Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. SB-800 AF Speedlight

Nikon Inc. SB-800 AF Speedlight

Nikon's powerful Speedlight unit provides incredible lighting flexibility both as a stand-alone Speedlight, wireless commander or remote unit.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 15 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 out of 15(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer Reviews for SB-800 AF Speedlight
Review 1 for SB-800 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Flash in small package. speedlight, never misfire.

PostedNovember 25, 2013
FotoJAG
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I used flash sb800, for more than 9 years, work same as knew.
-2points
Review 2 for SB-800 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kudos to you if you Still Have this Relic

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Anonymous
Location NYC
Age 25-34
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
This baby has a little button in tha back tha triggers tha preview light. I love this feature because it keys the people that your about to take a picture.
It is not found on any other flash. I wish they add it back. Solid flash. Great size. I use it more than my sb 910
0points
Review 3 for SB-800 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The real deal...Me and my NIKONS

PostedApril 26, 2013
Jonathan, MFA, M.Ph
Location Southern California
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
The unit is spectacular. I use it with my D-800, D-700 and my D3x. The output is absolutely consistant 100% of the time, the quality of the light is pure white, rendering ALL skin tones perfectly and all colors faithfully. The power of this unit is amazing. I am a working professional and I wouldn't use any other product at any price. This is a flash unit done right!
+1point
Review 4 for SB-800 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfection of Light

PostedJune 3, 2012
NikonD
Location Sedona, AZ, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have owned this flash for 6 years...
Never once has it let me down, only given flash after flash in literally every shooting situation.
From weddings , indoor sports, fill flash, flash for 300m.p.h. race cars, backlighting objects,
portraits... recently I shot a personal trainer and his helper in shaded outdoor area for 200 plus shots
all with flash within a 1/2 hour...after 6 six years of 120 degrees in desert and 10 below zero in mountains,
as with all my Nikon products my SB800 continues to amaze...
 
My product recommendations
 
+5points
Review 5 for SB-800 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Flash That Does Not Disappoint

PostedDecember 8, 2011
AZinPNW
Location Seattle, WA
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I own two of these flashes.
I use them all the time. It does exactly what I expect under all conditions. I can take pictures that I was never able to before owning this outstanding flash. Fill-flash outdoors especially during sun back-lighting conditions is fantastic.
My only ding that I would give it is that the UI does not have perfect usability. I am able to figure out how to do everything I need to using the excellent manual, but the design could be better.
Great, great flash. I am very satisfied!
+3points
Review 6 for SB-800 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Almost perfect

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Elksguy
Location Santa Maria, CA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
I have used this flash very heavily for the last 7 years and it does not miss a beat. Battery life is good and the flash is totally reliable and accurate. I prefer it to the SB900. The flash is compatible with all mycameras and lenses and rarely fails to give the correct TTL exposure. The 5th battery attachment has pros and cons. I almost always use it but it is not meant for rough handling. The attachment can come loose and fall off dumping batteries on the ground. Otherwise this flash is a dependable workhorse.
+6points
Review 7 for SB-800 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

PostedJune 3, 2011
KR
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I have two of these and they are extremely inconsistent. Even with new batteries, they do not recycle as fast as they should
-9points
Review 8 for SB-800 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

small, powerful

PostedApril 15, 2011
steveb
Location Delaware
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The SB800 is a very good performer for the sort of flash applications that I have. It is small, flexible and powerful. It is not easy to learn ( the manual is terrible!) and the controls are not intuitive, but once mastered, it is great. I plan to keep mine for a loong time.
+3points
Review 9 for SB-800 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonder Flash

PostedApril 15, 2011
Rewind
Location Coquitlam,BC
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
After purchasing my first SB 800, I quickly decided I would add one a year and stopped at four units.These flashes are great and I wish they were still available.They were miles ahead on this one.
+2points
Review 10 for SB-800 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great flash

PostedApril 14, 2011
GarryOwen
Location Farmington, Utah
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
This is a great flash and it does all, but I really like the compact size! In addition to this flash I have two old SB-26 flash set on slave and use the SB-800 as my main. Now if I have SB-600, 800, or 900, I could use the commander setting and control them too. 900 is a better flash but it's bigger too.
+2points
Review 11 for SB-800 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent portable portrait or area light

PostedApril 14, 2011
Utahphotog
Location SLC Utah
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Professional photographer
I have 4 of these and use them on location with pocket wizards in place of carrying my larger studio lights. I find myself using these and hardly taking my studio lights out of their cases anymore.
I also use them shooting nightime sports such as football where you are allowed ot use speedlights on the sidelines.
Work very well with all current models of Nikon DSLRs on camera, but I use them most of the time off camera with wireless flash triggers.
0points
Review 12 for SB-800 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great idea, so-so execution

PostedApril 14, 2011
wedding photog
Location San Antonio, TX
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I'm a wedding photographer who uses creative lighting on location in high-pressure situations. This flash has let me down. The idea is great. When it works it is fabulous. It just gives out some times. I replace my batteries every hour, so it's not a power issue. My second shooter has had the same issue. At some point, it just starts humming and doesn't work any more. I depend on it to fire three other flashes, so when it gives out, the whole operation shuts down. I'm open season for lawsuits. Of course, I carry back up, but that doesn't excuse the poor performance of the flash. I have had no similar issues with SB 600s, nor has my second shooter. The wireless communication with my camera, it's ability to command, the high range of communication, the power, the settings -- all great. I have no complaints when it works. It's the fact that it can stop at any time that ruins it. To be fair, it doesn't give out often, but it did within the first year of use. That's unacceptable. Also, the cheap plastic parts have fallen off - the red see-through plate fell off, the button cover on the side where you press to rotate the flash head, all cheap. It's embarrassing to have pieces fall off of your equipment on a job.
-2points
Review 13 for SB-800 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Perfect

PostedApril 14, 2011
ShootforLife
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Semi-professional photographer
I own two of the SB 800 flash units. Never had a problem, don't expect I ever will. They are solid, reliable, and built to last. I shoot a lot of portraits and weddings, and these are all the lights I need. I wish Nikon had not quit making them. Bummer!
Highly recommend them.
+2points
Review 14 for SB-800 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Better than the SB-900

PostedNovember 18, 2010
forensic_guy
Nikon discontinued the SB-800 for the SB-900. The 900 overheats and stops working. I have never had that issue with the SB-800. The settings are a little harder to figure out on the SB-800, but it will keep working if you are shooting fairly fast. This is a good solid workhorse that I wish was still available. Be wary of the SB-900 before buying. You pay more and get less. The SB-800 is a much better unit.
+16points
Review 15 for SB-800 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

User friendly and easy to access.

PostedSeptember 1, 2010
Naga's
Location India, Tamil Nadu, Chennai
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 20 years
Role Professional photographer
My first camera is Nikon FM 2, from Nikon family after that i have not thinking about other brands, this happen in the year of 1994. Before I was using lot other brands because of the affordability and now I am using Nikon D40X with SD 800. Since then no looking back. Nagarajan.
-34points