Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR

Nikon Inc. AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR

DX-format medium telephoto Micro NIKKOR lens is ideal for extreme close-up and general photography with continuous autofocus from infinity to life-size (1:1).

Average Customer Rating:
4.88 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 25 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 out of 25(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
Review 1 for AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the wait. Excellent clear close-ups.

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
That camera guy
Location Vancouver, BC, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is my 3rd foray into micro-nikkor lenses, and I just may hang on to this one!
With the VR function it is easier to use, however at really close work a tripod is pretty much required to get the best out of the lens. I got it for a D5000, and have since moved to a D5300, and it is so clear and sharp, and the colours are very rich. It helped to adjust the camera to force the lens to a higher f-stop in order to get the depth of field needed for most three-dimensional items, With a little care to the camera work, the final results are certainly worth the effort! I have a list of small valuable items that will eventually get photographed, and I'm looking forward to the results.
Attached image is mildly compressed to fit this website's requirements.
0points
Review 2 for AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super sharp details in all photos taken at all distances.

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Flyrod
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have taken over 400 photos of different subjects at different distances. The details are sharp clean and crisp in all the photos, except those where I failed to hold the camera steady or where I snapped the shutter before the AF functioned. A photo of a pecan laid on a table cloth snapped at a distance of about 12 inches was so sharp that the linen fibers in the threads on the table cloth were visible and all the texture on the pecan was lear. Photos of a rosemary plant at 30 ft showed the texture of the leaves. Color was correct on all subjects. specially nice is a shot of ice covered tree limbs with the sun shining through and a deep blue sky background. I have six other lenses ranging from a 50 mm prime to a 150-500 mm zoom. so far, none of them are superior to the 85mm f3.5.
+19points
Review 3 for AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantástica

PostedDecember 3, 2013
JoãoPaulo
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Excelente lente com um desfoque fantástico para retratos.
+1point
Review 4 for AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Brand New World!

PostedNovember 1, 2013
KLFNikkie
I knew I wanted a macro lens. It would be my first, and as all my other lenses are Nikon made, I wanted to 'keep it in the family'. Like many, I did my research before committing to a purchase. I chose this, the 85mm after careful consideration and many great reviews on various sites. For a maiden voyage, I took it to a combo flower/butterfly show. How did it fair? Incredible, fantastic, marvelous...need I go on? I won't say every shot was perfect. They never are, right? Yet, when I got home and had the chance to really see what I'd shot on my 27" LED monitor, I almost couldn't believe my eyes. Bottom line? I'm thrilled with this lens! I feel like I've opened the door to a brand new world of creative possibilities. Now go get yours! I'll try to get some of those first shots up soon!
+15points
Review 5 for AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice macro and portrait lens

PostedAugust 29, 2013
foodwriter
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I was looking for an 85 for portraits on my D7000, with the DX crop that would be close to what a 135 would be on a film camera. I also wanted a macro to shoot food and flowers. After some research I decided on this lens. After four months of use I can say it was a good purchase.
This is a nice lens that performs well. It does hunt occasionally, the nature of the beast, and when it does I switch to manual focus and move the camera back and forth to get what i want. For portraiture it gives a nice blurred background (I don't like the term Bokeh).
+34points
Review 6 for AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little macro lens for the money!

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Grimbot
Location Grimsby, ON, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
The Nikkor Micro 85 mm VR is a great macro lens for the money. Quite sharp with almost no distortion at all. For DX users this is a superb addition to your kit. The VR enables good macro results hand held, and the 85mm focal length is great for general photos and portrait work (as long as you don't need super smooth bokeh). For a modest price this macro lens opens up a whole new world of creativity.
+33points
Review 7 for AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big surprise in small package

