Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. D7000

Nikon Inc. D7000

Nikon’s D7000 features a 16.2 MP DX-format CMOS sensor, 6 fps continuous shooting and breathtaking Full 1080p HD Movies with full time autofocus. <img width="1" height="1" alt="" src="http://tr.webantenna.info/_webantenna.png?ga=WABnVM-1&jse=0&cv=USA_lineup" mce_src="http://tr.webantenna.info/_webantenna.png?ga=WABnVM-1&jse=0&cv=USA_lineup">
Average Customer Rating:
4.631 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(1454 Reviews) 1453
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 1,454 reviews
5 stars
1,171
4 stars
161
3 stars
38
2 stars
36
1 star
48
1,356 out of 1,454(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
296 Questions | 485 Answers
Customer Reviews for D7000
Review 1 for D7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Uma das melhores câmeras DX da Nikon.

PostedApril 19, 2014
Gustavo de Moraes
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Sem duvidas, para mim, um iniciante em fotografia, a Nikon D7000 é simplesmente fantástica com respeito à tudo - desde operações extremas, até mesmo no dia-a-dia.
Satisfação é uma mera palavra para descrever este excelente e espetacular produto !
+1point
Review 2 for D7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big 5+ for me

PostedMarch 30, 2014
N P Photography
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is my first nikon, I've been using canon before this and I'm glad I chose this camera! It focuses amazing it's very versatile and the fact that it is weather sealing is great since I'm a really big out doors type of person! It performs great at low light situations just a little bit grainy after 3200 ISO but the image is still amazingly sharp! I recommend this camera for beginners and starting photographers !
+3points
Review 3 for D7000
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent camera.

PostedMarch 30, 2014
newshutterbug
Location Texas
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I've been wanting to go DSLR for some time and just didn't want to make the investment. Took the advise of a friend who has several Nikon's. I've tried the Nikon BDC riflescopes and loved the clarity and good glass. This is truly an amazing camera. A bit much for the beginner but, I decided what the heck, no sense in upgrading later and just went for it. It has all of the features you need to auto point and shoot through the manual operation of zoom, manual aperture, shutter control and much, much, much more. Easy to use, easy to learn. Excellent arrangement of menu controls that are very intuitive.
+3points
Review 4 for D7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Still the best DX camera to date 2014

PostedMarch 18, 2014
WeCanDoBetter
Despite new camera arrivals, I still consider the D7000 the best DX camera to date beating the newer D7100 in the category where it counts (quality RAW files). Great Autofocus, great image quality, a sweet spot for APS-C sized sensors at 16MP, and no annoying lock button on the mode dial. And a reasonable file size. If DX users really needed 24MP files, they would rather have a more professional build like the D300.
+6points
Review 5 for D7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very powerful camera

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
WillEnjoyPhotos
Location Central Ct.
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I love this camera. It takes fantastic photographs as well as great videos. It feels substantial in your hands and is very easy to use.
0points
Review 6 for D7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Nikonaddict112
Location Sri Lanka
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Excellent camera. More features than D 90. 100% satisfied. Highly recommend this product.
+3points
Review 7 for D7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Dream Come True!

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
ShutTheBug
Location Duluth, MN, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I waited a loooong time to purchase my first DSLR after a lifetime of shooting film. Yeah...I was a bit of a anti-digital snob. But when I finally (nervously) pulled the trigger, this was the one. It took me a while to immerse myself into the full range of flexibility that digital photography offers, but now that I'm 2+ years into it, I couldn't possibly go back! I love the look, feel, size, and more than anything the incredible capability that my D7000 offers. I knew I had great images in me, now everyone else can see them too. Thanks Nikon for enabling my creativity in a most satisfying way!
+7points
Review 8 for D7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SIMPLESMENTE PERFEITA!!

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
ANDRE D
Location Curitiba, PR
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Já tive uma D5100, D90 e agora comprei a D7000. A diferença entre elas é impressionante.
Uma máquina fácil de manusear, com recursos avançadíssimos, para todos os momentos. Pegada perfeita na mão com funções de fácil acesso. Fotos perfeitas... sem necessidade de edições!! Uma camera que não "te deixa na mão"!!
+3points
Review 9 for D7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

d7000

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
mojobebop
Location ny
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
excellent camera. used earlier d7000 for a year extensively and for 6 years before that a d200. shooting film since 1970. one criticism, the iso/asa beyond 800 you see degradation. at 6400, or 3200 pretty bad. not like the test results read on ken rockwell. only problems the video switch, which i never use i had to tape off. constantly turns on while shooting stills. the selector on the other side of camera switches programs as well. could not be that much more expensive to add the front magnesium alloy not to do so is negligent. if you shoot every day you will drop this camera. focusing w/the 18-200 can be abysmal. not fast. sometimes cannot achieve focus at all. no, it's not user error. other than that great plastic camera. again very angry they don't add the magnesium front alloy. you drop it and it will break. this must be a marketing strategy. better than the d2oo, 300, but those cameras more durable.
-1point
Review 10 for D7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A lot of camera for the money!

