Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. COOLPIX L610

Nikon Inc. COOLPIX L610

Who says taking great photos and videos is hard work? Let the COOLPIX L610 with 14x optical zoom, do all the thinking as you capture 16.0-megapixel close-ups from telephoto distances or dramatic low-light images like you've never shot. Easy Auto Mode makes all the control decisions for you, so you can spend more time enjoying the moment and less time fussing with the camera. You won't even have to worry about charging—it runs on convenient AA batteries!
Average Customer Rating:
3.219 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 32 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
10
17 out of 32(53%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
53 Questions | 55 Answers
Customer Reviews for COOLPIX L610
Review 1 for COOLPIX L610
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent !

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Tanmay
Location Uttarpara Kotrung, West Bengal, India
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Though its image stabilization is not very good, yet it is a very good camera
0points
Review 2 for COOLPIX L610
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Quarterscale
Location Chula Vista, CA, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Just got the camera for Christmas already know it very well should last many years looking forward to many great photos
-2points
Review 3 for COOLPIX L610
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Camera

PostedOctober 1, 2013
msruthannd
Location Panama City Beach, FL, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I purchased this camera on 9/5 for a concert on 9/20. With only one day to familiarize myself with it, it worked very well and was easy to use. It took some great photos without flash, it is small enough not to be a burden, easy to handle, and the 14X zoom was great! The original batteries that came with it were dead in half an hour, but I replaced them with lithium, which are still going strong.
+4points
Review 4 for COOLPIX L610
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Teriffic camera

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Gbrow
Location Cherry Valley, Ca
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I needed to replace an older camera, a SLR, with all of the bells and whistles, and wanted a camera easy to use, and didn't have to lug around lens and another piece of luggage for my camera equipment. This camera is very easy to use, and creates sharp, clear, outstanding pictures. The viewfinder works perfectly, it just the right size, and the camera fits easily into my pocket, readily available for a picture. I am still exploring all of the features of this camera, and noticed when I was in Mexico, that I went through the few batteries that I brought from home, and wasn't sure as to the life remaining in either of them. Went out and bought the lithium batteries, this was a month ago, and they are still working fine. If you want a very good camera for personal use, that will product crisp, clear, wonderful photos, very easily, I recommend this camera. Learn about all of the features and settings and this Nikon L610 won't disappoint.
+16points
Review 5 for COOLPIX L610
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best point and shoot out there.

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Carolina Tar Heel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
As a semi pro who used to run a darkroom, the L 610 is the best point and shoot out there. Most of the whining reviews concern "battery life." This camera is made for, and excels with Energizer 9x Lithium batteries. A pair will last for ~ 200 shots with flash. With these, the "battery issue" just disappears. You know where to find them. It has an excellent 460,000 pixel 3" display and has the best high ISO, (low light) CMOS in class- Both of these attributes rank it much better, than the "other AA camera from the other company" whose name I can't mention.
Buy it, you'll love it.
+13points
Review 6 for COOLPIX L610
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camera for the price

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Auto Doc
Location Port Orange
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I bought this with the understanding that for $200.00 I could not expect great things. Was I wrong. I used this in Alaska this month where the temps for me were from -17 degrees to about 20 degrees. the only problem that I had was pushing the button with my heavy gloves on. Yes the battery life was short due to the cold weather not the camera. I kept changing the batteries and warming the up and reused them. I LOVE THIS CAMERA. Great job Nikon .
0points
Review 7 for COOLPIX L610
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BATTERY ISSUE

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Retired Hammer
Location NW Wisconsin
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
GREAT PICS AND MOVIES. I use rechargeable batteries (2200 ma) I have gotten 200 pics and 3 two minute HD 1080P movies with 2 rechargeable batteries. The Panorama Maker is fantastic. I have received very good comments when showing photos and movies on a HD TV.
-2points
Review 8 for COOLPIX L610
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Bethany
Age 18-24
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This camera is amazing. The zoom is incredible & the clarity is amazing! I was able to try it out in the store, and I bought it not only for it's zoom capabilities, but also because of the difference Scene setting options. The clarity is just beautiful and it really captures the colors of what I'm taking. The camera's ability to capture the detail is wonderful as well. I had a bit of a problem with the battery life, but after I switched to Advanced Lithium, I have not had a problem. Best camera I could have purchased.
+1point
Review 9 for COOLPIX L610
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Images with Ease