PostedMay 11, 2012
Trying to get the shot
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I waited a few weeks before writing this review. One to get familiar with the true macro lens and to work out my kinks. I ordered this Nikon 85mm micro lens after many weeks of researching what I should get. I have used all the various attachments, i.e. magnifiers, extension rings, x times filters and the Raynox M-250 ring. Which is great in a pinch. Not to mention the macro feature of a Tamron 70-300 zoom with macro feature. They all do a really good job and I never thought I would see a big difference in an actual macro lens. As the Pro’s say, there’s nothing like a real macro 1:1 lens. I’m now a believer.
I struggled with various brands, sizes, etc. Let’s remember everyone has their own specific needs and price range. I actually wanted everything, distance, VR, internal focus, light weight, quality and because of the price, I was hoping to get more use out of this one lens, I did. I must say I almost made the wrong choice for me, but I’m glad I kept thinking about it.
After much review and study, the Nikon (Nikkor) 85mm micro lens was the one. It seemed to fit right in the middle of what I wanted, needed and could afford.
The Nikon delivers. I use this on a D7000. I have included a few pics for sampling. I found that very helpful when I was researching the various lenses. Although I not sure what size and quality the samples actual post at. The lens is sharp, fast and very responsive. I realize when shooting macro, a tripod is the way to go, but that is fine when you have a setup shot. A spontaneous moment requires that grab the camera and shoot. That’s one of the best features of the Nikon, the VR. The internal focus (so the lens does not get any longer) is also a Great feature. You can be at a very reasonable distance 9-10 inches at 1:1 for a great shot. The Infinity range of the lens takes good shots also, what a nice short telephoto lens. I’m sure going forward I will have more uses for this lens.
I won’t go on about the other brands I checked out, and I sure there are good ones out there, but I am very very satisfied with the 85mm Nikkor. I would recommend it to anyone. If I had a Full frame camera, the 105 would have been my choice, but not this time.
By the way, the samples I have included were all taken with the camera hand held. Limitation to file size though.
I hope this review helps other to make a good decision, and to find the lens right for you.
+107points
Review 8 for AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A superb lens for a botany photographer!

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Suzanna
Location Gainesville, FL
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This lens is an excellent intro lens for those looking to practice micro/macro photography. It is fast, easy to focus, and very accurate. I use it in botanical gardens and have consistently turned out quality captures using the camera in a hand-held, rather than a tripod, shooting method.
The lens produces images with great clarity for the price. I've also used it for portraits and it excels there as well, especially when you don't want to be too close to your subject. You can walk it out for landscapes, also.
I have used this lens, simply because it is so much fun to use, more than my wide angle and zoom lenses. It opens up a whole new world of artistic expression and composition that you wouldn't suspect otherwise.
Highly recommended!
+64points
Review 9 for AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Lens

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Photographer
Location Bozeman, MT
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I'v had this lens for a little over a year now and I love it. I am really into photographing flowers and it's perfect. It allows me to get in as close as I want and it always captures beautiful colors.
+16points
Review 10 for AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everyone who enjoys macro should own this lens.

PostedJuly 7, 2011
wrecker
Location Rockaway, NJ
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This lens is absolutely FANTASTIC! I love taking pictures of insects, and the amount of wonderful shots I've gotten this spring/summer so far is just amazing. I've never had so much fun. It takes you in close and the picture quality is astounding. I use it with my D3100 (A terrific, user friendly SLR). It's also very light and all the focusing and mechanics is internal so there is no lens movement to scare away potential subjects when you're in close. I will include a few of the shots I've gotten so far. This lens should be in everyone's camera bag. The price is right also.
+72points
Review 11 for AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT LENS

PostedJune 10, 2011
LMC
Location Toront, Ontario
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is my go-to lens. I have had great success with this lens in almost everything I've tried. It's great for close-ups and for landscapes.
+11points
Review 12 for AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Defining Lens !!!!! The Pinnacle has been set !

