Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

Nikon Inc. WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter

Using the WU-1a optional wireless mobile adapter you can now automatically send great images to your smartphone and even use your smartphone to remotely capture images from your D3200/D5200/D7100. With an easy to use app, now when you can't wait to share that great shot you don't have to. Share it to your smartphone in a instant.
Average Customer Rating:
2.706 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 68 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
11
1 star
27
30 out of 68(44%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Review 1 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Funciona para a D5100?

PostedApril 30, 2015
Olá,
Gostaria de saber se o adaptador funciona também para a Câmera Nikon D5100.
-1point
Review 2 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must have accessory!

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Location Cartersville, GA, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
I bought this a few days after I got my Nikon D3200 and I am extremely happy! It is very easy to use! It plugs right in to the port on the side of the camera. It's small and barely noticeable! Not near a computer? No problem! Just open the companion app, select the pictures you want to transfer, and download them directly to your smartphone! Want to take pictures without touching the camera? Easy! Just tap "take photos." You see the camera view! I love this device and recommend it to everyone!
+5points
Review 3 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wifi that works

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Location Edmonton, AB, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
This device is really three devices in one and does one thing you can't do with any other accessory. First off it is a remote trigger for your camera but along with that it is a remote view finder at the same time. Secondly it allows you to transfer photos to any other wireless device and the app allows you to view or transfer photos already on the camera. Last but not least it allows you to geo tag (GPS locate) your photos via your smart device. (My smart device is an Android device.)
It does all these well and was simple to connect. It took longer to unfold the instructions and find the English section than to actually connect. Just one word here - check the app and see how you are connected. I thought I was connected via WPS and I was just connected without security. It is easy to remedy by adding a password to the device (remember it if you do) but if you don't anybody may be able to connect and do what they want to your pictures.
Its very nice that they include a wrist strap with it as the thing is tiny and would be easy to loose. The strap allows you to tie it to your camera strap to save dropping it. Which brings me to the best part of the secondary design which is the case. It is designed to attach to the narrow part of the camera strap. You can put the case on and attach the device in a way it will stay attached and handy when you need it but out of the way when you don't.
The only downside is it holds the connections cover open when installed, which for me is a very minor annoyance.
+14points
Review 4 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Useful for remote triggering but much more useful when my iPhone 5 is in airplane mode

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Location Michigan
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have two other remote options for triggering my D7100 but it's nice to use the live mode with this device, particularly when the camera is on a tripod to photograph a flower close to the ground. However, I dared not download to my iPhone because it was so slow. Fortunately, I stumbled on one review that suggested putting the phone in airplane mode and what a difference! I don't typically transfer many of my images to my iPhone but it's so much faster in airplane mode I may do more of that.
Bottom line is this is a very useful device that can make triggering your shutter remotely a bit easier and really makes image transfer to the iPhon fast and easy.
+30points
Review 5 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

...lo mejor!

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Location Cartagena, Bolívar, Colombia
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Exelente, he quedado totalmente a gusto con su respuesta rapida y eficiente
RVB
-1point
Review 6 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Little Device

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Location Belleville, ON, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Synced up immediately with my Galaxy SIII Andoid phone. Using the Nikon app available in the Google Play Store, I was able to instantly pull a preview of all the photos on my D5200's memory card and download the ones I want.
Thought it was way too cool when I was able to snap a photo using my Galaxy's touchscreen as a viewfinder and using it as a wireless remote to snap the photo.
As I've been in the technical industry for over 15 years, it takes a great deal to impress me, but this little gadget sure did! Two thumbs up. Well done Nikon!
+8points
Review 7 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Problem with iPad/iPhone Disconnects fixed?

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Location Kent, Washington
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Like others I have experienced disconnects with IOS devices. If you are having this issue try putting the IOS device into "airplane mode" and enable wi-fi only. This both speeds the downloads up and makes the transfer much more reliable.
+76points
Review 8 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Slick WiFi Adapter

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Location Sun Prairie, WI, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I just bought the WU-1a wireless mobile adapter for my D7100. Easy to set-up and it worked the first time. I have used this WiFi adapter to move pictures to my cell phone with no issues; JPEG, Large Normal, files - so they are big files. Also switched to camera control mode using my Motorola Droid Razr Maxx cell. Again no issues in operating the camera and transfer of files. Love the fact that after you take a picture it automatically downloads to my cell.
This is so slick being able to use my cell to see the image and to trip the shutter. Really great and fun and I have not downloaded the online instructions.
I love this unit and don't have any concerns in recommending this accessory. One comment on price, at $55 it's a lot of money. It only cost me $3.12 after my gift card. Highly recommended.
-5points
Review 9 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nifty little gizmo

PostedJune 29, 2013
Location Edmonton, AB, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Works like a charm on my Samsung android tablet. Glad it comes with a little tether so it does not get lost if it comes out of its case on the strap. I mainly use it for uploading photos to send people when I am on vacation, but I have tried the picture taking feature, and it also works. Well done!
+4points
Review 10 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Remove old photos, Move app to sim.

