Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. COOLPIX L820

Nikon Inc. COOLPIX L820

Enjoy point-and-shoot ease and exceptional image quality in an ergonomic design. A powerful 30x zoom NIKKOR glass lens and low-light CMOS sensor deliver beautiful 16.0-megapixel photos and Full HD 1080p videos from a distance, even in low light.
Average Customer Rating:
4.554 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 74 reviews
5 stars
57
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
3
67 out of 74(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
121 Questions | 134 Answers
Customer Reviews for COOLPIX L820
Review 1 for COOLPIX L820
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Inadecuada fuente de energía.

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Cobra
Location México DF
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Usa 4 pilas AA, lo cual ya es obsoleto, además de contaminar el ambiente con las pilas cuando ya no sirven...deberían hacerla con pila recargable como todos los aparatos modernos...fue un grande error el haberla comprado.
-19points
Review 2 for COOLPIX L820
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Piece of garbage -- Don't buy it!

PostedNovember 20, 2013
angry
I just deleted most of this review because I simply can't publish my real feelings about your company right now because your LS820 just deleted all the photos of a visit with my son and I'm too angry to think straight. But if you are a person who's thinking about buying a Nikon camera at this moment -- DON'T!!! Run, do not walk, to another camera company.
-33points
Review 3 for COOLPIX L820
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Memory card

PostedNovember 3, 2013
sorryandsad
Location San Antonio, Tx
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Can't write review, have been unable to use camera since it was purchased; unable to find a memory card that the camera will accept at Radio Shack or Best Buy.
-27points
Review 4 for COOLPIX L820
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Unhappy

PostedJuly 1, 2013
RTfan
Location Altoona, PA, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I bought this on Fri, 6/28 (around 8PM), for a concert on Sat, 6/29. I took a few pics and checked out the video on the evening I bought it and in the afternoon, the next day, took some great shots of my son's baseball game. Really nice camera...so, I took a few photos of the Goo Goo Dolls and a video to check out the zoom. Mind you, I had great seats, with no one in front of me, and the clearest view of the stage that I've ever had at a Matchbox Twenty concert. As I was waiting for Matchbox to come out, I was looking at the pics on the camera and it just went blank. It didn't completely shut down because the lens never retracted back into place. I took the batteries out and nothing!! I was camera-less for my concert. I owned the camera for a whopping 24 hours and it died before I got to use it for its intended use. There goes a photo op that I'll never get back!! I can't even put into words how angry I was and still am!
I debated between a Fujifilm camera and this one; I went with Nikon because I thought it was a camera and a name I could trust.
I would have recommended this camera because it did take nice photos and video, if only it worked for more than 24 hrs.
-11points
Review 5 for COOLPIX L820
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

without good results

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Julian
Location buenos aires,
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
Camera disappointed because in moving images are blurred very sad truth, worst when the L810 camera has another family and do not have this type of problem. I can not send examples of images that are larger than 5MB
-2points
Review 6 for COOLPIX L820
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Returned due to defect

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
BaileyA
Location Huntington, IN
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Camera was defective - would not take a memory card. Will review once new camera is purchased and can use all of the functions. Was only able to take a handful of pics w/out the memory card.
-1point
Review 7 for COOLPIX L820
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Love the colors

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Debbie
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
Nice little camera with the ability to produce great color in your photos. This camera is very user-friendly and one can be up and running in a short time. I'm a bit disappointed in a couple things. One, it needs four AA batteries. That can become a hassle. Second, you really need to hold the camera very still to produce a picture that isn't blurry. So it isn't good for action shots. I purchased it to use at my business for brochure and web design photos and it will work out great for that. I also wanted to use it with my nature photography in my kayak and I'm thinking it will not be useful for that. Not only will the watercraft be moving but so will the subjects I intend to photograph. I will have to wait and see just how successful I am with this camera out on the water. Maybe there is a setting that could assist in those issues that I have yet to find out. I will research this more.
In conclusion, if I would have known that a very steady hand was needed to obtain a descent photograph I probably would not have purchased this model.
I was sold on all the other features this camera holds and never thought that it would be so limited in the uses I was intending it for.
-2points
Review 8 for COOLPIX L820
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

NOT That Compact!

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Marino
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Pros:
1. good battery life. (I'm using 2500mAh Ni-MH rechargeables)
2. good video recording quality
3. acceptable picture quality for the price
4. Good Wide Angle
5. AA batteries.
Cons:
1. artifact effect in pictures, 100% zoomed pictures look like water color paintings
2. dark images in low light condition, minimum shutter speed is 1s and highest ISO is 3200. You can't use the 4s shutter speed in "Fireworks" mode to Take a picture in the dark, It produces even darker images than "Auto" mode (you can't set ISO in "Fireworks" mode).
3. Lens motor noise in quiet environment.
4. VR in still images doesn't act that well.
5. Auto Focus is not accurate in Macro mode.
5. high speed video requires more ambient light for higher frame rates (NOT A CON)
6. No Aperture setting.
7. No shutter speed setting.
8. No Manual Focus Setting.
9. Self-timer not customizable.
10. Not that Compact.
Improvements that are missing:
1. there are 2 Tele/Wide sliders that do the same exact thing, one of them could have been set for fast zooming and one for slow zoom.
2. a viewfinder could help outdoor photography.
3. less MP or a bigger sensor could improve picture quality.
+1point
Review 9 for COOLPIX L820
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disappointed :(