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Jake63
Location Tarpon Springs, Florida
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
Will be updating after testing. However, from the get go...Camera is much easier to operate than its rival competitor, Canon and the large assortment of features over the lower price Nikons is outstanding in my book! It took me a while to find one of these brand new....and did I ever jump on buying it! Read most of the review and You tube videos on the camera and was sold before purchasing it. I have made comparison with another nikon zoom lens and the 18-140VR kit lens was far superior in sharpness and hue quality! Good going Nikon...You've done it again!
P.S- For over 40 years I was an aerial photographer ending my career into forced retirement 5 years ago (Health issues). When I ended, the D200 believe it or not was the camera of choice!
This camera is far superior to me than my D200!
+2points
Review 11 for D7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the Greatest Cameras Ever Made

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
TommyD
Location NYC
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I've been in the Nikon family since the film days, using a Nikon FG, Nikon N65, and F100, then moving onto digital years ago using a D100 and D80. When I got the D7000 almost two years ago I was moving towards shooting professionally, doing studio portraiture and then part-time photojournalist for a local newspaper. I didn't have the big bucks for the D3 or D700, so after reading all the specs on the D7000, I figured this was as good as it was gonna get in my budget.
All I can say is that this camera has performed magnificently in every way I've used it. I'm sure I'm echoing many of the reviews on this board, but the D7000 is the most versatile, high performing camera I've ever used.
-takes all Nikkor lenses
-6fps, essential for shooting sports for my PJ job. I also like shooting birds and 6fps is great.
-pretty fast AF
-lighter than full frame bodies and when I'm shooting PJ for the paper or hours of studio shots, weight DOES make a difference.
-colors and detail are so rich, B&W looks like film.....I make 8x10 and 11x14 prints in color and B&W the prints never fail to amazing me.
The only somewhat con I would say is the DX format, but that's only because I do make a lot of prints for clients. When shooting DX and printing traditional sized prints, you've always got to remember to shoot with the print crop factor in mind.....not a big deal really. On the other hand, for my PJ gig, the DX format actually works in my favor because I get extra focal length on both my 24-70mm and 80-200mm.
If I'm traveling somewhere, I can take off the battery grip, pop on the kit 18-105mm (great vacation lens), and really lighten the load so I'm not bogged down by the heavier body and lenses. Versatile, I tell you!
Bravo to Nikon for the D7000!
+3points
Review 12 for D7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best All in one Camera

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
NikonBoy
Location San Diego, CA, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I am using this camera for almost 2 Years & its simply excellent.
Its far better than its competitors
Great Dynamic range
Respectable Low light Performance for a crop sensor
Great color reproduction
I don't use the camera for Video much, except for the aperture control during videos, it works fine.
Kudos to Nikon on this.
+15points
Review 13 for D7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Camera Execelente

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Nikon D7100 (com miopia)
Location Porto Alegre - RS, Brasil
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Câmera com ótimos recursos, ótima lente, dioptria perfeita. Estou totalmente satisfeita com os recursos e com a qualidade das imagens sem contar q uma foto com o ISO 6400 a granulação é a mesma do ISO 100, ou melhor quase nenhuma.
+6points
Review 14 for D7000
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Big Disappointment.

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Varajuan
Location Mesa, AZ
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I purchased this camera to replace my D5100 and have not used it much, but so far I have been very disappointed in its focusing performance. Like others have mentioned, almost all the photos are soft and not very crisp and sharp. I photograph a lot of animals, particularly birds and most often use the single point focus. The D5100 has a single point red indicator which makes it easier to focus on the eye of the subject and get many crisp and sharp photos. The D7000 has a rectangle focus point and it takes in a lot more of the subject, hence a photo that is not in focus to catch the glint in the eye. The D7000 takes in a lot of area instead of a pinpoint for the camera to try an focus. Have used my D5100 on the same subjects and am getting better photos. Will try to use the D7000 in some other situations just to see if I get the same results.
I cannot recommend this camera for my type of photography. Maybe it works great for landscapes and still photos, but detail photos, not at this time.
-7points
Review 15 for D7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Camera Makes Me Look Good

PostedDecember 10, 2013
D7000FAN
Location Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bought my D7000 camera when the model was first released and I have loved it from Day 1.
The D7000 is easy to use, is fast and efficient and the results achieved with this camera draw lots of compliments from my family and friends and make me look way more talented than I really am.
Since I purchased this camera, I have taken, literally, thousands of shots and the results continue to please me enormously. As I am a lover of the latest and the greatest products, I have frequently been tempted to upgrade to a full-frame Nikon camera. However, when I review the amazing images that I have captured over the last few years with this wonderful camera (and not being a skilled professional photographer), I have to ask myself, how much better can my enthusiast/amateur results be with a more sophisticated camera?
+9points
Review 16 for D7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A lot of in camera adjustments

PostedDecember 9, 2013
heavyone
The D7000 is such a joy to use, I'm happy I got it. If you got an artistic eyesight, get this or the D7100. I think that Nikon cameras are the best cameras to have.
+5points
Review 17 for D7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply Amazing !!!