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
freyphoto
Location Davenport, Iowa
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Everything I wanted in one high quality package. Hi-res viewing screen, fast firing shutter, wide angle, excellent close-up capabilities... all easy to use and at a very reasonable price.
-20points
Review 10 for COOLPIX L610
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for beginners and the experienced

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Jin
Location Austin, TX
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got this camera on a black friday sale, and I absolutely love it!
It's super easy to learn the ins and outs. Perfect for someone who wants to take good quality pictures but doesn't want to pay the steep price for a DSLR.
It captures the smallest of details.
Focuses easily when used correctly.
Easy to handle and change options if need be.
For me it lasts about 150-200 pics before dying on the double AA batteries. I would definitely recommend investing in rechargeable batteries.
Pictures come out a little pixely on full zoom, but nothing a proper re-sizing can't fix!
I took it out during a light sprinkle and it worked just fine.
I would also definitely invest in a neck lanyard or wrist strap, mine has kept me from dropping it so many times.
All-in-all it's a great camera for all uses and compact enough to take anywhere.
Great buy! I'm totally happy with my camera
-28points
Review 11 for COOLPIX L610
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must have for your gear bag

PostedDecember 30, 2012
bruspell
Location Niagara County, New York
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have had cameras in the past using the usual cartridge, roll, canister, etc. including 4x5 plate formats, twin lens reflex, SLR, etc., and a number of early digital cameras. The Nikon L610 is the first digital I have owned that feels like a more substantial SLR when holding it. Today, most digital cameras are awkward to hold, and if your hands are bigger than medium size, the challenge to keep fingers off of unwanted feature buttons can be daunting. The L610 has a grip feature on the right side, which is perfect. The shape of the top of the camera is, on first look, unusual, and then you recognize that it provides additional ergonomics that make your left hand grip better, and which keeps those errant fingers above the lens, and away from the viewing screen. And when you deploy the flash, the left hand still remains clear. The viewing screen is a terrific 3" wide, which doesn't seem like much, until you compose your photo on it. It is BIG. The top of the camera is super user friendly. The power button is in a perfect location, the shutter is easily found without looking for it every time you take a shot, and the zoom control (part of the shutter assembly) is also 'intuitive'.
Menu features are simple to use, even if you don't bother to read any of the instructions that come with the camera. Video was simple to use, and playback likewise was intuitive.
The price of the camera (found online at a substantial discount over retail) will be hard to beat.
Nikon engineers have a home run with this camera. The ergonomics are first rate - a case study in outstanding human factors engineering. This camera is at the perfect price point for new digital camera users, and is a welcome high quality addition to the more seasoned user's camera bag.
+14points
Review 12 for COOLPIX L610
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

an amateur camera with professional results

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Kenny G
Location Belgrade, Maine
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I considered the big brother, P510 with its huge zoom capability, but max aperature was f9 at full extension. That's good for noontime, but blurriness could be a problem. I settled at 14x. That's settling? With a 4x digital zoom. Plus zoom in on your finished photos up to 10x more. This is serious magnification WITHOUT, repeat, WITHOUT losing quality. The Nikon ED glass, extra low dispersion has been a coveted element in only select Nikon lenses. While I wish it had more manual overrides, like PSAM, the many Nikon scene modes in the camera take care of that. Exposure is displayed so you can see your action mode up the shutter speed, macro down to .4 inches. My 105 micro was the only lens that could do that. To have this sharpness, and I'd compare it against any other manufacturers glass, power and versatility that can fit in a shirt pocket is priceless. Easy enough for someone starting out, all the way to a pro who wants pro pictures without the setup and luggage, you will all benefit from this. This can't be touched by anything out there. And check out the 3D mode. THAT'S interesting.
+23points
Review 13 for COOLPIX L610
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I've been looking for!

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Nonna
Location Florida
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I'm happy to report that this camera suits my needs perfectly! It's very easy to operate, the image quality is fantastic (low-light shots are superb!), the video button is very responsive and the LCD screen is super sharp. The camera's "voice memo" is a terrific bonus feature that allows you to record a voice memo and attach it to your images. The many other extras on the Nikon L610 truly make it a smart choice for anyone who enjoys taking great photos without a lot of hassle.
+11points
Review 14 for COOLPIX L610
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

couldn't be happier!