PostedJuly 10, 2013
MommaMel
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
This camera takes excellent pictures! I was very impressed with the quality as well as how easy it is to use. However, I specifically bought it to use on our family vacation a few weeks before we left and the camera mysteriously quit working the very first day of our vacation. There was no reason for it to stop working but it went from taking pictures one minute to not turning on the next. Tried several new sets of batteries and that did not work. I was very frustrated and upset because I had no other way of capturing memories for our vacation so I ended up having to buy another camera just so we could have pictures from vacation. I just sent the camera in to be repaired so I'm hoping that it is able to be fixed/replaced under warranty because I really do like the camera and would highly recommend it to others. Hoping this was just a fluke and this camera lasts me a long time once it is fixed!!!!
+2points
Review 10 for COOLPIX L820
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great product for the price

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
l820photographer
Location Toronto, ON, Canada
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
I've been looking for a camera in a very long time and once i got it, it has been amazing. Very lightweight, and great for travelling. Amazing price too!
0points
Review 11 for COOLPIX L820
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great expectation

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Bebs
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I'm just learning to use it. So can't say much. Sure looks beautiful. Ease of use ,I'm hoping easy. Kind o f bulkier than what I wanted but what it can do sold me.I wished it came with GPS also
0points
Review 12 for COOLPIX L820
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect for out needs, light and versatile.

PostedDecember 21, 2013
birdNikon
Location Hillsboro, OR, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
We enjoy watching birds (Anna's Hummingbird, for example) in our back yard. They are rather skittish and we have wanted a camera that will allow us to photograph from 10 or more yards away. This camera gives us that capability
+1point
Review 13 for COOLPIX L820
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

FOTOS A NOITE

PostedNovember 18, 2013
XNOIS
Location Salvador - BA, Brasil
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
ADQUIRIR ESTA BELA MAQUINA QUE ATENDE AS MINHAS EXPECTATIVAS, MAIS SÓ PECOU UM POUCO NAS FOTOS A NOITE POIS SAEM UM POUCO TREMIDA
0points
Review 14 for COOLPIX L820
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

SO far, so good ~

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
TarotJill
Location PA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I purchased this camera based on the fact is uses AA batteries. so far, it is very user friendly and easy to understand, as I am a relative amateur who has loved taking photos for a lifetime. the features are easily accessible, the zoom and other buttons are sensibly placed.
+1point
Review 15 for COOLPIX L820
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very easy camera to use for a novice like me

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
BratBoy
Location Wisconsin, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Easy to use, well built. Takes very good pictures in all conditions. Zoom is great! Memory card should not be in battery area, pain to take out for down load (can use cable) on my lap top where I could just plug in memory card.
Great camera for the money.
0points
Review 16 for COOLPIX L820
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Makes you feel like your in the front row

PostedJuly 21, 2013
droam7
Location Wood River, IL
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The zoom is awesome, no distortion even maxed out. You will love it at concerts. The only thing is that I would like to see more tutorials about what the camera can do. I have searched everywhere and can't find anything for just this camera. Other than that it is great.
+5points
Review 17 for COOLPIX L820
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Complete features for the amateur photographer

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Lucky2Bme
Location Burnaby, BC, Canada
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
I was shopping price when i happened upon it's predecessor the L810, when i was done comparing the 2 i realized i had a winner, for the price you get a terrific 30X optical zoom and you can later examine that picture at 10x digital zoom which gives you an awesomely detailed perspective on a far away scene, the battery life seems good so far, and the features are very easy to use including the 1080p stereo video capture, although i would recommend a 64gb sd card as my 16gb only enables 30min of film capture at best resolution. The picture stabilization is quite good, and for an beginner like myself the full auto helps make the picture well picture perfect every time, i am of course gradually learning to take advantage of the ample options available on this cam, i've gotten the racy red one and lots of compliments on it. my only complaint is that there was no case with the camera or sd to begin with otherwise this would have been 5 stars
+37points
Review 18 for COOLPIX L820
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Perfect Camera

PostedApril 10, 2014
Mack74
Location Harwich, MA, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
This is my first Nikon and I love it! For the last 20 years I have only owned & used Canon. While I am still exploring/learning about all of the features of the Coolpix L820, this is the best camera I have ever owned. I am highly impressed with the cameras zoom capabilities & the picture clarity when the camera is in zoom mode. The camera is easy to navigate and use. I can honestly say that this camera has made me a Nikon fan for life. Any future cameras I purchase will be Nikon because I am highly impressed with the camera I got for the price I paid. I paid much more for a Canon Powershot and I was never able to get the exceptional quality of picture I have gotten with my Nikon Coolpix. I would highly recommend this camera to anyone, especially people like myself who are not professional photographers but want to capture the shot just right.
+3points
Review 19 for COOLPIX L820
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I am impressed with the Nikon Coolpix L850

PostedMarch 31, 2014
ThebGnome
Location Minot, ND, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Right out of the box this one amazing camera! The features are very easy to operate, set up is amazingly simple.
I am old school all of the way but I have wanted to update to a digital camera since the old days of film cameras.
This camera is a great entry level camera with many great features that I would expect in one many times more the dollar amount.
Needless to say I am impressed beyond words!
I would recommend this camera to anyone on a budget who wants the affordability, but wants the features of a professional; this one has it all.
Kudos Nikon!
+3points
Review 20 for COOLPIX L820
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excelente

PostedMarch 15, 2014
vini
Location Recife - PE, Brasil
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
ótimo desempenho, fotografa muito bem excelente câmera.
0points
1 2 3 4 next>>