PostedMay 26, 2011
Nicky Nikon
Location Baltimore, MD
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Using this lens with a D300 brings marvel with every photo !! Image quality is unmatched with all but the top end lenses over $2,000 and equivalent to those as well. The VR function allows you to reach alot further into demanding the shot that most lenses fall short of. I've shot with most of Nikon's lineup and used almost every lens available in Nikon's line up and this is in the Top 5 and THE TOP in its price range scaling $1000 up or down. IF YOU DON'T HAVE THIS LENS, YOU ARE NOT SEEING YOUR FULL POTENTIAL AS A PHOTOGRAPHER ON ANY LEVEL !
+28points
Review 13 for AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Compact, light, easy to use

PostedApril 21, 2011
Michael
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
We bought both the 85 mm DX micro and the 105 mm micro for work. I read that the 85 has significant barrel distortions and is below par for a Nikon lens. In contrast, the 105 is considered excellent. I have used both extensively for close work on small inanimate objects. For what I am doing, I see no difference at all between the pictures I get with 85 and the 105. The 105 is certainly more solid, but considerably heavier and twice the price. If you rather carry around a much lighter lens, the 85 should do just fine.
I find both VR and auto focusing to be quite helpful. I have never had to manually focus, despite what I have read about the need for doing so under high magnifications. I also take all my close-ups without a tripod because the VR works so well. This is certainly not the advice I have seen. Everything I read says that micro picture must be taken with a tripod.
+46points
Review 14 for AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A 'must have' lens!

PostedApril 19, 2011
Lobo
Location Bristol, CT
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I only learned about Nikkor Micro lenses relatively late in my film camera days, but they quickly became favorites. This 85mm is the best yet. I love taking pictures of the various plants and shrubs I have in my yard and the ability to get in close for a dramatic image has enhanced my enjoyment of both the plants and the photography. Mated with the D7000, I have the perfect 'rig' for taking these photos. The sharpness of the images and the smoothness of operation make taking pictures a lot more fun. The biggest surprise was the discovery of the fine, delicate, details of blossoms, leaves, etc. I had not seen them before. When I post some of them on my facebook page, I get almost immediate feedback. Some of it comes from folks I don't even know. If you haven't ever tried a micro lens, you owe it to yourself to do so. It will open your eyes to a whole new world of subject matter.
+13points
Review 15 for AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for model closeups an portraiture

PostedApril 18, 2011
ArchProf
Location Springfield, MO
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I purchased this lens to explore 1:1 micro photography, but discovered it is great for portraits also. I also have used it for closeups of small architecture models in day lit conditions with good effect.
+16points
Review 16 for AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great image quality

PostedApril 17, 2011
Pat-tographer
Location Newfoundland, Canada
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I love the quality variance of color and sharpness of the images I get with this lens, I've used it from Macro to portraits and never fails to give me excellent results and all this for a lens that don't break the bank. I have 5 Nikon lenses and this is one of my favorites
+13points
Review 17 for AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I was looking for.

PostedApril 14, 2011
Dave in Central FL
Location Florida Space Coast
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This Nikon 85mm f/3.5 micro is a great lens. Edge to edge clarity and focus are very good, autofocus works very well and fast. It's light, easy to handle and easy to pack.
+30points
Review 18 for AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedMarch 2, 2011
Tommy
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Super sharp and fast focus on my D90 & D7K. It's a whole new world when I take close-up or micro shot. The details just astonishing with this lens and the f3.5 great addition in low light too.
+17points
Review 19 for AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Almost as good on DX as its big 105 mm FX sibling

PostedAugust 31, 2010
Dragonflies
Location South Florida
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The AF-S DX Micro NIKKOR 85mm f/3.5G ED VR has wonderful sharpness and contrast. When used on our D90, we have found the 85 mm to often be the equal, in sharpness and clarity, of its bigger and heavier sibling, the AF-S VR Micro-NIKKOR 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED used on a D300. This conclusion was based on hundreds of close-up hand-held insect photographs, taken under natural light and flash, using a monopod as an effective inertial stabilizer.
+49points
Review 20 for AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great closeups!

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Rick
Location Parsippany, New Jersey
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I've been shooting with Nikon equipment, both as a pro and as a hobbyist for forty five years and have never been disappointed . I bought this lens a few weeks ago and immediately tested it out shooting in my garden...both flowers and insects. The lens provides incredible 1:1 detail. At this distance I usually focus manually, but I did shoot several shots on autofocus with good results. Another happy Nikon purchase! Now, if I could only get those bugs to sit still for a minute while I focus!
+49points
1 2 next>>