidade da imagem em tamanho real, por exemplo, não é boa, na minha opinião. Com isso as fotos em macro também não ficam legais. A imagem não fica bem definida. Outro fator que me incomodou bastante foi não poder tirar fotos sem flash em situações que não sejam ao ar livre sob a luz do sol. Tirar fotos sem flash em ambientes com luz artificial é impossível. Sai extremamente borrado. Até a câmera do meu celular tira fotos sem flash sem borrar tanto. Bom, essa é a minha opinião. Infelizmente não fiquei satisfeita com o produto. Espero que isso ajude a melhorar os próximos modelos.
0points
Review 12 for COOLPIX S3300
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor Instructions!

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Frank
Location Hayfield, MN 55940, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I'm just learning how to use this camera. I'm really disappointed with the instruction manual. Very poorly illustrated. Perhaps when I've fumbled my way around the functions....the manual will make more sense!
-3points
Review 13 for COOLPIX S3300
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed.

PostedJune 30, 2012
NatureNics
Location NC
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I just got this camera for my birthday and was very disappointed. I cannot get good close-up shots even with the macro setting in a variety of light levels. The image quality is poor and it is not very stable. I have always had Canon cameras and now I've learned my lesson - I'm returning it and getting a Canon. I love the style, weight, and awesome purple color, but if I can't get good pictures, the nice look is useless.
-6points
Review 14 for COOLPIX S3300
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent camera but the packaging was a joke

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Scarred
I bought this camera for my daughter who is an 8 year old camera nut. She loves to take pictures and this is a great small camera with decent resolution. However, someone from Nikon should try opening the package. Even with heavy duty scissors it was a joke. I cut my hand on the darn plastic packaging and it was ridiculous. Understand that you need to build it so that people don't steal it, but I think there has to be an easier way. SO, I would not buy another Nikon product until you fix the packaging. Tired of replacing the Band-Aids on my hand!
-11points
Review 15 for COOLPIX S3300
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Muito boa câmera

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Iny
Location Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
Consegui tirar uma foto nítida da Lua aplicando o zoom no máximo.
+3points
Review 16 for COOLPIX S3300
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Small camera, good quality.!

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Mrs. Davis
Location Hazel Green, AL, USA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I love this camera, I've had since 2012 Christmas. It is absolutely amazing! I have taken a lot of pictures and I am an up coming photographer. I would really like it if it would have an option to make pictures stay still, like another camera I owned. Overall, I think it's great though.!!
+2points
Review 17 for COOLPIX S3300
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stunning professional-looking photographs

PostedOctober 18, 2012
LyssaDianeXO
Location Sabah, Malaysia
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have had this camera for almost a month now and I simply have to review this!
Advantages:
The physical features of it is amazing. Simple, elegant, compact and light: all the features you need in a compact camera. It is very easy to carry about. I love the 1-click video thing. All I have to do is click the button and tadah! It starts recording immediately! It takes really good high-quality videos and for a longer time too! The pictures are also very nice to look at. The 'scene mode' thing really helps with taking different kinds of photos too. And the fact that you can actually save photos in the 'favorites' folder is cool too. You can even instantly edit it in the camera which helps a lot. Add filters, some touch-ups here and there, etc etc.
Disadvantages:
There aren't many disadvantages though but I noticed a few. The zoom doesn't really take clear photos and for people who want professional results, you will be slightly disappointed about this. If you aren't looking for maximized professional results, you might not even notice it. Another thing is that, it takes a longer time for it to load when you click. This truly annoys me and I'm not even sure why.
Besides that, all of it is quite good and I have even uploaded some pictures here for reference.
+5points
Review 18 for COOLPIX S3300
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

many features

PostedJune 7, 2012
Moose
Location Texas City
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
The camera works well under normal circumstances. It has problem focusing at the maximum zoom setting. Also even though it lists many scene modes I have to figure out to acess them. I went to the tutorial on the web site and it plays for a few seconds and shuts down.So I decided.to download the manual and halfway through the printing it stopped. Can I get aprinted instruction book?
-4points
Review 19 for COOLPIX S3300
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Camera is new but seems very easy to operate.

PostedApril 26, 2012
readingmini
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Everything seems great about this camera except the View NX 2 software disk will not load on my or my husbands laptop computer although it loaded on my desktop just fine. All are 64 bit windows 7 computers.
+5points
Review 20 for COOLPIX S3300
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camera for the price!

PostedApril 16, 2013
Borzoi Lover
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I love the look, feel and operation of this camera. Small enough to carry around yet large enough screen to easily view. So easy to operate! LOVE it!
+3points
1 2 3 next>>