PostedDecember 1, 2013
SamD7000
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
I am still amateur to photography but the first shot from my new D7000 is already making me feel that I'm a professional photographer.
+5points
Review 18 for D7000
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nikon D7000 review

PostedNovember 26, 2013
DorotyWake
Location New York, NY, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Bought the D7000 on December 2012, and while everything seems fantastic the images always seem soft.
After trying to see what I did wrong for a long time I found I did nothing wrong, the camera was back focusing.
I took the camera to Nikon service centre, people there were very nice and professional but when I got the camera back it didn't fully resolve my problem and I still have back focusing problems.
I decided to try and fine tune all my lenses to the D7000.
I did that and it still didn't solved the problem so I found the best way to resolve this issue and get perfect crisp and sharp pictures.
I got rid of the camera and I bought the D7100.
Problem solved and now I get perfect pictures.
Very disappointed with the D7000
On a positive note the D7000 was very impressive in low light, felt great in the hand and really other then the back focusing issue it really was a great camera.
+9points
Review 19 for D7000
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

AF & exposure problems

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Corelli
Location NJ
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
AF doesn't work correctly, pictures come out soft if not blurry. To make sure it's the case I made 2 pics of the same object at the same time with the same lens with my new D7000 and old D80 using "P" (program) setting on both. Old camera made excellent picture, while picture from D7000 was blurry and overexposed, colors seem washed out. I wanted to upgrade from my D80, but it looks like I'll keep using it for now. I'm returning D7000 to seller.
-1point
Review 20 for D7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic camera!

PostedOctober 19, 2013
ClassicDigital
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I own two Nikon D7000's. One I bought used over a year ago and a new D7000 that I bought about six months ago.
My used D7000 was like new when I bought it with only 2,300 clicks. It even came with all the original accessories, paper work and packaging. However if your going to buy a used camera I really do recommend that you thoroughly check it out. I took a chance buying used but the camera has been fine.
I own two D7000's only because when I shoot at events and such I like the speed and the ability to simply grab another setup instead of switching lenses. This way I'm able to get the shot instead of missing it.
The D7000 is a fine camera even by today's standards. Its 16mp sensor captures amazing detail and it's 39 point AF system is both quick and incredibly accurate. The U1 and U2 modes allow you to quickly change settings since you can save specific exposure settings. The buffer on this body is small but its quick to load RAW images to the SD card. If you don't have a heavy trigger finger and have good timing then the buffer really isn't an issue. I limit myself to 4 shot bursts, but the buffer can hold 8 RAW images.
I've been able to capture fantastic images of hummingbirds in flight with ease. Once the AF system starts tracking, the subject just stays in focus. I use the 70-300mm VR with my D7000 for wildlife photography. The 39 point AF system combined with the 70-300 VR's super fast AF motor means you won't get stuck with a lens that's too slow to keep up with the action. I use AF-C 9 point mode for most wildlife subjects.
For portrait work the D7000 combined with either the 50mm 1.8G or the 85mm 1.8G is a fantastic way to get tack sharp images every time. The detail and Bokeh on the 85mm 1.8G is really something you need to see to believe. The D7000's 16mp sensor combined with the 85mm 1.8G is really able to pickup on every little detail. With this lens you can crop as much as you want and the image will retain amazing clarity (I hate cropping but its nice to know you can if need be).
As for macro work the D7000 again scores high marks. You can really pin point where you want to focus. I use the Nikon 85mm 3.5G ED VR macro lens for most of my macro work. The VR really comes in handy and the 85mm working distance helps allot with insects.
I often use my D7000's with my SB-700 and SB-600 for off camera flash photography. I use the built in flash as commander which works well. I use Nikon's CLS system for food photography and for macro and portrait work. The i-TTL system does take allot of the guess work out of the equation, but if you want a certain look to your images then you have the freedom to command two groups from the camera. Since I have two flashes I can use one in group A and the other in group B, thus independently controlling both flashes outputs to suit my needs.
Overall the D7000 is a body that I would highly recommend. Its a step up from those who are using any of Nikon's entry level bodies or older prosumer bodies. Thankfully Nikon hasn't changed much in the way the D7000 and all the newer bodies operate. So stepping up to a D7000 or higher is really a short learning curve. However if your not used to a complex AF system then you will have to get used to it as I did.
The smaller AF points are ALLOT more accurate then any of the older 3 or 5 point systems. Its also different in operation to the way Nikon's 11 point system works. If you want to focus on someones eye then the AF point needs to be on the subjects pupil not the eyelash or anywhere near the eye. The system will focus on tinny things such as eye lashes and pimples. So you must be aware of this. The older systems had much larger points which resulted in larger focusing areas.
+17points
1 2 3 4 5 ... 73 next>>