Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. COOLPIX AW100

Nikon Inc. COOLPIX AW100

Nikon AW100 underwater camera is a rugged, water-proof, & shock-proof compact digital camera that records amazing action photos & Full HD (1080p) movies.
Average Customer Rating:
3.486 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 109 reviews
5 stars
47
4 stars
19
3 stars
8
2 stars
10
1 star
25
73 out of 109(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
243 Questions | 306 Answers
Customer Reviews for COOLPIX AW100
Review 1 for COOLPIX AW100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelente y compacta para la investigación científica.

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Location Ciudad de México, D.F., México
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Just getting started with photography
Perfecta para trabajo de investigación del área veterinaria, específicamente para fotografía en el microscopio y se puede ocupar el GPS para aplicaciones de epidemiología.
es la cámara ideal para nosotros los investigadores de las áreas medicas.
-1point
Review 2 for COOLPIX AW100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spent 2 Weeks Under Water - Still Works!

PostedJuly 5, 2015
Location Kansas
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
I dropped my AW 100 in the lake on a girls trip about 2 weeks ago. I had hope to come back with gear to find it later(hoping to at least salvage the SD card and the photos). 2 weeks later I was able to go back and search for it. Luckily after about 10 minutes of searching it was found! Not only was it in great shape for spending 2 weeks submerged but it still had a full charge on the battery turned on right away. I was also able to take pictures immediately! If that's not a testament to this camera then I don't know what else is!
+29points
Review 3 for COOLPIX AW100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful quick and easy photography

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Location Colorado
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
I won this camera in a photo contest a few years ago. A great little camera. There are times when I don't want to carry the heavier D800 or D4, though I usually do. The AW100 takes great photos with wonderful detail and fits easily in a pocket.
+13points
Review 4 for COOLPIX AW100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very strong

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Location Ontario, Canada
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
i bought this camera for a 18 day kayak trip in gorgon bay, the camera worked very well and i got allot of very nice pictures. about 10 days in we had a campsite that was about 30ft away from a cliff which had a small stream at the bottom, while i went to go pick some blue berries i left my camera on the ground and one of my friends kicked it off the cliff. he went and fished it out of the stream and turned it on, still works perfectly the only this that heppend was a rock left a large dent in the metal front cover. the dent was so large that it pushed the metal cover off but it is still sealed underneath so i went the rest of the trip with the cover off and when i got home i straightened out with a hammer, re painted it and super glued it back on. if you saw it today you would never guess that it had been kicked off a cliff, especially because nothing everything still works and it is still completely waterproof so i am very happen it did more than what i bout it for so i cannot complain.
+3points
Review 5 for COOLPIX AW100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All weather camera, goes everywhere, easy to use

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Location Oregon
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
My AW-100 has been in the back pocket of my cycling jersey for hundreds of bicycle rides over thousands of miles. It's the camera that is there when I want it. Easy to use, takes a good picture or 1080p movie on a moments notice.
-9points
Review 6 for COOLPIX AW100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rugged enough for my work.

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
Haven't utilized camera yet, but it appears to have the features I need.
-57points
Review 7 for COOLPIX AW100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for the Outdoors person

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I love this camera! It is great for hiking, kayaking and camping. Takes great outdoor shots and HD is excellent. This camera in NOT recommend for indoor shots, it has a very bright flash. Which is better near the campfire. But for the avid outdoor trekker, it a great companion to capture those events with great pics and HD video.
-2points
Review 8 for COOLPIX AW100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect travelling camera

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Location Maritimes, Canada
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I was looking for a camera that would accompany me on my travels and suit my needs. I don't do well with delicate things so my friend suggested I get this one. I did and for me it's perfect. It takes great photos, is resistant to me dropping it, and is a good size. It's been with me to Florida, Ontario, Cuba, Dominican Republic and Vietnam. Next up is the UK and I have no plans to bring a different camera.
I use either the automatic setting or whichever setting suits the subject best and have had no issues. It also takes great panoramic shots.
I take pictures for myself, didn't really read the manual but it's an easy to use camera.
My only complaint would be that drops of water have a tendency to stay on the lens after you bring it out of the water and it can be difficult to remove them without a towel.
I included some pictures of my travels, all taken by me.
1. Shot of produce in the market in Hanoi, Vietnam.
2. Maid of the Mist at Niagara Falls, Ontario.
3. Younger cousin swimming underwater shot in our hotel pool in Orlando, Florida.
4. Night lights in Hoi An, Vietnam.
5. Two Red Doa women sewing in Ta Phin, Vietnam
6. A sea anemone through glass at Sea World in Florida.
+1point
Review 9 for COOLPIX AW100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to take wonderful pictures