PostedNovember 13, 2012
ejluvsnola
Location Lafayette, LA, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I bought my L610 two days before leaving for vacation in Maine for some fall color and quaint harbor towns. Wow, am I ever glad I did not put off the purchase! This is my first digital camera and without even reading the instruction booklet I was able to do everything I wanted to do....and more!! The ease of use is fantastic, photo quality great and the neat little "tricks" I have found it capable of are amazing. I have yet to read the instructions and just imagine what other surprises my little camera has in store for me. One other major plus is the size of the screen...I could never make it with the tiny screens other models have to offer! What more can I say...I'm in love!
+21points
Review 15 for COOLPIX L610
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Upgrade

PostedOctober 10, 2012
cp50
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I got the L610 to replace a faulty S6100. Needless, to say the L610 is way better than the 6100. I also had my my choice of the 620 or an S6300. Even though I saw the 6300 as a reasonably improved upgrade, the L610 is even better for my needs. Most importantly, the 610 still uses AA type batteries. This makes the camera somewhat bulkier, but still easy to transport , store and use. I had significant troubles with the S6100 batteries and system. Give me the convenience of being able to throw in a pair of AA's and keep shooting.
I'm still learning about the camera, but the pictures are super-clear. The menu is simple and easy to access, as are main features such as record, shoot mode, picture viewing and deleting. I also like the pop-up flash and the large 3 inch lcd screen. I'm looking forward to enjoying this camera for some time.
+31points
Review 16 for COOLPIX L610
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Coolpix L610

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Switcheroo
Location Mid Central Illinois
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Can't rate my first Nikon L610 as excellent. Received as a gift to replace my 7 year old Kodak digital. Nikon functions very similar. Fairly easy to switch from previous brand I was used to. Quality of prints, on-line photos good as expected since I went from 8 megapixel to this new 16 megapixel. In less than 30 days the battery signal showed @ 1/4 percent left. I'd only shot less than a 2 minute video & less than 40 pictures that were viewed more than once. Panasonic batteries that came w/ it expire 05/2017. Replaced with Sony AA batteries for digital equip. which expire 07/2019. Same thing happened with low battery signal after shooting only 35 more pictures. Returned camera to Best Buy for an even exchange. No hassles there. Let's hope this other one has better battery signal. Anxious to get fall colors on prints.
+43points
Review 17 for COOLPIX L610
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Very unhappy with this

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Rockinmomma
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I do not like this camera for a couple reasons: 1. The battery life is ridiculously short. I get about 10-20 pictures before i have to change the batteries- and I don't use the cheap no name batteries either so that gets very expensive. 2. I can't seem to get a clear picture no matter what settings I use, UNLESS I have the flash on. But then, the image is clear, but the coloring is too bright. I have missed so many picture perfect moments with my newborn because this camera can't take a good picture.
0points
Review 18 for COOLPIX L610
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

So far so decent

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Hobbiest
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is my first Nikon and coming from a Kodak just getting used to the controls are a little different. So far the images are pretty decent. I want to upgrade to an SLR but I know that I am not ready yet I just need to master the functions of this camera
-2points
Review 19 for COOLPIX L610
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disenchanted

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Bandmom
Location SC
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I really like the zoom feature on this camera, but have had issues with the clarity of the photos. Even with the image stabilization feature I have problems getting crisp images. The even bigger issue I have is with the battery life. I have tried to record my son's marching band performance on two different occasions and neither time have had success. The camera says the batteries are exhausted before 5 minutes have passed. (The show is less than 8 minutes - so I find this very frustrating.) I do however, really like the low light feature of this camera. I rarely use the flash wich helps extend the battery life. I will consider investing in the rechargable lithium, but if that doesn't reslove my issues the camera will have been a great waste of money, time and effort.
+3points
Review 20 for COOLPIX L610
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

A few pictures, no video

PostedAugust 9, 2013
deolucent
Location NW FL
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
You can make very good pictures with this camera. You cannot make them for long, however. A fresh set
of rechargeable batteries will only get 80 pictures, no video. If you have made any pictures, when you try to make a video you get a " battery exhausted " message. I got 16 pictures from the last set of batteries. Now I have a new battery charger and six pairs of AA batteries which I don't need because I am returning the camera.
If you can get focus in the macro mode, which is almost impossible, you can get a very good picture. Overall, this camera is not worth the money. I had considered an L820, but I will never again buy a camera using AA batteries.
+2points
1 2 next>>