PostedApril 23, 2013
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
At first I had issues with the product until I truly understood the issue. This product attaches to a very high end camera. The said camera D7100 takes huge, nice, brilliant pics. The application will not open if it can not find enough disk space to view the camera's contents, which are also stored on the phone. I did the following.
1. Moved Photos to my IMAC.
2. Deleted the photos from my phone.
3. Moved the app to the SIM.
I am running the APP on a BLU (Galaxy knockoff). If it works on this phone it will work on anything.
Good Luck.
Silk
+19points
Review 11 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This changes everything!

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Pictures used to stay stuck in my camera until I could download them into my laptop. Now, within seconds, they are transmitted effortlessly into my iphone 5. Thanks so much for a great feature.
+27points
Review 12 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

quick en fun to share

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
sooooo happy te have this. Love it. Quickly share my pictures with family and friends.
-70points
Review 13 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Accessory! Makes sharing pictures fast and easy!

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
This wireless accessory works perfectly with my Samsung Galaxy S3. I take quality pictures and within second I am sharing them via MMS, Instagram, Facebook, Email, etc. Good job Nikon!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
+3points
Review 14 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Fun and Very Exciting Tool that has an edge in today's tech filled world!

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Location Belton, MO, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have used this and downloaded the ap on my Samsung Galaxy SIII and am impressed it it simple and best yet you get the quality as always from Nikon!!! It is a easy way to take self portrait or a family portrait while being able to be in the picture!!! So many possibilities!!!
-17points
Review 15 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great idea

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Location Marysville, OH, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is a very useful and fun assesory I would like to see a version available for other recent Nikon cameras like the d7000. This would be appreciated by those of us who have been loyal Nikon shooters for many years to the brand
+14points
Review 16 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SERIOUS AMATURE

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Location Texarkana, AR, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
JUST WANTED TO SAY THAT IPHONE AND IPAD HAS A BRAND NEW APP THAT WORKS WITH THIS WIRELESS TRANSMITTER. HURRAH. NOW I WILL BUY THE D600
+22points
Review 17 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good product for the money

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Location Clearwater, FL, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
When I shoot portraits, my clients can have the pics right away, and start choosing even before I finish the shoot. These days, everyone wants instant gratification, well this is pretty fast!
I am glad it ends the connection right away after the file is transmitted, this way, I can choose when I want to use it, and when I don't, and won't forget to disconnect. I would like to use it with my iPad, but until the application is released, I can use my Android device.
There is an expensive wireless transfer device for those of you who shoot with other Nikon DSLRs, but it costs $800+, so for $59 I got a great bargain! I feel pretty lucky to have bought the only Nikon (D-3200) that is compatible with this great little gadget.
I am a professional photographer who uses more than one brand of gear. I got curious about Nikon recently, so decided to try the little D3200, added a better lens 17-70mm f/2.8 because the kit lens is worth nothing to me. This little set up I have now with the wireless mobile adapter has boosted my clientele already. Again, people want their pictures right away; I can oblige them with this. It is a money maker for me.
+33points
Review 18 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great if I could use it with my D90

PostedMay 20, 2012
This would be a great addition to my d90. Please make it compatible.
-23points
Review 19 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Took help to get it connected to my Galaxy S4

PostedApril 8, 2014
Just bought the D3200 package deal, specifically because this adapter came included. I had to reach out to Samsung tech support to finally successfully get connected. It would see the connection in Wi-Fi but with an error that "Network disabled because internet connection is slow". Samsung sent me the following solution below which did work (happy dance) I just hope that it remains stable.
The software and features could probably be more robust but I just wanted to get pics to my phone for that instant gratification of sharing them out :)
Samsung Solution:
open Apps >> Settings >> Connectivity >> Wi-fi >> Menu >> Advanced.
Auto-network switch. Unckeck if any.
+8points
Review 20 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works pretty well!

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Location Reading, UK
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
When I first used the device I had problems with slow transfers / disconnections. Switching off Bluetooth on my iPhone seems to have solved this. Although it still disconnects occasionally!
Other than that it does exactly what i had hoped for. However It would be great if it could transfer video, hence only 4 stars.
-2points
1 2 3 4 next>>