PostedJune 25, 2013
Location Whitehall, MI, USA
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
We just returned from a 6 week National Park tour of Southwest America. I took over 600 pictures and was very happy with the quality and ease of use. It works well in all lights and distances. It is easy to carry while hiking and fits well in a small pocket on the motorcycle. My friends were amazed with the beautiful pictures.
-1point
Review 10 for COOLPIX AW100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great camera! but very rarely it does fog up. 5 stars!(:

PostedApril 9, 2013
Location Louisville, KY, USA
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
this is the most epic camera i have ever owned! it is full hd and is super cool because if you go to the options for what type of camera taking option you want, (most users don't know this!) you can put in this slo-mo thing! it is so cool and i can't wait to use it this summer!
-23points
Review 11 for COOLPIX AW100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great water camera

PostedApril 2, 2013
Location Suffolk County NY
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I use the camera frequently outdoors, rain, mud snow, and it's worked great.
Even dropped it on a few occasions with no problems.
+18points
Review 12 for COOLPIX AW100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic result

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Location Montreal, QC, Canada
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Prior to my purchase, I read a few comments and I was somewhat concerned, I guess my expectation was lowered accordingly. I am 120% satisfied and can't believe the quality of the videos. I was fortunate enough to be in Hawaii where turtles abounds and in some care really friendly, I couln't be happier with the result. Well worth the money!
+4points
Review 13 for COOLPIX AW100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
Great Camera, take great out door pictures even under water as long as there is good lighting, hd video is also amazing for this little camera, went on cruise for 7 days Camera lasted very well, i also checked out other cameras before returning items and finally buying this one, no regrets, look around for sales, i got this from best buy 2.49
-12points
Review 14 for COOLPIX AW100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Câmera Perfeita e Excelente

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Location Rio de Janeiro - RJ, Brasil
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Comprei esta câmera para tirar fotos subaquáticas, e amei as cores e a perfeita nitidez em cada detalhe. Ela é mega resistente, e até agora atendeu a todas as minhas expectativas. Só o GPS dela que é estranho de mexer. O restante é maravilhoso. Gostei da qualidade das fotos noturnas, na praia, na piscina, na floresta, enfim... Indico e recomendo a todos. Vocês não se arrependerão de ter esta câmera indispensável e potente.
+19points
Review 15 for COOLPIX AW100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Rugged Companion

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Location Fullerton, California USA
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This lightweight, pants-pocket-sized camera is perfect for snorkeling, mountaineering, hiking and snow skiing! I have used it for all these events.
The build quality is excellent except that the rear glass over the LCD display does scratch easily which I fixed by applying a Ghost Armor protector at a Mall kiosk. That took care of covering my scratches and now leaves the screen truly scratch free. The camera performs beautifully and the HDMI output to my 52 inch TV is awesome! The HD movies are superb coming from such a small camera.
+14points
Review 16 for COOLPIX AW100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerhouse in a Point and Shoot!

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Location Central Florida, Orlando, FL 32816, USA
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Just got this AW100 Nikon in January and love it! I took it on a trip and shot over 600 photos. I didn't use it under water, but it was raining several days. It was great not having to worry about the camera getting wet; I continued to shoot and got some wonderful rain shots. I liked everything about it for a small camera, and will always take it along now to accompany my large camera & lens.
 
My product recommendations
 
+5points
Review 17 for COOLPIX AW100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Camera

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I have been a Nikon Coolpix owner for 10 years now and I love the extra versatility of this camera. I am not gentle on it and it continues to work flawlessly. It even looks like new despite having dropped it repeatedly, which I could not say for my former cameras. I love how the battery and the memory card slots are tucked away leaving the camera with a clutter free feeling.
I would recomend this camera to anyone that is an outdoor enthusiast.
+6points
Review 18 for COOLPIX AW100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pictures for a very durable camera!

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Location Batavia, IL, USA
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
My 3 year old loves this camera and it has put up to his abuse. He has used it at the beach and waterpark. The simplicity of the camera is great. I also like that when I use it I can change the settings and use the more advanced features for specialty photos. For the money and a waterproof camera I have not seen a better one. I also own the canon equivalent and this one takes far better pictures both above and bellow the water.
+15points
Review 19 for COOLPIX AW100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!!!

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Location ND
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
(click to see the video)
I love this camera. I already been in -30F windchill taking videos snowmobiling. It trully is water and freez proof. I love the fact that mine is orange. we dropped it in the snow and you can spot it instantly with this bright color. LOVE LOVE LOVE. the pictures are great as well. Love the separate button for video. no adjustment needed. just push the button to start recording in an instant.
+4points
Review 20 for COOLPIX AW100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camera if you bang it around everyday. Great pictures.

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Location San Diego, CA
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
I use it everyday. I do not treat it nice. Still looks like new. Works great. The pictures are great.
+14points
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>